Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Call Keith Barry,never mind Harry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭A Shaved Duck?

Do joe and these think there is a person generating these numbers.... its obviously just a computerised function..once the account is closed it frees up the number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

What jargon? That's entirely from you, isn't it, Joe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Will someone in RTE get that fcuker off the wireless!!

Asking a man who's son committed suicide "was it sudden", what a fcukin idiot!

Don't be picking the poor mans brain,explain in detail why you still have a druggies name in your phone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,331 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I am definitely listening to Liveline for too long.

About 10 years ago the very topic of somebody who used to ring the voicemail of their mothers phone to hear her voice and vodafone or whoever had allocated the number to somebody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Got2TurnAround

Fairly sure this is a plot from a horror movie I watched some time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Do joe and these think there is a person generating these numbers.... its obviously just a computerised function..once the account is closed it frees up the number.

im kinda baffled at how it happend though.

surely if he has a pre pay phone they'd never know to reasign it.

only thing i can think of is he was bill pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,963 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

What actually happened here? (I missed the start of the show)

So what if the number is still in their phones? They're hardly ringing it, are they :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭deathtocaptcha

so she pressed the name accidentally and let it ring out, waiting for someone to answer?

why not cancel as soon as you've dialled the number and realised the mistake as most people would do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

So wen you press de button an someone else answers do you tink it's a ghost or wat?

BPKS wrote: »

About 10 years ago the very topic of somebody who used to ring the voicemail of their mothers phone to hear her voice and vodafone or whoever had allocated the number to somebody else.

I remember that, too.
    Understandable stuff, but even Vody voicemail passes on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

im kinda baffled at how it happend though.

surely if he has a pre pay phone they'd never know to reasign it.

only thing i can think of is he was bill pay.

If you go to Australia for a year and don't use the number they can re-assign it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

The phone story was just introduced as a shoehorn for a suicide programme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

God forbid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭madanall

Now they are back from the dead !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Think about it Joe, how likely is someone to get the number and ring another person who already had that number saved under the deceased number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,963 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I'm thoroughly confused by all this.

He'd want to change the subject fairly sharpish or I'm out :mad:

There are so many sequences?
    There's a finite number, ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Ah Christ, lads. Would you's not take this to therapy. This is live radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

BPKS wrote: »

was just thinking there goes my notion to keep the ma's anwering machine message when she pops her clogs.

kills the end of captain america civil war stone dead too !

was that Ray Darcy clip supposed to be funny or something? :confused:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Didn't joe o'reilly ring his dead wife's phone and the guards used that message to check the coffin

If you go to Australia for a year and don't use the number they can re-assign it

Exactly so. I have a pair of old payg sims I keep some credit on as fall-backs. I have to text from them every few months to keep them active. I nearly lost one, with all its credit a couple of years ago, but got it back just in time when I called O2. It hadn't yet been re-allocated, but nearly was.

Sergeant Jim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Retired Garda.

Veh - Ickle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Ah sure lets stick with death.

40 Years ago.and even more death...

BYEEEEEEEE..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Garda Patrol 1976 update