Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Depp wrote: »
    look mate it seems like you're just trying to kick off an argument, I've better things to be at and frankly I'm not bothered, you said your part and I explained how you were wrong, go find something else to do and enjoy your evening.

LOL. No argument from me. Just slapping down fanboys. You tried to call me a "hater" but you can't back it so now you're backpedalling faster than Conor with a proposal for a title defense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    LOL. No argument from me. Just slapping down fanboys. You tried to call me a "hater" but you can't back it so now you're backpedalling faster than Conor with a proposal for a title defense.

Legend.

Legend.

And Conor's a Legend***

this is getting embarrassing lad

For you maybe. Now post where I said I hated Conor.

yeah he could have but rather than give jose another beating he made history, you can see the motivation behind that right? whatever way you look at it the facts of the matter are, conor was the ''real'' 145 champ till he was stripped, and jose lost his belt and got it back cause conor had better things to be at...theres no point arguing this real champ paper champ bs because it leads nowhere and the facts are there plain as day, if you continue to ignore them thats your problem

Ah seriously lad :P Jose was champion years, with many defenses. The man is an absolute legend of the game and he defeated Frankie to deserve his rematch. Conor was for sure the real champion but if he doesn't want to go back to 145 then he isn't the 'real champion' anymore. Aldo deserved a rematch, I know why Conor didn't do it but after beating Frankie he 100% deserved a rematch, Conor refused to fight him.... therefore Aldo is now champion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Yes, you're wrong about that.

McGregor probably deserving. Couldn't be too many complaints if Frampton won either.
    I've done some googling and am curious who else might be on that list? It seems Vitor Belfort was, though with a small asterisk as his heavyweight fights came in the 1997 when there was only a lightweight & heavyweight division (over/under 200lb or 91kg).

A few guys have wins at 3 weight classes in MMA with one or two of them in the UFC alright, but there hardly seems to be anyone to do all three in the UFC (with some possible exceptions among undercard guys maybe? Though if so, it's obviously not quite the same standard).

Ah seriously lad :P Jose was champion years, with many defenses. The man is an absolute legend of the game and he defeated Frankie to deserve his rematch. Conor was for sure the real champion but if he doesn't want to go back to 145 then he isn't the 'real champion' anymore. Aldo deserved a rematch, I know why Conor didn't do it but after beating Frankie he 100% deserved a rematch, Conor refused to fight him.... therefore Aldo is now champion.

Exactly. Aldo earned his rematch, Conor refused and therefore stripped. Aldo is the true Champion again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Exactly. Aldo earned his rematch, Conor refused and therefore stripped. Aldo is the true Champion again.

Would ye ever stop talking ****e, get yourself a cup of tea and a bun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Chris.

Exactly, just like Conor was the true champion while he held the belt.

Chris. wrote: »
    Exactly, just like Conor was the true champion while he held the belt.

Aldo defended his Belts atleast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Chris.

Aldo defended his Belts atleast.

So?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Jesus this thread is a car crash lately lads give it a rest you're going around in circles, enjoy your Saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Sure...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads enough, this is the same rubbish repeated again and again with personal attacks and back and forth nit picking. Some of ye really need to grow up a bit. There is no fight with Mayweather, its all hype and publicity right now. When there is an actual announcement grand, until then keep the nonsense to a minimum and cut out the back and forth abuse. Some of ye are getting a little over excited and will be getting some time off to calm down if ye dont cut it out.

never said he wasn't?:confused: how I see it, the champ is the guy with the belt whatever your opinion and all this paper champ/real champ bs is nonsense...just a lot of people will see jose as never having won his belt back really...way it was put to me was; ''he couldn't get his belt back on his own he had to go cry to daddy dana to get it back for him''. not my personal view but unless he can fight and beat conor thats going to follow him around for the rest of his reign

in some ways its an awful pity rda had to pull out, probably wold have both the belts defended by now and we wouldnt have to deal with any of this nonsense...that or hed be booked against bisping to be the first 4 weight champ :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

Billy86 wrote: »
    I've done some googling and am curious who else might be on that list? It seems Vitor Belfort was, though with a small asterisk as his heavyweight fights came in the 1997 when there was only a lightweight & heavyweight division (over/under 200lb or 91kg).

A few guys have wins at 3 weight classes in MMA with one or two of them in the UFC alright, but there hardly seems to be anyone to do all three in the UFC (with some possible exceptions among undercard guys maybe? Though if so, it's obviously not quite the same standard).

Diego Sanchez has wins at 3 weight divisions in the UFC, Kenny Florian has wins at 4 weight divisions. I'm sure there have been others too. McGregor has plenty of major accomplishments but this isn't one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

JJayoo wrote: »

Can people please give Saipanne a like he's trying really hard, thanks guys.
    Wait, I thought Saipanne was a girl. Hence the irony of not knob watching

Fall_Guy wrote: »
    Diego Sanchez has wins at 3 weight divisions in the UFC, Kenny Florian has wins at 4 weight divisions. I'm sure there have been others too. McGregor has plenty of major accomplishments but this isn't one of them.
    Kenny fought in 4 divisions he didn't win in 4 divisions.
    Diego has also fought in 4 divisions, but didn't win in all 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Yes, you're wrong about that.

McGregor probably deserving. Couldn't be too many complaints if Frampton won either.

I think Frampton is more deserving. Won 2 belts in 2 divisions against two undefeated fighters in a sport with a much bigger talent pool.

That's all true. Boxing is much wider. But on the other hand boxing titles are very watered down. For example Carl won the WBA title, but there are still two other WBA champions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

When's Frampton gonna stop ducking Rigo...

Gamebred wrote: »
    When's Frampton gonna stop ducking Rigo...
    The parallel between the two is pretty big.
    As in Frampton being stripped after he moved up to fight for the FW title rather than defend his SBW title.

Of course he's not a real champ until he defends :pac::pac:

Fall_Guy wrote: »

I took a look and Florian has wins in 3 weights not 4, one of which was against Alex Karalexis in a Fight Night prelim - Karalekis' only other UFC fight was another loss in a fight night prelim. Not to say it's not a quality achievement or that Florian wasn't indeed there first, but still has to be said that KO'ing the champions in two weight divisions and beating a highly respected UFC veteran in a third is a notable step up from it.

Sanchez has only won at lightweight and welterweight in the UFC unless you include his catchweight fight with Gomi which was 158lbs, so just 3 above lightweight, and that was because Sanchez failed to make the weight (and the decision for his win was very questionable but that's a different matter).

That's shwat I got tabbing their wikipedia fight histories at least. I really don't think the list is that big a list at all to be honest, and very few (if any) would be against high calibre opponents in all three which is why I had mentioned prelims and undercards in the previous post. Aldo/Diaz/Alvarez in all 3 within 12 months is a pretty big accomplishment to be fair.

Don't mean that to sound defensive by the way, I'm just sleepy. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Conor's win at 170 was not a 170 fight. It was two light weight not cutting weight.

Stop trying to make nothing into something.

Conor's win at 170 was not a 170 fight. It was two light weight not cutting weight.

Stop trying to make nothing into something.

Diaz had a good 4-5 fights at 170 under his belt previous and they each had several months to prepare for it - Diaz weighed in at 170.5, MCGregor at 168. Whatever arguments you might make for 196, 202 was clearly a 170 fight.

Nate cut from the same weight for 202 as he does for light weight. Nate is not a welter weight. He was mid 170's a 10 days out from weigh in, the same as he would be for LW.

Conor cut from well above 170 to 168. Same as he will for LW.

Nate cut from the same weight for 202 as he does for light weight. Nate is not a welter weight. He was mid 170's a 10 days out from weigh in, the same as he would be for LW.

Conor cut from well above 170 to 168. Same as he will for LW.
    So Nate did cut weight. Dana white claimed he was 190 the day of the fight, Nate claims he was mid 170s, truth probably lies somewhere in the middle but either way he had to cut to make 170.5.

Dana white claimed he was 190 the day of the fight,

If Dana said he was 190 the day of the fight, I wouldn't be surprised if he actually rehydrated to weigh in.

Dana is full of absolute bollocks.

I took a look and Florian has wins in 3 weights not 4, one of which was against Alex Karalexis in a Fight Night prelim - Karalekis' only other UFC fight was another loss in a fight night prelim. Not to say it's not a quality achievement or that Florian wasn't indeed there first, but still has to be said that KO'ing the champions in two weight divisions and beating a highly respected UFC veteran in a third is a notable step up from it.

You need to go back to wikipedia at check their records.
    As I said above, they both fought in 4 divisions and won in 3.

Clue:
    You are forgetting Diego's middleweight bout
    TBF it was the same situation with Kenny and Diego at MW. And nobody ever held that against them.