Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cant Cope Wont Cope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

The guy rang the girl who bailed on him multiple times but would he call the gardai two streets over? Nah, he goes and breaks his arm.

But wasnt he vandalising the building or something? Dont think it would be wise to call the guards!

Actually thought the acting from the 2 main girls was quite good. They are the types you would meet on a night out. Head-wrecking bints basically who would fry your brain to within an inch of its life.

Certainly doesnt represent modern feminism to me but a type of ladette lifestyle if anything. Its not really cliched as such but it kind of glamorises the whole drink til you drop culture we have in Ireland at present amongst late teens-twenty somethings. I dont buy the nonsense of going to work next day though after a night out on the town. You'd be fired on the spot. People have probably done it and more fool them. Id say they are in a minority.

The story-line has potential but no way will it fulfil it in a mere four episodes. A bit like Love/Hate, Raw, etc it falls into the trap of filming random shots of Dublin to fill space.

It needs arguably 8-10 solid episodes and more balance character wise. That said, there is an air of tokenism about the whole series. Im sensing that some idiot writer is on their soapbox about feminism and the clowns have bought it hook, line and sinker.

Actually thought the acting from the 2 main girls was quite good. They are the types you would meet on a night out. Head-wrecking bints basically who would fry your brain to within an inch of its life.

Certainly doesnt represent modern feminism to me but a type of ladette lifestyle if anything. Its not really cliched as such but it kind of glamorises the whole drink til you drop culture we have in Ireland at present amongst late teens-twenty somethings. I dont buy the nonsense of going to work next day though after a night out on the town. You'd be fired on the spot. People have probably done it and more fool them. Id say they are in a minority.

The story-line has potential but no way will it fulfil it in a mere four episodes. A bit like Love/Hate, Raw, etc it falls into the trap of filming random shots of Dublin to fill space.

It needs arguably 8-10 solid episodes and more balance character wise. That said, there is an air of tokenism about the whole series. Im sensing that some idiot writer is on their soapbox about feminism and the clowns have bought it hook, line and sinker.

Geez, is it really only 4 episodes?! So theres only 1 left? Thats insane - I thought the story was only getting started!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭brian_t

Geez, is it really only 4 episodes?! So theres only 1 left? Thats insane - I thought the story was only getting started!

It's a six-part series

brian_t wrote: »
    It's a six-part series

Even 6 is a little too small i think. i can understand for a first season that pouring money into a 8 or 10 episode series could potentially be like burning money but at the same time i thing an audience relates to characters and character depth as much as storylines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Even 6 is a little too small i think. i can understand for a first season that pouring money into a 8 or 10 episode series could potentially be like burning money but at the same time i thing an audience relates to characters and character depth as much as storylines.

Remember that quiz show they commissioned for 12 weeks or something from a couple of years ago? It was so badly reviewed it was pulled from air after the 2nd week!

It was meant to be a light-hearted thing involving well known faces if I remember correctly, but it went on for an hour and the whole thing was just awful.

ligerdub wrote: »
    Remember that quiz show they commissioned for 12 weeks or something from a couple of years ago? It was so badly reviewed it was pulled from air after the 2nd week!

It was meant to be a light-hearted thing involving well known faces if I remember correctly, but it went on for an hour and the whole thing was just awful.

True, the danger is that you have Montrose heads that are far divorced from how the ordinary citizens in Ireland live these times that they will give the thumbs up to any aul sh*te if one of their cronies is involved.

True, Ireland is a bit of a closed shop in many areas. Almost every major role is filled via referral.

I suppose it's the nature of relatively small markets (in global terms at least), they are going to have much more of a parochial feel to them. I guess that's why large cities are places of opportunity for those without the leg-up, they're too big to have a "I know a guy" approach. Meritocracy is optional in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

ligerdub wrote: »

Grainne Seoige presented it in a studio that looked like Apple had designed it; blinding white. Ruby Walsh and someone else were team captains in a rip off of BBC's "Question of Sport", loads of "banter" between the lads.

If they tried another version of "Know Your Sport" or "Cross Country Quiz" then I'm convinced it would work. Thousands of people head to pub quizzes every weekend here and keeping it to a 30 minute slot over the winter would work. Little chat and plenty of questions.

It would mean the great unwashed TV licence payers entering Montrose and less money in the bag for some of Noel Kelly's clients, which would annoy some of the RTE execs, but it might actually get viewers interested.

/mini-rant over

Red Kev wrote: »
    Grainne Seoige presented it in a studio that looked like Apple had designed it; blinding white. Ruby Walsh and someone else were team captains in a rip off of BBC's "Question of Sport", loads of "banter" between the lads.

If they tried another version of "Know Your Sport" or "Cross Country Quiz" then I'm convinced it would work. Thousands of people head to pub quizzes every weekend here and keeping it to a 30 minute slot over the winter would work. Little chat and plenty of questions.

It would mean the great unwashed TV licence payers entering Montrose and less money in the bag for some of Noel Kelly's clients, which would annoy some of the RTE execs, but it might actually get viewers interested.

/mini-rant over

Will never happen with RTE. They are like a masonic society. That said if you have an Irish independent channel you need money behind it, otherwise you end up with tv3 / utv Ireland and low low quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 GirlOutWest

Can't Cope, Won't Cope: Was really looking forward to this, really wanted it to be good and it looked really good in the lead up reviews BUT....sorry lads, just can't take to it.

I'm not finding it funny, interesting or even believable (yep I know, it doesn't have to be believable). I know it contains Amy Huberman but that doesn't make up for it's short-falls. Watched the first 2 episodes and sorry to say, can't be arsed to sit through the next few. Can't watch, Won't watch ;)

I was listening to the tv reviewer on with Moncrieff during the week and although both of them agreed the show was poor he said he felt under pressure to recommend it to people as it was written by a young woman and was about young women. This is the new normal where tv shows are not rated on merit but on how pc the makers are. You can disregard all the Twitter idiots as well

I'm about as anti-feminist (and vocal about it) as you could get, but I still felt a tinge of "I can't say I hate this" about this show. To be fair to the writer it's going to be hilarious for her, and if it's close to her experience it's understandable she would write it about her experience. It's the commissioners I'd have an issue with.

I feel a bit easier about disliking this after I recalled the show "Drifters" on E4, a comedy (genuine one, you know, with jokes and stuff), which also has a drama element, and is centred around women. Pretty much all the major characters are young women, and the trials and tribulations of their lives. They don't resort to hamming up male characters and nonsensical plots and scenarios. It's a borderline masterclass of comedy by any metric, and although I'm sure its target audience is young women, I never miss a new episode, it can appeal to pretty much anyone I suspect.

Really enjoyed tonight's. It was quite sad in places and it's very identifiable in parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Think we are seeing a different side to Aisling now. She obviously has an alcohol problem. Interesting to see where this will go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Pile of crap.waste of the tv licence money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭appledrop

One of the worst things I have watched in years. An absolute heap of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I must be one of the only people in the country 'hate watching' this show if Twitter comments are anything to go by. There was some awful direction in this one, ramming the kid angle down the throat not very subtly, and Aisling is continuing to be one of the most dislikable characters on TV.

Went from a fun loving girl to a full on alcoholic a little bit too quick there.

What the hell was the sister doing leaving here there?!

Some of the dialogue was absolutely abysmal tonight. Aisling must have said 'loooike' about a million times in one scene. Cork people tend to say it but jesus not that much surely?!

Its insulting to women generalise Aislings character as the norm for sure but you would encounter plenty of mad yokes on nights out just like her. Wired to the moon and self destructive.

I think Kerslake is a good actress in fairness to her. For a Tallaght girl she nailed the Cork mannerisms and the accent even if her script wasnt the best.

Some of the dialogue was absolutely abysmal tonight. Aisling must have said 'loooike' about a million times in one scene. Cork people tend to say it but jesus not that much surely?!

Its insulting to women generalise Aislings character as the norm for sure but you would encounter plenty of mad yokes on nights out just like her. Wired to the moon and self destructive.

However, I think Kerslake is a good actress in fairness to her. For a Tallaght girl she nailed the Cork mannerisms and the accent even if her script wasnt the best.

There are certainly a couple of scenes where the use of "like" seemed very un-natural alright.

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Think we are seeing a different side to Aisling now. She obviously has an alcohol problem. Interesting to see where this will go.

Aisling reminds me so much of a girl in college from couple of years ago. Nice girl but out drunk every night of the week and just like Aisling she was brought in a couple of nights for being drunk and disorderly on the street. Im not sure was it the sudden freedom of having left home which was the other side of the country that perhaps things got out of hand or was it that there was deeper issues that made her drink but i hope she is past that stage now and living a normal life.

As you get older and wiser and sessions become harder to recover from you find that its no way to live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Duggie2012

that episode was pretty bad in fairness. why is it that every irish programme has to have a gormless parent type or a guard that acts like a big culchie in it. like that whole thing with her parents and family, just so silly. like what the hell was that episode, just a waste really. i agree that the girl who plays Aisling is a good actress with what she is given.

Duggie2012 wrote: »
    that episode was pretty bad in fairness. why is it that every irish programme has to have a gormless parent type or a guard that acts like a big culchie in it. like that whole thing with her parents and family, just so silly. like what the hell was that episode, just a waste really. i agree that the girl who plays Aisling is a good actress with what she is given.

Enough of the culchie bashing. you were doing so well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Duggie2012

Enough of the culchie bashing. you were doing so well :)

i am a culchie....but like that family scene, did the whole lot of them need to be so gormless??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

Where was this crap filmed ? Its most definitely not Mallow or any other Cork town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I thought the first episode had promise. Quickly downhill ever since.

Also, the scenes supposedly in Mallow last night were clearly filmed in Howth. I could see my house and my local. Would a days filming in Cork have really cost that much?

Edit: The constant "like"s are a big factor in my growing dislike of this programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Ernest

Some of the scenes in the most recent episode were definitely filmed in Howth - not Mallow, like.

Ernest wrote: »
    Some of the scenes in the most recent episode were definitely filmed in Howth - not Mallow, like.

Arra thats shocking tbh. Could they have not stretched the f*cking budget to Cork? I mean she was on the train and everything. Was the train station even Mallow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭ciarang85

Arra thats shocking tbh. Could they have not stretched the f*cking budget to Cork? I mean she was on the train and everything. Was the train station even Mallow?

I think the train station was Mallow alright but the chipper scene was Meath Street, Dublin,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,209 ✭✭✭lukin

The woman who wrote the series (Stefanie Preissner) is from Mallow originally. I'd say if she had her way the scenes in "Mallow" would have been in the real Mallow but RTE probably couldn't afford it. I'm guessing that anyway.