Sillycave wrote: » Got silage results finally from pit (only do one cut) DM 31.6 DMD 71 P% 11.6 ph3.9 What do ye make of it? Am happy with DM & DMD but is p low? No winter milking.....thankfully
Mooooo wrote: » P is low alright, what's the ME? DM and DMD good alright. Grass is the protein crop in this country so I guess that should be targeted at getting higher. Probably average 14 here in the pit. 16 this year but has ranged from 10 to 18 in the past.
Sillycave wrote: » What are people using for dose on cows during dry cow period? Vet recommended Eprecis for worms & lice and Zanill for Fluke. This is working out around 6 euro per cow What are others using and approx. cost per cow?
mahoney_j wrote: » Nothing for cows as dungs and milk screens clear for fluke and worms ,albex for in calf heifers and albex for young stock
freedominacup wrote: » Did you use any dose on cows during lactation?
freedominacup wrote: » If roadways were the problem the my ho girls should have been much worse. Unless things deteriorated badly since I was last in Greenfields their roadways varied from good to excellent. Generally better than ours at any rate. It would be far more beneficial to breed a cow that could look after herself and didn't lose so much condition in early lactation. They weren't talking about improving condition score they were talking about improved condition scores in April and May when you need the milk to be flowing.
Keepgrowing wrote: » My view of a fertile cow is a cow that recovers from a stress event quicker than others. Calving is a major stress coupled with difficult weather in spring, the ones that recover quickest are the most fertile.
Sillycave wrote: What are people using for dose on cows during dry cow period?
Sillycave wrote: Vet recommended Eprecis for worms & lice and Zanill for Fluke. This is working out around 6 euro per cow
Sillycave wrote: What are others using and approx. cost per cow?
kevthegaff wrote: » Zanil a week ago, showed positive for rumen, ibr vaccine. Will go again with Albex in early Jan and maybe for lice/flees if any signs.
friesian13 wrote: » nov milk chq in bank acc today:)
Mooooo wrote: » Would the teagasc figures for farm roadways be accurate just from a rough budgeting point of view? Have lads gone much either side of it.? I'd be removing topsoil but it will be going thru dry ground so shouldn't be much other preparation. I may have shaley rock here, I hope, to use. Last time we used rock here we had to use rock breakers but a lot of that was above the surface so would be hoping the stuff below the surface may be softer. Also anyone remove ditches lately what's the story re same?
Keepgrowing wrote: » I've no idea of Teag costs re cow track. The cost here is €15-17 per linear meter. That includes excavator and stone bought in. Doesn't include hauling away top soil. We so that ourselves
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » I think removing ditches needs permission? The removed length also has to be replanted elsewhere on the farm iirc.
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » What width would that track be, Kg?
Mooooo wrote: » Buford T. Justice V wrote: » I think removing ditches needs permission? The removed length also has to be replanted elsewhere on the farm iirc. We have a field, glen we call it that's not suitable for cows and it's rough steep and wet really, bout 2 acres, was thinking would I be able to work it by planting something there instead of putting up a hedge somewhere. Dunno would they go for it or not
kowtow wrote: » Just throwing in a few cubicle mats to help train the cows to their new shed, is the mat supposed to be dead level with the kerb edge or - if anything? - up the cubicle a tiny bit? The mat guy said level but I'd like to know which side to err on. Going to add a 6" corripipe pillow / brisket rail I think as a quick fast way unless anyone thinks it will be a disaster.
Mooooo wrote: » What kind of stone have you used? Two quarries not far from here one limestone and the other is sandstone Used the calculator on a local quarry and the price was ridiculous.
GrasstoMilk wrote: » Sandstone is supposed to be the best of them all. O Neil's I think in cork have the red sandstone.
whelan2 wrote: » 2 weeks ai done. 90% served angus bull gone in today for 3 weeks
Mooooo wrote: » Yeah they're who I'd likely be going for, not far from here. If I have enough here to do the filling and get their stuff to finish it. The Rock here could be an unknown tho but won't know till we go at it. Just looking to run up rough figures for the bank and think what way I'll go myself. If I could get the roads finished and all reseeding of old pastures done this year it would be a big boost. Ditches coming down in two fields would open the place up a bit tho. Try to keep the machine going while it would be here. Would plan away accommodation improvements them after. Looking to put in a slatted tank at some stage in othet yard as well so may price that up and could use some of that material. Only putting stuff on paper yet anyway