Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

KReid wrote: »
    In some aspects ye he's missed, but at times he was just arguing for no reason about things he didn't understand. Kilbane is a bit nice alright, would be nice to have another person on hand to challenge him.

How many times have you heard him start a sentence with "I agree with you absolutely, Ger/Nathan/John/Paul.... /Lance :pac: "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭bobbyss

KReid wrote: »
    He usually does 4 days a week, so maybe Monday to Wednesday and maybe a weekend day, but he goes to the UK for Premier league games at the weekend and works for the BBC too. Probably has an apartment here, but he would do about 6hours a day maybe, so in at 4 probably and leaves just after 10? I know Wooly used to say he did 8 hour days but left at 9.

What I don't get is why would he bother. I am sure his TV work especially and newspaper articles earn him much much more than what Newstalk offer perhaps by a ratio of ten to one.
    I don't get what's in it for him.
    I do like him however. He seems a gentle person and quite an antidote to the Steve Mcmanims and Paul Inces and that Robbie savage fella. All bravado. Open shirted narcissism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,019 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Ger Gilroy has his critics on here but the interview he did with Donnacha O'Callaghan tonight was very good. It was very similar to a Joe Molloy style interview. Donnacha did the vast majority of talking and the interview had a very smooth flow to it, only difference/problem is that Ger takes an age to actually ask his question. Joe can ask a question using a single sentence, Ger tends to make his questions very long winded.

Ger Gilroy seems nice, and interested, and interesting...but as an interviewer he can be awful. The questions...they just go on and on and on and on until I'm wondering...what was the question. That might be fine in the soft interview...but against Lance Armstrong it was awful. Lance is a carcrash of an interviewee, and possibly even as an individual...he comes across as being vile. But it seemed like Gilroy was far too eager to hear his own voice, got bogged down in the mechanical doping stuff, and didn't really stand up for himself. Like when asked was he a rookie, he should have gone straight for some "when it comes to cheating at sport, yes, I am a rookie so I am interested in the insight of a self confessed expert".

Some producer really has to get Gilroy alone in a room for 24 hours and just shout "brevity" at him. Adding lots of words is not impressive, an ability to parse and simplify is.

Kimmage reportedly on with Ray D'Arcy tonight.

http://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2016/1015/824296-raydarcy/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,527 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Kimmage reportedly on with Ray D'Arcy tonight.

People won't be giving out by Ger's interviewing techniques for a few days anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Newspaper review today with Joe Molloy, Johnny Ward & Dan McDonnell was a good listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,688 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Newspaper review today with Joe Molloy, Johnny Ward & Dan McDonnell was a good listen.

Thanks, will give it a listen later on. Always my favourite segment of radio each week.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Thanks, will give it a listen later on. Always my favourite segment of radio each week.

Yeah mine too, makes me go look for some of the articles

holy sh1t. I just heard them talking on OTB how odd it was that Anthony Foley could not be seen anywhere in the last while, and that Erasmus was clearly now the head coach. Nathan was saying this in a sort of jokey manner. But it's just been announced on RTE that Foley died last night suddenly. :eek:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2016/1016/824493-munster-head-coach-anthony-foley-dies-suddenly/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Some really nice contributions from rugby journalists and ex players on todays show. Foley was certainly a very well loved and respected individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Officer999

lawred2 wrote: »
    100%

Acting the big shot waffling about sources. That made me cringe a little.

Should stick to unfunny crappy quizzes

I enjoyed the interview but that line about having really good sources was pure cringe. I'm guessing his source is Kimmage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Catching up on a few of the podcasts today - just after listening to the Donal Lenihan inteview with Ger.....really good (and very moving) stuff.

I was very critical of Ger/Gary for the Lance interview but he handled this one very well...he let Lenihan speak away on very sensitive issues and followed up with sincere questions and observations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

I really enjoy Dan on the football show, they should bring him back nightly with Kilbane. I find myself listening less to the podcast now that Dan isn't on every night whereas I listened daily when he was on.

lol... Lance Armstrong has pulled out of the conference tomorrow night..

Joe Molloy turns to Gilroy and says: "This is your fault". :pac:

Jesus this is good stuff. Ger ripping in to this One Zero guy. Serious back issues here by the look of it. Started straight off with "Given that Lance wont be there, will refunds be on offer".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Ger is going to live on this one for a while. His hard hitting interview scares of Lance.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Is there a podcast of Betsy andreu? I can only find her on a 5 minute one to Shane on breakfast?
    You'd be bulling if you bought a ticket to see him, but then I'd think you're nuts to spend €175 on a ticket!
    Disappointed as would have liked to see how it played out

Round two of Ger Gilroy vs One Zero... on Pat Kenny now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Round two of Ger Gilroy vs One Zero... on Pat Kenny now.
    What was he saying?

Asking for refunds for the punters again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Just listened back on the interview last night with the Onezero guy, Ger really went at him. Don't think Ger will be getting any future gigs with them. Can't see what the issue was with doing a longer interview with Lance, seemed petty.

Haven't heard any of the coverage post-Lance cancellation yet.....please tell me Ger/Gary isn't trying to take credit for it in some way :confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Why would he take credit for the cancellation, it's something everyone interested in the story wanted to see go ahead. The guy from One Zero got a bit snotty with him mentioning soundbites and stuff.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Why would he take credit for the cancellation, it's something everyone interested in the story wanted to see go ahead. The guy from One Zero got a bit snotty with him mentioning soundbites and stuff.

As in Lance was so rattled by Gilroy's scathing interview that he decided to pull out of the event.

I saw some Twitter banter floating around last night amongst the OTB team alluding to that but I'm presuming they were taking the p1ss....although with Gilroys ego I wouldn't be 100% sure

Asking for refunds for the punters again!
    Morning Ireland asked the same question a few times too, the organiser told her they were looking into legalities so they could be in trouble. Had no definitive answer on it, also said 700 tickets sold. (nt breakfast said 1000).

This ex cyclist fellow has got some very unusual views on drugs. It's almost like he accepts it as part of the sport and sees no wrong in it. Very unusual panel, between him and the other Lance apologist.

I'm expecting Paul Kimmage to arrive in a black cape and kick in the studio door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Was half listening to it there.

Something about doping in sport and having a rake of pints being morally about the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

No newspaper review.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

No newspaper review.:(

Why not?

Booo.