Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭misslemon

hope you got a good few bob for the funeral- everyone else seems to!

Nothing. Stood for three hours in the cold while they barricaded themselves in the funeral home. It was unpaid discretionary overtime.

I should have talked to Joe. :pac:

Why don't they protest about the legal system then?
    Do what?

If a garda goes to court, and some young barrister starts discrediting him, his work, implying he's lying, that's a part of life that Gardaí must--and do--accept. It's a necessary, but ugly, part of the administration of justice. I'm just saying Gardaí should be fairly compensated for putting up with this misery, not to mention the physical abuse and the stress of living under the constant threat of violence.

I wouldn't do their job for twice the pay. Many could get better-paid work elsewhere, especially younger Gardaí. We're going to have to stop treating them like retail assistants.
    Del.Monte wrote: »
    My experiences with the Gardai down the years has been fine - from a bedside manner point of view - but as regards to dealing with problems they have been utterly useless. How many times do you hear on the radio that the guards couldn't do enough and were great when they came out to my house/farm etc. but still failed to do anything.
    I agree. I've had about 4 encounters with AGS as a result of crime, and they were all unsolved bar one. The thing is, I'm not sure what more they could have done. Even when they get a suspect into court, they're really up against it. The presumption is that the suspect is telling the truth.

I have to deal with Gardai on and off and most are great. But that station, not so much.

Mind you I wouldn't say Finglas is easy to police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

BTW Pat Kenny made a good point this morning.

Why don't the frontline gardai get their pay restored and not the backsters in the office.

But would the Union want that? Of course not.

This whole pay issue is a follow up from the negotiations which ended with New Garda, New Nurses, New Teachers etc etc getting shafted by the then members of the union. Now that the newbies are getting pissed with the arrangement they all have to be paid equally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Geldof the clown went out in that millionaires river boat on the Thames shouting from a loudspeaker at the fishermen campaigning in their trawlers to leave the EU, it was sick to see.

There's a long, but good article in The Guardian today about one of the brains behind Brexit: Daniel Hannan. Worth a read, especially this bit of anti-EU ranting from none other than Sir Bob. (Business for Sterling was anearly campaign group set up to push for a referendum).

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2016/sep/29/daniel-hannan-the-man-who-brought-you-brexit
    Business for Sterling recruited Bob Geldof, Vic Reeves and thousands of students to its cause. It helped keep opinion polls set against joining the Euro and deterred the new Labour government, and its pro-European allies in the City, at their moment of peak of popular influence.

misslemon wrote: »
    Why doesn't Joe read out the death notices? He'd love that!

He was genuinely surprised that people pay for them, it just shows how out of touch he is with rural Ireland and how Dublin-centric he really is. Apart from the Funny Friday and the Ploughing gigs, he doesn't really leave the leafy roads of Clontarf and Montrose.
    The undetakers business needs a Ryanair type business model to shake it up. Have a crew cab pickup truck with coffin in the back and family in the cab, a jcb to dig the grave, priority boarding burial date available for those wanting to pick the day they wish to be buried and a €100 plywood coffin option at the lower end of the market.

Undertaking is another rip off cartel. Prices are ridiculous, but you usually have little or no choice but to pay out.

I told this story before, but as it's the LL forum I'll take the liberty of retelling it :) . The father of a fella I do some contract work with is a retired carpenter. His mother died a couple of years ago and he was shocked at paying €1800 for a coffin. He'd grafted all his life, since he was 14 and was buggered he was going to give his savings out for that, so he made two coffins, one for himself and one for the missus. She made the interior lining. The two coffins are in the rafters of his garage in the house in Dublin.

I also know of two lads whose uncle died of cancer in London. The oul fella was there at the hospital in London when his brother passed away. So he rang the two sons, they drove a van over to London, put the body in the back and drove back to Holyhead. At the time it was about £3000 just for the transport home, so he saved himself €2500 or so. The uncle who died had all the paperwork arranged, the local undertaker tried to block them leaving the hospital, so the police were called, they checked the paperwork and he was allowed to leave. No law against it. Just goes to show how much they make off it. I know three local undertakers, they're all well off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭Hitchens

bigroad wrote: »
    Going back a few years a well to do family would have a Guard,priest ,school teacher in the family.
    If a big(ish) farmer had three sons the procedure was as follows:

1. He'd send the shmartest fella off to be a phriesht.

2. The shtrongesht fella he'd keep at home shniggin' turnips.

3 And the amadán would be sent to 'Timplemore' :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Guaranteed if I rang in with that story Duffy would turn that on me and accuse me of making it up, lying etc.

Obviously alarms in RTÉ would be ringing if my number flashed up on the screens so I'd never get through....but I can dream.
    ... use a burner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Hobby farmer

My experiences with the Gardai down the years has been fine - from a bedside manner point of view - but as regards to dealing with problems they have been utterly useless. How many times do you hear on the radio that the guards couldn't do enough and were great when they came out to my house/farm etc. but still failed to do anything.

Failed to do anything or couldn't do anything? I mean if a residential house is broken into,

First thing door to door, "yeah guard I heard a bang but didn't think anything of it" or "God no I didn't see anything" also you would be amazed the things that the public don't ring in! (Not that I'm criticising them)

Okay CCTV? Rare or poor quality or they are covered up!

Fingerprints? Thing of the past! Very rare criminals don't wear gloves.

DNA? Sometimes but we are nowhere near where we should be with DNA.

7 years working in crime and 90% of the time with residential burglaries, thefts from farms, cars etc that's what you're dealing with. I would love to be able to do something more than comfort victims of crime but unfortunately that's the reality. I exhaust all avenues and move on with the cases I can progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Given that there's already feck all Gardai on the streets ....:rolleyes:

Have to say there's has been an increased presence around New Jack City ( Noctors pub area where the innocent passerby was shot a few months back) including a squad car parked there every morning & evening as I pass & this evening 3 guards in civvies going through the pockets of the dealers.
    Off course the constant stream of the unwell will now just redirect somewhere else but it does feel a bit safer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Hitchens wrote: »
    If a big(ish) farmer had three sons the procedure was as follows:

1. He'd send the shmartest fella off to be a phriesht.

ardal-ohanlon_3.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

My Garda story?

Rang Finglas Garda station one night (after midnight) to tell them there was a car driving THE WRONG WAY on the M50 heading towards the airport.

The response?
    "Ah shure he'll be off it by the time we can send a car out"

True story.

I'll throw my one in, also told previously on a Liveline thread I'm sure.

Running past a site that someone was building a house on and I noticed a bunch of lads trying to break into the container on the site. Got up the road, rang the local garda station and told them what was up and where. About 5 hours later I got a call back from a different garda. She asked me what was taken.

Eh, I rang when the break in was in progress, I don't own the site, so I've no idea. Ok, thanks for ringing. The lads could have taken the whole house, brick by brick, in that time.

I do think it's an issue with resourcing as I've know them to turn up pretty quickly to other incidents, including what I thought was another burglary which turned out to be a bunch of builders in a van that were given the key to the house, but not the alarm code, so they were looking pretty shifty hanging around the side gate with the alarm blaring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Hitchens wrote: »
    ... use a burner?

a burner? Guess who just finished watching "The Wire"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

a burner? Guess who just finished watching "The Wire"!

Gotta keep the Devil down in his hole...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The Lahve Death line is open now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭Expunge

Joe was surprised and a bit sneering about how local radio charges for death notices yesterday.

How does he think private broadcasting companies make ends meet?

I'd swear he doesn't give a thought as to how even RTE might attempt to balance it's bukes.

Expunge wrote: »
    Joe was surprised and a bit sneering about how local radio charges for death notices yesterday.

How does he think private broadcasting companies make ends meet?

I'd swear he doesn't give a thought as to how even RTE might attempt to balance it's bukes.

I assume he's given it the occasional thought and got a bit worried. It might explain his ratty periods when he's a bit troubled by the realisation he's slowly killed the golden goose - the most-listened programme on RTE afternoon radio only attracts the very odd commercial advert these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    I assume he's given it the occasional thought and got a bit worried. It might explain his ratty periods when he's a bit troubled by the realisation he's slowly killed the golden goose - the most-listened programme on RTE afternoon radio only attracts the very odd commercial advert these days.

The show has become stale and dated and the likes of what we had all this week only makes people fall asleep or switch over! I generally don't listen to Ray from 3pm but found myself hoping his show would be ok when listening to the Death line this week!

Joe should never mention the Palamarians ever again and also should beg forgiveness from al concerned for his behaviour last week.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Joe... should beg forgiveness from all concerned for his behaviour last week.

I missed this, was it really that bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Rochester

I missed this, was it really that bad?

Yes and so unprofessional.

I'll have to catch up, was it Friday's show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭PathMatcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭Expunge

I see on Twidder that Joe's Three Producer's are looking for horror stories from businesses who have used Groupon.

Well, they asked for people's experiences but I'm sure they meant horror stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,552 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Expunge wrote: »
    I see on Twidder that Joe's Three Producer's are looking for horror stories from businesses who have used Groupon.

Well, they asked for people's experiences but I'm sure they meant horror stories.

Must be a shortage of death and misery callers lined up for today.

If someone died after buying a GROUPON voucher Joe'll wet himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

But 2 funerals get de turd free so to speak....

Won't be in today folks but will read de thread later so to speak.

Especially if it were for a cut-price coffin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Quid, so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭PathMatcher

Joe frantically scribbling down to work out de mattymatticks. Aaaaaaaaand we have a result! 29 euro for 10 classes is less than 3 euro a class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Did joe get out of the dopey side of the bed today ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Even better if they died during a yoga class bought with a voucher from groupon