Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Basically the longer established Gardai are raking it in. So missus, wait till your husband is there a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

Red Kev wrote: »
    I'll stick my neck out here and just say that this shouldn't be on the radio. I looked after the oul fella for a few years, he decided himself at the end that it was best for himself to go to the nursing home as it became almost impossible to look after him, doctors, home help, district nurse all told me he should have gone in 12 months earlier.

I met loads of people in the two homes he was in, some were in by choice, some didn't want to be there, but their physical condition simply made it impossible for them to be at home without 24 hour care. Some people are easy to manage, some can be difficult.

It's quite possible that it's best for this lady to be in the home (it's also possible she's able to look after herself, but I doubt it). However, it's blatantly unfair for the family to be exposed to this, and the comments that will be made behind their backs by the usual gossip mongers in their area.

If the woman is fit to get out then nobody needs to sign her out, she sounds like it's best for her to be there.
    Well said. Excruciating thinking of what her family are going through.

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

dont mention the pension luv

35k a year at 50 is nothing to give out about.

gobshytes are loaded . anyone else living in the real world would be keeping the head down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Everyone else did not buy a house in 2008, caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the lotto win pension:rolleyes:

Whinge, whinge, whinge, whinge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭North Cork Star

I feel sorry for Sadie. Very hard listening to this. It sounds to me that she is well able to live in her own home obviously with the home helps coming in etc. She obviously has friends in her community that visits her now and again. It sounds to me that she got very little choice from her family to continue staying at home. They obviously are having none of her giving out as regards leaving the nursing home and going back home. The radio must have been last resort for her because her family were obviously not listening to her. I hope she gets to go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,095 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

well ye decided to buy a house and have 2 children ? what's her problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Oh yeah :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭woejus

Emma : wind back the clock to 2006 so we can buy a gaff before everyone else, consequences be damned

lads is the ANY other profession where theres as many retired raking in the pension as are in the entire current workforce itself ?

yet thats our gardai.

2smiggy wrote: »
    well ye decided to buy a house and have 2 children ? what's her problem

The 2 dogs tip them over

€48k a year!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

He's earning the guts of €50K and she's complaining that he has to pay €10K in tax. Feck off. That's the idea of taxation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

This woman is fibbing.
    €10k nett from 48k gross............MY AR$E!

woah woah woah.

he bought the gaff in the boom on the back of a SINGLE wage ?

get the fuk out and work love and youll be grand.

He's earning the guts of €50K and she's complaining that he has to pay €10K in tax. Feck off. That's the idea of taxation.

Duffy afraid to broach that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,066 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

snubbleste wrote: »
    €48k a year!!

I think they deserve that or a bit more for the dangerous job they do.
    I wouldn't do it.

woah woah woah.
    he bought the gaff in the boom on the back of a SINGLE wage ?
    get the fuk out and work love and youll be grand.
    mortgage is €1800 a month, whaaaa?
    Did they re-mortgage or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

A week's shopping €150? Ffs, get down to Lidl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,095 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

€1800 a month !! Well they did not think that out rightly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

Joe doing the mattymatics...anyway its only small change to him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

so fcuking what:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

150 a week for 2adults 2small kids shopping?? Lay off the white truffle luv

So she's earning cash every week
    ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭baldbear

48k is great money. We all have mortgages, we all have childcare costs, we all have tolls,insurance etc.

this one is "entitlement" personified !

how does she think everyone else manages in this economy.

8 out of 10 are earning less than him.

I hope there are a slew of callers coming on to challenge her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

€150 a week in shopping? Are you shopping in Marks & Spencers or something. Two huge broccoli for €1 today in SuperValu. A chicken, a pack of pork chops and a wad of mince for €10 also in SuperValu today.

He can always quit, caller.