homerun_homer wrote: » The guy rang the girl who bailed on him multiple times but would he call the gardai two streets over? Nah, he goes and breaks his arm.
Deleted User wrote: » Actually thought the acting from the 2 main girls was quite good. They are the types you would meet on a night out. Head-wrecking bints basically who would fry your brain to within an inch of its life. Certainly doesnt represent modern feminism to me but a type of ladette lifestyle if anything. Its not really cliched as such but it kind of glamorises the whole drink til you drop culture we have in Ireland at present amongst late teens-twenty somethings. I dont buy the nonsense of going to work next day though after a night out on the town. You'd be fired on the spot. People have probably done it and more fool them. Id say they are in a minority. The story-line has potential but no way will it fulfil it in a mere four episodes. A bit like Love/Hate, Raw, etc it falls into the trap of filming random shots of Dublin to fill space. It needs arguably 8-10 solid episodes and more balance character wise. That said, there is an air of tokenism about the whole series. Im sensing that some idiot writer is on their soapbox about feminism and the clowns have bought it hook, line and sinker.
TCDStudent1 wrote: » Geez, is it really only 4 episodes?! So theres only 1 left? Thats insane - I thought the story was only getting started!
brian_t wrote: » It's a six-part series
Deleted User wrote: » Even 6 is a little too small i think. i can understand for a first season that pouring money into a 8 or 10 episode series could potentially be like burning money but at the same time i thing an audience relates to characters and character depth as much as storylines.
ligerdub wrote: » Remember that quiz show they commissioned for 12 weeks or something from a couple of years ago? It was so badly reviewed it was pulled from air after the 2nd week! It was meant to be a light-hearted thing involving well known faces if I remember correctly, but it went on for an hour and the whole thing was just awful.
Deleted User wrote: » True, the danger is that you have Montrose heads that are far divorced from how the ordinary citizens in Ireland live these times that they will give the thumbs up to any aul sh*te if one of their cronies is involved.
Red Kev wrote: » Grainne Seoige presented it in a studio that looked like Apple had designed it; blinding white. Ruby Walsh and someone else were team captains in a rip off of BBC's "Question of Sport", loads of "banter" between the lads. If they tried another version of "Know Your Sport" or "Cross Country Quiz" then I'm convinced it would work. Thousands of people head to pub quizzes every weekend here and keeping it to a 30 minute slot over the winter would work. Little chat and plenty of questions. It would mean the great unwashed TV licence payers entering Montrose and less money in the bag for some of Noel Kelly's clients, which would annoy some of the RTE execs, but it might actually get viewers interested. /mini-rant over
tommyboy2222 wrote: » I was listening to the tv reviewer on with Moncrieff during the week and although both of them agreed the show was poor he said he felt under pressure to recommend it to people as it was written by a young woman and was about young women. This is the new normal where tv shows are not rated on merit but on how pc the makers are. You can disregard all the Twitter idiots as well
Deleted User wrote: » Some of the dialogue was absolutely abysmal tonight. Aisling must have said 'loooike' about a million times in one scene. Cork people tend to say it but jesus not that much surely?! Its insulting to women generalise Aislings character as the norm for sure but you would encounter plenty of mad yokes on nights out just like her. Wired to the moon and self destructive. However, I think Kerslake is a good actress in fairness to her. For a Tallaght girl she nailed the Cork mannerisms and the accent even if her script wasnt the best.
Samsgirl wrote: » Think we are seeing a different side to Aisling now. She obviously has an alcohol problem. Interesting to see where this will go.
Duggie2012 wrote: » that episode was pretty bad in fairness. why is it that every irish programme has to have a gormless parent type or a guard that acts like a big culchie in it. like that whole thing with her parents and family, just so silly. like what the hell was that episode, just a waste really. i agree that the girl who plays Aisling is a good actress with what she is given.
Deleted User wrote: » Enough of the culchie bashing. you were doing so well
Ernest wrote: » Some of the scenes in the most recent episode were definitely filmed in Howth - not Mallow, like.
Deleted User wrote: » Arra thats shocking tbh. Could they have not stretched the f*cking budget to Cork? I mean she was on the train and everything. Was the train station even Mallow?