Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Saipanne wrote:
    Report it to the Gards?

If he was to report every sh*t talker on Facebook he wouldn't have much time to be doing anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

If he was to report every sh*t talker on Facebook he wouldn't have much time to be doing anything else.

So the best thing he could do then is to simply ignore it and don't feed it? Yeah, I think so too.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

So the best thing he could do then is to simply ignore it and don't feed it? Yeah, I think so too.

Personally I'd have no issue with him calling out some of those hard talking twats

To what end?

Honestly, what do you think it achieves?

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Honestly, what do you think it achieves?

Standing up to bullies. Confronting keyboard warriors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

to be fair aswel id say a lot of the morons he calls out are delighted with the attention...must be tough having the constant stream of diarrhea coming into your inbox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

So alternatively he should do what? At least he has the balls to stand up for himself.

He's not standing up for himself, he's taking the piss out of them publicly. He should hand it into the Gardai and let them deal with it. Why exacerbate or escalate the problem.

It's all well and good if they are someone taking the piss, but all it takes is one nutter who feels it was a personal slight for something bad to happen.

I'm not calling JK out for publishing it, I'm saying he should be more careful for his and his close families safety. If someone came at him hand to hand I've no doubt he'd be able to handle himself, but a nutter with a weapon is a different ball game.

He's not standing up for himself, he's taking the piss out of them publicly. He should hand it into the Gardai and let them deal with it. Why exacerbate or escalate the problem.

If he is taking the piss out of some convict twat, then that is Kavanaghs own choice! and any risks associated with it (probably none) or his own so leave him off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Trying read through this thread, someone start a Kavanagh thread please,

CzGl8YvVQAAPinF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If you went to the guard with a FB status they'd scratch their heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Mellor wrote: »
    If you went to the guard with a FB status they'd scratch their heads.

He had a pic of a hand written letter stating that if he didn't agree to fight him somewhere that this guy would find him in March and sort him out.

Kavanagh and McGregor are famous there is always going to be some twat talking ****e. Don't get your panties wound up :pac:

Seriously. That's hilarious. I'd have made a joke of it too.
    Just went to FB for a look there. Screams of attention seeking delusion tbh. I'd have laughed at him too.

Serious though, what do you think the guards would or could do?

The guy's a convict from Minnesota, looks to have a bracelet for house arrest or some such. The chances of him making his way to the Naas Road are slim! No harm in Kavanagh sharing that sort of mental ****. My only issue would be that he's giving this guy the attention he wants but that's John's own decision.

He'll be going well to the gun through customs too :D

A quick click of his name and the guy is obsessed with Conor, going on for months. Waffling about how could beat him easy, only he can't get his pro-license :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Guy is a nut and can't get his MMA pro licence because of his felony's. I doubt he'll be getting on a plane.

And he has a UFC bed, with the cage along the wall. He deserves ridicule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Mellor wrote: »
    A quick click of his name and the guy is obsessed with Conor, going on for months. Waffling

Is that you Weldoninhio?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Blevins went to prison on December 7th 2010. He's currently on house-arrest release nearing the end of his sentence (June 2nd 2017). The crimes he was charged with were felony dangerous-weapons drive-by shooting, misdemeanour false imprisonment, 2nd degree assault with a dangerous weapon, 2 counts of kidnapping, possession of an assault rifle and a third count of drive-by-shooting.

After lengthy negotiations, he reached a plea deal and was convicted only of one felony dangerous-weapon shooting and one misdemeanour false imprisonment.

Details of case:

On his birthday, Blevins who recently stopped taking his medication for ADHD and lithium for BiPolar disorder got drunk. He began firing his girlfriends shotgun aimlessly into the air in the direction of houses they drove past. His girlfriend asked to let her out of the car, he wouldn't.

He had been owed $225 in rent from an individual, who gave him $200 , 3 packs of cigarettes and 2 cans of Red Bull. The individual assumed this made up the full $225. Blevins, drunk, felt otherwise and confronted the man in his home. He shot the couch with the shotgun and refused to leave without his $25. The man got some cash and gave him $25.

Blevins then pointed a shotgun at the individual and handed him a sword. He demanded that the guy fight him, with Blevins bare handed and the other guy having a sword. They both received cuts to their fingers and joined hands to become "blood brothers". All was settled.

During this melee, the dog had fled the building. Blevins went looking for the dog and found it. He put it in his truck with the dog sitting on the shotgun and in the process of moving it, he accidentally shot himself with the shotgun while driving and went to the hospital.

Apparently, he is back on his medication now and doing a little better in life while on house-arrest release.

He is a Brown belt in BJJ under Mario Roberto (not the most credentialed of the Brazilians, but is arguably a 4th degree black belt) and Blevins has an amateur record of 3-1 in MMA (admittedly on local level in Minnesota).

Here's my take on this situation:

1. This guy may have stopped taking his medication again. That's possible. But unlikely given he seems to have it together at the minute, judging from his parole report and constant presence rolling in the gym.

2. More likely:

The guy lost 5 or 6 years of his life to prison and since being released is getting his stuff together. He's been refused a license to resume his MMA career by the state of Minnesota due to the felony on his record.

He (probably) genuinely believes he could beat Conor and/or John, whether in MMA or BJJ. Delusion is not a crime. He was, at the least, a promising MMA fighter until he made a series of poor decisions. They all deep down think they could beat the best, even if it's a delusional thing.

Mind you, people would have called Conor delusional in 2011/2012 when he used to do very similar things. He would make a lot of noise and call out people on the Irish scene for a fight and claim he'd wreck high profile UFC stars. He even called out a coach for a fight in a high-profile incident which p1ssed Kavanagh off. Identical to what this fella is doing now.

There's not a bundle of difference between the 2 dynamics. At heart, it's an amateur MMA fighter looking to make some noise and make a name for himself. Given he can't secure a license to compete until his sentence is finished on June 2nd, 2017, he said what nearly all MMA fighters say!

"I'll fight ya in a parking lot if i have to!". I've heard that over the years from tons of high level fighters.

If we're being generous, the fella is just looking to insert his name into conversations again with a view to returning to compete. I'm not sure where would license him, so he's basically saying he'll fight anywhere, anytime, any place.

To me, this isn't a "threat of violence". It's just an amateur MMA fighter trying to talk a big game and get some attention and headlines. Mission accomplished.

What this most certainly is, though, is a man with clinical mental health problems, as cited by psychiatrists in a court of law.

I firmly do not believe in mocking someone with mental health problems and I firmly don't believe a Coach should be mocking someone for the bravado to call out his star fighter. It's an insult to Conor in a way to even respond to these clowns saying they'll beat Conor.

Yeah, Conor would smash him. And unless Blevins is a ninja brown belt, then John would smash him in straight BJJ.

But don't try spin this into some random fool threatening you with violence. This is an amateur MMA fighter looking for attention - which you gave to him.

Worse, this is an MMA fighter with clinical mental health problems. Mocking him/responding to him publicly seems........ needless and can only lead to bigger problems.

"Approach me with the threat of physical violence and it'll be a lot worse than a funny status".

Ok, good luck heel-hooking a guy who shows up to your hotel armed with a semi-automatic AR-15 and a Kaitana sword. Let me know how that works out.

Blah.

I should stop caring but I actually do care if one of these loo-laa's one day decides to go on a rampage or, worse, commits murder-suicide.

That makes me a snowflake. I'm cool with having a conscience.

So you're definitely not gone then.

I think 6 posts in 4 weeks is much better than my previous 83 posts per hour :pac:. I'm going to try keep it that way.

Anyway there's not a lot to do in a hospital bed, so there's a fair chance you all have 24 hours more of "wisdom".

Plus, we finally had a consensus on this topic :) Actually, I agreed with both you and Weldoninho which is an early Xmas miracle :)

I think 6 posts in 4 weeks is much better than my previous 83 posts per hour :pac:. I'm going to try keep it that way.

Anyway there's not a lot to do in a hospital bed, so there's a fair chance you all have 24 hours more of "wisdom".

Plus, we finally had a consensus on this topic :) Actually, I agreed with both you and Weldoninho which is an early Xmas miracle :)

Hey, we are not that far apart on a good few topics ;) and make sure you don't get the wrong end of the stick, just some gentle ribbing.

Will you be out for Christmas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Fromvert wrote: »
    And he has a UFC bed, with the cage along the wall. He deserves ridicule.

Yeah but he's not as much of a nut as some boardsies until he buys his UFC Fight Gear AND thinks it was a good idea.

Hey, we are not that far apart on a good few topics ;) and make sure you don't get the wrong end of the stick, just some gentle ribbing.

Will you be out for Christmas?

Will be home today but have a ton of different Professors to see in the next month.

I'm goosed but not goosed enough in any one area to warrant the bed lol. Lost 18lbs in 3 weeks and they're not sure why, abcess on wisdom tooth so flagyll/amoxicyllin'd to the eyeballs, urinary tract infection, biopsy scheduled on enlarged "growth", increased dosage of Sertraline and Xanax,and my chest wall has sank 2cm but there's not much they can do about that because I don't want the metal rods re-inserted behind my sternum.

Nothing that's gonna kill me....but If i keep criticizing this Mental Message of the Week segment that may change haha :pac:

I honestly think for such a smart fella, he would see the counter-intuitive nature of what he's doing.

1. Receive "mental message" from potentially unstable dude seeking attention
    2. Post it online and laugh at unstable dude.
    3. Other unstable dudes see it worked and got his attention.
    4. Receive far more "mental messages" than before.

It doesn't act as a deterrent, it acts as an invitation for more hassle.

I see literally no upside to this and can visualize this Jordan fella sitting at home muttering "I'll show that Kavanagh cnut who i am". Which is grand other than the fact he's on medication for a mental illness and has shown tremendous violent tendencies when he forgets to take it lol.

Mike Winkeljohn, Firas Zahabi, Greg Jackson, Javier Mendes, Eric Del Fierro would make most peoples top 10 of coaches today. Their total following on twitter combined is 46,000 (less than 33% of John's). Rafael Cordeiro is most peoples idea of the current no. 1 Coach (he won the 2015 award). His twitter following is 269 people.

Most of these Coaches made conscious decisions to make it all about their fighters. There's no books from Firas or Dede or Rafael on coaching GSP, Aldo or Werdum.

Whereas, in all honesty, John is more famous than every fighter out of SBG bar Conor - he has more Twitter followers than Gunni, Artem, Dylan, Sinead, James, Peter, Chris, Ais, Richie, John Ph. COMBINED.

There's nothing wrong with writing a book and cashing in on the fame and opportunities given by your star athlete - especially when he became a star due to thousands of hours of your coaching - but if that's the choice you make, then you're going to get more of the negative aspects of fame than your Coaching peers do.

Including idiotic call-outs from amateur fighters like Jordan Blevins.

Blah.

Interesting.

Jeff Novitzky and others are testifying in front of Congress about the Ali Act Expansion to MMA.

The Chairman of the Congressional Energy and Commerce Sub-Committee opened the segment by stating:

"Conor McGregor made $40 million for his most recent fight."

Those figures, I believe, were supplied by the UFC. Wonder how they came up with that figure? I thought he was on $5 points per PPV which would be circa $10 million and about a $4 million disclosed purse. Something doesn't add up, but if it's true then that's excellent for Conor.

Ah was corrected by the next speaker. $4 million disclosed is what they were referring to not $40 million.

Interesting. Randy Couture in his testimony to Congress just stated that he thinks the UFC stripped Conor of the FW title for "pursuing a Floyd Mayweather boxing match".

Congressman Mullin called out Novitzky on giving Brock Lesnar "A Free Pass to dope".

Popcorn stuff for anybody into this type of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭winston82

I actually like reading your posts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

winston82 wrote: »
    I actually like reading your posts!

Join the club

Details of case:

On his birthday, Blevins who recently stopped taking his medication for ADHD and lithium for BiPolar disorder got drunk. He began firing his girlfriends shotgun aimlessly into the air in the direction of houses they drove past. His girlfriend asked to let her out of the car, he wouldn't.

He had been owed $225 in rent from an individual, who gave him $200 , 3 packs of cigarettes and 2 cans of Red Bull. The individual assumed this made up the full $225. Blevins, drunk, felt otherwise and confronted the man in his home. He shot the couch with the shotgun and refused to leave without his $25. The man got some cash and gave him $25.

Blevins then pointed a shotgun at the individual and handed him a sword. He demanded that the guy fight him, with Blevins bare handed and the other guy having a sword. They both received cuts to their fingers and joined hands to become "blood brothers". All was settled.

During this melee, the dog had fled the building. Blevins went looking for the dog and found it. He put it in his truck with the dog sitting on the shotgun and in the process of moving it, he accidentally shot himself with the shotgun while driving and went to the hospital.
    Should make this into a movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Chris.

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Join the club

We need an official Wonderfullife thread.