Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,553 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Ah I've been playing rugby with kiwis my whole life unfortunately so I'm somewhat capable of understanding them!

My friend saw it a few days ago and he said it was brilliant and we have similar tastes so I'm looking forward to it. I'm travelling until November so may be a while before I get the chance!

Lately, I really miss the NZ outdoors: sky full of stars (because there is no light pollution like in Europe), the chirping of the birds, and the smell of beech forest. NZ cities are a bit "meh", but nature in the South Island in particular is great. Lots of it in the film anyways.

People who go to NZ for the Lions series and spend their time in the pub between matches are missing out!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Lately, I really miss the NZ outdoors: sky full of stars (because there is no light pollution like in Europe), the chirping of the birds, and the smell of beech forest. NZ cities are a bit "meh", but nature in the South Island in particular is great. Lots of it in the film anyways.

People who go to NZ for the Lions series and spend their time in the pub between matches are missing out!

There's a place in Kerry is a dark sky reserve, one of the best spots in the world for seeing the stars apparently. There's loads of nice outdoor places in Ireland too. Can't compare to NZL in a lot of ways, obviously, but it's not all bad.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,207 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

There's a place in Kerry is a dark sky reserve, one of the best spots in the world for seeing the stars apparently. There's loads of nice outdoor places in Ireland too. Can't compare to NZL in a lot of ways, obviously, but it's not all bad.

http://kerrydarksky.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Kerry-International-Dark-Sky-reserve-PDF-Map-and-information.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,553 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Speaking of NZ slang

"I've been given a pretty awesome opportunity by a really wicked club," is how Gibson-Park sees the move.

C'mon Jamison, make sure you give it heaps bro.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

More power to our new plastic paddy

Bushmills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,206 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Speaking of NZ slang

"I've been given a pretty awesome opportunity by a really wicked club," is how Gibson-Park sees the move.

C'mon Jamison, make sure you give it heaps bro.

Shot bro! That's pretty choice eh.

You guys are forgetting that Shortland Street was on RTÉ for years. We've cracked your code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

A lot of Dublin fans moaning about the allocation of tickets for the final on Sunday, that a lot of fans who had gone to matches all year couldn't get tickets. But am I right in saying the attendance should be 50:50, so it's just how these things go?

Neil3030 wrote: »
    A lot of Dublin fans moaning about the allocation of tickets for the final on Sunday, that a lot of fans who had gone to matches all year couldn't get tickets. But am I right in saying the attendance should be 50:50, so it's just how these things go?

A lot of tickets get allocated to other county boards and clubs etc. And most would tend to give them to the county they know or like more instead of back to HQ if they aren't being used by themselves.

It really shouldn't effect overall the amount of tickets fans get but it definitely would move people from their normal spot. Ie a thousand hill 16 tickets could have gone to the county boards of Connacht and Ulster teams and they went to clubs and boards in mayo with them.

And Galway people would have kept them just to piss off Mayo and Dublin people at the same time. ;):D

You'd think there'd be more available this time with no Minor finals to allocate for.

• Administrators Posts: 55,101 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I think every GAA club in the world is guaranteed at least two tickets as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

awec wrote: »
    I think every GAA club in the world is guaranteed at least two tickets as well?
    Not true.
    https://www.balls.ie/gaa/who-gets-all-ireland-tickets-allocation/346444

Watched Hunt for the Wilderpeople on Sunday with the wife. Really enjoyed it, probably the best comedy I've seen this year with some truly hilarious and very quotable moments.
    "It's like Lord of the Rings"

Anyone know if there's any services on the M8, (Dublin to Cork)?

I see there's one at Junction 14 on the M7 before it splits but are there any after that?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I don't know anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I don't know anyway

I feel like I have popped off the M8 at Cashel from time to time for a McDonalds and a break in a rather large petrol station.

errlloyd wrote: »
    I feel like I have popped off the M8 at Cashel from time to time for a McDonalds and a break in a rather large petrol station.

You're right! I looked it up on Google maps and they've got a restaurant and a fair bit of seating in there too. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,997 ✭✭✭✭phog

Anyone know if there's any services on the M8, (Dublin to Cork)?

I see there's one at Junction 14 on the M7 before it splits but are there any after that?

Applegreen have one in Cahir according to this

phog wrote: »
    Applegreen have one in Cahir according to this

Yeah, it's in Cahir itself though, would prefer somewhere that doesn't involve coming too far off the motorway.

The only Applegreen that seems to be "on" the M7 is a bit too close to home. None "on" the M8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,997 ✭✭✭✭phog

Yeah, it's in Cahir itself though, would prefer somewhere that doesn't involve coming too far off the motorway.

The only Applegreen that seems to be "on" the M7 is a bit too close to home. None "on" the M8.

Never zoomed in on the map. There could well be other services along the M8 I just googled Applegreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

You're right! I looked it up on Google maps and they've got a restaurant and a fair bit of seating in there too. Thanks.

Make sure you lock your vehicle. Seems to be a halting site nearby and I've heard of vehicles getting broken into before. I met a garda there one day, and he even said to me as I was getting out of the van to make sure I had it locked!!

I'm sure there's a few cyclists on here, I'm going to get a bike with the B2W scheme which I will hopefully use to commute (about 8km each way), can anyone recommend what type of bike to go for? Looking at a hybrid or a road bike but veering towards a hybrid. Any accessories that are essential? Is there such a thing as a lock that will stop the bike from getting stolen from my front garden if chained to a gate?

Get two locks and get heavy ones that you leave at the gate, if it's at the front of the house it's a real "crime of opportunity" so try and lock it up where it's not visible at all or at the back of the property. One lock for back wheel and rear chassis and one for front. Cant' stress enough, spend good money on good locks that are heavy.

As for the bike, giant brand hybrid bikes are not expensive and reliable. There are a wide range but I'd go for something that you are comfortable with, is sturdy and doesn't require heaps of maintenance (Don't go mad getting something with a **** ton of gears).

For accessories I'd get a front and rear mud guard. Hand pump and replacement tubes with clips and get someone to show you how to replace the tube. As you will be on the road I'd get the thicker kevlar tires which are more expensive but will last longer.

Get a good powerful front light and a good powerful rear light and most importantly get a good quality well fitting helmet.

Get the guys in the shop to size the saddle for you.

Keep at home a larger pump (the one you hold in place with your feet) and at least once a week top up your tires. It's a short easy job that massively reduces the chance of puncture.

I think that's about it, I got "bull horn" extensions on the handle bars which I find quite comfortable on a hybrid bike. Mine got stolen so I'm on a road bike now which is great if you want to go that way, the hybrid is better for a new cyclist and you could take it up on trails if you wished. PM me with any queries.

Hybrid is a good mix of comfort and ease for commuting.

Do you have showers at work? If not you'll want a pannier rack if you need to bring gear to work because carrying something on your back will make you sweat.

• I'm sure there's a few cyclists on here, I'm going to get a bike with the B2W scheme which I will hopefully use to commute (about 8km each way), can anyone recommend what type of bike to go for? Looking at a hybrid or a road bike but veering towards a hybrid. Any accessories that are essential? Is there such a thing as a lock that will stop the bike from getting stolen from my front garden if chained to a gate?

No lock is impregnable. Locks are deterrents and time wasters mostly.

As much as possible, position your bike next to a better looking bike or one with a worse lock.

Having two different types of locks (one cable, one U) makes it much more unlikely that the thief has all the tools required.

The front garden bit is a problem imo. No better location available?

Mud guards essential for Ireland!

Venjur - thanks a lot for the info, really helpful. I'd heard Giant mentioned before but I know nothing about bikes, they seem to be a decent one to go for.

Do you have showers at work? If not you'll want a pannier rack if you need to bring gear to work because carrying something on your back will make you sweat.

This was going to be my next question, what do people wear to cycle in? Work clothes (will be business casual) obviously don't seem ideal. I'm actually starting a new job in 2 weeks so I don't know if they have showers but I'm fairly sure they do. If they do I'll cycle in and shower there, if not then I might just cycle in something comfortable and change when I get there.

The front garden bit is a problem imo. No better location available?

I live in a weird spot, it's a house where the top floor is my apartment and the bottom floor is a business. I can probably take it in at night but during the day I'd have to leave it outside, assuming I didn't have it at work with me. There is a rear of the property too but there's literally nothing to lock it to out the back.

And finally, any particular recommendation of a place to buy the thing? Is one local shop as good as the next?

Venjur - thanks a lot for the info, really helpful. I'd heard Grant mentioned before but I know nothing about bikes, they seem to be a decent one to go for.

This was going to be my next question, what do people wear to cycle in? Work clothes (will be business casual) obviously don't seem ideal. I'm actually starting a new job in 2 weeks so I don't know if they have showers but I'm fairly sure they do. If they do I'll cycle in and shower there, if not then I might just cycle in something comfortable and change when I get there.

I live in a weird spot, it's a house where the top floor is my apartment and the bottom floor is a business. I can probably take it in at night but during the day I'd have to leave it outside, assuming I didn't have it at work with me. There is a rear of the property too but there's literally nothing to lock it to out the back.

And finally, any particular recommendation of a place to buy the thing? Is one local shop as good as the next?

Whether they have showers or not don't cycle in the clothes you'll have to wear all day anyway.

You'll want warm gear because for 9 months of the year it'll be cold, maybe pick up a cycling jacket when you get the bike.

Personally I'd recommend cycling shorts with padding (leggings for winter unless you're a tough cookie) but I understand a lot of people are wary of wearing lycra.

I bought my bike in Fitzcycles in Stillorgan, very helpful lads. Some shops will only sell certain brands etc.

• I live in a weird spot, it's a house where the top floor is my apartment and the bottom floor is a business. I can probably take it in at night but during the day I'd have to leave it outside, assuming I didn't have it at work with me. There is a rear of the property too but there's literally nothing to lock it to out the back.

Definitely worth asking the landlord / business if they'd permit you to install a ground/wall anchor out the back.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Brute-Force-OF439-Security-Anchor/dp/B00126FWT0

Being visible in the one spot all the time is less than ideal. Always bear in mind that if someone really wants to steal it, they will be able to if they have enough time. Locks are really only for preventing opportunistic thieves.

fwiw, if there are showers at work, I used to just cycle in shorts and t shirt rain hail or snow. Less to get wet. You'll toughen up quick.

Whether they have showers or not don't cycle in the clothes you'll have to wear all day anyway.

You'll want warm gear because for 9 months of the year it'll be cold, maybe pick up a cycling jacket when you get the bike.

Personally I'd recommend cycling shorts with padding (leggings for winter unless you're a tough cookie) but I understand a lot of people are wary of wearing lycra.

I bought my bike in Fitzcycles in Stillorgan, very helpful lads. Some shops will only sell certain brands etc.

I have a hurricane-proof golf jacket, probably isn't that warm but can put something on under. Also have thermal tops and leggings from a past life so no problem sticking them on under shorts.

Cheers for all the help folks. Dublin bikes are great and all but finally will be able to cycle all the way to my house.

Definitely worth asking the landlord / business if they'd mind if they'd permit you to install a ground/wall anchor out the back.

Being visible in the one spot all the time is less than ideal. Always bear in mind that if someone really wants to steal it, they will be able to if they have enough time. Locks are really only for preventing opportunistic thieves.

fwiw, if there are showers at work, I used to just cycle in shorts and t shirt rain hail or snow. Less to get wet.

Didn't think of that, cheers, I would imagine they wouldn't have a huge issue with that.

Definitely worth asking the landlord / business if they'd permit you to install a ground/wall anchor out the back.

fwiw, if there are showers at work, I used to just cycle in shorts and t shirt rain hail or snow. Less to get wet. You'll toughen up quick.

A tougher man than me emmett. I'd have the leggings on from October time and about 3 layers on top.