Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Brexit: The Last Stand (No name calling)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Grayson wrote: »
    That makes for some seriously grim reading. I don't know how anyone could hold that up as a model for how to treat migrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

maryishere wrote: »
    Contrast that with our own navy ships who even today rescued and will land about 400 migrants in Italy....as opposed to sending them back to Africa or bringing them to Cobh.

I was talking to one of the lads I play soccer with, who was out on one of our Navy vessels, and had just returned from a few months out there. I shook his hand and told him I have the utmost respect for the work he and his fellow sailors are doing.

I asked him 'is it a difficult job' and he told me 'ah, well, you get used to it I suppose... it's pretty emotional when the kids you've rescued hug your leg they're so grateful, or when you're fishing a dead woman out of the water who is heavily pregnant'.

We should be enormously proud of our Navy lads out there doing trojan humanitarian work instead of disgustingly sneering at them like you.

Brexiteers want to put us back in the 80s.
    Which 80s?
    1880s perhaps, and are you in the UK right now as you said "we"?
    The affects on Ireland are still unknown, but will depend more on how the EU reacts to the UK leaving, rather than the other way round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,019 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Which is why a relatively high percentage of the migrants to Australia have been Irish. Would you prefer it if the muslim population of Australia increased by 11.5 million like it has in Europe? There are 260 million people next door to Australia living in Indonesia. Their nominal gdp per head is only 3400 dollars per year. Would you like it if half of those people settled in Australia?

1) Ireland is in Europe.
    2)You haven't got a clue about numbers do you. Half of Indonesia? 11.5 people moving to Ireland? where do you pull this from.
    3) I know loads of Muslims. They're lovely people. You might hate someone because of a religion but I don't.

It's clear that you judge people based on their religion/ethnicity before you even talk to them.

That makes for some seriously grim reading. I don't know how anyone could hold that up as a model for how to treat migrants.

It's nasty isn't it.

It is, if you don't want them arriving! (this is a statement of fact, not an endorsement!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

I don't know how anyone could hold that up as a model for how to treat migrants.

Ye goota be cruel to be kind sometimes. If they were like our softie navy and said to the two hundred and 60 million people "next door"in Indonesia - and hundreds of millions further away in Asia -come on over, the crack is good here , leave in rafts and once you are in International waters we will rescue you and bring you to the promised land - then a lot more people would die trying to reach Australia.

Do you think the 16 million or so Australians can or should accommodate a large influx from Indonesia, population 260 million and rising?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Ye goota be cruel to be kind sometimes. If they were like our softie navy and said to the two hundred and 60 million people "next door"in Indonesia - and hundreds of millions further away in Asia -come on over, the crack is good here , leave in rafts and once you are in International waters we will rescue you and bring you to the promised land - then a lot more people would die trying to reach Australia.

Do you think the 16 million or so Australians can or should accommodate a large influx from Indonesia, population 260 million and rising?

Australia is one of the least densely populated places in the world ....loads of room??

All of which is irrelevant to both brexit and Ireland :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,598 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I remember a lot of people in Australia a few decades ago being disappointed with the UK for the UK turning their back on them and developing strong ties with the EC countries and imposing tariffs on goods imported from the likes of Australia, New Zealand etc ...which are almost blood relations in a way to the UK. Now the likes of the UK and Oz and New Zealand and Singapore etc can make agreements to trade more easily with each other ...easier than the EU can trade anyway. New opportunities beckon. Australian wine, New Zealand lamb etc

it won't be enough. the fact is britain is not as powerful in trade terms as it once was. britain needs the EU more then the EU needs britain.
    Interesting to note that when the Australians come across ships full of illegial migrants on the high seas, they do not rescue them and bring them to their own ( Oz ) mainland. Contrast that with our own navy ships who even today rescued and will land about 400 migrants in Italy....as opposed to sending them back to Africa or bringing them to Cobh. Unlike Merkel, their p.m. did not invite a million in last winter.

except dispite it, the migrants keep trying to get into australia and keep going for it. that's probably why the EU haven't implemented the same, because it hasn't worked for australia. however as i have said before, if the politicians can convince the public that something is working that is all that ultimately matters.
    Which is why a relatively high percentage of the migrants to Australia have been Irish. Would you prefer it if the muslim population of Australia increased by 11.5 million like it has in Europe? There are 260 million people next door to Australia living in Indonesia. Their nominal gdp per head is only 3400 dollars per year. Would you like it if half of those people settled in Australia?

to the horrific abuse that migrants receive in the concentration camps australia don't even pay the running costs of to countries? yeah i probably would tbh.
    Brexiteers want to put us back in the 80s.

oh no, they want to bring you back a lot earlier.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭130Kph

I think you might be posting from the 1980's, we've all moved on from those times, maybe you should join us. :)

Moved on :D now that’s funny (in the way nothing is funny to do with ‘republicans’ :()

Anyway, to join you, I’d need a chip on my shoulder…. Have you got one spare
    But anyway, wait, let me practice.
    Yeah british suckers. The UK are only 8th out of 200 countries in the world at exporting. What a hopeless bunch of moronic losers, hee hee hee.
    But hang on, I sound like a 12 year old parochial head-up-my-arse inbred gimp talking like that.

MMMmmmm, on reflection after all, I won’t be joining your gang.

{Disclaimer: Brexit is almost 99% guaranteed to be bad for the UK, the EU & us}.

130Kph wrote: »
    Moved on :D now that’s funny (in the way nothing is funny to do with ‘republicans’ :()

Anyway, to join you, I’d need a chip on my shoulder…. Have you got one spare
    But anyway, wait, let me practice.

But hang on, I sound like a 12 year old parochial head-up-my-arse inbred gimp talking like that.

MMMmmmm, on reflection after all, I won’t be joining your gang.

{Disclaimer: Brexit is almost 99% guaranteed to be bad for the UK, the EU & us}.

^^^wha :confused::confused:

Do you think the million-or-so people of Australia should have accommodated the millions of invaders, colonisers, and 'criminals' that arrived?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Australia is one of the least densely populated places in the world ....loads of room??
    Much of Australia is desert. Anyway, closer to home:

We are much less densely populated than England. Would you like our navy to bring back a few hundred thousand migrants to Waterford and Cork. The percentage of the population of Leicester, for example, in England is 340,000 and less than half of that is white British. Most of the immigrants are from Pakistan, etc
    Would you like Ireland to have a population of 38 million instead of our current 4.5 million, so our population density would be more like England?

Or do you think immigration is great for other countries but not Ireland? We only took in 42 Syrian refugees so far this year?

130Kph wrote: »
    Yeah british suckers. The UK are only 8th out of 200 countries in the world at exporting. What a hopeless bunch of moronic losers, hee hee hee.

Did.. did you just make up your very own quote to argue against?

Okay... as I've said already when you're ready to join us in the 21st Century let us know. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

May got the cold shoulder yesterday, correctly IMO.
    You can't have it both ways guys!

Yes they can and an EU with the UK throwing its considerable weight around will find it much harder to unite against the UK.

Its much harder for France and Germany to unite against the UK if agrarian France needs the UK to support farmer supplements in opposition to industrial Germany. Divide and conquer can only be done from the inside. :)

So we imagined all those parts of the GFA referring to demilitarising the north??

And reduced security services presence.....all of which gives dissidents a standing target to go after everyday.....especially since the British army can't be deployed anymore without Stormonts approval ??
    Border checks need not be militarized.

Republican dissidents are an ineffectual minority. If they go after security services then they'll be dealt with like the criminals they are.

they're is only one reason that "being cruel to be kind" is done. thats to be cruel for the sake of it. the immigrants keep trying to come to oz so their concentration camps aren't working. australia has a long history of abuse and torture of people so their concentration camp policy and the allowing and facilitating of abuse isn't surprising.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

India, Japan, Australia, China etc

Uhm the UK is the world's fifth largest economy. Clearly you don't know this.

We are much less densely populated than England. Would you like our navy to bring back a few hundred thousand migrants to Waterford and Cork. The percentage of the population of Leicester, for example, in England is 340,000 and less than half of that is white British. Most of the immigrants are from Pakistan, etc
    Would you like Ireland to have a population of 38 million instead of our current 4.5 million, so our population density would be more like England?

Or do you think immigration is great for other countries but not Ireland? We only took in 42 Syrian refugees so far this year?

Let them in.....Ireland is plenty under populated

My best friend isnt even irish (here year and years though)

Are you saying that Leicester is 170,000+ Immigrants.....or are you suggesting that they aren't English enough for you if their born and raised there

Have we a likkle bigot on our hands??

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Border checks need not be militarized.

Republican dissidents are an ineffectual minority. If they go after security services then they'll be dealt with like the criminals they are.

And pray tell....what good is a border check Point with no powers to stop people coming in/out
    Unless your suggesting giving unrail powers to customs offials???

we will have a lot of refugees from britain when it ultimately goes bang and the far right and the leave supporters become fired up because they were lied to and start doing god knows what to everyone else there. so you need to prepare for a bigger population.
    Yes they can and an EU with the UK throwing its considerable weight around will find it much harder to unite against the UK.

Its much harder for France and Germany to unite against the UK if agrarian France needs the UK to support farmer supplements in opposition to industrial Germany. Divide and conquer can only be done from the inside.

nope. i'm afraid britain really has no wait anymore. at least not in terms of trade. the EU will be strong enough to unite against the uk.

Let them in.....Ireland is plenty under populated

My best friend isnt even irish (here year and years though)

Are you saying that Leicester is 170,000+ Immigrants.....or are you suggesting that they aren't English enough for you if their born and raised there

Have we a likkle bigot on our hands??

I believe the point was white British. Don't you love the way they say that as if it'll make us suddenly change our mind.

And pray tell....what good is a border check Point with no powers to stop people coming in/out
    Unless your suggesting giving unrail powers to customs offials???

I never said the border checks shouldn't have powers. I said they need not be military. Which is true.

But on a side note if the UK government wishes to post UK soldiers on UK soil that's their prerogative.

nope. i'm afraid britain really has no wait anymore. at least not in terms of trade. the EU will be strong enough to unite against the uk.

Nope. You're wrong for the reasons I've posted.

I never said the border checks shouldn't have powers. I said they need not be military. Which is true.

But on a side note if the UK government wishes to post UK soldiers on UK soil that's their prerogative.

The gardai manned the border on our side for years and were never armed.

Bahahahahaha

They can't in the north without Stormonts approval
    This was the big sticking point in the north for years with supporting policing
    As republicans wouldn't support a police force backed up by the British army.....hence SF got themselves and nationlists a veto on it :D:D:D

So if the police can't stand without sitting targets for attacks and customs can't stop vehicles.....what use is the checkpoint

Bahahahahaha

They can't in the north without Stormonts approval
    This was the big sticking point in the north for years with supporting policing
    As republicans wouldn't support a police force backed up by the British army.....hence SF got themselves and nationlists a veto on it :D:D:D
    Please show anywhere that says the UK cannot police their own borders.

So if the police can't stand without sitting targets for attacks and customs can't stop vehicles.....what use is the checkpoint

What?

Please show anywhere that says the UK cannot police their own borders.

I never said they couldn't :confused:

.....just pointing out that as it stands without transferring unrail powers to customs offials....they are creating hundreds of easy targets for dissidents????

Customs iirc in the UK haven't powers to stop a vehicle without police officers present???