Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

Austin Gleeson "beast mode"
    https://vine.co/v/5J1LxZTT7Zz

Beast of a man and he's still only a youngfella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭independent11

Great win, and a great boost for Waterford GAA. On a cautious note, U21 is very different to Senior championship. We scored great goals but in senior inter county you wouldn't get that space and opportunity. But that doesn't matter to the U21 squad and mentors/background staff who are a credit to th county.

Next year ? Time to kick on but we are back at the start again ok Munster and we have a long difficult journey to croke park whatever route is taken.

For those stating that the "style" last night needs to be translated to Senior team be careful, The U21 grade is a great competition (especially when we win😄) but very different to senior. Open hurling with open spaces killed KK last Sunday. We will suffer same consequences (like we did in Limerick) if we do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Looking back at the 92 team we had really 3 players that went on to have successful careers at senior level. Flynn,Browne and Hartley were main stays for years while Fives and Brenner would have soldiered together at midfield for a while aswell. Layla could have been alot better with a bit more dedication and I was surprised to read that with all the talk about Sean Daly he has a score card at senior championship level of 1-11 over a chequered career!! We have fellas getting that in one game now!!
    The point I'm getting at is given our fantastic success yesterday how many can we see staying long-term at the top for us? Aussie,the 2 Bennetts,Paddy Curran Conor Gleeson maybe? It certainly isn't a given that all these guys will be around for the long haul so its vital we keep the underage structure in tact so as to facilitate the senior team for years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,607 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

This easily could of been a 2 in a row AI winning under 21 team. The talent we had in the under 21 panel of 2015 was unreal which included a lot of this year's panel and TDB, Jamie Barron and Colin Dunford but it was not meant to be in 2015

Thankfully we done it this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Delighted with that performance and result on Sunday, the lads were faultless. Commiserations to Galway, to be fair it was never a game we were going to lose and one which I think we needed a lot more than them. We in Waterford know all too well what it's like to be battered, especially in a big game so it was nice to turn the tables for a change.

As others have mentioned, there is definitely a step up from u21 to senior but we should still be aiming to milk the most out of this team. We've obviously already got the outstanding talent on the senior setup (Gleeson, Bennetts, Curran, Devine) but certainly worth now considering the likes of Conor Gleeson (getting more game time next year), Michael Harney, Mikey Kearney, Darragh Lyons and Conor Prunty.

Next years championship is going to be very open, already can't wait for it. I know it seems like we say that every year. Ourselves to try improve by 5-10% and get the better of Tipp or KK, Tipp to do a back-to-back, KK to get revenge on Tipp and show they're #1, Galway to be there or thereabouts, Clare and Limerick to show they're worth more than this year, Dublin and Cork can't get any worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

cul beag wrote: »
    Looking back at the 92 team we had really 3 players that went on to have successful careers at senior level. Flynn,Browne and Hartley were main stays for years while Fives and Brenner would have soldiered together at midfield for a while aswell. Layla could have been alot better with a bit more dedication and I was surprised to read that with all the talk about Sean Daly he has a score card at senior championship level of 1-11 over a chequered career!! We have fellas getting that in one game now!!
    The point I'm getting at is given our fantastic success yesterday how many can we see staying long-term at the top for us? Aussie,the 2 Bennetts,Paddy Curran Conor Gleeson maybe? It certainly isn't a given that all these guys will be around for the long haul so its vital we keep the underage structure in tact so as to facilitate the senior team for years to come.
    Curran, two Bennetts, two Gleesons, Devine, imo Lyons, Prunty Roche, that's really good going plus most of the rest of the panel are still young, TDB Barron and Dunford under 21 last year, Pauric 24, Dillon 23, SOK 25, Connors 26, Phillip Mahony 25, O Halloran 25, Maurice 26, McNulty? We're in a great place right now and who knows might emerge over the next 2-3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

Curran, two Bennetts, two Gleesons, Devine, imo Lyons, Prunty Roche, that's really good going plus most of the rest of the panel are still young, TDB Barron and Dunford under 21 last year, Pauric 24, Dillon 23, SOK 25, Connors 26, Phillip Mahony 25, O Halloran 25, Maurice 26, McNulty? We're in a great place right now and who knows might emerge over the next 2-3 years.

Dj surely in witha shout lit up intermediate and no slouch in u21 either ,i havent seen much of Jack Fagan, but i hear good things,

how will they ever pick a team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

That was the least stressful game I have ever been at, the result was never in doubt after the first minute. The exuberance and the scores were more akin to a Harken Globetrotters game.

These players have been winning together for years now and in some style too. It is easy to get carried away but, as others have pointed out U21s is completely different from senior. There will be players who never wear a county jersey again (more so Galway than Waterford) and the gaps that were easy to exploit on Saturday just won't exist.

That said, we will have quality, confident players in every position with quality replacements to keep them on their toes. There is absolutely no reason why we should not be competing at the top for the next 10 years. If we can do that, we will surely fall over the line at least once. I will be disappointed if it is not more than once tbh.

Deise Abu!!!

Mullane on today's Indo pushing for Tony Browne to be added to the senior ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

cul beag wrote: »
    Mullane on today's Indo pushing for Tony Browne to be added to the senior ticket.

Might be a better choice than Dan to be honest. I love Dan's passion but I don't see how you can form sensible thoughts when you are jumping around on the sideline like a lunatic, leave that up to the fans :D

O Riain wrote: »
    Might be a better choice than Dan to be honest. I love Dan's passion but I don't see how you can form sensible thoughts when you are jumping around on the sideline like a lunatic, leave that up to the fans :D

You could have a point. Would love to know what O Connor brings to the table? Couldn't be experience anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

Great win on Saturday, not sure how good we are when Galway looked pretty poor. Limerick won it last year but did nothing at senior. Best 21 teams over the last few years?Kilkenny mid noughties tommy, JJ etc.. Corks 98 team backbones the seniors to three titles. Not that many not on the panel already ready to make the set up.

thesultan wrote: »
    Great win on Saturday, not sure how good we are when Galway looked pretty poor. Limerick won it last year but did nothing at senior. Best 21 teams over the last few years?Kilkenny mid noughties tommy, JJ etc.. Corks 98 team backbones the seniors to three titles. Not that many not on the panel already ready to make the set up.

Clare u21 team of 2009-2014 era were outstanding and the backbones of that squad won the liam McCarthy in 2013 (weeks after doing 2 in a row at u21)

Limerick who won 3 u21 titles in the early 2000's never transitioned into senior level (although they got to an all Ireland in 2007)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Folks, while it was a great win on Saturday and should be rightly celebrated as its rare we win any All Ireland, there's some of ye getting far ahead of yourselves. Winning U21 titles is nothing like an Senior All Ireland title so hold the horses.

Yes, last Saturday and the recent minor victory give great hope and show that the pipeline is there but you have to keep the structures and investment in place to keep topping up the Senior squad year in, year out. Look how fast other teams have come and gone and never pushed on from underage.

If the County Board get lazy and don't continue the work, we'll be back in the bad days before you know it. Hopefully the skill levels at times on Saturday will be seen for many more years gracing pitches.

https://www.facebook.com/noel.browne.315?fref=nf

good speech by Sean Power after the game saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

PTH2009 wrote: »
    https://www.facebook.com/noel.browne.315?fref=nf

good speech by Sean Power after the game saturday.

I saw that, and while he spoke well, I had a small nagging feeling about the sanctity of the dressing room being violated, whatever about taking pictures in there (OK in my book) I think releasing videos publicly isn't wise.

Maybe I am just old fashioned :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭brian2614

Totally agree with you there,a bit of kop on wouldn't have went a stray with the photographer at that moment!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Deskjockey wrote: »
    I saw that, and while he spoke well, I had a small nagging feeling about the sanctity of the dressing room being violated, whatever about taking pictures in there (OK in my book) I think releasing videos publicly isn't wise.

I thought it was great to see. He spoke very well, didn't waffle on & said all be needed to say. His reference to the players being ambassadors to the young children of Waterford is very similar to Paidi O Se when he won the Leinster championship with Westmeath. It was a very valid point & I wouldn't worry about any violation of dressing room code of ethics or anything like that. It was a speech from the heart & delivered very well considering what they had just achieved. Fair play to him & the panel, great achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

Great win, and a great boost for Waterford GAA. On a cautious note, U21 is very different to Senior championship. We scored great goals but in senior inter county you wouldn't get that space and opportunity. But that doesn't matter to the U21 squad and mentors/background staff who are a credit to th county.

Next year ? Time to kick on but we are back at the start again ok Munster and we have a long difficult journey to croke park whatever route is taken.

For those stating that the "style" last night needs to be translated to Senior team be careful, The U21 grade is a great competition (especially when we win😄) but very different to senior. Open hurling with open spaces killed KK last Sunday. We will suffer same consequences (like we did in Limerick) if we do the same.
    it didn't kill Tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭ovalu

it didn't kill Tipp

Exactly, while there's obviously a big step up to senior level the basic hurling concepts are the same, people have been brainwashed about systems, sweepers, etc. Following Derek's flawed system probably cost us an U21 all ireland last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭culbaire

O Riain wrote: »
    Dan surely knows more about hurling than Fintan O'Connor!

Deskjockey wrote: »

well it wasn't exactly a team talk

ovalu wrote: »
    Exactly, while there's obviously a big step up to senior level the basic hurling concepts are the same, people have been brainwashed about systems, sweepers, etc. Following Derek's flawed system probably cost us an U21 all ireland last year.
    and possibly a Senior All Ireland ,when you have players like we have you let them hurl ,we have hurlers now of a caliber of some of the best hurlers in the country ,T,Kelly,Joe Canning ,Callanan ,Bubbles,mc Graths,R,Hogan etc etc,and of course that talent is not confined to the forwards ,J,Barron is one of the top midfielders bar none ,throw a fit D,Fives in ,now i'll stop now from going through the whole team BUT ,we also have the best all round hurler in the country by a country mile ,as a Kilkenny man tweeted Austin Gleeson was unreal tonight he played centerhalfmidfieldforward,roll on next year ,we have some of the best hurlers in the country so let them hurl ,no systems ,no sweeper ,we are just recovering from the mess Davy left us in,now if D mc Grath goes at this with a positive frame of mind then great ,but no way can we go back to that negativity and ****e systems that we endured for the last couple of years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

and possibly a Senior All Ireland ,when you have players like we have you let them hurl ,we have hurlers now of a caliber of some of the best hurlers in the country ,T,Kelly,Joe Canning ,Callanan ,Bubbles,mc Graths,R,Hogan etc etc,and of course that talent is not confined to the forwards ,J,Barron is one of the top midfielders bar none ,throw a fit D,Fives in ,now i'll stop now from going through the whole team BUT ,we also have the best all round hurler in the country by a country mile ,as a Kilkenny man tweeted Austin Gleeson was unreal tonight he played centerhalfmidfieldforward,roll on next year ,we have some of the best hurlers in the country so let them hurl ,no systems ,no sweeper ,we are just recovering from the mess Davy left us in,now if D mc Grath goes at this with a positive frame of mind then great ,but no way can we go back to that negativity and ****e systems that we endured for the last couple of years

What crap. Davy brought us to an all Ireland , won a Munster and played in about four semis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

I agree with the people that say we should have more than one u21 All Ireland in recent years, certainly more than 1 Munster anyway. When you look at the quality of players that have passed through the system we have grossly underachieved. This year we had a management team that finally seemed to know what they were doing, and with the quality of players we had there was no stopping us. The most pleasing fact for me, other than to see the lads win an AI obviously, is to see the progress from minor. individually many of these lads are maturing into top class players. When you look at it we lost to Tipp at minor 3 years ago, and only saw off Galway late in the game after a poor puck-out from their keeper, but this year we brushed those 2 teams aside.

I would like to see Sean Power & co kept at the helm for next year aswell as we will still have a really strong side. Why not try go all out for 2 in a row with the likes Patrick Curran, Shane Bennett, Conor Gleeson, Colm Roche, Darragh Lyons, Conor Prunty, Peter Hogan, Jordan Henley are all on the age next year, amongst many other good minors of the past couple years including Molumby, Eoghan Murray, Billy Nolan etc. We owe Limerick one from losing a couple of big games at minor with these groups of players and no doubt they will look at our u21 success and thinking they should be doing 2 in a row

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    I would like to see Sean Power & co kept at the helm for next year aswell as we will still have a really strong side. Why not try go all out for 2 in a row with the likes Patrick Curran, Shane Bennett, Conor Gleeson, Colm Roche, Darragh Lyons, Conor Prunty, Peter Hogan, Jordan Henley are all on the age next year, amongst many other good minors of the past couple years including Molumby, Eoghan Murray, Billy Nolan etc. We owe Limerick one from losing a couple of big games at minor with these groups of players and no doubt they will look at our u21 success and thinking they should be doing 2 in a row

Our only hope of a Walsh Park game in the under 21 next year is if we play Cork. We hit the road If we are drawn against anyone else. Think the Munster champions will play Galway and Leinster will play Ulster in the u21 semis too

16 team open draw straight knockout tournament should be considered for future under 21 championships. Not fair on Galway going straight to an AI semi final each year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Our only hope of a Walsh Park game in the under 21 next year is if we play Cork. We hit the road If we are drawn against anyone else. Think the Munster champions will play Galway and Leinster will play Ulster in the u21 semis too

16 team open draw straight knockout tournament should be considered for future under 21 championships. Not fair on Galway going straight to an AI semi final each year

You mean not fair on every other county, some have to play 4 or 5 games to get that far. Galway can win just one game and their into an AI. Not their fault but they really need to go into Leinster or even Munster if the provincials are to be kept. And with the utmost of respect its time to take Antrim or Ulster champions out of the semis aswell (and please no one mention about how they beat Wexford a few years ago again) it was a once-off fluke unfortunately, they showed up that day with only 3 subs. Crazy stuff. They were absolutely annihilated afterwards in a complete farce of a final.

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    You mean not fair on every other county, some have to play 4 or 5 games to get that far. Galway can win just one game and their into an AI. Not their fault but they really need to go into Leinster or even Munster if the provincials are to be kept. And with the utmost of respect its time to take Antrim or Ulster champions out of the semis aswell (and please no one mention about how they beat Wexford a few years ago again) it was a once-off fluke unfortunately, they showed up that day with only 3 subs. Crazy stuff. They were absolutely annihilated afterwards in a complete farce of a final.

Yeah typo from me not fair on everyone else that Galway go straight to a semi final each year

There are B and C under 21 AI competitions too (congrats to Meath BTW on there victory in the b final).

Antrim may be caught between a rock and a hard place where there too weak for the A competition and too strong for the B competition

If the provincials are kept Galway too Munster and Antrim too Leinster. 2 provincial winners play off in the final (no AI semis)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

It is surely for the best if they change it to some combination of the above (Galway and/or Antrim to enter into Munster/Leinster or whatever). The one issue I see there though is for example is if Antrim were in Munster and we drew them away. Some pain the hole having to do an excursion to Belfast, especially given U21 games are traditionally on a Wednesday night. Likewise if Antrim had to travel down to us or if they were in Leinster, doing the same with Wexford or KK. Unfair to meet half way as nobody is really getting a home game.
    Similarly with Galway, wouldn't fancy a trip up there and back midweek. Unless they go all teams into a pot and knockout. Home away agreements can stay in place or neutral venues where bigger distances separate counties?

While we all bask in the glory of last Saturday I think a special mention must go to all those underage club trainers and management teams that put these guys on the road from their tender underage years. These are the mainstay of any future glory days that may lay ahead for us and include then the work done at secondary school level that furthered their raw materials as hurlers into fabulous players. All these people are unsung heroes and while the county management team polish off the rough diamonds it is these people that give up years of their lives putting young fellas through their grasp all for the hope of success at club and ultimately county level.