Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

Sillycave wrote: »
    Got silage results finally from pit (only do one cut)
    DM 31.6
    DMD 71
    P% 11.6
    ph3.9

What do ye make of it?
    Am happy with DM & DMD but is p low?
    No winter milking.....thankfully :)
    Mooooo wrote: »
    P is low alright, what's the ME? DM and DMD good alright. Grass is the protein crop in this country so I guess that should be targeted at getting higher. Probably average 14 here in the pit. 16 this year but has ranged from 10 to 18 in the past.

sorry for late reply
    ME is 10.7
    and the DM is actually 32.9 not 31.6 as i wrote it down in error
    Protein is a bit low but is it okay to maintain dry cows? though it would be fine without supplements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

What are people using for dose on cows during dry cow period?

Vet recommended Eprecis for worms & lice and Zanill for Fluke.
    This is working out around 6 euro per cow

What are others using and approx. cost per cow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Sillycave wrote: »

Vet recommended Eprecis for worms & lice and Zanill for Fluke.
    This is working out around 6 euro per cow

Nothing for cows as dungs and milk screens clear for fluke and worms ,albex for in calf heifers and albex for young stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Nothing for cows as dungs and milk screens clear for fluke and worms ,albex for in calf heifers and albex for young stock

Did you use any dose on cows during lactation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Did you use any dose on cows during lactation?

Yep eprizero in late June ,they were dosed with albex also at dry off in December 2015 as screens showed low levels fluke and worms .nothing this year so no point dosing for something that ain't there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

If roadways were the problem the my ho girls should have been much worse. Unless things deteriorated badly since I was last in Greenfields their roadways varied from good to excellent. Generally better than ours at any rate.

It would be far more beneficial to breed a cow that could look after herself and didn't lose so much condition in early lactation. They weren't talking about improving condition score they were talking about improved condition scores in April and May when you need the milk to be flowing.

There's one thing to my mind missing in the greenfield and that's in parlour feeding. I think they're leaving too much behind by not feeding enough at the right times. I'm not saying plough loads more in just better timing and if it's convenient it'll be done.

My view of a fertile cow is a cow that recovers from a stress event quicker than others. Calving is a major stress coupled with difficult weather in spring, the ones that recover quickest are the most fertile.

Cost of hoof care and bathing here is €5/cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

F

My view of a fertile cow is a cow that recovers from a stress event quicker than others. Calving is a major stress coupled with difficult weather in spring, the ones that recover quickest are the most fertile.

Remember reading somewhere about the reduction in fertility in us dairy herd. Supposedly there was no actual loss in genetic fertility over the last 20-30 years but increase in ci was due to increased stress caused by higher yields and substandard management while tolerance to stress didnt increase.
    Not sure if that makes sense but its why herds with poor fertility ratings can get on grand if the right attention to detail is given by the lad in the driving seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Sillycave wrote:

Vet recommended Eprecis for worms & lice and Zanill for Fluke. This is working out around 6 euro per cow

Sillycave wrote:

Zanil a week ago, showed positive for rumen, ibr vaccine. Will go again with Albex in early Jan and maybe for lice/flees if any signs.

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Zanil a week ago, showed positive for rumen, ibr vaccine. Will go again with Albex in early Jan and maybe for lice/flees if any signs.

We just ran fresh calvers down the crush after first milking and gave them their second shot of albex. They were out of the albex withdrawal as soon as the dry cow tube. Got excellent results according to the tank screening. We didn't use any dose during milking season and screening backed this up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 friesian13

nov milk chq in bank acc today:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,747 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

friesian13 wrote: »
    nov milk chq in bank acc today:)

Who are you with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 friesian13

kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Would the teagasc figures for farm roadways be accurate just from a rough budgeting point of view? Have lads gone much either side of it.? I'd be removing topsoil but it will be going thru dry ground so shouldn't be much other preparation. I may have shaley rock here, I hope, to use. Last time we used rock here we had to use rock breakers but a lot of that was above the surface so would be hoping the stuff below the surface may be softer. Also anyone remove ditches lately what's the story re same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Would the teagasc figures for farm roadways be accurate just from a rough budgeting point of view? Have lads gone much either side of it.? I'd be removing topsoil but it will be going thru dry ground so shouldn't be much other preparation. I may have shaley rock here, I hope, to use. Last time we used rock here we had to use rock breakers but a lot of that was above the surface so would be hoping the stuff below the surface may be softer. Also anyone remove ditches lately what's the story re same?
    I think removing ditches needs permission? The removed length also has to be replanted elsewhere on the farm iirc.

I've no idea of Teag costs re cow track.
    The cost here is €15-17 per linear meter. That includes excavator and stone bought in. Doesn't include hauling away top soil. We so that ourselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I've no idea of Teag costs re cow track.
    The cost here is €15-17 per linear meter. That includes excavator and stone bought in. Doesn't include hauling away top soil. We so that ourselves
    What width would that track be, Kg?

I think removing ditches needs permission? The removed length also has to be replanted elsewhere on the farm iirc.

We have a field, glen we call it that's not suitable for cows and it's rough steep and wet really, bout 2 acres, was thinking would I be able to work it by planting something there instead of putting up a hedge somewhere. Dunno would they go for it or not

What kind of stone have you used? Two quarries not far from here one limestone and the other is sandstone Used the calculator on a local quarry and the price was ridiculous.

What width would that track be, Kg?

4m
    C€20 for 5m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

We have a field, glen we call it that's not suitable for cows and it's rough steep and wet really, bout 2 acres, was thinking would I be able to work it by planting something there instead of putting up a hedge somewhere. Dunno would they go for it or not

Afaik you can do that, plant a few "hedges" along side each other if you catch my drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Just throwing in a few cubicle mats to help train the cows to their new shed, is the mat supposed to be dead level with the kerb edge or - if anything? - up the cubicle a tiny bit? The mat guy said level but I'd like to know which side to err on.

Going to add a 6" corripipe pillow / brisket rail I think as a quick fast way unless anyone thinks it will be a disaster.

kowtow wrote: »
    Just throwing in a few cubicle mats to help train the cows to their new shed, is the mat supposed to be dead level with the kerb edge or - if anything? - up the cubicle a tiny bit? The mat guy said level but I'd like to know which side to err on.

Going to add a 6" corripipe pillow / brisket rail I think as a quick fast way unless anyone thinks it will be a disaster.

I'd keep them back slightly from the edge because they may expand slightly and also the odd cow stepping up on to the cubicle may catch and lift the mat if it's at the edge with their leg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

What kind of stone have you used? Two quarries not far from here one limestone and the other is sandstone Used the calculator on a local quarry and the price was ridiculous.

Sandstone is supposed to be the best of them all.
    O Neil's I think in cork have the red sandstone.

Sandstone is supposed to be the best of them all.
    O Neil's I think in cork have the red sandstone.

Yeah they're who I'd likely be going for, not far from here. If I have enough here to do the filling and get their stuff to finish it. The Rock here could be an unknown tho but won't know till we go at it. Just looking to run up rough figures for the bank and think what way I'll go myself. If I could get the roads finished and all reseeding of old pastures done this year it would be a big boost. Ditches coming down in two fields would open the place up a bit tho. Try to keep the machine going while it would be here. Would plan away accommodation improvements them after. Looking to put in a slatted tank at some stage in othet yard as well so may price that up and could use some of that material. Only putting stuff on paper yet anyway

kowtow wrote: »

Keep 1 to 1.5 inches from kerb to stop cows slipping or rolling them up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,747 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

2 weeks ai done. 90% served angus bull gone in today for 3 weeks

whelan2 wrote: »

Hereford Bulls let into the cows yesterday, I'll leave it up to them for 4 weeks

whelan2 wrote: »

90% of all winter calved ladies served, that's some going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Not starting here till Jan 3rd

Yeah they're who I'd likely be going for, not far from here. If I have enough here to do the filling and get their stuff to finish it. The Rock here could be an unknown tho but won't know till we go at it. Just looking to run up rough figures for the bank and think what way I'll go myself. If I could get the roads finished and all reseeding of old pastures done this year it would be a big boost. Ditches coming down in two fields would open the place up a bit tho. Try to keep the machine going while it would be here. Would plan away accommodation improvements them after. Looking to put in a slatted tank at some stage in othet yard as well so may price that up and could use some of that material. Only putting stuff on paper yet anyway

The only way to find out if your stone is value is to suck it and see. Stone can be got around here for €8-€9/tonne incl vat del for single loads so you'd be looking for a bit of discount st this time of year off that price for quantity. Your digger wouldn't want to be spending too long digging at that price. If he's not horsing it out and you have dumpers not working hard the value in your own stone disappears fairly quickly.

The last roadway we priced we were leaning heavily towards buying the stone. Someone else ended up footing that bill and Id love to be working for them. Kg quoted €17/m for installing roads with his method. There was a fierce row over the last €20/m on that job. Combination of too many cooks and someone else's money.