Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sure-Fire Signs That an area is Rough

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Can this thread morph into how do you know you live in hipstre land?
    Cos all of this was Stoneybatter but now we're surrounded by pubs with notions (cheesy Tuesday in walshes is not what it sounds like. A board with a selection of cheeses are given to each table in the pub. And don't get me started on mulligans.) and screaming Rents and bearded smug looking bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

david75 wrote: »
    Can this thread morph into how do you know you live in hipstre land?
    Cos all of this was Stoneybatter but now we're surrounded by pubs with notions (cheesy Tuesday in walshes is not what it sounds like. A board with a selection of cheeses are given to each table in the pub. And don't get me started on mulligans.) and screaming Rents and bearded smug looking bastards.

Try drumcondra for hipster ville....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,606 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Tucking your tracksuit into your socks and walking with a pimp cane.

http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w287/ericblsf/pimpcanesmedium.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

A flat screen TV bigger than the room its in and White (Chinese) porcalin statues of a Mermaid type girl (stretched out on a rock thing) in every window.
    The Q at the local Post Office starts at 7.30 am (Millionaire for the day,First stop, An early house) by Taxi....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

A worrying amount of cars with broken windows and no number plates seemingly just abandoned??

Address ends in co Dublin.... Or D some number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭JimmyTClarke

jimgoose wrote: »
    Yeah, could someone tell me what that's about?

I heard that it's a 'sign post' of sorts. So that buyers of certain commodities can easily locate the purveyors of said commodities.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

I heard that it's a 'sign post' of sorts. So that buyers of certain commodities can easily locate the purveyors of said commodities.
    lookin ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭selectamatic

When you're on teaching practice and a young fella breaks an sna's arm when she tries to stop a fight out on yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Kids hanging around when they should be in school.

Battered cars from the 1990s parked outside the houses during working hours.

Might be a stay at home parent while partner is away working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭JimmyTClarke

Election posters for Éirígí candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Lt Dan wrote: »
    No, they are just learning bad habits off each other, learning to steal and ekkkkk. .. learning the drugs trade :D:p

Non Wurking class children do make friends; in school, at the rugby club, yacht club, music club, GAA Club ; in fact they are already lining up their business partners and trust funds. Ha ha ha

Playdates, darling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

The Union Jack kerbs of Lisburn in the North is a big giveaway, a scary place. Like another poster mentioned, Stoner I think was the name, boarded up houses. This was always a giveaway for me when going through the East End of Glasgow, if you come to a housing scheme with loads of boarded up houses, burnt cars and coaches, you just don't venture into there. Special mention to Tuam and Limerick here, the Bus Eireann route going to and from Galway passes entire streets boarded up, looks dodgy as hell, why not put some nice art work on the boards at least it wouldn't look too ugly then.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Tri Colours. Tri Colours. Tri Colours.

The local priest drives a WRX.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,668 ✭✭✭✭flazio

They made themselves very well known to the fire brigades the other night with all those bonfires.

This too shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

bazz26 wrote: »
    Tucking your tracksuit into your socks and walking with a pimp cane.

http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w287/ericblsf/pimpcanesmedium.jpg

The bhoys must be after a big compo payout from some joyridin accident:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

Sure-Fire Signs That an area is Rough

When you don't slip when walking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

When you don't slip when walking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

When you're on teaching practice and a young fella breaks an sna's arm when she tries to stop a fight out on yard

When the teachers are far more afraid of the 'students' than the latter are of the former.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

A worrying amount of cars with broken windows and no number plates seemingly just abandoned??

Address ends in co Dublin.... Or D some number

Or starts with a D

Dungarvin :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Granard in co Longford looks as rough as hell, don't know whether it is or not ?

Or starts with a D

Dungarvin :-)

It is quite a kip tbf

Dungarvan on the other hand....... Is worser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Grand parents in their 30s.
    Skanger cars like 05 Nissan Almeras or Honda civics parked up
    No trees
    Local pub has no windows and is usually painted black / grey and is part of a shop complex that consists of a spar with a disproportionate off licence section selling predominantly cans, dominos pizza and paddy powers
    AAA / no water meter posters
    The estate is a "gardens" or named after a republican
    Abandoned furniture, cars and completely random things
    Every house has a satellite dish
    A Lidl / Aldi near by or dealz is the main shop on the high street
    Pie balled ponies grazing
    Ad hoc shops, usually in an old garage, selling huge quantities of toilet paper or washing powder
    Women are in fake juicy couture tracksuit, men are in matching track suits
    Everyone wears unfeasibly white runners
    A panel beating / car repair garage, usually it modifies cars as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    No trees
    Local pub has no windows and is usually painted black / grey and is part of a shop complex that consists of a spar with a disproportionate off licence section selling predominantly cans, dominos pizza and paddy powers
    Ad hoc shops, usually in an old garage, selling huge quantities of toilet paper or washing powder

To be honest that all sounds like great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

To be honest that all sounds like great craic

Forgot the fellas whizzing about on scrambler bikes, terrorising people on the paths and destroying the public green space. That seems to be where the craic is.

Is there ramps in the greens??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,816 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

If there is a perimeter wall next to a field, the other side of the wall is typically awash with old electrical appliances, cheap "leather" sofas and old baby car seats and or buggies, not to mention bags and bags of household waste.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,292 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Dead eye stare from gangs of 7 year olds hanging out on the footpath.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

No trees

so just a summary of the thread then..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

We have been told to stand back and not to get involved, as other students will break it up