Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

thesultan wrote: »
    Paul Flynn hasn't done much..

Coach to Down team that won Christ Ring
    Manager of Ballygunner team that won Under 21 county
    Selector for All Ireland winning Under 21 team
    But most importantly likes to play an attacking style, exactly what we need for next year if we are to have any chance of winning an All Ireland.

Can anyone tell me what titles Murphy has ever won?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

danganabu wrote: »
    Re the Roanmore approach It's called cutting your cloth to measure, and its hardly a surprise that McGrath would choose a like minded selector, not much future in bringing in a selector that you will constantly be in conflict with, that would harldy be productive for moral etc.

Agree fully with you regarding the defensive approach and the need to evolve but that is surely an argument for 12 months time not now?

Paul Flynn was a fantastic player, imo the most naturally talented forward Waterford produced in my lifetime but that does not mean he would be an asset on the sideline and his CV is no better or worse than Murphy's if any part of the setup is being questioned it should surely be Dan Shanahan's input, glorified cheerleader and water carrier is what it looks like from the outside in, again was a great player but that is no qualification for a managerial role.

What a load of tripe! So god forbid anyone with another opinion wouldn't suit the set up so Mcgrath mightn't get his way? Wasn't that what was going on with the nodding donkey O Connor. He bluffed his way by backing Mcgrath on every decision until the players saw through him and ousted him. For your information Dan was definitely wanted by the players because of his HONESTY and past experience that was a huge help behind the scenes. As for the Flynn comment?......God help us! Mind blowing what goes on in fellas heads! A dictator will have yes men around him feeding his ego,a clever man will have people with different opinions to open the doors for other options!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,604 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

We are out on the 18th June in our first senior hurling championship game of the year in 2017 and the league final is on the 23rd April (we could be out of the league earlier) , so there's a load of time too play county championships matches in May/early June next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

cul beag wrote: »
    To be fair to him he has Roanmore well organised and seem to have them all buying into the game plan. I'm hoping that defensive style he used isn't why he has got the position but I don't want to be critical of the fella before he even takes on the position so fingers crossed he brings something new to the equation. He definitely got the very maximum out of the Roanmore team this year to his credit.

Well glad to see you are consistent in your approach in a way that could of course not be construed as double standards...although actually that's not really the case is it?

Because you didn't seem too willing to afford anyone the benefit of the doubt this time 2 years ago. And the previous selector had a lot more achieved in terms of a Fitzgibbon cup, County title (Munster Intermediate subsequently) and taking a Senior team further.
    . Its saying alot when numerous people have been approached and declined the gig until finally Fintan O Connor was stumbled upon and "interviewed" for the position. So what we're to buy into so is instead of a proven all Ireland winning manager(Maher) we're now blessed to have a waterpark rugby man who has won an intermediate club championship on his CV and is now going to be the man to lead us to the next level?

Fourmilewater for 4 years? Blackwater college? Is that the sum total? Q/finals and 1 semi final? Christ im bowled over with excitement. If he was that good wouldn't you think he would have moved on to a better club team? No disrespect to Cappoquin but im sure he was hoping for a bigger gig after his"success" with fourmilewater if he is that good. I bet if he was to be honest the Waterford selectors job was the furthest from his mind. What have Blackwater done at Harty level? Nothing,that's what. Sean O Brien's presence and professionalism would inspire any squad,do you think Fintan O Connor will? Do you think he's the man for the position and if so was he first choice?

Now, add in the labels such as "bluffer" and "donkey" and it would appear this has always been an agenda from the outset. You might give up the act that you are spokesperson for the players as well If that was the case, then your claims that Brick was going to retire two years ago and that Shane O Sullivan was to be captain for 2015 would have come to pass I'm sure.

Well glad to see you are consistent in your approach in a way that could of course not be construed as double standards...although actually that's not really the case is it?

Because you didn't seem too willing to afford anyone the benefit of the doubt this time 2 years ago. And the previous selector had a lot more achieved in terms of a Fitzgibbon cup, County title (Munster Intermediate subsequently) and taking a Senior team further.

Now, add in the labels such as "bluffer" and "donkey" and it would appear this has always been an agenda from the outset. You might give up the act that you are spokesperson for the players as well If that was the case, then your claims that Brick was going to retire two years ago and that Shane O Sullivan was to be captain for 2015 would have come to pass I'm sure.

Where did I say I was a spokesman for the players? Have I been proven right about O Connor? What did he bring to the set up in your "expert" opinion? Don't make me laugh about winning the Fitzgibbon ðŸ˜ðŸ˜‚😂 and I dare you to go and speak to anyone involved in Cappoquin and see would they have him back? The truth is a bitter pill to swallow my friend! Bluffers will be found out,always are! Maybe you might have better luck with the four legged mules!

Anything he"won" was won for him. Colm Bonnar and Fintan Murray can claim to have won those titles. Again as I asked before,BCS? Fourmilewater? Trophies????????? Wasn't it Father Ted said it was only resting in my account!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

cul beag wrote: »
    Anything he"won" was won for him. Colm Bonnar and Fintan Murray can claim to have won those titles. Again as I asked before,BCS? Fourmilewater? Trophies????????? Wasn't it Father Ted said it was only resting in my account!!!!!!

Could say that about literally anyone involved in management to be honest, a nothing comment.

You like presenting yourself as the man in the know. I saw exactly what O'Connor was capable of and was impressed. As were plenty. Enough that he went from Blackwater to getting a Senior Club, that he went and was part of a Munster intermediate championship winning side, that he was asked to be involved with a Fitzgibbon winning side, that he came onboard with a Waterford side that had a drastic turn in fortune upon his arrival. But I guess maybe he's the luckiest man in the world...

I don't know why he has left the Senior setup now, maybe you do and then again maybe you don't. You've been wrong enough for me to have doubts. Either way, the man has given his time to Waterford and that has now ended. You could have a bit more cop on and leave the jibes out of it.

Could say that about literally anyone involved in management to be honest, a nothing comment.

You like presenting yourself as the man in the know. I saw exactly what O'Connor was capable of and was impressed. As were plenty. Enough that he went from Blackwater to getting a Senior Club, that he went and was part of a Munster intermediate championship winning side, that he was asked to be involved with a Fitzgibbon winning side, that he came onboard with a Waterford side that had a drastic turn in fortune upon his arrival. But I guess maybe he's the luckiest man in the world...

I don't know why he has left the Senior setup now, maybe you do and then again maybe you don't. You've been wrong enough for me to have doubts. Either way, the man has given his time to Waterford and that has now ended. You could have a bit more cop on and leave the jibes out of it.

I'm laughing I think we'll agree to disagree!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Quiet time on here of late so just to stir the pot, just want to pick two teams one from the east of the county and one from the west, the best players of the last 35 years or so, who have I left out, or who is a ridiculous inclusion, let me know.

Imagine the team from the east would win but would it be clear cut?

Teams as below

West
    1. Clinton Hennessy
    2. Eoin Murphy
    3. Tom Feeney
    4. Shane Fives
    5. Darragh Fives
    6 Brick Walsh
    7 Tadhg de Bourca
    8 Jamie Barron
    9 Mossie Walsh
    10 Stephen Molumphy
    11 Maurice Shanahan
    12 Dan Shanahan
    13 Shane Walsh
    14 Seamus Prendergast
    15 Stephen Bennett (apologies to Shane)

East
    1. Stephen O'Keeffe
    2. John Galvin
    3. Sean Cullinane
    4. Noel Connors
    5.Tony Browne
    6. Fergal Hartley
    7. Pat McGrath
    8. Austin Gleeson
    9. Ken McGrath
    10. Kevin Moran
    11. Shane O'Sullivan
    12. Eoin McGrath
    13. John Mullane
    14. Eoin Kelly
    15.Paul Flynn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Sean Daly of lismore

Possibly have johnny Brenner ahead of Shane Sullivan or even eoin McGrath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

Never saw him play but Jim Greene was an all star so would have to be in for Eoin Mac. Brian Greene in for SOS and move Ken and and Tony up one line. Have vague memories of Shane Aherne being class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Deise Gael

I don't know why he has left the Senior setup now, maybe you do and then again maybe you don't.

TBF you must be only guy left in Waterford and beyond who doesn't know why he was removed (he didn't leave of his own volition) from the setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Deise Gael

Deskjockey wrote: »
    Quiet time on here of late so just to stir the pot, just want to pick two teams one from the east of the county and one from the west, the best players of the last 35 years or so, who have I left out, or who is a ridiculous inclusion, let me know.

Teams as below

West
    1. Clinton Hennessy
    2. Eoin Murphy
    3. Tom Feeney
    4. Shane Fives
    5. Darragh Fives
    6 Brick Walsh
    7 Tadhg de Bourca
    8 Jamie Barron
    9 Mossie Walsh
    10 Stephen Molumphy
    11 Maurice Shanahan
    12 Dan Shanahan
    13 Shane Walsh
    14 Seamus Prendergast

East
    1. Stephen O'Keeffe
    2. John Galvin
    3. Sean Cullinane
    4. Noel Connors
    5.Tony Browne
    6. Fergal Hartley
    7. Pat McGrath
    8. Austin Gleeson
    9. Ken McGrath
    10. Kevin Moran
    11. Shane O'Sullivan
    12. Eoin McGrath
    13. John Mullane
    14. Eoin Kelly
    15.Paul Flynn

Two good teams but I have Paco Curran narrowly nudging out Clinton. A place would also have to be found for Jimmy Beresford but it would be a tough one as to who to drop.

On the team from the east Shane Sullivan and Eoin Mcgrath wouldn't come near the cut. Shane Ahearne, Jim Greene and Kieran Delahunty would be light years ahead of either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

How did lismore 21's give dungarvan a walkover last night?

Deise Gael wrote: »
    Two good teams but I have Paco Curran narrowly nudging out Clinton. A place would also have to be found for Jimmy Beresford but it would be a tough one as to who to drop.

On the team from the east Shane Sullivan and Eoin Mcgrath wouldn't come near the cut. Shane Ahearne, Jim Greene and Kieran Delahunty would be light years ahead of either.

Yeah was struggling a bit for the last few. Maybe Billy O'Sullivan in the East would have a shout as well .

Not too many Western goalies... Ned Power obviously outside the time range ....

Sean Daly of lismore

Possibly have johnny Brenner ahead of Shane Sullivan or even eoin McGrath

1-11 is his total contribution at senior intercounty championship for Waterford. Maybe at u21 his talents were there to be seen but definitely not fit to make this going on his performances at senior level.
    Damien Byrne would come close to the Eastern selection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

Deskjockey wrote: »

Teams as below

West
    1. Clinton Hennessy
    2. Eoin Murphy
    3. Tom Feeney
    4. Shane Fives
    5. Darragh Fives
    6 Brick Walsh
    7 Tadhg de Bourca
    8 Jamie Barron
    9 Mossie Walsh
    10 Stephen Molumphy
    11 Maurice Shanahan
    12 Dan Shanahan
    13 Shane Walsh
    14 Seamus Prendergast

East
    1. Stephen O'Keeffe
    2. John Galvin
    3. Sean Cullinane
    4. Noel Connors
    5.Tony Browne
    6. Fergal Hartley
    7. Pat McGrath
    8. Austin Gleeson
    9. Ken McGrath
    10. Kevin Moran
    11. Shane O'Sullivan
    12. Eoin McGrath
    13. John Mullane
    14. Eoin Kelly
    15.Paul Flynn
    From the west: Dave Bennett (Lismore) James Murray (Tallow). Joxer O'Connor of Lismore aswell was a fantastic defender. Growler already mentioned. From the east surely Peter Queally can fit in somewhere. Stephen Frampton, Damien 'Buggs' Byrne (Erins own) are others I can think of that would have got into any team on their day. Also Noelie Crowley & Kieran Delahunty (Roanmore) Plus a host of Mount sion lads like the Greenes and Micheal White

Overall I think youre being very generous to some of the more recent guys and forgetting we had some terrific hurlers in the 80s and 90s who were not as successful because the poor setup we had in the county didn't give them a good platform to succeed. Maybe the more recent lads are fresher in your memory or the older generation were just before your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,604 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Best of luck to the nire today in the Munster final

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    From the west: Dave Bennett (Lismore) James Murray (Tallow). Joxer O'Connor of Lismore aswell was a fantastic defender. Growler already mentioned. From the east surely Peter Queally can fit in somewhere. Stephen Frampton, Damien 'Buggs' Byrne (Erins own) are others I can think of that would have got into any team on their day. Also Noelie Crowley & Kieran Delahunty (Roanmore) Plus a host of Mount sion lads like the Greenes and Micheal White

Overall I think youre being very generous to some of the more recent guys and forgetting we had some terrific hurlers in the 80s and 90s who were not as successful because the poor setup we had in the county didn't give them a good platform to succeed. Maybe the more recent lads are fresher in your memory or the older generation were just before your time.
    All fair points, and yeah those players from the 80s and early 90s were slightly before my time.

Stick up your two teams there and sure we can take a look. Only a midwinter exercise anyway to pass some time of day when there is little hurling going on.

Best of luck to the Nire this afternoon, would be great if they could beat a Kerry team

Not looking too good for the Nire ready, 1-2 to no score with 11 mins gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

culbaire wrote: »
    It is not at all ill informed! Crokes are over rated. We will see who is right in the Munster Final.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Lol, some people are some losers hanging round these boards waiting for a chance to pounce.

How sad it must be to have no friends and spend your life on a computer as a bitter little troll.

That's the definition of a failure in life.

Deiseen wrote: »
    Lol, some people are some losers hanging round these boards waiting for a chance to pounce.

How sad it must be to have no friends and spend your life on a computer as a bitter little troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭culbaire

Whiplash85 wrote: »
    You are welcome to your cheapshot!! The Nire team is not as bad as that. Before the match the players seemed very tense. Still dont rate Crokes!

Whiplash85 wrote: »
    It is not at all ill informed! Crokes are over rated. We will see who is right in the Munster Final.

I rathered this one myself... 'Crokes are a very average side. The Gooch is no longer the player he was. Lacks the speed and sharpness that he once had. The Nire will beat them. Conor Gleeson is a brilliant dual player. He will destroy the Crokes defense'

Deiseen wrote: »

Ah relax boy will ya tis all only a bit of craic

I rathered this one myself... 'Crokes are a very average side. The Gooch is no longer the player he was. Lacks the speed and sharpness that he once had. The Nire will beat them. Conor Gleeson is a brilliant dual player. He will destroy the Crokes defense'
    What do you want? You would put me in ashes and sack cloth would you? I still stand by my point that Crokes are an average team. Not a patch on former great Kerry club sides. The Gooch is not the player that he was! The Nire just did not turn up today. There is no way that the Nire is as poor a club side as it looked today.

Crokes are an awesome team and the Gooch was and still is a masterful player. There is nothing more to say.

Youre well able to dish it out yourself so be prepared to be pulled up when you get it wrong!!
    I agree that Nire didn't show today, and O'Gorman is a huge loss aswell, but Crokes had their homework done Even at full tilt I still think Crokes would always have had too much for them

Youre well able to dish it out yourself so be prepared to be pulled up when you get it wrong!!
    I agree that Nire didn't show today, and O'Gorman is a huge loss aswell, but Crokes had their homework done Even at full tilt I still think Crokes would always have had too much for them

You are not bad at dishing it out yourself. You have often been wrong.. Good job I did not start checking you when you did get it wrong.