Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

There's an anti AHAR Facebook page from where I suspect this story is being driven from, but they've posted a link they claim has the Liveline recording

https://m.facebook.com/Animal-Heaven-Animal-Rescue-AHAR-Exposed-795034397244586/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

ThisRegard wrote: »
    There's an anti AHAR Facebook page from where I suspect this story is being driven from, but they've posted a link they claim has the Liveline recording

https://m.facebook.com/Animal-Heaven-Animal-Rescue-AHAR-Exposed-795034397244586/

I'll listen in the morning so to speak.

Anyone seen this before on De Lahv Lahn page?
    http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/generic/2013/0215/367956-special-features/

Chris's letter about 'coming out', as featured on Thursday 6th February 2014
    So I've been sitting here for the last 2 hours wondering how I'll start this off. I keep asking myself what is scaring me? Is it the potential whispers? Will I be treated differently? Accepted? Rejected? Where do I begin - from the beginning I suppose.. Growing up isn’t easy but when you know, at a very young age that you’re ‘different’, different from societies norm - it's especially difficult. Although I never stood out, I knew I didn’t fit in either. It wasn’t until I was a young teen that I understood why. Ever since, I’ve always had this guard over me. I went from a happy go lucky child to a teen/adult who became cagy.
    It was hard, I was surrounded by the oppression that was my life. There were many mixed emotions over the next couple of years. I cried, got angry with God, I got angry with myself. I constantly asked myself ‘Why me?’, ‘Was I a bad person?’. I prayed this punishment would have mercy on me. I screamed so loud asking for an explanation but no one could hear me. I continued to live in the shadows, I’d sit all alone in a faceless crowd, afraid in case I said the wrong thing, moved the wrong way so questions wouldn't be asked. I remember when I was in 4th year, one of my teachers commented that every time she saw me, she cheered up or smiled because I was always happy and constantly smiling, no matter what was going on - little did she know, it was a pasted smile that left, once I was alone.
    This defines my life up to now - I hid. I hid behind a smile, I hid behind a lie. This all might sound a bit dramatic, but just remember the expression ‘walk a mile in my shoes’, before you criticize. This is not an easy thing to do. It wasn’t always doom and gloom, life went on, I was able to put it at the back of my mind at times. I turned my focus to other things, friends, school, college, work, volunteering etc but it was still hard, constant reminders, ridicule of others in the same situation and of course, the close minded Irish mentality that still exists ensured I’d only step out of the shadows for a little bit. I needed to get out of Ireland, the recession was the perfect excuse. So I packed my bags and moved to Canada in 2012.
    While I adjusted, almost immediately to Canadian life, I was still hollow, I still carried the guilt and shame with me. I had run away from my family, my friends and more importantly, myself. Fast forward to last Summer. Something happened to me this Summer that would change my approach and outlook on the future. One Summer evening, at 8:03pm, I met somebody. An amazing person who understood me. We spent weekend upon weekend with each other. I began to ask myself what this feeling was inside? I asked myself why my stomach danced when they smiled or what made me light up as I watched their eyes dance as I made them laugh. There was no negotiating with this feeling - It felt right and contrary to what I felt inside for years, It felt natural.
    This person became the shelter that rescued me from the storm. This person showed me that I do not need to hold my head bent in shame as there is nothing to be ashamed about. I can’t put into words how grateful I am to this person for helping me be me. For the first time in a very long time, I was Chris. I was happy. I smiled when I was alone. Even though I finally stopped hiding from myself. I was still lying to everyone else. I guess you could say they became victims of the situation I had created for myself. I had a double life that was eating away at me - mentally I wasn't strong enough to mix the two so I stayed away from friends and ignored calls and texts from family. I preferred this new life as I was happy. That wasn't enough, I needed to consolidate them. I started the process.
    I flew half way across Canada to visit a close friend and decided to just do it! I unburdened my heart to them. As happy as I was to finally talk to someone about it, I found little relief, mainly because I knew this person was extremely open minded. I needed to challenge myself and punch that shark - so with supportive shoulders to lean on, I called my mother a week or so later. At first I couldn’t talk, my throat closed up. I was unable to say the words but I sobbed uncontrollably as they left my mouth. I grieved for them as they were locked inside this cage for so many years but now they were free.
    I will never forget my mother's reply as she sighed with relief. ‘Thats it? I thought you were going to tell me you were sick’ and with those few simple words, the weight I had carried with me for so long, lifted. I knew it was ok. I was free. That night, I slept throughout the night, something I had not done in a very long time. I don’t know what the future holds or what will happen now that this is step is taken, I keep asking myself who will be stand by me? Who will bail on me during big steps in my life? Who will reject or ridicule me? What I am sure about is that I don’t need these people in my life. I’ve hated myself for long enough so I don't need it from anyone else. Enough is enough. It's time to rebuild. Am I scared?
    Like you wouldn’t believe but thats alright. I no longer have big secrets that will erode who I am. No more hiding. My mother summed it perfectly for me. ‘Nothings changed. You are still Chris Godfrey, You are the kindest, most genuine, empathic, generous, loving son, brother, cousin, nephew and friend I know. What is there to be ashamed about? The only thing you are guilty of is falling in love.’ She was right! At the end of the day, It all came down to love. It turns out that this person who I fell in love with, who helped me discover me, just happens to be a man.

Good to see the website is being maintained:

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/features/2009/1202/346385-funnyfriday/

Last update was in 2012 2-12.

The Fyver Fryday link has been up since last year. They actually have a tab on the show's page for a once a year show. Jesus the "YEW-BRISS"

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/features/2015/1111/741174-liveline/

Fiver Friday has been a huge success, thank to all the businesses around the country who got on board.

We are no longer able to accept or list new offers for this site as of 3pm Friday, December 4th.

Offers listed below are available on or around December 4th, but are not ongoing.

While businesses may choose to continue their Fiver Friday offers, these are not made in association with RTÉ or Liveline.
    Liveline’s Fiver Friday returns to the nation!

BUSINESS OWNERS – we invite you to offer a deal of your choice on Fiver Friday. It’s a chance to reconnect and reward loyal customers for their continued support.

Link up with other businesses in your area to bring a buzz to the community on December 4th .

CUSTOMERS - get out and support your local business, retailer or supplier in an effort to boost turnover and save jobs. Tell us how your local shops are enticing you through their doors.

Tune in to Liveline on RTÉ Radio 1 every weekday between 1.45pm - 3pm for the latest Fiver Friday updates alongside the usual agenda-setting discussions from Joe Duffy and the Liveline callers.

SHARE THE NEWS

Use the Fiver Friday Facebook Hub: www.facebook.com/RTERadio1
    Use the Fiver Friday Twitter hashtag: #FiverFriday and find us over @Liveline_RTE
    Use word-of-mouth: spread the word!

I’M A BUSINESS OWNER, HOW CAN I GET INVOLVED WITH FIVER FRIDAY?

Click here to download a full-colour A3 ‘Fiver Friday’ poster to display in your business or Click here to download a full-colour A4 ‘Fiver Friday’ poster to display in your business.

Good to see the website is being maintained:

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/features/2009/1202/346385-funnyfriday/

Last update was in 2012 2-12.

Funny Friday returns this Friday 31st July - we will be coming live from the luxury four star hotel Whites of Wexford located in the heart of the historic city in Irelands’ Sunny South East. Just a two hour drive from Dublin and easy accessible (any English Grads in RTE I wonder?) by Train and Bus come along and join Joe and all the crew this Friday, we'd love to see you.
    Liveline's legendary Funny Fridays have become a welcome antidote to the trials of modern living. Joe is joined by some of Ireland's finest musical comedians to put our politicians and public personalities under the spotlight to truly uproarious effect.....
    000063610c8r.jpg
    Clint Velour (aka Paddy Cullivan)
    0000635f0c8r.jpg.
    Brendan 'Doc' Savage

0002577f0c8r.jpg
    Sil Fox
    00065d44-250.jpg
    June Rodgers, in one of her many guises
    0006686a.jpg
    Frank Forde

Highlights from Funny Friday around the country

Funny Friday show that came from Trim Castle, Co Meath at the end of June 2012

Funny Thursday live from the National Ploughing Championships in New Ross in September 2012

Funny Friday live from the Regency Hotel, Dublin on the 26th of October 2012

Syl: I see your red velour waistcoat Joe and I raise it with this blue blazer.

Profile:

Brendan "Doc" Savage, Star of RTEs Live Line Funny Friday show" is firmly established as one of Ireland's funniest men has appeared at the top cabaret venues across Ireland and the UK.
    Before pursuing comedy on a full time basis,
    Brendan
    spent ten years entertaining the audiences of
    “Jury’s Irish Cabaret”
    . during which time he toured all over the U.S.A., Australia and New Zealand.

He has performed with the likes of Joe Dolan, Dickie Rock, The Wolfe Tones, The Dubliners, Red Hurley....need we say more!
    Some years ago,
    Brendan
    broke the world record for telling the most jokes without repeating.

Brendan also performs with a ballad group so can provide a great evenings entertainment of craic and Irish music that will keep you laughing and singing all night.
    "On Your Behalf"
    No need to worry anymore about the best mans wedding speeches because I will take care of all the wedding speeches from "grace before meals" to the "cutting of your wedding cake" This service is supplied by Brendan.
    For all your golf club functions, Captains Dinners, Lady Captains Dinners, President Awards, Golf Classics or visiting societies.
    Among the golf clubs where Brendan has performed at Forrest Little, Howth, Royal Dublin, Donabate, Slade Valley, Ashbourne, Royal Tara, Elm Park, City West and Carlow Golf Club to name just a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,552 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I see Lloyds appear to be still advertising on the Liveline web page, wonder are they paying or was it just never taken down from when they sponsored the show?

000ac2bb-600.jpg

If yiz want ta read some very poorly written guff:

http://www.nkmanagement.ie/joe-duffy---biography.html
    Joe Duffy presents one of Ireland's leading radio shows Liveline on RTÉ Radio One. Liveline, which has 400,000 listeners, is now firmly established as a national institution as listeners tune and call into the show to ‘Talk to Joe.’

Joe joined RTÉ Radio as a producer in 1989 and since then he has worked his way through several shows, first as a reporter on The Gay Byrne Show and then as presenter of several programmes including the media programme Soundbyte.

In 2015, Joe brought Liveline to our TV screens with Liveline:Call Back. In this show Joe looks back at some of the standout stories on the nation's favourite radio talk show and follows up on the most memorable stories, some with heart-breaking and others with heart-warming outcomes. He also hosted a number of series of Joe Duffy's Spirit Level on RTÉ One. The show discussed the different religions in the country and the faith of the people in Ireland. On the chat show, Joe was joined by a panel who deal with issues around death in their own personal and professional lives. He also fronted the series Local Heroes on RTÉ One which celebrated individuals across the country who have come up with new and innovative ways to stimulate job creation in their own villages, towns or cities. Previously, he appeared on the RTÉ television series Who Do You Think You Are?, where his family history in the British Army in India was revealed. ​
    joe-duffy-books.jpg?1472212243
    In 2011 Joe released his autobiography,Just Joe, which went straight to number one. Writing with raw honesty, Joe here recounts his difficult upbringing in working-class Ballyfermot. He paints a poignant, heart-breaking picture of family life with a hard-drinking father and hard-working mother. Joe writes with candour about the death of his youngest brother Aidan and about his often difficult relationship with another brother, Brendan. Aspirations for a better life were rarely encouraged in Ballyfermot. Joe also highlights the major stories raised by Liveline, including child-abuse controversies and scandals in the Irish health service. Joe also deals with the shocking death in 2010 of Joe's friend and fellow broadcaster Gerry Ryan. This is a riveting, deeply felt and fascinating memoir which goes behind the public face of Joe Duffy to reveal a complex, passionate man.

More recently in 2015, Joe released his award winning book Children of the Rising with Hachette. This is the first ever account of the young lives violently lost during the week of the 1916 Rising: long-forgotten and never commemorated, until now. Boys, girls, rich, poor, Catholic, Protestant - no child was guaranteed immunity from the bullet and bomb that week, in a place where teeming tenement life existed side by side with immense wealth. Drawing on extensive original research, along with interviews with relatives, Joe Duffy creates a compelling picture of these forty lives, along with one of the cut and thrust of city life between the two canals a century ago. ​​
    Joe also writes a weekly column for the Irish Mail on Sunday.

Joe gives a huge amount of his free time and is involved with many charities. He has worked with St Vincent DePaul, Crumlin Children’s Hospital, Chernobyl to name a few.
    - See more at: http://www.nkmanagement.ie/joe-duffy---biography.html#sthash.ezQKxkz6.dpuf

I see Lloyds appear to be still advertising on the Liveline web page, wonder are they paying or was it just never taken down from when they sponsored the show?

000ac2bb-600.jpg

Assume it just wasn't taken down. As I said, parts of that website/de lahv lahn pages haven't been updated since 2-12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,552 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Assume it just wasn't taken down. As I said, parts of that website/de lahv lahn pages haven't been updated since 2-12.

A bit crazy to have that piece of real estate so to speak going to waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

A bit crazy to have that piece of real estate so to speak going to waste.
    Old people can't use computers, so to speak. Nobody ever sees those ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Is there a link to the buke? I bet that's been updated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Anyone seen this before on De Lahv Lahn page?
    http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/generic/2013/0215/367956-special-features/

Chris's letter about 'coming out', as featured on Thursday 6th February 2014
    My mother summed it perfectly for me. ‘Nothings changed. You are still Chris Godfrey, You are the kindest, most genuine, empathic, generous, loving son, brother, cousin, nephew and friend I know. What is there to be ashamed about? The only thing you are guilty of is falling in love.’

"Son, we've known you were gay for the past decade."
    The Fyver Fryday link has been up since last year. They actually have a tab on the show's page for a once a year show.

We are no longer able to accept or list new offers for this site as of 3pm Friday, December 4th.

Does this mean we are due another Fiver Friday soon? I can't wait.
    Liveline's legendary Funny Fridays have become a welcome antidote to the trials of modern living. Joe is joined by some of Ireland's finest musical comedians to put our politicians and public personalities under the spotlight to truly uproarious effect.....

I don't know who wrote that, or how they could keep a straight face when they did.

000ac2bb-600.jpg
    An old trick - leave a former ad up to occupy space. Used to see it a lot in local rags, to give the impression of paying advertisers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

If yiz want ta read some very poorly written guff: http://www.nkmanagement.ie/joe-duffy---biography.html

I always thought that RTE should ask for a rebate for the free advertising that Duffy gives himself. Even just announcing those events that he speaks at, as if he was doing some sort of public service by doing so, is a misuse of his position and misuse of the RTE's resources. How many other books about 1916 do not have access to that sort of free advertising, and they are not pulling 300K a year from the public purse at the same time.

You're there to answer the phones, Joe, don't forget that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I always thought that RTE should ask for a rebate for the free advertising that Duffy gives himself. Even just announcing those events that he speaks at, as if he was doing some sort of public service by doing so, is a misuse of his position and misuse of the RTE's resources. How many other books about 1916 do not have access to that sort of free advertising, and they are not pulling 300K a year from the public purse at the same time.

You're there to answer the phones, Joe, don't forget that.

416K at last count Peter, please try and keep up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

416K at last count Peter, please try and keep up

And just imagine what his Claddaghgreen Ltd's fees for 2016 216 will be? €500k+ is my bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

How many producers does he have in the place per day?

He has stated in the past that there are 3 Producers. There's Yew, Fungus (who's on leave doing his show and dat at the moment) and Siobhán; but I think there may actually be more than that. Then there's the team of researchers - I don't know exactly how many there are, but the description of them as a "team" would indicate there's more than 1. And then there's Philip Boucher Hayes, "the full time host of Lahv Lahn". That's quite a team we pay for ON TOP OF DE FAT FELLA'S €416,000+.

3 producers and a series producer who is currently Aongus McAnally. I'm not sure if the series producer is one of the 3 producers mentioned. Aongus is currently on leave doing some play in Cork, something which RTE have been promoting away to their hearts content.

He has one researcher. Yes. One. He has said that on a couple of occasions.

I'm not sure if sound technicians etc. are included in the "producers", they usually wouldn't be. Whoever is responsible for the awful fading in of songs over people when they are talking on segments such as the Leonard Cohen tribute isn't doing their job properly. Might well be our hero thinking he can do that job as well as any other.

Whoever did the "Row, Row, Row your boat" thing when the O'Donovan lads won the medal in the Olympics needs to be ashamed of themselves and start a new career.

There's also the outside broadcast unit that has to be utilised every time they do a "Is it fcuk Funny Friday". If it's being held in or very near Dublin then it's a standard 8 hour day, if it's further afield then the overtime starts to kick in big time.

None of the above include the typical staff required to run an operation as big as RTE. And there's no way the advertising revenue makes any serious profit for RTE, if any at all. It's stuffed with their own ads, as has been pointed out here consistently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Where does Damien fit into all this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,118 ✭✭✭✭neris

And just imagine what his Claddaghgreen Ltd's fees for 2016 216 will be? €500k+ is my bet.

his accounts should be out soon i got his last set (2014) around this time last year

Which was worser so to speak?
    De Dickie Rock special
    De Bob Dylan album special
    De Lenny Cohen special

snubbleste wrote: »
    Which was worser so to speak?
    De Dickie Rock special
    De Bob Dylan album special
    De Lenny Cohen special

Sil Fox's 79th 'surprise' birthday was the nadir of those types of shows. It wasn't a surprise to Sil as he was sitting in the bloody studio all ready to go at the time.

75 minutes of self indulgence by Duffy for one of his buddies and one of his managers clients. The "usual gang" were in, all at the licence payers cost.

Utter dire stuff, nepotistic, vain and self serving. All paid for by us.

And no, it wasn't a substitute for Funny Friday, it was during the week, in the middle of the recession when there was plenty of misery and anger to be peddled on the airwaves.

Red Kev wrote: »
    Sil Fox's 79th birthday was the nadir of those types of shows.
    75 minutes of self indulgence by Duffy for one of his buddies and one of his managers clients. The "usual gang" were in, all at the licence payers cost.
    Utter dire stuff, nepotistic, vain and self serving. All paid for by us.
    I must've blanked that show completely. When is he 80?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Miracle cure for cancer business gets closed down today(not the Beacon Clinic)

Dirty Diesel

Is Diesel a dog?

snubbleste wrote: »
    I must've blanked that show completely. When is he 80?

This was 3 or 4 years ago, if not longer.

(not the Beacon Clinic)

It's telling that as I get older it's one of the few ads I actually pay attention to when I hear it.

I see Joe has retweeted the video of someones mannequin challenge. Can you guess who it is yet kids? Yuss, the fibre-gade!