Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Sadies relatives will be delighted with this exposure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

Sadie`s nightmare....she seems capable of being at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would like to hear the other side of the story

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

we need a taskforce to free Sadie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭bigroad

Daughter gets rid of Mammy with a view to offloading house for a few bob so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭surferdudz

Painful story . She misses the simple pleasures she is clearly able to enjoy . Get her out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

snubbleste wrote: »
    How much is Sadie's house worth?

Enough for the daughter to park her there and keep her fingers crossed for an early resolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭madanall

That poor woman sounds like she has been abandoned by her family. She certainly shouldn't be confined to a nursing home.

Careful Sadie, don't criticise that nursing home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Squatter

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Sadies relatives will be delighted with this exposure?

Especially her poor daughter!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

I would like to hear the other side of the story

Unless she secretly worked for the SS during the war, I'm going to side with her.

LE. Eithne at the ready, Sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Jan_de_Bakker

Jaysus ..... go through each ingredient of every meal since 1994 love...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

Write 'em all out of your will, Sadie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Just in. Does this aulone live in heaven..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

signostic wrote: »
    Sadie`s nightmare....she seems capable of being at home
    Maybe , maybe she falls everyday at risk of breaking her hip , maybe she can't physically look after herself , maybe she's incontinent etc. While mentally She may seem fine , there's probably a much broader story .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

why would she need to be signed out...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

the security in the nursing home will be better than ours come friday joe !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Why doesn't she just up sticks and go home?.........or maybe there's more to it that we are not hearing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

When my father was in a nursing home my sister made sure that she was the only one to have access to my father's bank statements. The nursing home was happy for her to do this.
    We discovered later that when the rest of us visited and brought a bag of oranges or similar she was charging my father for the oranges that she brought.

Free the nursing home one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭bigroad

It sounds like she need help from the A-Team.

Tears imminent. Good man Duffy. Ruin her day. Ya dope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I'll stick my neck out here and just say that this shouldn't be on the radio. I looked after the oul fella for a few years, he decided himself at the end that it was best for himself to go to the nursing home as it became almost impossible to look after him, doctors, home help, district nurse all told me he should have gone in 12 months earlier.

I met loads of people in the two homes he was in, some were in by choice, some didn't want to be there, but their physical condition simply made it impossible for them to be at home without 24 hour care. Some people are easy to manage, some can be difficult.

It's quite possible that it's best for this lady to be in the home (it's also possible she's able to look after herself, but I doubt it). However, it's blatantly unfair for the family to be exposed to this, and the comments that will be made behind their backs by the usual gossip mongers in their area.

If the woman is fit to get out then nobody needs to sign her out, she sounds like it's best for her to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Ffs Duffy don't be crushing sh!t here. Wouldn't the hip pain give you a clue you fool. She's obviously fallen and may have onset dementia. Going thru a similar situation..........asshole duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

is joe bascially trying to see if she can do a runner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Jan_de_Bakker

When my father was in a nursing home my sister made sure that she was the only one to have access to my father's bank statements. The nursing home was happy for her to do this.
    We discovered later that when the rest of us visited and brought a bag of oranges or similar she was charging my father for the oranges that she brought.

ah jaysus !!

don't wanna insult your sister but ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

This lady needs to have her wishes listened to.

What an awful family.

Don't worry, Sadie; while you're there, there are a few helpful lads out fixing your drive and roof for you.