Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

Gamebred wrote: »
    Let him win the British Sports person of the year award imo if thats what he identifies as, Pretty sure Conor couldnt enter their one even though there is British Rule on this island up north.

Exactly I would have no problem with Frampton winning if he was a proud Irish man from the north.... but he isn't. Conor is a proud Irish lad who has took over a sport, I want a fellow Irish man to win. Conor has done the country proud and I hope he wins the award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Nothing to at all to do with Religion. Where did I mention religion? I am saying I would prefer an Irish person to win, Northern Irish people who are Irish I would have no problem winning but Frampton is and even says he is British. Nothing to do with religion at all.

Its all linked.

Its far more complicated than you're making out tbf. He still represents Ireland really. Fought for Ireland as an amateur for example. He calls himself Irish too yet he was born to a family of unionists. Married a republican. He doesn't get involved in any of the politics really. He's Northern Ireland first.

He has never once said to the press that he's British. He's seen as an Irish fighter globally because he was born on this island and that should be enough imo.

Morrison J wrote: »
    Its all linked.

Its far more complicated than you're making out tbf. He still represents Ireland really. Fought for Ireland as an amateur for example. He calls himself Irish too yet he was born to a family of unionists. Married a republican. He doesn't get involved in any of the politics really. He's Northern Ireland first.

He has never once said to the press that he's British. He's seen as an Irish fighter globally because he was born on this island and that should be enough imo.

Nah he can win BBC Sports personality of the year, or at least if he was good enough he could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

Where was the "meritocracy" in Carl Frampton moving up a weight class to fight Santa Cruz?

He was the champion in the weight class below. By your logic, he should have taken on 5 or 6 fights in his new weight class to warrant a title shot.

Meritocracy should never be questioned relating to super-fights or champions moving up (or down) weight classes. They've merited the super-fight by working hard to attain their championship, fame and draw-power.

It would be a pretty strange and weird world if McGregor or Frampton were forced to fight their way up to a title shot in a new division, or if Usain Bolt was forced to run 5 races on a domestic circuit to prove he deserves an invitation to try the 400 meters in the Diamond League.

Incidentally, Conor "acting the maggot" didn't get him his Millions of Dollars, fame and notoriety. His left hand and skills did that for him. If he wasn't tearing up the featherweight division he'd have just been another unknown, obscure gimmick-personality fighter like Smilin' Sam Alvey or Teruto Ishiara.

working hard to attain fame?

talking about nazis, favellas and other peoples children? turning up late or missing requisite media events.

ok

Nah he can win BBC Sports personality of the year, or at least if he was good enough he could.

Ok we may get both Rory McIlroy from 2014 and Tony McCoy from 2013 to hand back their sportsperson of the year awards so.

I wouldn't like to see Rory win it again, especially after the whole Olympics "Who will he represent" crap. Rory and Tony both are in contention for BBC sports personality of the year and if I'm not mistake both of either came first or second in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭finglashoop

I presume anyone born in Northern Ireland qualifies for the bbc spoty and anyone south doesnt. Simple really regardless of how they 'identify" themselves?

Yep.

And anyone born on the island of Ireland quite rightfully qualifies for the RTE award. It couldn't be any more simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭how.gareth

Oh no social media fail! Or is it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

The Champ Champ can read upside down he is not like us mere mortals.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Saturday Night Live featured him in a gameshow for the "world's most ignorant millionaires" last night. Not exactly a flattering portrayal.

IRA joke, leprechaun reference and a terrible accent. This was a really lazy effort overall which was disappointing as they have the capacity to do amazing satire and god knows there's plenty of material on McGregor to take the pis$ out of him in a more intelligent and nuanced way than this.

I know being Irish we're a bit sensitive about these things but overall I thought that wasn't bad, the john daly bits did make me laugh.

Remember they making jokes for the Americans and not the world. Think about how Americans are portrayed in Irish comedies and you'll see we do the same thing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,299 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

The Champ Champ can read upside down he is not like us mere mortals.

sure he predicted what's in it already

Weather it was intentional or not hes doing some job of remaining in the media while hes on his hiatus, every rag running stories on him.

1 year ago today

external?url=http%3A%2F%2Fvideomam.news.com.au.s3.amazonaws.com%2Fgenerated%2Fprod%2F12%2F13%2F2015%2F178293%2Fimage1024x768.jpg%3Fcount%3D1&width=650&api_key=kq7wnrk4eun47vz9c5xuj3mc

1 year ago today

external?url=http%3A%2F%2Fvideomam.news.com.au.s3.amazonaws.com%2Fgenerated%2Fprod%2F12%2F13%2F2015%2F178293%2Fimage1024x768.jpg%3Fcount%3D1&width=650&api_key=kq7wnrk4eun47vz9c5xuj3mc
    That brings back memories ;) I watched that event while very drunk in an Irish bar in Prague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

how.gareth wrote: »

To be fair, he's clearly reading a supplement of some sort inside the paper. I can only assume that's the right way up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

You might see a certain two weight world champion around Temple Bar tonight...

The 13 day two weight world champ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

longer than any other:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

He's reading the Funday times section of the sunday times that whoever was renting the jet before him left behind.

working hard to attain fame?

talking about nazis, favellas and other peoples children? turning up late or missing requisite media events.

ok

The 13 day dual weights champ deserves it. He was dual champ for 13 days!!!

how.gareth wrote: »

Words turn themselves up for the 13 day double champ.

''weldoninhio
    This message is hidden because weldoninhio is on your ignore list.''

I drop one picture and my shadow has emerged lol I can only image the seeth hes spouting,

A year ago today he was to meet his match McGregor he'd be exposed finally lol.

Mod:Quit looking to provoke a reaction and having your personal little spats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

only 13 day double champ

''weldoninhio
    This message is hidden because weldoninhio is on your ignore list.''

I drop one picture and my shadow has emerged lol I can only image the seeth hes spouting,

A year ago today he was to meet his match McGregor he'd be exposed finally lol.

A year as "champion" and zero defences. Not even a defence and injured. Zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Haha thats an outrageous statement. He's a top 10 P4P boxer. If you have any interest in boxing you know he's a big name.

I have no problem with McGregor winning, he's achieved a **** load but Frampton has achieved every bit as much. I'd struggle to separate the two to be honest.

Frampton's Santa Cruz win certainly trumps both of Conor's this year though and Frampton didn't take a loss either.

If Frampton's titles were undisputed I'd give him a bit more credit. But they are really watering them down in boxing. not his fault of course.
    And I'm not talking about the different organisation, I mean the fact that its common for different orgs now to have multiple belts per weight.
    mcgregor went straight to a titleshot too against alvarez. would that detract from his chance to win it?
    That comment suggests that you actually aware of Framptons achievements and are just trying to downplay Conor's.

FYI, Frampton moved up a weight class to for an immediate title shot, just like Conor. Frampton was also stripped on his first title, as was Conor.
    Man, McGregor being champ really gets to you, doesn't it. It's like you showed up to this thread purely to get wound up by his success.
    I'm mean you are entitled to be a fan whoever you want. But I can't recall you posting about any other aspect of MMA. It seams like you don't even like the sport, you just want to rant about McGregor.

Reminds me of a Brazilian guy I know. Has complained about McGregor non-stop for a year, posts about him more than anyone I know. I know they're incredibly patriotic, and obviously was Team-Aldo - but McGregor winning set him over the edge. He has really taking it to an unhealthy obsession level.

I assumed the parallel with your username is a coincidence. But now I'm second guessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Secretly I think you want to get up on McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

That brings back memories ;) I watched that event while very drunk in an Irish bar in Prague.

Watched it drunk in the MGM Grand :D Take me back!

Mellor wrote: »
    If Frampton's titles were undisputed I'd give him a bit more credit. But they are really watering them down in boxing. not his fault of course.
    And I'm not talking about the different organisation, I mean the fact that its common for different orgs now to have multiple belts per weight.

Frampton is the Super champion. It's not a paper title, it's completely legit.

It's more about who you've beaten these days for me anyway and the Santa Cruz win was massive. He'll deservedly win fighter of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

DeVore wrote: »
    If McGregor goes up to 155, he's not coming back to 145... that's my prediction.

So I think he fights Edgar and if he wins, that's the division cleared for the moment, he goes up to fight at 155 , possibly holds two belts and then relinquishes the 145 one. He'll get a straight shot at the champion too, its just too big a money fight to do some contender nonsense beforehand. :)

The reasoning being, that if he goes to 155, it cant just be water weight, he'll have/want to put on some muscle to contend with the monsters in that division. I just don't see him returning to 145 if he does that.

I got it wrong on Edgar. Poor aul Frankie, always getting screwed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Frampton is the Super champion. It's not a paper title, it's completely legit.

It's more about who you've beaten these days for me anyway and the Santa Cruz win was massive. He'll deservedly win fighter of the year.
    Where did I say anything about it being a paper title?
    Of course it's a legitimate title. But that doesn't change the fact that the WBA have multiple world titles in that division - which is what I said. I think there are currently 3 WBA FW champs.

Fair enough with Interim titles when needed. But the super/regular system makes no sense anymore. It was supposed to be a label awarded to fighters holding multiple belts in one one class. But not this super title. It cheapens it.
    Not Carl's fault. WBA's