Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cant Cope Wont Cope

• 19-09-2016 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

general consensus?

i do love amy huberman...

would love for it to do well and be good.

dunno it the Cork accent will catch on though on a national level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I'm not sure about this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Fuucking awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Excoriated in the Herald, first 2 episodes watched by reviewer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

first thing i have to say is the music is far to good to be real for coppers,
    but i like it so far...

i can relate as being a girl of that age, naggin drowning, the toilet bit,getting a taxi from camden street to harcourt street, but ive never seen anyone not queue for a drink in coppers.

think it might be a bit niche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It is like a program about binge drinking so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Not great so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭squarecircles

Irish people are so classy...like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Is it to encourage binge drinking or warn people off it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

As a 21 year old I have to say a lot of this is very accurate! :D:p Can relate to a lot, but not sleeping around or pouring vodka into a glass into the toilets. Nor would I ever leave a friend on her own in a nightclub by herself! Never been in Coppers so can't verify that! Only thing that annoys me is the use of the word 'like' excessively..do Cork people really use it THAT much? :D

as someone who lives in cork i can confirm the the liberal use of the word like is correct.

have to say, i didnt not like it.

and it is sumwhat reflective of what my life was like back in my early 20's working my ass off coppers or the george three nights a week.

skanky naggin in the toliets to keep the night cheap bumming fags off randomers,

the odd stride of pride (walk of shame)

living beyond our means and enjoying ourselves.

towing the line between a drink problem and getting sacked from work...

dunno who it will play with the older crowds and the younger millenials who are more conservate than we were.

think the target market is going to be women of a certain age group, dont know many lads that will get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I'm in my 40's and this could be set in the 80s or 90s.

Yer wan bouncing up and down on the ball is giving me motion sickness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,695 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I really don't see the appeal with Amy Huberman, Ireland's sweetheart because she married one of our greatest ever rugby players but has she actually been in anything good?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

The Aisling one is really really annoying. Proper pain in the h0le.

And the use of the word "like" so often. is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

It's awful ****e

I'm already hooked! :D I can see they're building the drama element aswell with Aisling, like when she was desperately trying to deny that she slept around and also when she wouldn't tell Danielle that Fergus was trying to contact her. Anyone know how old the two girls are meant to be? I know twenty something but they're both working so must be maybe 24/25 or more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭den87

1st episode-awful
    2nd episode- okish.
    A person in their late 20s going to work at 9 after staying out til 7am?? Not a hope, id be in bed for the day DYING!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Baxterly13

So I made the choice to lose an hours sleep to watch this..I should have known better

den87 wrote: »
    1st episode-awful
    2nd episode- okish.
    A person in their late 20s going to work at 9 after staying out til 7am?? Not a hope, id be in bed for the day DYING!

I'm 21 and I'd be 2 days recovering from that! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Baxterly13

siblers wrote: »
    I really don't see the appeal with Amy Huberman, Ireland's sweetheart because she married one of our greatest ever rugby players but has she actually been in anything good?

I really don't get it either? She's not that great an actress at all..she was OK in "The Clinic" but that it. "Threesome" was horrendous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

They all seem to love it on twitter.

For a comedy it lacks laughs. Also why would Aisling take the $5 million fund document with her out of the office when going to drink for the day.
    Lacks sense.
    Of course it would fall out of her bag in the stolen car.
    Taxi driver gets rid of them from the Taxi but is there for them hours later...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

RobertKK wrote: »

For a comedy it lacks laughs. Also why would Aisling take the $5 million fund document with her out of the office when going to drink for the day.
    Lacks sense.

They love everything on Twitter.Even Bridget And Eamon.

darkdubh wrote: »

Lacks sense.

They love everything on Twitter.Even Bridget And Eamon.

It's either people that know cast, writer etc. or slebs just back slapping one another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

I enjoyed it. Im in my 40's and it appealed to me. Did the whole going straight to work from a session thing. Never went to Coppers though. Club 92 was our haunt.
    Nowaday the thought of going out after work makes me want to puke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Sorry guys...its pretty awful.

The Twitter users who are bigging this up...are in the main media types themselves who have a vested interest.

Lorraine (boucey ball girl) and the Taxi driver almost save it....but the main characters are just overacting and its cringey.

The only way this is going to improve is if the two characters mentioned above become the central characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Noise Annoys

It's always a bad sign when something is billed as a 'comedy drama'. That usually means something that was meant to be funny but hasn't turned out that way.

And that was the case with Can't Cope, Won't Cope. While many of us, young or old(er), would recognise the behaviour of the main characters, and it seemed fairly true to life for some people, that's not enough to make a good show.

It simply wasn't funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

as someone who lives in cork i can confirm the the liberal use of the word like is correct.

have to say, i didnt not like it.

and it is sumwhat reflective of what my life was like back in my early 20's working my ass off coppers or the george three nights a week.

skanky naggin in the toliets to keep the night cheap bumming fags off randomers,

the odd stride of pride (walk of shame)

living beyond our means and enjoying ourselves.

towing the line between a drink problem and getting sacked from work...

dunno who it will play with the older crowds and the younger millenials who are more conservate than we were.

think the target market is going to be women of a certain age group, dont know many lads that will get it.

I'm a guy and I definitely dont get it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Garda roadblock for a stolen car would be the more glaring plot hole to pick up on.
    One of them called the taxi driver back in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Kylan Magnificent Dropout

bcklschaps wrote: »
    Sorry guys...its pretty awful.

The Twitter users who are bigging this up...are in the main media types themselves who have a vested interest.

Lorraine (boucey ball girl) and the Taxi driver almost save it....but the main characters are just overacting and its cringey.

The only way this is going to improve is if the two characters mentioned above become the central characters.

The Louise O'Neill types are loving it- especially Louise as it fits her women only/ made by women ... seems like she's going on about how it's the first ever show made by females -agreed with why Amy Huberman is popular/getting work constantly- I'd say this is aimed at the 18-35 female demographic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

It's not a great show. The production is decent and the acting is fine but the content is where it's let down. Comedy/drama issue that is mentioned above. It's trying to rush to find it's feet and coming off the worse for it.

The main problem for me is with the main characters. I got more of an idea of the characters from hearing the maker and actor talking about them on Ian Dempsey but I got none of what they were talking about when watching the show. They were supposed to be best mates from Cork who move to the big smoke, only one of them comes up that little bit later and the divide has already begun. That's the impression I got from the chat.

On screen they were just two boozy Cork girls in the big smoke, no back story. They seem to be rushing to make tension between them without investing the viewer in their relationship as genuine best mates. Sure, we see them on the lash in Coppers and having the crack, vomiting and what not, but that means feck all. Show some true bond with the characters, let them breathe for a few episodes before going about straining the friendship you haven't yet invested in with stolen cars, borrowed money, not telling the friend someone called on her phone, the worry for where the other friend is headed ("she's got work in 2 hours like.." sad face). They've set one of the girls on the path that, for how a tv show likes to represent it, makes it look like she has a drink problem in her future story-line. Between that and the scene about getting the pill, they're trying really hard to make it look like she's going out of control with her lifestyle.

It's fair enough in how it represents binge drinking in the show, that's how it is to many on nights out but it can't decide whether it's fun or pathetic. It tried to do too much, yet not enough in how it's portraying their lifestyle in two episodes. I'll be curious to see how it is as a whole series but currently I am not a fan.

Also, Amy Huberman and the girl on the ball were badly written caricatures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

I didn't watch it but I only want to know one thing:does Seana get her kit off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

As soon as I heard the name 'Lorcan' in the opening minutes of dialogue I knew this was going to be the usual D4 produced pap that RTE love to churn out. Glad I switched off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,906 ✭✭✭✭ted1

There wasn't much talking. Like the actors didn't like have to learn much script.

Did anyone spot that the arty one is Barry McGuigans daughter so from Monaghan rather than like the people's republic

milehip wrote: »
    Garda roadblock for a stolen car would be the more glaring plot hole to pick up on.
    One of them called the taxi driver back in the morning.

There was also no explanation as to how Seana Kerslake's character knew that was her boss's brother.

Not gonna watch it again, but I'm pretty sure she didn't ,until she was told by her boss in the pub toilets.

milehip wrote: »
    Not gonna watch it again, but I'm pretty sure she didn't ,until she was told by her boss in the pub toilets.

But when her boss said it to her, she did not look surprised at all. That's why I assumed she knew. She seemed more annoyed that her boss knew she had been there. Anyway, I have no intention of watching it back either!

she did not look surprised at all.

All those acting classes didn't go to waste so!!

Anyway, I have no intention of watching it back either!

Judging by this thread I' d say we're in the majority there...... like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,906 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Because her boss told her..,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Just watched the two episodes with the missus. It's fairly weak. There is potential there, the idea is good but it's let down badly by the acting. The two girls are not convincing and the overuse of the word 'like' gets more and more annoying the more you watch. Probably won't bother with it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,032 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I felt it was a skit from Republic of Telly "like" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

It wasn't the worst thing that I've ever seen, but judging by social media it was somewhere between Only Fools and Horses and The Office in terms of quality! If you didn't like it there was some sort of token reason.

I had a big diatribe stored up on this should the need arise, but I'll keep it to a couple of short points.

1. This show has "commissioned by a mate who also has an agenda" written all over it. The all women cast (in the main), and the female writers etc reek of a mild strike for the sisterhood. Fair enough....but at least make it good.
    2. As was mentioned earlier, comedy drama suggests something that is meant to be funny but isn't.

It seems to be a Sex and the City clone about 15 years after people stopped caring. It looks to appeal to 1. women 2. culchies, but most importantly 3. culchie women....aged between 18 and 35. Outside of that it's not going to get much traction, within it it will likely be very popular.

It's not an outrank terrible show. Not as good as say, Pure Mule, better than I dunno, The Cassidys. If there's nothing else on next week I'll give it a viewing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Well I enjoyed both episodes anyway.

Just say the ad for next week things seem to get more drama less comedy with your one bring arrested and her friends telling her she has a drink problem, this might make it a bit better and introduce some depth.

ted1 wrote: »
    There wasn't much talking. Like the actors didn't like have to learn much script.

Did anyone spot that the arty one is Barry McGuigans daughter so from Monaghan rather than like the people's republic

Sure, the other one's from Tallaght.

They mention going to Jacobs. Is there such a place in Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

ligerdub wrote: »
    It wasn't the worst thing that I've ever seen, but judging by social media it was somewhere between Only Fools and Horses and The Office in terms of quality! If you didn't like it there was some sort of token reason.

I had a big diatribe stored up on this should the need arise, but I'll keep it to a couple of short points.

1. This show has "commissioned by a mate who also has an agenda" written all over it. The all women cast (in the main), and the female writers etc reek of a mild strike for the sisterhood. Fair enough....but at least make it good.
    2. As was mentioned earlier, comedy drama suggests something that is meant to be funny but isn't.

It seems to be a Sex and the City clone about 15 years after people stopped caring. It looks to appeal to 1. women 2. culchies, but most importantly 3. culchie women....aged between 18 and 35. Outside of that it's not going to get much traction, within it it will likely be very popular.

It's not an outrank terrible show. Not as good as say, Pure Mule, better than I dunno, The Cassidys. If there's nothing else on next week I'll give it a viewing.

I was listening to the tv reviewer on with Moncrieff during the week and although both of them agreed the show was poor he said he felt under pressure to recommend it to people as it was written by a young woman and was about young women. This is the new normal where tv shows are not rated on merit but on how pc the makers are. You can disregard all the Twitter idiots as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I was listening to the tv reviewer on with Moncrieff during the week and although both of them agreed the show was poor he said he felt under pressure to recommend it to people as it was written by a young woman and was about young women. This is the new normal where tv shows are not rated on merit but on how pc the makers are. You can disregard all the Twitter idiots as well

This PC liberal nonsense should not spread to the world of television as we the viewers who pay a licence fee to RTE should be catered for by being entertained & informed on the screen to the best of RTE's own ability. But oh no; we all know that is no longer working here. In Ireland that responsibility seems to tell us that there is a market for crap & stale TV from these types in Ireland from anyone who would fit their PC Liberal boxes perfectly.

One thing is for sure though; It will make me & others wanting to forget about RTE unless they want to improve their output.

We have enough trashy tabloid TV out on the screen from commercial broadcasters already who trying to make a profit & nothing else. PSBs here should try to make more of an effort in attempting to gain new viewers from other commercial broadcasters like Sky, FOX, MTV & others to gain a bit of positive reputation for trying to make something good in their work. Love/Hate was one example that was good for RTE; Red Rock & The Tudors were good outings for TV3 & so on.

Even another new TV series or two that will be good on merit will at least be something to look forward to if these guys get their act together. The only things that holds our own PSBs back is their own output is too parochial to be attractive to both viewers & advertisers. This parochial output needs to be restrained a little to give ourselves in making good stuff more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Just say the ad for next week things seem to get more drama less comedy with your one bring arrested and her friends telling her she has a drink problem, this might make it a bit better and introduce some depth.

I saw the writer on the Late Late and a headline on the Indo on Facebook, both of which she emphasises that she wasn't seeing girls represented like her on screen so wrote this. So I'm presuming she's a bit of a car thief with a drink problem then...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Amy Huberman's acting is poor, her drunk acting is diabolical. It's a bit slow, too many moody shots of Dublin, but I'm actually enjoying it, it's believable so far.

Yer wan bounces on the ball when the camera is facing her, a split second later when the camera shot is behind her, she's not bouncing. Totally annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Topcat32

The writer obviously doesn't really have much of a notion about what goes on in the funds industry, quirky girls bouncing up and down seems more likely in a tech office and who would invite their slightly spaced out friend to a client evening.

Veers from insightfull and realistic scenes to totally unbeliveable scenarios but overall it is pretty engaging and tonights episode was a big improvement on last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Topcat32 wrote: »
    The writer obviously doesn't really have much of a notion about what goes on in the funds industry, quirky girls bouncing up and down seems more likely in a tech office and who would invite their slightly spaced out friend to a client evening.

Veers from insightfull and realistic scenes to totally unbeliveable scenarios but overall it is pretty engaging and tonights episode was a big improvement on last week.

Yes, that annoyed me also. They also seemed to make it a combination of a front and back office. Casual phone conversation to an American client to make an investment in an unspecified fund......I don't know where to start on that one!