Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Road issues that irritate me.......

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Ginger83 wrote: »
    Drivers that think every speed limit is a target.

Drivers who overtake forcing oncoming vehicles off the road onto the hard shoulder (someday 1 of those cars wont move over!)

The speed limit is a perfectly safe speed to travel at, most of the time. It is a target most of the time.

There is nothing worse than sitting behind someone doing 10km/h less than the speed limit. It's worse when it's an R road that used to be an N road. The speed limit changed from 100 to 80 because of a letter change.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

_Jamie_ wrote: »
    I think maybe you were hoping for and expecting more agreement with you here, that you'd tap into a stream of people with a similar simmering resentment towards parents and their kids but in reality you are just coming across petty and sanctimonious. And I say this as a childless person. All I can I say is that you have little to be bothering you!

I don't really mind whether people agree with me or not - it would be a boring world if we all agreed with one another!

......and I say this as someone who raised 3 kids (a good chunk of which was as a single parent), parent and child spaces are not even close to being on the same level as disable spaces and perhaps your little personal jibes should be directed towards those who think they are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

Jawgap wrote: »
    I don't really mind whether people agree with me or not - it would be a boring world if we all agreed with one another!

......and I say this as someone who raised 3 kids (a good chunk of which was as a single parent), parent and child spaces are not even close to being on the same level as disable spaces and perhaps your little personal jibes should be directed towards those who think they are?

People have given you examples of why they are not pointless. They offer space to a lone parent struggling with a buggy and other child-related accoutrements. I literally cannot understand why someone would bemoan their lives being made a bit easier. It just makes you look like a crank. "Shopping experience". Give me strength.

And actually, I am someone who would qualify for a disability pass but I actually wouldn't use it. Because I don't need it. Sometimes people who qualify for disabilty passes don't want or need them. Sometimes parents DO need a wider space. It's not black and white.

People have given you examples of why they are not pointless. They offer space to a lone parent struggling with a buggy and other child-related accoutrements. I literally cannot understand why someone would bemoan their lives being made a bit easier. It just makes you look like a crank. "Shopping experience". Give me strength.

And actually, I am someone who would qualify for a disability pass but I actually wouldn't use it. Because I don't need it. Sometimes people who qualify for disabilty passes don't want or need them. Sometimes parents DO need a wider space. It's not black and white.

Hey, it's not just me who uses the word 'experience' when talking about shopping....some people even blog about it......but I guess some people are just beyond criticism ;)
    I find grocery shopping with the kids to be a fairly un-traumatic experience. Favouring the week days when one or other of us is home with the kids, or early weekend mornings when only other sleep deprived parents are wandering the aisles, we happily avoid peak time mayhem and-so far at least, it’s worked.
    Tesco was founded in 1919 by Jack Cohen from a market stall in London’s East End. Over the years our business has grown and now operates in 12 countries around the world, employ over 530,000 people and serve tens of millions of customers every week. We have always been committed to providing the best shopping experience.........

How to create a modern, relevant shopping experience

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Yep, there will always be motorists who complain about cyclists. Even if cyclists paid road tax.
    Would motorists have to pay this road tax too? Surely they already pay enough tax?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

My mam has a disability badge.

She has a degenerative disease which is causing the bones in her pelvis/spine to fuse together. She gets an infusion of drugs once every two months which gives her a few pain free weeks before the pain returns, she can't get the drugs any more often unfortunately.

The days that she is pain free and mobile, despite being "entitled", she wouldn't park in a disabled spot.

You see, she feels that being "entitled" to do something doesn't mean that she's going to fire on ahead and do it, and use something that she doesn't need quite so much today.

Some folk don't feel like giving a dig out to those who need just a tiny bit of a helping hand sometimes and that's fine. I've found over the years that there's rarely a point in arguing with those types. They'll never ever see it from another person's point of view so leave them to enjoy their little world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,371 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Brian? wrote: »
    Not when you drive an auto.

Eh? I've driven autos for years now and don't find it necessary to keep tapping the brakes? Anytime I want to decelerate gently I just lift off a bit and let the engine braking do the rest.

Only time I need to actually use the brake is indeed to bring the car to a halt or as a reaction to some muppet who keeps tapping their brakes in front of me every few seconds :(

But my own list would include...

- Dawdlers who sit at 20-40 km/h below the limit when there's no reason to, forcing others (including trucks) to overtake them and thus causing congestion in both lanes

- People who can't merge onto a motorway properly because they're dawdling along at 60-80 km/h when they reach the end of the slip road. Related are the type who won't move into the overtaking lane when it's free to better accomodate merging

- People who can't leave a motorway properly and wait till the last 200m before they swing dramatically across 2/3 lanes to get to the exit... or who drive up one exit lane and then try to cut into the busier other lane they really want

- Tailgaters or idiots aggressively lane-hopping just to get a car length ahead

- People who don't indicate (especially on roundabouts) or who indicate halfway through the maneuver, although you can usually tell these types on motorways by the way their car starts drifting towards the line first while they make up their minds

- People on phones or with headphones on (WTF is that about?) and the subsequent erratic driving. Most cars these days have a bluetooth kit and media ports, or if not you can get a bluetooth kit for €30 online

- Idiots driving around in the dark/bad weather with no or minimal lights on.. though the manufacturers have to share some blame here as well. What idiot thought it was a good idea to only have the front LED/DRL's come on by default? That's a lot of use on a grey rainy day on the M50 when cars become invisible because of the spray

- Many women drivers who in my experience make up a good portion of our "racer" brigade these days, never let you out and never acknowledge when you let them out. Also the ones driving oversized SUVs that they can't park

- Our police force, who generally are interested in nothing beyond tax disc checks and "speeding" on motorways (watch out for them camped up on on-ramps at exits where you won't see them until you pass them below). They generally completely ignore all of the above antics - even when it happens right in front of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Knine

As a single parent I always managed children & all their bits in a normal space. However I cannot manage my youngest child with a disability in a normal space. You are lucky so that your mobility is not impaired enough to require a permit. You might find that if you did apply that the critera is fairly strict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Eh? I've driven autos for years now and don't find it necessary to keep tapping the brakes? Anytime I want to decelerate gently I just lift off a bit and let the engine braking do the rest.

Only time I need to actually use the brake is indeed to bring the car to a halt or as a reaction to some muppet who keeps tapping their brakes in front of me every few seconds :(

But my own list would include...

- Dawdlers who sit at 20-40 km/h below the limit when there's no reason not to, forcing others (including trucks) to overtake them necessarily and thus causing congestion in both lanes

- People who can't merge onto a motorway properly because they're dawdling along at 60-80 km/h when they reach the end of the slip road. Related are the type who won't move into the overtaking lane when it's free to better accomodate merging

- People who can't leave a motorway properly and wait till the last 200m before they swing dramatically across 2/3 lanes to get to the exit... or who drive up one exit lane and then try to cut into the busier other lane they really want

- Tailgaters or idiots aggressively lane-hopping just to get a car length ahead

- People who don't indicate (especially on roundabouts) or who indicate halfway through the maneuver, although you can usually tell these types on motorways by the way their car starts drifting towards the line first while they make up their minds

- People on phones or with headphones on (WTF is that about?) and the subsequent erratic driving. Most cars these days have a bluetooth kit and media ports, or if not you can get a bluetooth kit for €30 online

- Idiots driving around in the dark/bad weather with no or minimal lights on.. though the manufacturers have to share some blame here as well. What idiot thought it was a good idea to only have the front LED's come on by default? That's a lot of use on a grey rainy day on the M50 when cars become invisible because of the spray

- Many women drivers who in my experience make up a good portion of our "racer" brigade these days, never let you out and never acknowledge when you let them out. Also the ones driving oversized SUVs that they can't park

- Our police force, who generally are interested in nothing beyond tax disc checks and "speeding" on motorways (watch out for them camped up on on-ramps at exits where you won't see them until you pass them below). They generally completely ignore all of the above antics - even when it happens right in front of them

A sterling case for annual driver testing

Knine wrote: »
    As a single parent I always managed children & all their bits in a normal space. However I cannot manage my youngest child with a disability in a normal space. You are lucky so that your mobility is not impaired enough to require a permit. You might find that if you did apply that the critera is fairly strict.

Yeah, it might be ruled that I don't need it - for now. But the illness in unpredictable and wheelchair use is very likely in my future.

But complaining about mother and baby spaces to such a degree comes across as incredibly precious. And, to be honest, just looking for stuff to complain about. As others have said, it's up to the shop whether they want to install the spaces. And it's up to a consumer if they want to boycott a retailers to providing those spaces. I'd just personally consider that to be an utterly ridiculous reason to do so. It seems to be fashionable now to regard everything parents do as wrong and selfish.

As HellSquirrel said, the thinking seems to be "The space is closer to the shop... something something... MINE!" What a self-centred outlook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

and cyclists. especially those who refuse to use the cycle lanes in the phoenix park, on one of the most dangerous roads and expect everyone to give them a wide berth
    To be fair, the cycle paths in the Phoenix Park are statistically among the most dangerous in the country. Far more dangerous than the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

seamus wrote: »
    To be fair, the cycle paths in the Phoenix Park are statistically among the most dangerous in the country. Far more dangerous than the roads.

I cycle them every morning. The surface is good as are the sight lines. What bugs the sh!t out of me is walkers and joggers in the cycle lanes, particularly at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,799 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Driving along in an 80 km/h zone, behind a car doing between 65-72 km/h.

Sees Garda speed check ahead, car in front slows down to 60 km/h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,794 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    I cycle them every morning. The surface is good as are the sight lines. What bugs the sh!t out of me is walkers and joggers in the cycle lanes, particularly at night.

Totally understand your frustration however I wouldn't be quick to blame the pedestrian in the Phoenix park. Having been in the park quite a bit - I think that the cycle lanes should be where the footpaths should be...

It makes little sense to me that people are expected to exit parked cars, cross a cycle lane, stride over a barrier and walk across a stretch of grass to the pedestrian path. Remember many people visiting the park will do so with children and/or elderly people so it's a nonsense to think that people will make all that effort to get to another path when they are already standing on one.

Anyone not familiar (and many indeed familiar) with the park is going to immediately assume that the path that runs alongside the road is a footpath. That would be conventional wisdom. A handful of painted bike signs on the path are not going to correct that assumption. Especially when they are effectively invisible at night time.

It just seems counter intuitive to me.

kbannon wrote: »
    Would motorists have to pay this road tax too? Surely they already pay enough tax?

Jaysus! I'm sticking up for cyclists here. Please pick your battles! No need to be so pedantic, I KNOW it's feckin' called motor tax. You completely missed the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

Talbot Street, Dublin - who was the genius that came up with all the chicanery ?

It can take 5 or more minutes for Dublin buses to wrestle their way up to the stop at Irish life. Add another five minutes for the lights at Gardiner Street.

You gotta see it for yourself from the upper deck of bus to believe it. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

Driving along a 2 lane national secondary road yesterday. It's bright, dry and the road is straight with hard shoulders. It's 100kph limit
    There's a moron towing a horsebox and he's going at somewhere between 50-60 km/hr.
    There's a fairly steady stream of traffic coming in the opposite direction which severely restricts overtaking opportunities so there must be around 20 cars behind this guy when I come upon him.
    Will he pull over into the hard shoulder bit?
    Will he fcuk.
    Takes me 10km to eventually get passed him.
    He looks like a big cabbage-headded knob.
    He can obviously see in his rearview mirror the hold up he's causing but I presume people like that genuinely don't give a **** about anyone other than themselves.
    Hate these selfish ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭chewed

Cyclists on motorways!

Fúcking Retards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

MeatTwoVeg wrote: »
    Driving along a 2 lane national secondary road yesterday. It's bright, dry and the road is straight with hard shoulders. It's 100kph limit
    There's a moron towing a horsebox and he's going at somewhere between 50-60 km/hr.
    There's a fairly steady stream of traffic coming in the opposite direction which severely restricts overtaking opportunities so there must be around 20 cars behind this guy when I come upon him.
    Will he fcuk.
    He can obviously see in his rearview mirror the hold up he's causing but I presume people like that genuinely don't give a **** about anyone other than themselves.
    Hate these selfish ****.

Have heard of people getting fined for driving in the hard shoulder like you mentioned. So that could be it or he could be a wanker as you mentioned.

chewed wrote: »
    Cyclists on motorways!

Fúcking Retards!

not so much irritating as downright dangerous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭chewed

Jawgap wrote: »
    not so much irritating as downright dangerous!

i beeped at one of them last weekend on the M3. He gave me the finger. I was so tempted to.......ehhhh......forget it! ;)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

chewed wrote: »
    i beeped at one of them last weekend on the M3. He gave me the finger. I was so tempted to.......ehhhh......forget it! ;)
    Just phone Garda Trafficwatch on 1890205805

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

May as well call Fireman Sam.....seen several cyclist run red lights only to see the Gardai look at them and drive away.....if that was a car they'd have blue lights and sirens on and make a whole show of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

May as well call Fireman Sam.....seen several cyclist run red lights only to see the Gardai look at them and drive away.....if that was a car they'd have blue lights and sirens on and make a whole show of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Depends on the situation. I was driving off the m50 on Saturday evening, stopped at the lights behind a Garda Traffic Corp car.

The lights went red coming the other direction, a car sailed through the red. Anyway, the lads in the Garda car drove one way and let the errant motorist on his merry way. In fainesss, red light breaking is so common at this stage - cyclists and motorists alike - that it's impossible to enforce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

You're joking aren't you? I've yet to see the Garda Traffic Division do anything on the roads other than set up the occasional checkpoint, they're certainly not pulling over red light jumpers!!

for something like a cyclist on a motorway, they'd be out quick enough to get him off the motorway - they wouldn't hang, draw and quarter him so there'll be no pleasing some people ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭Ginger83

MeatTwoVeg wrote: »
    Will he fcuk.
    Hate these selfish ****.

You are actually not insured to drive on the hard shoulder but he/she could have pulled in and stopped briefly as some tractors do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Brian? wrote: »
    The speed limit is a perfectly safe speed to travel at, most of the time. It is a target most of the time.

There is nothing worse than sitting behind someone doing 10km/h less than the speed limit. It's worse when it's an R road that used to be an N road. The speed limit changed from 100 to 80 because of a letter change.

Under certain road condition but theres no obligation that you must drive at the speed limit.

Its probably as annoying to see someone doing 10-20km/hr over the limit, do they not have the manners to abide by the rules as the rest of us?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

Ginger83 wrote:
    You are actually not insured to drive on the hard shoulder but he/she could have pulled in and stopped briefly as some tractors do.

It's nothing to do with insurance and I suspect you're thinking of motorway hard shoulders, which is indeed an offense.

It's perfectly acceptable to temporarily pull over into the hard shoulder to allow faster moving traffic to overtake if the shoulder is clear and it's safe to do so.