Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eir rural FTTH thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Jesus Christ the pessimism in this thread is unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭damienirel

murphaph wrote: »
    Jesus Christ the pessimism in this thread is unreal.

Pessimism me hole! You gonna start moaning about germany and their **** interwebs again? And how great we have it here on the emerald isle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭BandMember

damienirel wrote: »
    Ahh you're no craic! Bottle of pop for Gwynston. Everybody else pint yeah?

I think we might need a few chasers with those pints damien.... :cool:

BandMember wrote: »
    I've got 45 down, 18 up and a ping of 8.
    Jesus wept - what are you even doing sniffing around the FTTH thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,982 ✭✭✭long_b

Please stop **** posting on the thread folks.
    Take it to After Hours if you want to talk ****e.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

I've got 45 down, 18 up and a ping of 8.

I'll get me coat. :D

Problem is, ye will be laughing at me in the long term as my area is not a blue line area so once the FTTH rollout and NBP is complete, they're going to have to start all over again and do something for those people stuck on what will then be very low speeds. Hence my reason for following this thread.

Well, that and to laugh at the Dubs and their really slow 360Mb Virgin speeds.... :P

I've a feeling Eir will announce some sort of urban FTTH rollout that is far bigger than their original 66 towns plan during 2017 or 2018 at the latest. They are not gonna sit back and let Siro roll out FTTH to all the towns in the country.

Also Virgin Media can easily upgrade to FTTH like speeds if they wanted to, another reason why Eir will have to continue to up their game in urban areas. Eir have been getting customers back from VM since they rolled out FTTC but after 2020 speeds of 30-95 on FTTC won't be able to compete with VM or FTTH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,234 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Cable laying crew have arrived. Passed them this morning at the bottom of the town so fingers crossed they rip through the town and get it all in place and it's not just the main fibre to cabinet cable.

Around here there is still steady progress, all the overhead lines appear to be in place and most of the underground links back to the cabinet also in place.
    They're working from the outside in, so all in place except for the last section to the exchange where the uplink is.
    Hopefully, we'll soon see the splicing teams arrive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭tsue921i8wljb3

Another soft soap interview with Carolan Lennon by siliconrepublic. The 100000 premises by March 2017 gets mentioned again in the text but it doesn't seem to be a direct quote from Lennon herself, it is not mentioned in the video interview.

What she is somewhat clear about is the 300000 premises by 2018 (though no definitive date in the year is stated). They will be done "for definite" as if not her "head will be on the block". To achieve this they will have to ramp up to 35000 premises per quarter.

https://www.siliconrepublic.com/comms/open-eir-interview-carol-lennon-rural-fibre

Another soft soap interview with Carolan Lennon by siliconrepublic. The 100000 premises by March 2017 gets mentioned again in the text but it doesn't seem to be a direct quote from Lennon herself, it is not mentioned in the video interview.

What she is somewhat clear about is the 300000 premises by 2018 (though no definitive date in the year is stated). They will be done "for definite" as if not her "head will be on the block". To achieve this they will have to ramp up to 35000 premises per quarter.

https://www.siliconrepublic.com/comms/open-eir-interview-carol-lennon-rural-fibre

Yeah they are well behind schedule.

Pessimism me hole! You gonna start moaning about germany and their **** interwebs again? And how great we have it here on the emerald isle?
    Look who's talking. All you do is moan on here. I'm not aware of any other country in the world that has attempted to do what Eir is doing right now with FTTH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Donutz

I have a quick question.
    I am living in a small village that is promised FTTH next year. The blue lines on the map run right through the main road of the village but do not branch out into 3 estates. Is this an oversite or does it mean that the estates wont be getting FTTH?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

Donutz wrote: »
    I have a quick question.
    I am living in a small village that is promised FTTH next year. The blue lines on the map run right through the main road of the village but do not branch out into 3 estates. Is this an oversite or does it mean that the estates wont be getting FTTH?

most likely most estates wont get FTTH for now if they are well served by FTTC. Some small rural villages that currently have no fiber have small estates that will get it, such as Kilmessan (south of Navan) in County Meath. The estates in that village have blue lines going into every estate path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭rob808

Gonzo wrote: »
    the rollout did appear to be going very slowly and falling massively behind schedule up to November, however it does appear that they have finally got the ball rolling much quicker this month. Every time I take a journey I see a KN van somewhere.

On Saturday afternoon I saw them working away near Trim.

Today on the way to Navan I saw them working at the Tara exchange area pulling yellow cable and saw them again on my way into Navan, working in horrible conditions.

I think we might be pleasantly surprised around February and March when many more exchanges currently being worked on will become live and number of premises passed will increase steadily.
    Gonzo go up to summerhill and you see no Eir or KN vans.I hope I see some movement up my way come January it like they forgot summerhill down for FTTH.

Seems like a truthful enough interview. No mention of the 100,000 homes by March 2017 anymore obviously. She is definitely right about no other telco in Ireland spending a euro on rural fiber. Siro won't lift a finger in rural Ireland unless they win part of the NBP, Virgin Media only operate in large urban areas. Reaching 300,000 premises passed by end of 2018 should be possible if they keep up the current momentum of the past 4 weeks.

rob808 wrote: »
    Gonzo go up to summerhill and you see no Eir or KN vans.I hope I see some movement up my way come January it like they forgot summerhill down for FTTH.

It's very easy to think that an area is being forgotten about when there is action elsewhere closeby. I thought my road had been put on the long finger up till a week ago, then everything from wiring to splicing got completed over 48 hours, have faith they will arrive hopefully in January.

Look who's talking. All you do is moan on here. I'm not aware of any other country in the world that has attempted to do what Eir is doing right now with FTTH.

You sure you're not an eir spy working in Germany?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭9726_9726

Ever the optimist Gonzo! I really hope you're right - we'll see how fast they will be to connect you now too - as I've a feeling that might be the slowest part for most people - passing the premises might prove to happen fairly quickly then we'll be left waiting for ages until such time you get connected - as the areas that they're rolling out to are craving faster internet so I can imagine a backlog happening pretty rapidly. Hope they've planned for that.

I'd say that part will be fast.... Grab revenue from the "passed" homes.

Clearly the slowest part will be the civils. Survey, hedge cutting, poling, trenching, duct clearing, etc, then boom.... Action time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭9726_9726

In an effort to veer away from the current row, I'll resurrect another one!

I hope that you are in a major urban city, because culchies or anyone outside Dublin have no rights getting those speeds!!

Now. Where did I leave my popcorn? :P

Behind the feeding trough.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Donutz

Gonzo wrote:
    most likely most estates wont get FTTH for now if they are well served by FTTC. Some small rural villages that currently have no fiber have small estates that will get it, such as Kilmessan (south of Navan) in County Meath. The estates in that village have blue lines going into every estate path.

Thats a shame. Our cabinet was vectored a couple of months ago but our speeds only went from 2meg to 7meg so I assume that we are connected directly to the exchange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭rob808

Donutz wrote: »
    Thats a shame. Our cabinet was vectored a couple of months ago but our speeds only went from 2meg to 7meg so I assume that we are connected directly to the exchange.
    The NBP plan will cover you in which they intend on using FTTH.It should should start either summer 2017/late 2017 or at the lates early 2018 going by what goverment has said.

You sure you're not an eir spy working in Germany?
    Positive. By the way my new vectored VDSL with a 650m run to the cabinet was running in failsafe mode with vectoring off. Max speed 19Mbps down, 1.5 up. Telekom tech came out and told me everything ok at the DSLAM, needs to measure at my primary phone socket (we only have 1 and they installed it in August). He sees same fault the modem sees. Can't explain it and leaves, telling me he needs to escalate it.

I go on the net and after an hour and removing one screw I have it fixed myself. They'd wired the primary socket incorrectly. The yellow and white should not be connected. I disconnected them and modem synced immediately at 90/37Mbps with vectoring on obviously. And you think Eir are bad.

Just to be absolutely clear. I have no connection to Eir whatsoever. 10 years ago I would have rated them as a shambles when it came to broadband. Now they are rolling out bloody FTTH to one off rural housing, having already covered most urban areas down to tiny villages with FTTC. I it wasn't for them rolling out FTTC to my mother's place we'd still be unable to Skype. In the days of her ADSL connection it was just too bad to bother.

I suspect that until your house is connected you will deny any progress is being made.

I don't deny progress is being made I debate the dates and timelines Eir publicise. But as I've said before several times I hope I am wrong and they connect me by march 2017. Your internet is now 8 times faster than mine so keep that in mind and I ain't in the stix either.

9726_9726 wrote: »
    I'd say that part will be fast.... Grab revenue from the "passed" homes.

Clearly the slowest part will be the civils. Survey, hedge cutting, poling, trenching, duct clearing, etc, then boom.... Action time.

Definitely not the case where I am, all of the ducting was done years ago to the cabinet, maybe some poling but there is already a new line gone in where the blue line is on the map so I don't see much of that happening. Hedges have been cut by the farmers already. Maybe the hanging of the new lines and splice boxes etc. Gonzo mentioned that this work was very fast.
    So I see the number of houses around me looking for faster broadband would mean a lot of orders and I can see that being the slowest by far here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

Hi folks, In the last week there has been a lot of activity in my area (outside Johnstownbridge). The vans are labeled DeFusion and appear to be replacing a lot of poles. Is this to do with FTTH rollout? Has this company carried out FTTH related work in other areas. Am I getting my hopes up unnecessarily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

Advbrd wrote: »
    The vans are labeled DeFusion and appear to be replacing a lot of poles. Is this to do with FTTH rollout?

http://www.defusion-us.com/index.php?pageid=5

Most likely related to FTTH, in my exchange area all poles have been checked recently and those to be replaced have been marked defective both on the blue line planned routes and beyond the blue lines.

I don't deny progress is being made I debate the dates and timelines Eir publicise. But as I've said before several times I hope I am wrong and they connect me by march 2017. Your internet is now 8 times faster than mine so keep that in mind and I ain't in the stix either.
    I'm in a commuter town 20 mins from Berlin, capital of a wealthy G8 nation and until last week could get exactly what you have now. You will get 1Gbps in the next 2 years max, probably sooner. Deutsche Telekom are on record as stating their intention to go down the cul de sac of g.fast and so on to delay for as long as possible the wide scale deployment of FTTH, so it'll be years (over a decade at least) before I get what you will soon have. I would trade places with you in a heartbeat and go back to ADSL for a few months if I knew I was getting FTTH even in the next 5 years. Would you trade places with me?

Advbrd wrote: »
    Hi folks, In the last week there has been a lot of activity in my area (outside Johnstownbridge). The vans are labeled DeFusion and appear to be replacing a lot of poles. Is this to do with FTTH rollout? Has this company carried out FTTH related work in other areas. Am I getting my hopes up unnecessarily?

from what i remember the KN lads who wired our road up last weekend had DeFusion vans, probably on hire. In our area Ive seen KN drive their own vans, Open Eir vans, and vans by about 2 or 3 other companies. All work by KN on behave of OpenEir and the lads always have KN jackets on.

The only time KN has not worked on the project was when the lads came to install the splice box's, it was an OpenEir van and the lads wore Eir jackets.

I'm in a commuter town 20 mins from Berlin, capital of a wealthy G8 nation and until last week could get exactly what you have now. You will get 1Gbps in the next 2 years max, probably sooner. Deutsche Telekom are on record as stating their intention to go down the cul de sac of g.fast and so on to delay for as long as possible the wide scale deployment of FTTH, so it'll be years (over a decade at least) before I get what you will soon have. I would trade places with you in a heartbeat and go back to ADSL for a few months if I knew I was getting FTTH even in the next 5 years. Would you trade places with me?

I could be dead in 5 years - **** that! Give me your 18mb now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,084 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

An update to the FTTH blue line roll out near Ennis, I have been told that eir 'representatives' have been calling door to door getting people to sign up for FTTH.
    They estimate the service should go live on 28th Dec.

OK, I know ye cannot believe anything from a door-2-door salesperson, but it does seem indicative that connections will be available early in the new year to those living on the Doora side of Ennis.
    I have not heard anything about other blue line areas around Ennis.

... and of course my own location has seen no work at all yet so I will be waiting for another year or two it seems.