Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Dillon Danis in SBG rolling tonight, hopefully sticking around to do his fight camp for Polaris. Would make sense given it's in the UK. Although i wonder if he has enough top quality black belts to do a camp in SBG. He'll be helping Conor with offensive jiujitsu off his back i'd imagine, given the high likelihood Eddie takes him down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Dillon Danis in SBG rolling tonight, hopefully sticking around to do his fight camp for Polaris. Would make sense given it's in the UK. Although i wonder if he has enough top quality black belts to do a camp in SBG. He'll be helping Conor with offensive jiujitsu off his back i'd imagine, given the high likelihood Eddie takes him down.

He has Gunni and John to train with, he'll be grand. As well a really good brown belts like Joey B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,336 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭nomadchocolate

Not meant in a derogatory way but would John K really help to improve Dillon's jiu jitsu?

Nobody is going to improve his game in the next few weeks, he just needs to get rounds in, and Gunni is world class, John is a fantastic coach and players like Richie, Joey and a few others would all be massively beneficial for him to roll with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭hendo111

He may train under possibly the goat in marcelo and JK isnt in the same universe as him but every coach with John's experience has things he can teach Danis.

Nobody is going to improve his game in the next few weeks, he just needs to get rounds in, and Gunni is world class, John is a fantastic coach and players like Richie, Joey and a few others would all be massively beneficial for him to roll with.

Gunni is in Iceland though so that's a problem.

He'll be back.

Nick Diaz doesn't rate Conor

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXMNHNINdbc

Says Conor has beaten no one good on paper. He has lost twice to two "Irish guineas" and Nick hasn't. Says Conor chooses weak opponents and is always favourite to win. Nick says he has been underdog in every fight in UFC.

He rambles an awful lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Says Conor has beaten no one good on paper. He has lost twice to two "Irish guineas" and Nick hasn't. Says Conor chooses weak opponents and is always favourite to win. Nick says he has been underdog in every fight in UFC.

Aldo, RDA, Alvarez.....all champions of their divisions when Conor signed to fight them. Again, just trying to talk himself into the trilogy fight.

No this is Nick speaking, not Nate.

Ah sorry. Didn't watch the video and misread you saying Nick. Point still stands tho.

Except for the fact the video is from before 202. It's 2 or 3 months old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

He rambles an awful lot

Nick's a deluded tool who talks guff. Conor has beat your brother, he beat Aldo who'd chop Nate's legs up to a decision, he beat Poirier who KO'd the teammate over your shoulder (Medeiros). If we're bringing up the Duffy loss then how about your KO loss to Jackson (9-5 record), Nate's loss to Franca (23-16) early in their careers, I could name more as well.

I respect Nick as a fighter but I'd rather listen to a power drill in my ear than him talk.

Apologies if it is, video says uploaded today.

It was uploaded today. But it's old as.

It might even be from the fight in the spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Diaz brothers are never happy. In just December gone Nick was moaning about Nate only getting $40k ($20k purse + $20k bonus) for his fight and he had a point tbf but you would think the way things have fallen for them in the interim (RDA foot injury, UFC giving Nate the fight, Conor then asking for a immediate rematch) they would be grinning from ear to ear but yet all it seems they do is bitch and moan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

He rambles an awful lot

That's pre 196, they used some of the footage for the embedded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,390 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

My guess is he was KO'd, purely because Dizz doesn't come out with reports like that unless he's pretty sure of his story.
    Where you the friend fed sh*te to see if he ran to Dizz? :pac::pac::pac:
    Paul Dollery must be on Boards.ie, possibly ghost writing John Kavanaghs posts? :pac:
    It was going on on Twitter too, bizarre stuff. Dizz post the IG photo with the comment.
    Dillon Danis in SBG rolling tonight, hopefully sticking around to do his fight camp for Polaris. Would make sense given it's in the UK.
    Noticed that alright. He posted some pics form the airport and the SBG locker room.
    hendo111 wrote: »
    He may train under possibly the goat in marcelo and JK isnt in the same universe as him but every coach with John's experience has things he can teach Danis.

A large part of jiu jitsu improvements are simply getting more mat time in. at this point, with the comp a few weeks away, he isn't looking to learn new techniques and moves, he just wants to roll.
    There's a school of thought in jiu jitsu that to improve quickest most of your rolling should be with people that you are just that bit better than.

Or as Joe Rogan put it, "You need to strangle blue belts".

Mellor wrote: »
    Where you the friend fed sh*te to see if he ran to Dizz? :pac::pac::pac:

It was going on on Twitter too, bizarre stuff. Dizz post the IG photo with the comment.

Noticed that alright. He posted some pics form the airport and the SBG locker room.

A large part of jiu jitsu improvements are simply getting more mat time in. at this point, with the comp a few weeks away, he isn't looking to learn new techniques and moves, he just wants to roll.
    There's a school of thought in jiu jitsu that to improve quickest most of your rolling should be with people that you are just that bit better than.

Or as Joe Rogan put it, "You need to strangle blue belts".

haha! :pac:

I did twice get actual tidbits of real information from Conors mam from sharing the same doctors as me. Was yapping away for ages the last time. Nothing worthy of the mighty Boards.ie forum though. Just little tidbits to do with chest infections.

I live down the road from the K Club so i do get the odd sighting of Conor coming and going home (can't really miss his motors) and i believe Dillon is staying at Conors gaf but that might be more fabricated nonsense based on him stalling over there to watch Netflix :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Diaz brothers are never happy. In just December gone Nick was moaning about Nate only getting $40k ($20k purse + $20k bonus) for his fight and he had a point tbf but you would think the way things have fallen for them in the interim (RDA foot injury, UFC giving Nate the fight, Conor then asking for a immediate rematch) they would be grinning from ear to ear but yet all it seems they do is bitch and moan.

I don't know, they've been in the game a long time and they didn't get to call the shots, only when Conor said jump did the UFC say how high. Also Nate said he saw in the media that Conor got to have a meeting with Dana over dinner to discuss the deal and Nate just got a phone call, so he told Dana he wanted a meeting and dinner as well which is fair enough, all they seem to want is a bit of respect for the years they've put in but the UFC doesn't work like that. I would be bitching and moaning too! Hence the video of Nate Stockton slapping Dana, Nate is smarter than he looks and realized actually he does hold some cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

cloudatlas wrote: »
    I don't know, they've been in the game a long time and they didn't get to call the shots, only when Conor said jump did the UFC say how high. Also Nate said he saw in the media that Conor got to have a meeting with Dana over dinner to discuss the deal and Nate just got a phone call, so he told Dana he wanted a meeting and dinner as well which is fair enough, all they seem to want is a bit of respect for the years they've put in but the UFC doesn't work like that. I would be bitching and moaning too! Hence the video of Nate Stockton slapping Dana, Nate is smarter than he looks and realized actually he does hold some cards.

I have no problem with them bitching and moaning when it is warranted but a lot of isn't and even when things go their way, they show no appreciation for it. Sure look at their reaction to losing, saying they've either been drugged or the judges were cheats. Nate's made made many millions from his last fight and no doubt Nick will make a mint when he does return. Just can't stand moaners. They are in a hell of lot better position than most mma fighters. Be nice to see them acknowledge that once in a while is all.

Tbf, Dargan has had a tough time of things himself with what happened his mother and all.

Remember reading about a different tragic event that happened one of the lads in SBG a good few years back and Conor was saying he had regrets about not maybe noticing that the guy was in a difficult place.

That Dargan guy maybe needs more support now than ever and you find out who your true friends are when your facing something like that. Shows how loyal Conor is that he is standing by him and not ashamed to do so.

I get it, and it's a fair point on some levels.

I just worry about the atmosphere in having 2 guys in his camp who have killed people in 2016.

Charlie Ward, in a sanctioned bout, and Johnny Dargan on the street.

That's 2 people dead and whatever way you spin those tragedies or where you apportion blame, the bottom line I'm struggling to see the upside for Conor and that's all i really care about as a fan of his. As a fan of the sport, i don't think it's wise to have a man currently awaiting a murder/manslaughter charge to be coaching anybody, let alone a UFC world champion. Wrong message being sent out here. He'll get his day in court but it's an undisputed fact he killed that man.

As i've said before, the critics of MMA in this country believe it's a barbaric thing played out between thugs. Having Dargan in the camp re-enforces those views.

I'm also not sure what Conor gets out of this. Charlie is a big welterweight who could fight at middleweight. Dargan is obviously all about the kicks. So, the game-plan could be lots of kicks, spinning attacks and wrestling for when/if Eddie catches the kicks or level-changes.

Not liking that game-plan very much. Firas Zahabi did a good breakdown of the fight and he seems convinced Conor will gas out again and dip in the middle rounds and that Eddie's wrestling means he'll take full advantage that Nate couldn't.

Either way don't think Dargan should be involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

So can we take it the broken nose is bull****?

I stand corrected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

So, the game-plan could be lots of kicks, spinning attacks and wrestling for when/if Eddie catches the kicks or level-changes.

I don't think one could estimate the game-plan based on his coaches. Did Dargan not used to be one of his regular coaches? Maybe he's only starting to get back into coaching Conor in the gym recently after all the stuff that happened. I wouldn't really know though. No harm in sharpening up those spinning front kicks(?) though. They're always effective.

His core will always be his punching game. I'd say anything else he's working on is just supplementary. Hoping the cardio might be a bit better again this time so that the dip will come later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭deadanonymau5

haha! :pac:

I live down the road from the K Club so i do get the odd sighting of Conor coming and going home (can't really miss his motors)

Whats he driving these days? The i8 or Merc or ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

JustTheOne wrote: »
    So can we take it the broken nose is bull****?

I'm surprised anyone believed it in the first place. McGregor isn't stupid, he doesn't have sparring wars. SBG aren't Nova Uniao!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    I'm surprised anyone believed it in the first place. McGregor isn't stupid, he doesn't have sparring wars. SBG aren't Nova Uniao!

Yeah in all honesty, while obviously accidents can happen a guy like McGregor knows how to train safely, and a gym like SBG is going to know how to train safely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Whats he driving these days? The i8 or Merc or ?

I saw a 152 i8 pulling out of the K Club estate on Sunday afternoon which I guessed was him but could be anyone from the K Club