Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

If Dana said he was 190 the day of the fight, I wouldn't be surprised if he actually rehydrated to weigh in.

Dana is full of absolute bollocks.

Actually you claimed Nate was walking around at mid 170s 10 days before the weigh in, but here he is saying (edit) 15 days before the weigh in that he was walking around at 200lbs - http://www.punditarena.com/mmaufc/jmurphy/watch-nate-diaz-reveals-ludicrous-weight-walking-around-pre-ufc-202/

And like I said, Diaz himself disputed danas claim by saying he was mid 170s. Either way, he cut to get to 170.5

Mellor wrote: »
    You need to go back to wikipedia at check their records.
    As I said above, they both fought in 4 divisions and won in 3.

Clue:
    You are forgetting Diego's middleweight bout

TBF it was the same situation with Kenny and Diego at MW. And nobody ever held that against them.
    Cheers, will go back and give it a better look in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Billy86 wrote: »
    Actually you claimed Nate was walking around at mid 170s 10 days before the weigh in, but here he is saying (edit) 15 days before the weigh in that he was walking around at 200lbs - http://www.punditarena.com/mmaufc/jmurphy/watch-nate-diaz-reveals-ludicrous-weight-walking-around-pre-ufc-202/

And like I said, Diaz himself disputed danas claim by saying he was mid 170s. Either way, he cut to get to 170.5

Did you listen to the interview?

He goes "ahhh yeah... ahahahaha". He did the same thing the week of the fight at the press conference, someone asked him his weight and he went "174, 200, hahaha". He was reacting to the idiocy of the media.

Nate Diaz has never weighed 200lbs in his life.

g he was mid 170s. Either way, he cut to get to 170.5

Conor cut to get to 168.

Doesn't mean he's a welter weight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Who gives a ****!

Conor cut to get to 168.
    It was two light weight not cutting weight.
    And Dana was lying when he said he was 190 for the fight. And Nate was supposedly lying when he said he was 200 two weeks before the fight. And just because Nate also confirmed he weighed comfortably above 170 on the day of the fight doesn't mean it was a 170 fight.

I'll just leave it at that so.....

And Dana was lying when he said he was 190 for the fight. And Nate was supposedly lying when he said he was 200 two weeks before the fight. And just because Nate also confirmed he weighed comfortably above 170 on the day of the fight doesn't mean it was a 170 fight.

I'll just leave it at that so.....

I couldn't be arsed trying to explain the difference between two men who fight at LW cutting a few lbs to weigh in at WW and the same men dehydrating themselves to make 155. You're either being obtuse or you're clueless and either option isn't worth anyone's time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

I feel like Gollum in the LOTR's but one more post while I'm watching Mighty Mouse do what he does best... unimpressively dominating in front of a half-empty crowd....
    Why would I need to read it?

Why would he want to, or need to get out of his UFC contract to have a fight with Mayweather?

There are 2 key reasons why Conor MIGHT want to get out of his UFC contract. The first reason is highly unlikely (at this point) and the second reason is probably the real reason.

1. If he gets out of his UFC contract, he's open to co-promoting the fight himself - thereby cutting the UFC completely out of the situation. If the UFC co-promote the fight, their cut of Conors slice of the pie is substantial and runs into the tens of millions.

Cutting the UFC out of it, theoretically allows a newly formed McGregor Promotions or Paradigm-McGregor teaming up to co-promote with Floyds side.

Unlikely. At the moment. May change but doubt it.

2. More realistically:

And this is what I took from his interview talking about "previous Floyd opponents"..... He could book a fight against his good friend Andre Berto and go to court seeking declaratory relief from the Ali Act. If he wins the case, then it means a Judge in Nevada has ruled the UFC contract (or part of) to be illegal.

James Quinn, the heavy hitting lawyer involved with GSP, is under no doubt that the current UFC contracts would be un-enforceable in a court of law.

If Conor gets a Judge to rule his contract is illegal, it means he can re-negotiate a NEW CONTRACT with the UFC.

This is important. He is using the threat of getting a Judge to rule his contract illegal under the Ali Act to get a new contract. The UFC knows well their contracts are un-enforceable in a court of law when it comes to the Ali Act and dozens of other provisions, notably around the Independent Contractor definition.

If Conor has 5 fights left on the contract (rumour is he signed 8-fight deal pre-Aldo) and the UFC refuses to negotiate a new contract right now, then threatening to get a Judge to rule his previous contract un-enforceable/illegal is vital, as the UFC would be in a worse leverage position if they allowed him to become a de facto free agent through court. It's noteworthy that the new contract didn't kick in until post-Aldo fight.

So, of the 2 possibilities - 1. He actually wants to fight and promote v Mayweather or 2. He actually wants out of his old contract and the Ali Act route is the way of putting most pressure on the UFC to cave to his financial demands, then the latter is most likely.

He will probably play hardball and try to re-negotiate his image rights and media content into the new contract, alongside increasing his PPV share and disclosed pay.

Either way, I expect if negotiations on the new contract stall, then he'll announce a California fight with Berto and go down that road to smoke the UFC out into discussions.
    Ah come on, you can't be champion and fight 3 different fights....

You can in boxing. It's littered with examples.

Bob Foster as I mentioned previously fought 3 times at Heavyweight in 1960 , despite being the lineal Light-Heavyweight Champ, and was not stripped.

Pernell Whitaker fought twice at Junior Welterweight despite being Lineal Lightweight Champion.

The history of boxing is rife with men not defending their titles yet still being active in other divisions.

MMA is not boxing but the idea of belts, title defences etc is another facet MMA did directly borrow from boxing.
    Except himself

He considered himself the world champion in his own head before he'd even made his debut in Cage Warriors and that was after the Sitenkov defeat.

The fact he still considers himself the 2-weight world champion (and always will) is not a negative. It's a mindset.

This time, his reasons for the belief are a little bit more grounded in reality (the KO's of Aldo and Eddie) than merely visualization.
    JohnMc1 wrote: »
    Like it or not there is truth in the statement. Defending your title solidifies you as Champion.

If you want to claim Aldo is a Paper Champ for being declared Champion because Conor refused to fulfill his obligation then there is just as many arguments for considering Conor one for refusing to fulfill his obligations as Champion.

How many defences are required to be recognized in your mind as a "champion" or "solidified champion"? 1? 2? 3? And why?

By your logic, the following list of fighters were never "real champions" as they never successfully defended a belt - even once.

Frank Mir
    Fabricio Werdum
    Josh Barnett
    Vitor Belfort
    Forrest Griffin
    Rashad Evans
    Shogun Rua
    Evan Tanner
    Johny Hendricks
    Eddie Alvarez
    Holly Holm
    Miesha Tate

None of the above successfully defended a full UFC championship belt. Most of them tried, sure, but none succeeded (Barnett and Mir never got the chance to try).

Either way, none of them made a successful defence.

In your mind, and using your logic, all of the above were "paper champions" as defending the belt is a pre-requisite (using your logic) to be considered a "real champion".

Whereas, in my mind, you're talking absolute rubbish and the above list of fighters, for the most part, are LEGENDS and most of them going straight into the Hall-of-Fame in the UFC.

They were true champions regardless of whether they ever made a successful title defence. That includes Conor. If he retires tomorrow, there's no asterix in my mind and none should be attached to the others who failed to make a successful defence either.

As for "Obligations as Champion" - There is no express provision in a UFC Champions Contract that spells out these "Obligations". One of the aims of the new fighters union is to get this spelled out.

In boxing, the rule in WBC, WBO, WBA is that a champion must undertake one mandatory defence of his title per year, unless injured OR UNLESS fighting in a different weight class with the approval of the sanctioning body (which is almost always given - see Tony Bellew v David Haye for exhibit A).

Conor is only refusing to meet YOUR idea of obligations. There's nothing contractually that specifies he must fight in a certain time period.
    If he was confident he could beat Aldo the same way again he would have signed up to defend his belt against him.

He's confident he'll beat everyone and always has been.

He was confident he'd beat Joe Duffy, Mendes, Aldo, Diaz, Alvarez.

Notice he lost 2 of those fights listed above.

Of all the nonsense you've written in recent pages, the mere idea that Conor McGregor is not confident of beating any man is ridiculous and worse, the idea he's not confident of beating a man he already knocked into unconsciousness in 13 seconds, is the most laughable thing I've ever read.

Ever.
    You sound like the butthurt one.

Find where I said I hated Conor yet?
    For you maybe. Now post where I said I hated Conor.

The KKK don't exactly release regular statements saying they hate black people.

Everyone knows they do though.

Funny, that.
    Exactly. Aldo earned his rematch, Conor refused and therefore stripped. Aldo is the true Champion again.

As Coach Kavanagh often says, you can have your own opinions, you can't have your own facts.

FACTS: When RDA got injured the first person offered the fight was Jose Aldo.

Jose Aldo refused the match, not vice versa. But don't let facts get in your way.

It is kinda saddening that the begrudgers and haters are out in force so soon after his history-making achievements.

Conor, in my mind, is 100% the Sports Personality of the Year and the fact it's even a debate is mildly embarrassing.

Roy Keane for years wanted us to stop with this "happy to take part" nonsense.

Conor McGregor went out and took over. He said it and did it.

AN IRISH MAN.....a lad from Crumlin.........took Muhammad Ali's Madison Square Garden Attendance Record this year!!!! He took Lennox Lewis/Holyfield Gate Record!! He made $40 million in 2016. He has 18 million followers on Social Media. He made history in a company sold for $4.2 BILLION in a sport that is fast becoming a global mainstream sport.

If that was any other sport, with those numbers, statistics, he'd be a stone-cold certainty.

Yet the Irish public are seriously considering giving it to 2 lads from Cork who got a silver medal pulling a boat like a dog?

We finally have an out-and-out rising-star in the world of sport who transcends the country and people are constantly trying to downplay his achievements. Not one of the other people nominated would be recognised outside of Ireland and a lot of them wouldn't even be recognised outside of their counties.

Yet we have a man who would be recognised in the depths of Siberia or up a mountain in Peru.

The begrudgery shows no signs of stopping and nothing he does will appease some people. He could go KO Woodley and you'd all be moaning he's ducking Aldo.

Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Except himself
    I'm sure Conor his aware that he isn't officially the UFC FW champ anymore. I'm honestly not sure if you are trolling or you genuinely take everything so literally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Mellor wrote: »
    The parallel between the two is pretty big.
    As in Frampton being stripped after he moved up to fight for the FW title rather than defend his SBW title.

Of course he's not a real champ until he defends :pac::pac:

Frampton won his first belt in 2014 and defended it three times before moving up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Seen an interview with Tom Egan.

Definitely speaking about conor as if something happened

Didn't specifically say it but loads of hints.

Here it is for anyone interested.

http://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/other-sport/conor-mcgregors-old-training-buddy-12266451

Frampton won his first belt in 2014 and defended it three times before moving up.
    The topic was the Sportsperson awards for this year, and the two WBA titles he won this year.
    His IBF title is irrelevant for this years award. He was nominated in 2014 on the back of that title.

Seen an interview with Tom Egan.

Definitely speaking about conor as if something happened

Didn't specifically say it but loads of hints.

Here it is for anyone interested.

http://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/other-sport/conor-mcgregors-old-training-buddy-12266451

So much bitterness in his bum soul :pac:

Do I detect a bit of jealousy in that interview, seems to bring up money a bit and says I dropped everything for him must've been a serious falling out with him and Kavanagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Gamebred wrote: »

Do I detect a bit of jealousy in that interview, seems to bring up money a bit and says I dropped everything for him must've been a serious falling out with him and Kavanagh.

Refers to him as mcgregor a lot too. Surely if they were friends he'd call him Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Gamebred wrote: »

He hardly banged on about money in fairness . Maybe he wants to be his own man instead of in mcgregors shadow. Could be as simple as that. I think writing quotes can lose context of how theyre said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Not saying there is not something up between them but I personally would not read anything into that piece with regard to a possible falling out. Its very easy to make many of those comments ''fit'' a particular theory if you already have an opinion formed.

Seen on his social media he was in Kildare (where McGregor lives) no sign of them meeting up and taking a pic, was in SBG met Artem no picture with John or Conor, JK has unfollowed him on twitter too, maybe its all coincidence and JK will be on now to say were conspiracy nuts but who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Long time lurker here. Don't post as I really don't know much about the sport yet, my interest began and ended with McGregor but in the past year I suppose I've developed a huge interest for the game.

Anyway, only posting as I see in pages gone bye that there have been plenty of people saying that using the MMA gloves would give McGregor an advantage against Mayweather.
    I stumbled across a video this morning on Facebook actually comparing the power of punches using MMA gloves, boxing gloves and bare knuckle.
    The conclusions were that while that there is a big difference between bare knuckle and MMA gloves, the difference between MMA gloves and boxing (unsure of weight) gloves is negligible.
    I don't know how much damage this would translate to in reality, but based on that video even if McGregor were to somehow negotiate using MMA gloves in a potential fight against Mayweather, it wouldn't actually do him much good (not that it would matter anyway).

Anyway, here's the link:
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=wRmOOWPTRBs
    On phone so can't embed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

THFC wrote: »
    Long time lurker here. Don't post as I really don't know much about the sport yet, my interest began and ended with McGregor but in the past year I suppose I've developed a huge interest for the game.

Anyway, only posting as I see in pages gone bye that there have been plenty of people saying that using the MMA gloves would give McGregor an advantage against Mayweather.
    I stumbled across a video this morning on Facebook actually comparing the power of punches using MMA gloves, boxing gloves and bare knuckle.
    The conclusions were that while that there is a big difference between bare knuckle and MMA gloves, the difference between MMA gloves and boxing (unsure of weight) gloves is negligible.
    I don't know how much damage this would translate to in reality, but based on that video even if McGregor were to somehow negotiate using MMA gloves in a potential fight against Mayweather, it wouldn't actually do him much good (not that it would matter anyway).

Anyway, here's the link:
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=wRmOOWPTRBs
    On phone so can't embed.

Doesn't make a huge difference in power but it completely changes the way you have to throw and defend punches. It's much easier to land an accurate shot with MMA gloves IMO. Defense is much harder too, surface area of MMA gloves is minimal to the amount of protection you get from boxing gloves.

The video is confused in what it's trying to demonstrate.

The advantage in boxing gloves is that it gives more protection to the hand, it's not really about the person being hit, it's the guy throwing.

The structure of the glove down the wrist along with the boxing style hand wraps which almost completely eliminate finger movement, means that the hand is very well protected when combined with the padding meaning you can throw harder and not have to worry as much about hitting a forearm, elbow or head instead of connecting flush every time.

MMA gloves and wraps give a the same protections to a lesser extent bare knuckle offers none of it.

There's pretty much zero evidence that gloves protect the person being hit, they're still getting sub-concussive damage, and it might actually be worse because you can throw harder with less fear of breaking your hand.

Go to a gym, punch a bag with your hands. Then put on wraps, punch it again. Then put on MMA gloves and punch it again and so on with boxing gloves.

Your hand will feel more sturdy and less likely to get injured in the boxing gloves with proper wraps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Depp wrote: »
    hes making the point aldo was handed back his belt without winning it back off conor. While aldo is the 145 champ there'll always be an asterix next to it while conor is still fighting, same as the 205 belt until jones retires or is beaten for it.

McGregor is still fighting, just not at 145. Should they just disband 145 until he decides to grace it with his presence??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

McGregor is still fighting, just not at 145. Should they just disband 145 until he decides to grace it with his presence??

Yes, obviously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

how do you know for sure he wasnt planning on aldo next? if he announced his next fight and it was at 155 or 170 the ufc would have been dead right to strip him but they should have waited till he announced his next step to make a move and they would have waited if cormier hadnt gotten broke off. stripping the belt was an act of desperation to save 206 with a belt and its hard to see it any other way.

also if you actually read my posts youd see my belief is as jose has the belt so hes the ''real'' champ, my point was that in a lot of peoples eyes he wont be untill he beats conor.

how do you know for sure he wasnt planning on aldo next? if he announced his next fight and it was at 155 or 170 the ufc would have been dead right to strip him but they should have waited till he announced his next step to make a move and they would have waited if cormier hadnt gotten broke off. stripping the belt was an act of desperation to save 206 with a belt and its hard to see it any other way.

also if you actually read my posts youd see my belief is as jose has the belt so hes the ''real'' champ, my point was that in a lot of peoples eyes he wont be untill he beats conor.
    You have some good points and I can see where you are coming from but from Aldos point of view, how can he beat Conor if Conor wont rematch him?

imo unless conor decides to pop back down his best route is to put his head down, train hard and get a few english lessons, beat pettis/max then come out with fire in the post fight with rogan calling out a rematch with conor at 155...he comes out of a good win making noise given the history between them he bypasses everyone else no questions asked id say and in the unlikely event he wins they have a potentially huge trilogy fight at either weight, it all goes to plan it basically sells itself

inb4 ''what would he know anyway'' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

inb4 ''what would he know anyway'' :D

It's not exactly a ringing endorsement :D

Aldo is indisputably the UFC FW champion.
    But he's not the lineal 145 champion until he beats McGregor.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

THFC wrote: »

Aye, it's been posted before (in AH I think) and has to be one of the most idiotic so called "scientific" tests I've ever seen.

Yes, the force being delivered is the same, why wouldn't it be? It's the same person throwing the punch. However, to accurately compare how much force would be absorbed (force transference) by one glove over the other, they would need to measure the pressure absorption of the force and the test they preformed doesn't even come close to doing that as they are hitting a punch bag that has a bigger surface area than either glove.

Put it this way: say a rock is hurled at your temple and you have two options before it hits you: 1) cover your temple with a small thin piece of material or 2) cover your temple with large padding, which would you choose? The latter, obviously, and the reason the latter is more preferential than the former is because it would mean less 'blunt force' trauma (or 'sharp force' if it was a sharp rock).

Also, and just as important, is that the smaller the surface area, either absorbing the blunt force (or delivering it), the worse the damage (force transference) is going to be. Which is why for example a pointy stone will break a window but a rounded one (weighing the very same) may not. Or, the reason you would rather get a smack of a hammer covered in foam than a smack of one that wasn't.

Long story short: Force is only a fraction of the story. Larger surface area disperses more of the force. Smaller surface results in much more force transference / absorption.

Not buying all that gobbledygook, well then listen to James Toney (at 2m 20 seconds) and Ray Mercer (from 3m 15seconds into the clip).

He tap like chicken and now fight for belt, this is number one Bull sheet

IgIiEB1.gif