Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

SFC Final - Dublin v Mayo - *Read Mod Note in post #1 & #1393*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,111 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

wp_rathead wrote: »
    ... But...Connolly get to play in that replay? :confused:

Watched the game last week and I'm nearly sure he wasn't playing ;):)

He was anonymous

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Club. Connolly isn't even one of the top 6 forwards in Dublin, never mind the frankly bewildering eulogising of this show pony as somehow the best in Ireland. He's a luxury player. Grand for shooting the lights out against Westmeath and Laois or bringing off the bench to keep the soccer crowd on Hill 16 entertained if the Dubs are 10 points up but he has never failed to go hiding (or get himself sent off) against good opposition when the Dubs are under pressure.

Ah stop. The Dubs have flaws but Connolly is pure class.

ProudDUB wrote: »

I could get in a trollish dig of my own, about flaky, under performing golden boys, the ones who don't have Celtic crosses in their arse pocket. But I am far too Zen for that. Apart from the milk situ. Bo0ll0x to that anyway !

Ah more for the Mayo dressing room wall. Hope you're gracious in defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

Peist2007 wrote: »

I could get in a trollish dig of my own, about flaky, under performing golden boys, the ones who don't have Celtic crosses in their arse pocket. But I am far too Zen for that. Apart from the milk situ. Bo0ll0x to that anyway !

I am sure all the players and management are glued to Boards wondering what people are saying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

If this Mayo team give a shiney shyte about what I think, you've a lot more to be worried about than I do. Would you like a nice cup of tea to settle the nerves? Powered milk, ok? ;)

kilns wrote: »
    I am sure all the players and management are glued to Boards wondering what people are saying...

What are you on about?

If this Mayo team give a shiney shyte about what I think, you've a lot more to be worried about than I do. Would you like a nice cup of tea to settle the nerves? Powered milk, ok? ;)

Never said they did. No nerves here. Sure we are massive underdogs against a bunch of supermen. Pressure all on yourselves and all self-inflicted. Is asking me do i want powdered milk an insult or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Not an ounce of pressure on us at all. Ne'er a drop. Donegal 2014 was a watershed moment in many ways.

What are you on about?
    Follow your own messages.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

Hope you're gracious in defeat.

Ooh, now Jim Gavin has one for the dressing room :eek:

Menoetius wrote: »
    Ooh, now Jim Gavin has one for the dressing room :eek:

No at this point a Mayo victory is actually a possible result, believe it or not.

You're the guy who wasnt able to keep up yesterday. I'll leave you to it but, needless to say, you misinterpreted things, again.

No at this point a Mayo victory is actually a possible result, believe it or not.

If you have followed my posts regarding the final, you would see that I very much believe that Mayo could win. :rolleyes:

You're the guy who wasnt able to keep up yesterday. I'll leave you to it but, needless to say, you misinterpreted things, again.
    Unless you have something productive to add to the conversation, you should go out and play with your friends now before it gets dark

If you have followed my posts regarding the final, you would see that I very much believe that Mayo could win. :rolleyes:

So? You implied that a Mayo supporter seeing the possibility of victory as a slight worthy of the Dublin dressing room wall. In a thread where Mayo players when compared with their Dublin counterparts as "Bench fodder", "sunshine boys", "perennial chokers". Hence my point which is perfectly valid. The Dubs are in complete 2014 overconfidence mode, great to see.

As for your previous posts, as if i am reading back to follow your train of thought :pac:

Unless you have something productive to add to the conversation, you should go out and play with your friends now before it gets dark

I really dont think Boards would leave someone with such clear reading comprehension issues in charge of who contributes what in a thread. So i think i'll disregard the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

epitomised by the most overrated, flaky sunshine boy of them all in Diarmuid Connolly. Now Connolly might make me eat my words on Sunday but seeing as his late point against Kerry was the first time he ever did anything against a top team in a tight championship game I doubt it.

quizzical.gif

So? You implied that a Mayo supporter seeing the possibility of victory as a slight worthy of the Dublin dressing room wall. In a thread where Mayo players when compared with their Dublin counterparts as "Bench fodder", "sunshine boys", "perennial chokers". Hence my point which is perfectly valid. The Dubs are in complete 2014 overconfidence mode, great to see.

As for your previous posts, as if i am reading back to follow your train of thought :pac:

Jaysus you really don't get banter at all do you? :(

To sum up our little conversation

you "Mayo victory is actually a possible result, believe it or not"

Me "I very much believe that Mayo could win"

You "The Dubs are in complete 2014 overconfidence mode, great to see"

p.s. wasn't it a Dub who was called a "sunshine boy" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Biloxi Blues

Jaysus you really don't get banter at all do you? :(

plus wasn't it a Dub who was called a "sunshine boy" ?

It was indeed. Connolly ( a.k.a. AN Other or Anonny Moose when it comes to games that matter). I think by "banter" you mean what the typical Dub has always loved to dish out but has a hissy fit (or worse) if given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Never said they did. No nerves here. Sure we are massive underdogs against a bunch of supermen. Pressure all on yourselves and all self-inflicted. Is asking me do i want powdered milk an insult or something?

Oh for goodness sake. Go back and read my post. You know....the one you just quoted ! :rolleyes:

At least these two are giving a bit of entertainment to the thread :D

I only hope they are gracious losers/winners come Sunday evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Blud

At least these two are giving a bit of entertainment to the thread :D

I only hope they are gracious losers/winners come Sunday evening

There'll be nothing gracious about me if we win on Sunday - I'll be the lad with the Guinness stains on his shirt and the pants round his ankles.

Definitely won't be on here though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

Absolute trainwreck this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

corny wrote: »

Let me summarise.

Mayo could win but Dublin probably will win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

corny wrote: »

YUP. I've unfollowed it and I dip in from time to time but then nowt.
    It'll probably be better on match day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Arse Biscuits

People talking about Connolly and saying he's not a good player and doesn't perform in big games.

Only two types of people would type that on a forum:

1. A WUM
    2. People who actually haven't a clue about football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Biloxi Blues

People talking about Connolly and saying he's not a good player and doesn't perform in big games.

Only two types of people would type that on a forum:

1. A WUM
    2. People who actually haven't a clue about football.

Ah God bless us, somebody doesn't worship at the altar of "Dermo", burn him at the stake he's a "troll", a "wum". Nobody said he doesn't have talent,if there was a GAA equivalent of the Haarlem Globetrotters he'd be the first name on my team.

Won't go into the list of them but the 2013 Semi Final he made a huge difference. Just as an example

the typical Dub.

And there we have it, the GAA equivilent of "you people" :rolleyes:

Let me summarise.

Mayo could win but Dublin probably will win.

yeah but you make it sound so boring that way :(