Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 Two and one

ProudDUB wrote: »
    When I've seen him, he's been sitting in the Ard Comhairle section, in with the other VIPS and bigwigs. We have just as much reason as anyone else to despise the fcuker.

But he set up the multi million euro deal to fund Dublin GAA which has led to your current success. Surely the Dubs should be building a statue for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭corny

He set you up lovely for that one ProudDUB.:D Right under the radar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

And there's the angle, well i knew it was coming, didnt you lot??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Don't worry. I had the last laugh. Trust me.

€7m Dublin development plan launched

30/11/2004

GAELIC GAMES: Taoiseach Bertie Ahern last night launched the Dublin County Board's strategic initiative at Croke Park. Costing more than €7 million over three years it is the most ambitious development plan ever devised for the county, reports Seán Moran, GAA Correspondent

The product of two years' negotiation between Dublin, the Leinster Council and the GAA, the initiative aims to divide the county into regions, loosely based on existing local authority areas, and focus its efforts on raising the profile of Gaelic games in schools, improving recruitment for clubs and establishing a structure for developing elite talent.

'Today is about establishing the foundations for the future,' said an Taoiseach. 'It is about securing the foothold of Gaelic games in this city and county.

'It is about providing our young people with every opportunity to master and participate in games that are integral to our identity as a people.

'Dublin is now home to one quarter of our country's population. Young people under the age of 18 make up almost 300,000. Such a population has naturally put an added premium on land and facilities across the county.

'I am particularly heartened to see the focus on disadvantaged areas.' He also paid tribute to the county board, the Leinster Council and Croke Park for their support of the initiative.

He was responding to the presentation by Dublin Chief Executive John Costello, in the course of which the problems facing Dublin were set out.

The decline in volunteerism, increased competition from other sports and the price of land had all presented obstacles.

As a result, the GAA was not getting into primary schools at anything like an ideal rate. He showed statistics of nine to 16 year-olds in the county, which indicated 16.63 per cent of boys and 5.32 per cent of girls were playing football while 10.84 per cent of boys and 4.06 per cent of girls played hurling or camogie.

The strategy for dealing with the challenge will be based on devolving work to regional areas, where the focus will be sharper on servicing the schools in those regions and identifying the elite talent. Regions have yet to be finalised, but will largely correspond to local authority areas.

Kevin O'Shaughnessy has been appointed Strategic Programme Manager and he heads the initiative. Reporting to him - in hierarchical order - will be the regional development officers, the hurling development officer and the games promotion officers.

GAA president Seán Kelly, who chaired the joint-committee that agreed these initiatives, said that the plans would 'make Dublin what it should be - the greatest GAA county in Ireland'.

He praised the Leinster Council for their generosity in backing the initiative, as they also had to take into account 11 other counties in the province.

'It was well put by my predecessor Peter Quinn,' he said, 'when addressing the SRC (Strategic Review Committee) congress. 'Dublin is not a national problem,' he declared, 'it's a national opportunity'.'

Addressing the question of breaking Dublin into two counties - the controversial proposal advanced by the SRC nearly three years ago - Kelly dismissed it, but in ambiguous fashion.

'No one's suggesting that Dublin should be divided in two. That's hogwash. No one's saying that for the moment.'

Joking aside, i've a statue of him in me front garden. Rocha John Rocha made it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

So which board was Bertie secretly on: Dublins, the leinster council or the GAA? :confused:

I'm actually wondering if Dublin bate Mayo yet again, will enda run off down the back rows for the presentation like he did last time?? :D

Bambi wrote: »
    So which board was Bertie secretly on: Dublins, the leinster council or the GAA? :confused:

I'm actually wondering if Dublin bate Mayo yet again, will enda run off down the back rows for the presentation like he did last time?? :D

He was head of the government who granted the money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Don't feed it lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

corny wrote: »
    He set you up lovely for that one ProudDUB.:D Right under the radar.

Air traffic control had that one tracked from about 10 mile out ....

When was the last time Lane refereed us?
    I cant think of a Championship game off the top of my head so im guessing it was it in the league.

He did the Donegal game in the league Slatts - but other than that I can't think of him been mapped for any latter stage game for the last few years. I'd nearly question if he has got any game of consequence even without us in it ....

Edit .. Galway/Tipp this year is the only game from quarter finals on that he's reffed in the last 3 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Was it just me or was his name mentioned as linesman in the hurling final?

Bambi wrote: »
    Was it just me or was his name mentioned as linesman in the hurling final?

Dunno .. but nice to see Brian Gavin bring his whole family to umpire on Sunday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Dunno .. but nice to see Brian Gavin bring his whole family to umpire on Sunday :D

Much like the well travelled Gough family the previous week.

He did the Donegal game in the league Slatts - but other than that I can't think of him been mapped for any latter stage game for the last few years. I'd nearly question if he has got any game of consequence even without us in it ....

Edit .. Galway/Tipp this year is the only game from quarter finals on that he's reffed in the last 3 years

Fair bit of pressure on him so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Slattsy wrote: »
    Fair bit of pressure on him so.

It's a daft appointment imo.

Couldn't agree more .. if they didn't fancy him for anything more than a 1/4 final for the last 3 years, it beggars belief that he'd be elevated to an AI Final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

But he set up the multi million euro deal to fund Dublin GAA which has led to your current success. Surely the Dubs should be building a statue for him?

Multi Million. Sure when we paid for the importation of the genetically modified players (superfit and skillfull premium range) from China we had nothing left for hookers nevermind statues.

Get out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

STB. wrote: »
    Multi Million. Sure when we paid for the importation of the genetically modified players (superfit and skillfull premium range) from China we had nothing left for hookers nevermind statues.

Get out.

well you would want to be naive to think that Dublin's structural footballing foundations emanating from the funding has had no bearing on your revival the last 7 years or so. You can't buy talent but you can nurture it, support it, maintain it etc.

Personally I think all county structures need funding, I know the secretary of Kildare GAA and there are many talented Kildare players who just don't have the support to nurture their talent. They are disillusioned and often unmotivated .

Look at Cork GAA. If your players haven't a good relationship with those who are running the board, disillusionment surfaces, any conflict in the camp will produce this.

Dublin players are under a great tent of support and fair play to them. You can't begrudge any team that dedicates over 9 months flat to the board training for having that structure and system and amenities.

It isn't about being bitter, for me anyway, its more frustration that we arent getting the best out of a lot of our players elsewhere in the country.

Put the whole Dubs against the world mindset behind and acknowledge other peoples opinions somewhat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

What's peoples opinion on the referee Conor Lane?TBH I was surprised he got the appointment,I wouldn't rate him particularly high relative to some of his colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

seligehgit wrote: »
    What's peoples opinion on the referee Conor Lane?TBH I was surprised he got the appointment,I wouldn't rate him particularly high relative to some of his colleagues.

Consensus is that it's a mental appointment and that he'll ruin the match as any sort of spectacle.

seligehgit wrote:

I've no real opinion on him. TBH I've never put much into tracking refs, all I know is its a hard job and almost impossible to do . There are enough experienced men in and around the games, we have tv replays etc that we don't use etc. It shouldn't even be an issue imo. But unfortunately it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭corny

seligehgit wrote: »

I just don't like the way he referees the tackle.

Gough got the big shoulders wrong in the Kerry game but that to one side he allowed lads make genuine attempts for the ball. I hope i'm wrong but from memory this fella blows up when minimal contact is made.

Dublin and Mayo are streetwise teams. They'll look to play him and it'll get messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

corny wrote: »
    I just don't like the way he referees the tackle.

Gough got the big shoulders wrong in the Kerry game but that to one side he allowed lads make genuine attempts for the ball. I hope i'm wrong but from memory this fella blows up when minimal contact is made.

Dublin and Mayo are streetwise teams. They'll look to play him and it'll get messy.

I'd rather a ref that gets a couple of calls wrong here and there but does so out of an interest in letting the game flow. Whistle-happy refs are far more frustrating, imo.

Dean Rock will kick every soft free we get.

COC wont kick every soft free they get.

Advantage Dublin there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

PressRun wrote: »
    I'd rather a ref that gets a couple of calls wrong here and there but does so out of an interest in letting the game flow. Whistle-happy refs are far more frustrating, imo.

I agree. But damned if they do and damned if they don't. When you watch Brian Gavin in the AIH Final you have to wonder about what people's issue with Gough was?

Admittedly there was little I would have called on Sunday bar giving Walter Walsh a yellow card in the first minute, but it was some performance from the ref I thought.

Slattsy wrote:
    COC wont kick every soft free they get.

I dont know about that . They are both fairly handy. 50 50 on that, and that's just this year , past two years I think COC has been better . But Really pick has improved this year imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Didn't CO'C miss a load of frees in the Galway semi?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Stoner wrote: »
    I dont know about that . They are both fairly handy. 50 50 on that, and that's just this year , past two years I think COC has been better . But Really pick has improved this year imo.

few tables here re free taking I seen a while back

Conversion Rates

The below table shows the Conversion Rates for any player with a minimum of 30 recorded deadball attempts over the last four Championships

Player Shots Scores Conversion Rate
    D Rock (Dublin) 33 28 85%
    C McManus (Monaghan) 48 39 81%
    C O’Connor (Mayo) 112 90 80%
    B Brogan (Dublin) 49 38 78%
    C McFadden (Donegal) 54 41 76%
    D McCurry (Tyrone) 39 27 69%
    M Murphy (Donegal) 85 57 67%
    M Newman (Meath) 39 26 67%
    E O’Flaherty (Kildare) 36 24 67%
    B Sheehan (Kerry) 41 25 61%
    S Cluxton (Dublin) 56 31 55%

Expected Points

By dividing the pitch into segments, and using the results of well over 1,400 attempts, we are able to show what percentage of deadballs are scored per segment. We use this percentage to create an Expected Points (Exp Pts) return – along the lines of Expected Goals for soccer – for every attempt. So if a free from a specific area is converted 60% of the time the Exp Pts = 0.6pts. Doing this for every deadball attempt then allows us to compare players on a more equal footing.

1.Player 2.Shots 3.Scores 4.Conversion Rate 5.Conversion Rate Rank 5.Total Pts above Expected
    1. 2. 3. 4 5. 6.
    C O’Connor 112 90 80% 3 +7.4
    C McFadden 54 41 76% 5 +6.1
    M Murphy 85 57 67% 7 +4.2
    C McManus 48 39 81% 2 +4.0
    D Rock 33 28 85% 1 +3.7
    S Cluxton 56 31 55% 11 +2.1
    B Sheehan 41 25 61% 10 +0.9
    M Newman 39 26 67% 8 +0.7
    D McCurry 39 27 69% 6 -0.3
    B Brogan 49 38 78% 4 -2.2
    E O’Flaherty 36 24 67% 9 -4.1

Re COC:

One of the more noticeable aspects of the Exp Pts table is how Cillian O’Connor & Michael Murphy rise to the top. The argument can be made that the more attempts you have the easier it is to build up an Exp Pts tally – that of course ignores that the opposite is also true. The more attempts you have the greater the opportunity to regress to the mean.

That O’Connor has maintained such standards across multiple Championships is a remarkable feat. Even more so when you consider that the methodology does not account for the majority of his attempts occurring in high pressure games (Provincial finals, All Ireland semi-finals & finals) whilst also being a load bearing totem. He has taken 76% of Mayo’s deadball attempts switching from the left to the right as well as taking high pressure penalties and the majority of Mayo’s 45s.

O’Connor’s consistency is beyond reproach and it is this, alloyed to his proven accuracy, that surely gives him the title of “the best free taker”.

Interesting analysis all round but every day is different!

https://dontfoul.wordpress.com/tag/cillian-oconnor/