Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

SFC Final - Dublin v Mayo - *Read Mod Note in post #1 & #1393*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Blud

So with the rumours that Rock is injured, is it safe to assume Andrews starts if he misses out?

Brogan has had a poor year by his very high standards, would he be given free taking responsibilities without Rock there? Or would it go to Connolly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Laughable. You forget how Mayo came back against Dublin last year.This Mayo team have shown more mental and testicular fortitude than anyone else to come back year after year after heartbreak. A team showing mental fragility? See Dublin 2014 when they shat the course after Donegal sucker punched them and Dublin still had enough chances to win the game but fluffed chance after chance after chance - all epitomised by the most overrated, flaky sunshine boy of them all in Diarmuid Connolly. Now Connolly might make me eat my words on Sunday but seeing as his late point against Kerry was the first time he ever did anything against a top team in a tight championship game I doubt it.

I doubt that Castlebar Mitchells share your opinion of Dermie :)

Bonniedog wrote: »

Dermie! Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Slattsy wrote: »
    I'm not biting

Me neither. My inner rage at the blasphemy is more directed at not having any milk in the fridge for the cuppa tae. Oh the injustice of it all !

I could get in a trollish dig of my own, about flaky, under performing golden boys, the ones who don't have Celtic crosses in their arse pocket. But I am far too Zen for that. Apart from the milk situ. Bo0ll0x to that anyway !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

Blud wrote: »
    So with the rumours that Rock is injured, is it safe to assume Andrews starts if he misses out?

Brogan has had a poor year by his very high standards, would he be given free taking responsibilities without Rock there? Or would it go to Connolly?

Haven't heard any rumours of this except from yourself Blud. If it's true Costello would be a good option too. Probably better from play, and a decent free taker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

"So with the rumours that Rock is injured"............ ......what a waste of time the last two days of Rock v COC has been !! :D:D

I thought we settled on McManus anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Biloxi Blues

Club. Connolly isn't even one of the top 6 forwards in Dublin, never mind the frankly bewildering eulogising of this show pony as somehow the best in Ireland. He's a luxury player. Grand for shooting the lights out against Westmeath and Laois or bringing off the bench to keep the soccer crowd on Hill 16 entertained if the Dubs are 10 points up but he has never failed to go hiding (or get himself sent off) against good opposition when the Dubs are under pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Club. Connolly isn't even one of the top 6 forwards in Dublin, never mind the frankly bewildering eulogising of this show pony as somehow the best in Ireland. He's a luxury player. Grand for shooting the lights out against Westmeath and Laois or bringing off the bench to keep the soccer crowd on Hill 16 entertained if the Dubs are 10 points up but he has never failed to go hiding (or get himself sent off) against good opposition when the Dubs are under pressure.

"Soccer crowd" :)

We'll hear every cliché under the sun no doubt between now and 4.45 Sunday, when you are all going home with your tails between your legs. Again.

to keep the soccer crowd on Hill 16 entertained

Not a troll :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Put plenty of bait on that line ......

We'll hear every cliché under the sun no doubt between now and 4.45 Sunday, when you are all going home with your tails between your legs. Again.

True story - I was in the Cusack for the All Ireland final in 2013, and as we were walking around the back of the Hill with our tails between our legs, a group of Dublin fans were leaving just in front of us and talking about nothing other than United being hammered by City at the time.

Just after winning an All Ireland, can't turn those soccer heads away from it for one afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

I've already banned one person until well after the All Ireland final, if there is ANY more baiting or trolling, you will find yourself banned until well after the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Biloxi Blues

I'm not from Mayo

Menoetius wrote: »
    I think it's his eloquent choice of words that may annoy some more so than his opinion.

Whatever about being a troll or not, it was clearly designed to get a rise rather than make a point.

Thinking that shouldn't be taken as a need for reassurance as to how great Dublin are.

because the Dubs dont make over the top remarks to get a rise out of everyone else :D

Ah, there is a lot of that with Dubs fans though, this mockery and offence if you don't bow down to the team. A kind of "admit it, we are the best, its stupid to say otherwise" opinion.

Its fair enough thinking it but a lot of posters over the last few weeks seem to need to persuade you how good they are (or even make you convince them or reassure them such) And some just don't let it go!

Confidence in your players is great and rare in team sport forums these days and inner harmony between fans which Dubs seem to have but they more often than not can't handle anything other county fans picking criticisms and fail to see any logic to their opinions which results in stupid round and round repetitive pointless debates like the "he is a better free taker" one that really took over the thread last few days and dismissing any points or disagreements others may have.

It is just something I have observed. Whilst it doesn't show delusionment backing up an exceptional Dublin team, it does get fierce annoying that "the us against the rest of the country" attitude is installed in many (not all) Dublin fans.

True story - I was in the Cusack for the All Ireland final in 2013, and as we were walking around the back of the Hill with our tails between our legs, a group of Dublin fans were leaving just in front of us and talking about nothing other than United being hammered by City at the time.

Just after winning an All Ireland, can't turn those soccer heads away from it for one afternoon.

:D:D:D

Another true story, leaving Croke Park devastated after the 2006 semi final and overheard two girls in Mayo jerseys. One asked the other "who are we playing in the final?", "not sure" replied the other.

We could get a few pages out of this one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

kilns wrote: »
    Dont feed the trolls

in fairness, maybe thats his opinion? I know its a bit hyperbolic but perhaps this is how he feels regarding the guy. To call him a troll epitomises a lot of "how dare you criticise us" attitude I have seen on these threads from Dubs fans, as if they get personally offended and need reassuring how great they are.

Top players are always privy to varied opinions in all sports and some see different aspects than others. Not saying he is right or wrong but he is hardly a troll.

But yes, for the most part I would disagree, most talented forward in the country on his day, but it will be VERY interesting how he copes with Keegan and his jostling Sunday. Big test for both.

By calling a player an overated flaky sunshine boy is certainly trying to get a rise from others

But lets leave it aside and talk about the game

Mayo will have their spells of dominance in the game and Dublin sometimes dip for periods too, the result will hinge if Mayo can capitalise enough on those periods. i.e. scoring goals

I thought we settled on McManus anyway ;)

nope, definitely ___________ (lets not start this again!!!) :D

Another true story, leaving Croke Park devastated after the 2006 semi final and overheard two girls in Mayo jerseys. One asked the other "who are we playing in the final?", "not sure" replied the other.

I heard all Dublin fans saying that before the ball was thrown in against Donegal in 2014 also :D

We could indeed.

I'm delighted it's Dublin we're playing now, the craic just isn't the same off the Kerry crowd. This will be a great weekend in Dublin, dying to get out of work now.

I heard all Dublin fans saying that before the ball was thrown in against Donegal in 2014 also :D

you know its true! :D

Teams are announced tomorrow right? Anyone know if it's early or in the evening?

Dublin normally announce theirs in the evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,331 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Dublin normally announce theirs in the evening

Dublin normally announce theirs after the opponents have announced their team and change it before throw-in.

Time to get rid of this stupid 'naming teams' crap cos for the big games, there are always going to be changes.

BPKS wrote: »
    Dublin normally announce theirs after the opponents have announced their team and change it before throw-in.

Time to get rid of this stupid 'naming teams' crap cos for the big games, there are always going to be changes.

its all for the media in fairness and the media plays a big part in GAA's profits so afaik most teams obliged to announce some sort of lineup?

Someone can conform

its all for the media in fairness and the media plays a big part in GAA's profits so afaik most teams obliged to announce some sort of lineup?

Someone can conform

I think it's just for the match programme. Squad numbers would do away with it, but much prefer the current situation.

I don't understand people complaining about line ups and subsequent changes, it's just more to talk about really.

BPKS wrote: »

Why?? What harm does it do other than create topics of conversation?

Some people are easily annoyed.

I think it's just for the match programme. Squad numbers would do away with it, but much prefer the current situation.

I don't understand people complaining about line ups and subsequent changes, it's just more to talk about really.

Nah, I am on about the media exposure mainly. I am sure they could swear the programme makers to secrecy! :D Plus even if they didnt, they can just give them the wrong team anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

PARlance wrote: »
    Connolly will be raring to go after missing out on last years replay.

... But...Connolly get to play in that replay? :confused: