Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cant Cope Wont Cope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Another thing just crossed my mind, Aisling is so unsuited to motherhood given her lifestyle.

I wonder will she become pregnant herself? Her attitude to contraception, alcohol and sex is dysfunctional to say the least but all of a sudden she could face a few big life changes.

Be a strange enough twist. It does look like she is careful etc.

One thing that bugs me is not knowing the length of their friendship. A friendship that goes back to college or secondary school is very different to a friendship that only goes back to a year or two of being housemates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭mapaca

Hmm. Unsatisfying ending! Guess they are leaving it open for a second series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Didn't see it but it's absolutely nailed on for series 2.

The writer will get however long a run that she wants. RTE are clinging to this show for dear life.

Really didnt get the ending at all. Why was Danielle mad? Surely, that was the point to help her friend.....

Also, Aisling & Ferg meeting for the first time came totally out of the blue for me - surely they would have crossed paths before (if Aisling & Danielle spend as much time together as suggested).

RTE had a headline tonight "Fans love emotional finale of cant cope wont cope". I am really struggling to see where the emotion was! If it does come back for a second season, I doubt I would bother watching it. I stuck with it for a series and that was enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭0127647

Id be astounded if this show got a second series. One of the worst shows I have ever watched on RTE and that's saying something.

I can't think of a single redeeming feature. The acting was terrible, Characters boring/unrealistic and storyline non existent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Ok so the series is finished and I can finally judge it as a whole. Absolute dog sh!t. Beyond trying to be a realistic portrayal of young wans drinking, it wasn't funny and it wasn't the drama it thought it was. Dramedy though, that's what they call anything that's made as a comedy when they realise it's not funny. It took them three years to develop, write and make this show and it's just rubbish.
    There should have been better focus on the two main characters as actual friends. The audience was only given glimpses of them as two girls who are only ever on the lash together, no quieter moments at home sans drama to invest you into their relationship. Some of the acting was woeful from supporting characters. Amy Huberman, taxi man, Aisling's family, the Americans they take out for a night, Ferg to name a few.
    I hoped this show would be decent but kept watching for the hate watch and to enjoy the odd rant on here:D

Ok so the series is finished and I can finally judge it as a whole. Absolute dog sh!t. Beyond trying to be a realistic portrayal of young wans drinking, it wasn't funny and it wasn't the drama it thought it was. Dramedy though, that's what they call anything that's made as a comedy when they realise it's not funny. It took them three years to develop, write and make this show and it's just rubbish.
    There should have been better focus on the two main characters as actual friends. The audience was only given glimpses of them as two girls who are only ever on the lash together, no quieter moments at home sans drama to invest you into their relationship. Some of the acting was woeful from supporting characters. Amy Huberman, taxi man, Aisling's family, the Americans they take out for a night, Ferg to name a few.
    I hoped this show would be decent but kept watching for the hate watch and to enjoy the odd rant on here:D

I completely agree. It really could have done with some of this. After the first episode, I googled one of the actors and came across an audition tape of it on youtube. In that, they are at home having a conversation, one of them lying on the couch. Also, in an interview, the writer was saying how 'unglamorous' it can be to live in Dublin with people ordering from just-eat; I dont remember them ordering from just-eat once!

Aisling did order a huge pizza last week which looked very very nice

Thats true. That was an unfair criticism by me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,208 ✭✭✭lukin

The only good thing about it from a male point of view was Seana Kerslake's thighs.

lukin wrote: »
    The only good thing about it from a male point of view was Seana Kerslake's thighs.

Seana Kerslake full stop. Lovely looking girl.

Young Mcguigan not too bad either tbf to her :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭sporina

is this over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,208 ✭✭✭lukin

Seana Kerslake full stop. Lovely looking girl.

Young Mcguigan not too bad either tbf to her :)

Agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Watched the first two episodes on the RTE player last night and will probably watch the remaining episodes. Vaguely amusing (?) and, as another poster said, could just as easily have been set in the late 1970s. The idea that anybody, male or female, would hang about late at night on the Bull Island to watch 'dogging' or anything else is mind blowing. 2/10 so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I saw the writer on Brendan O'Connor's show last night and she said part of her intention with the show was to see people on Twitter all say "that's me on a night out" early on in the series, and then realise what a screwed up life that sort of carry on can leads to for Aisling. I'm paraphrasing of course but seriously... does she think that stupid characterisation and situations she sets up to get Aisling in trouble is equal to real life binge drinkers needing to look deep into themselves to see if they're doing wrong by themselves and others.

Also, the gardai just leave her off for stealing a car, no further repercussions? G'way out of it.

I'd say her intentions for writing the show go no further than wanting to get it on TV.

Now that she has a platform and it has been broadcast there are now added layers of depth and social commentary in its intent. I don't buy it.

Ah here that last episode was shocking writing altogether. What are the writers aiming for here? no way should they get a second series. Found it hilarious how the gardai could just quash any charges and yet they had Aisling on loads of things. Granted the dogger wouldnt push for a charge considering what it meant for him. but if the car sank sure surely the document would have been ruined? As for Lorcan, would he really say that to Aisling considering that Aisling could blow the lid off his own little indiscretions?
    Rubbish writing. Amy Huberman is painful on screen. As for that mentalist bouncing on the ball......jesus wept!

Id normally try to take up for an irish series and i kept tune with this but ive literally wasted 3 hours of my life. horrendous rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Watched the remaining episodes this evening and the last episode in particular was absolute rubbish. The scriptwriters need to be fired if there's to be the remotest chance of a second series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Topcat32

I think its an interesting but very uneven show, in the last episode when she is firing the main character Amy Huberman says your fired unless you want Tess from HR to come in and give you a last warning, in that situation you would be saying get Tess in here right now but for some reason Aisling ingnores that offer, seems crazy to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

Topcat32 wrote: »
    I think its an interesting but very uneven show, in the last episode when she is firing the main character Amy Huberman says your fired unless you want Tess from HR to come in and give you a last warning, in that situation you would be saying get Tess in here right now but for some reason Aisling ingnores that offer, seems crazy to me

To give her a chance to resign rather than get fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Monife wrote: »
    To give her a chance to resign rather than get fired.

HR cant give you a warning and then fire you at the same time, she would not have needed to resign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

Topcat32 wrote: »
    HR cant give you a warning and then fire you at the same time, she would not have needed to resign.

True, what I meant was she was on a warning already so that would have been a final warning from HR and if she f*cked up again she would be fired, saves face a bit to resign instead. They could have fired her on the spot anyway for what she did.

ligerdub wrote: »
    Didn't see it but it's absolutely nailed on for series 2.

The writer will get however long a run that she wants. RTE are clinging to this show for dear life.

https://twitter.com/StefPreissner/status/817673754734186496

That's a bingo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭0127647

Who is making these decisions at RTE?!

The worst show I have ever seen output on RTE. How in the name of God can they justify a second season. There is no storyline and the characters are so badly written its embarrassing.

An absolute and complete waste of licence money. How they have the neck to ask for licence money is simply stomach churning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I thought it was a fantastic show. To me it was like an Irish version of Girls, which is on its sixth season now, I think. It really reminds me of my more mental days although I don't think I was ever as stupid as Aisling. Spent many days wandering around drinking on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭sporina

i won't be watching it - i thought that it was deplorable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,025 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

ligerdub wrote: »

She's pretty much been on every single RTE chat show since it ended so you can tell that RTE are right behind her for whatever reason.

I don't think anybody really needs to see more Can't Cope, Won't Cope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Shelga

I liked it! Like all RTE dramas, it was tonally uneven, but Seana Kerslake is really good, and able to do both drama and comedy very well, in my opinion. I liked the episode where she goes home to Mallow, showed both elements well. Character definitely seems to be a full-on alcoholic though, not something most 20 somethings can really relate to, despite how the show was advertised.

All of this "it was the worst programme I've ever seen" stuff is a bit much! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Kylan Magnificent Dropout

She's pretty much been on every single RTE chat show since it ended so you can tell that RTE are right behind her for whatever reason.

I don't think anybody really needs to see more Can't Cope, Won't Cope.

Unless Amy Huberman doesn't want to be part of it anymore it'll continue - RTE thinks we want more Amy

Perhaps, but it was all over the shop. I thought it was poor, 3 out of 10 stuff.

Mixing slapstick characters like the mute bouncing ball girl with hard hitting issues (in a desperate attempt to make it hard edged) doesn't work.

Kerslake wasn't great. She wasn't awful either, but again I doubt any talent spotters would be going out of their way to sign her up based on her performance in this.

Preissner seems a nice girl, with a degree of insight, but she should have been told "good effort but not enough" for this one. She's also been green lighted for a second series without a word written.