Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

tragedy

trauma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,331 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Ask him how much of a pension he's getting Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Gardaí are like Taxi Drivers and Union Hacks.

All have unmistakable accents, and use of language.

"We cautiously approached the building"

Yeah right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"Car 54, where are you?"

"Just getting some breakfast rolls, Sarge."

"Will yis feck off up to Ballyhinch and catch some lads up to no good, then."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    What actually happened here? (I missed the start of the show)

So what if the number is still in their phones? They're hardly ringing it, are they :confused:

The caller's wife still has her deceased son's number on her phone. His name was Marcus. On Saturday, she went to ring someone called Margaret but accidentally called her son's number by mistake. A woman answered it so the caller is not happy that his son's number was allocated to a new customer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Sergeant Thornton ?

Was Sergeant Thornton a police man ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

This sounds like a person giving a statement rather than having a conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭shanemkelly

You know the way some twitter accounts "live tweet" some historic events?

This is Lahv-lahn's version...

Gardaí are like Taxi Drivers and Union Hacks.

All have unmistakable accents, and use of language.

And Priests.

I was listening to the priest saying a mass for the Carrickmines fire victims the other day.

He did that sing-song voice for the middle of sentences and then ended his paragraph....

....with.....

....very.....

.....slow...

....words....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

What is this sh1te!0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭shanemkelly

Joe definitely has the nipple clamps on at this stage...

I hope Tom Peters family arent listening.

"It didnt look like a head" even though he recognized it was a head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

YOUR a fukin HERO>>>>>

You know the way some twitter accounts "live tweet" some historic events?

This is Lahv-lahn's version...

That's a great idea.

"Tune in next week, and discover what Garda Jerry did next"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,964 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Don't you just KNOW that this man got up this morning and thought to himself - "Ya know what, I must give Joe('s researchers) a ring about that thing that happened 40 years ago. Yes, that's what I'll do".

Caller-driven show, me hoop.

How many times has he recited this story? It's either very well practiced, or he's reading it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭kazamo

I managed to extricate myself

It sounds like he is reading from a statement.

Joe is going to ask him if he prayed, isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

did he call them "blaggards" yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

This sounds like a person giving a statement rather than having a conversation.

He thinks he's back in the courthouse on the biggest case of his carreer and the killer clown Duffy is lapping it up!

His awful question to that poor man earlier is more proof that Duffy never even bothers to listen to most callers, he just picks up on buzz words and responds to them so most of his questions and comments are out of context or just inappropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,964 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Moaning, relieve, roused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I couldn't give a twopenny fook about this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Joe must be short of recent death and misery, so goes back trawling through the records.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I keep thinking of the Quiet Man with this waffle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Has he been out on the sick since?

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Don't you just KNOW that this man got up this morning and thought to himself - "Ya know what, I must give Joe('s researchers) a ring about that thing that happened 40 years ago. Yes, that's what I'll do".

Caller-driven show, me hoop.

How many times has he recited this story? It's either very well practiced, or he's reading it out.

Do the researchers look through "This day in 19.." for stories which they can bore the audience with.

Fairly clear he's had head injuries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭0127647

What a serving of misery Joe has served up today?

When was the last positive story Liveline broadcast?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

And what were your injuries?

*sits back in chair for another hour*