Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

radio nova

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

When was the first time you heard Microdisney,A house, Stars of heaven ,Into paradise etc etc. being played.....maybe they're not irish enough..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

When was the first time you heard Microdisney,A house, Stars of heaven ,Into paradise etc etc. being played.....maybe they're not irish enough..:rolleyes:

Microdisney and A House are played fairly often.....especially late night. Also get played during the day. When did you hear Horslips being played last during the day?

FanadMan wrote: »
    Microdisney and A House are played fairly often.....especially late night. Also get played during the day. When did you hear Horslips being played last during the day?

Never heard when i listen during the day..its either U2 or....ehhhh U2.....:)...Which MD track..town to town i guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,413 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Moan moan moan.

I don't listen to the station because I don't fecking like it.

Never heard when i listen during the day..its either U2 or....ehhhh U2.....:)...Which MD track..town to town i guess...

Yeah, normally Town but heard some of their other stuff too. But might have been on Locals Only or one of the other non prime shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Irish songs/bands that spring to mind when I've listened to Nova during the night for whatever reason:

Microdisney - Town To Town
    Something Happens - Daisyhead
    Boomtown Rats - Someone's Looking At You
    A House - Here Come The Good Times
    Energy Orchard - She's The One That I Adore

I have to say, I'd like all of the above, and have added them to playlists. They're not often heard elsewhere, though.

Trebor176 wrote: »
    Irish songs/bands that spring to mind when I've listened to Nova during the night for whatever reason:

Microdisney - Town To Town
    Something Happens - Daisyhead
    Boomtown Rats - Someone's Looking At You
    A House - Here Come The Good Times
    Energy Orchard - She's The One That I Adore

I have to say, I'd like all of the above, and have added them to playlists. They're not often heard elsewhere, though.

Sad to say that they only seem to feature on over night. Would love to hear more from The Rats - was too young and far away to have seen them live.

On the plus side.....just heard a Maiden track outside of the Fri rock show :) \m/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,056 ✭✭✭prunudo

Why do they continue to allow people on air who are guessing old guesses. Surely they can be filtered out before going live.
    It's nearly like they are only allowing callers with previous guesses on air to belittle them.
    Or to increase hits on the website to check the list.

jvan wrote: »
    Why do they continue to allow people on air who are guessing old guesses. Surely they can be filtered out before going live.
    It's nearly like they are only allowing callers with previous guesses on air to belittle them.
    Or to increase hits on the website to check the list.
    I often thought the same myself. The only reasonable theory I have is that if they stopped people from guessing old answers, then they may not get enough calls on-air to play the game.

Karsini wrote: »
    I often thought the same myself. The only reasonable theory I have is that if they stopped people from guessing old answers, then they may not get enough calls on-air to play the game.

Probably why they get annoyed that paople are'nt looking at "the listttt"...and it drives the money up..its a sh1t idea anyway imo..

IT'S OVER AT LAST!! Nova noise was finally guessed so we are free from that stupidity.

FanadMan wrote: »
    IT'S OVER AT LAST!! Nova noise was finally guessed so we are free from that stupidity.
    For the record:

https://mobile.twitter.com/radionova100/status/800726218450444288

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭guile4582

jaysus at last.
    how many clues in the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,056 ✭✭✭prunudo

Can't figure out how the clues were connected to the actual answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

jvan wrote: »
    Can't figure out how the clues were connected to the actual answer.

indeed: "You could not make this sound up". Wha'?

the recording is poor. its like the boosted the noise. does not sound like plastic at all

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

indeed: "You could not make this sound up". Wha'?
    Because the cups are going down into the holder, not up out of it. So if you took the cups out, you'd be making the noise up (not down), and you'd be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭thegodlife

Radio Nova 6 years old ? I remember another radio Nova from the 80s around the Radio Dublin latter years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

cdeb wrote:
    Because the cups are going down into the holder, not up out of it. So if you took the cups out, you'd be making the noise up (not down), and you'd be wrong.

Jaysus...

Jaysus...

+1........:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

+1........:rolleyes:

What? What? It's the doppler effect :pac::D:pac::D:pac:

really has the stink of an elaborate lie to me

Still don't get where the creaking noise at the end comes from. I knew it would be one of those things where when I heard it it still didn't make any sense. :confused:

And don't get me started on the "you may or may not" clues. :rolleyes:

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,793 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

The "creaking" is the cup dispenser shaking after the cups were thrown in.

That was a complete pile of shoite altogether.

The guy who won it is a friend of a Nova employee....

...probably...;)
    His girl friend nearly guessed the answer, then he comes on ( on the same day) with the same roundabout answer and gets it....you could'nt make it up....:rolleyes:

lyverbird1 wrote: »
    He is not a friend of a Nova employee. The other caller was not his girlfriend, it was a neighbour, both are married to other people.

he said "girl friend"

can't guys have female friends that they don't fcuk..why don't you lay off us men for awhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

guile4582 wrote: »

can't guys have female friends that they don't fcuk

Wives?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

salmocab wrote: »
    Wives?

:D:D:D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭lyverbird1

guile4582 wrote: »
    he said "girl friend"

can't guys have female friends that they don't fcuk..why don't you lay off us men for awhile.

He did not say girlfriend.

lyverbird1 wrote: »
    He did not say girlfriend.

??????

read the lads post!!