Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Barlett

Not my first rodeo but I've never gone to a final

Unfortunately they don't go on general sale, best way is to ask anyone you know well that's involved in a club and to also keep on eye on fb, twitter etc as the day draws closer...its usual the last couple of days before the final when you get sorted, but lookit if you want a ticket badly enough, you will get one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If we threw the bottles you wouldn't hear the end if it. Was disgraceful.

I hear the more rustic kerry lads threw programmes because they were outraged at the lack of a colouring section

Thankfully they all fell short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

corny wrote: »
    Blown away by the character of that Dublin team. Kerry lost nothing in defeat but the talk of hunger in the build up is hollow now. They were fought to a standstill. Again.

McMahon, Cooper (again), Kev Mc and Fenton were unbelievable when it mattered most. I'd give MOTM to Philly McMahon though.

Reading the reports some Kerry supporters lost the rag with the ref as he was walking off. Thought he had a great game myself. Thats two high pressure games (Mayo/Tyrone) he's been excellent in for me. Hope he gets the final.

Yeah absolutely epic performance - to turn a 5 point deficit around without a single goal is a testament to them

I think it's very rare a ref gets a final after getting a semi ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Jaysus me heart. Just home and the pulse is still about 150.

Kevin Mac was phenomonal today. The amount of ground he covered was ridiculous and was still going full pelt at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Paulzx wrote: »
    Jaysus me heart. Just home and the pulse is still about 150.

Kevin Mac was phenomonal today. The amount of ground he covered was ridiculous and was still going full pelt at the end.

Philly Mc and Johnny Cooper were immense.

And the difference that James Mc can make is just frightening. Thought Flynner was quiet and probably needed.to be taken off when he did.

The heart of that team is without equal. To come back after making a hames of it at half time takes some gumption.

I enjoy every Dublin victory but the bleating over yonder is making my heart beat with joy. Everytime I see a bitter post I feel a little more alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,930 ✭✭✭eire4

Philly Mc and Johnny Cooper were immense.

And the difference that James Mc can make is just frightening. Thought Flynner was quiet and probably needed.to be taken off when he did.

The heart of that team is without equal. To come back after making a hames of it at half time takes some gumption.

I enjoy every Dublin victory but the bleating over yonder is making my heart beat with joy. Everytime I see a bitter post I feel a little more alive.

Haha so very true. Listening to all the crying and bleating just makes days and wins like today all the more enjoyable and sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Kh1993

Cooper immense. Fenton well in patches. Kev Mc - man for the occasion. I dreamt the EOG got the winner last night. I thought goal - not a 30 yard stunner. Dermo's point a beaut. Kerry fans sticking the middle finger up every score left fairy sharpish after that. 😂

TBH the Kerry posters who you'd have a good deal of respect for are quite magnanimous - rule of thumb for me is to never touch the match thread on a Sunday, just wait for the chaff to blow away then have a reasoned debate later in the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,831 ✭✭✭corny

DoctaDee wrote: »
    TBH the Kerry posters who you'd have a good deal of respect for are quite magnanimous - rule of thumb for me is to never touch the match thread on a Sunday, just wait for the chaff to blow away then have a reasoned debate later in the week

Ah you're a Mod DoctaDee. You have to set the example. Me? I love getting into it with the chaff.;)

JRant wrote: »

Great composure in that second half, especially after Cluxtons complete meltdown just before halftime.

Nearly fell into the seats in front of us when KMc folded Crowley with that shoulder at the end. What a game he had.

Cluxton has a habit of melting down a few times a year.

And tbh he's not in the team for his shot stopping or prowess under high balls so when he's starts fluffing things like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

DoctaDee wrote: »

One doesn't tend to engage. One just views from the long grass.

It's great. Gaffer is the new best one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Bambi wrote: »
    Cluxton has a habit of melting down a few times a year.

And tbh he's not in the team for his shot stopping or prowess under high balls so when he's starts fluffing things like that...

Big time, he seems to save the brainfarts for AI semi's for some reason known only to himself :)

Came back from half time fully composed so fair play to the man.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Good auld Gaffer is going off on one alright, "we was robbed I tells ya, robbed"

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

JRant wrote: »
    Big time, he seems to save the brainfarts for AI semi's for some reason known only to himself :)

Came back from half time fully composed so fair play to the man.

Only shipped two goals and a point with his flap so fair play. :confused:

Guess what Mayo will target? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

It was funny, even when Kerry had the lead I was expecting the rally from Dublin. But that's as a neutral so not emotionally invested.

There is a serious toughness with that Dublin team. Not soft in themselves and have the experience now not to panic. It also helps that bringing it back to basics- they're better than the competition.

I felt that the full back line was suspect today and Kerry were a bit unlucky with some of the ball in but as it progressed it was sorted out internally and Johnny Cooper in particular was exceptional in terms of his reading and anticipation of the play.

Thought Dean Rock was great also.

The biggest obstacle to Dublin winning back to back AI is Dublin themselves imo. They are better than Mayo, if the heads are right Sam will stay in the capital. Nice position to be in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

yeah right :rolleyes:

Ah you're a Mod DoctaDee. You have to set the example. Me? I love getting into it with the chaff.;)

:D ... I miss them days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DoctaDee wrote:

Yes it's raw. When they watch the match back it will appear different.

I spoke to about 6 kerry lads after the game.

One old man said we deserved it because we got the crucial scores when it mattered.

Not much more to say then that.

Great win today.

But

But

We lacked speed down D Byrnes side didn't think Small was great after the first 30 minutes.
    Super tackle by Byrne in the first half but overall be honest, ROC and Jack Flashes departures were noticeable today, but it was great to get it out of the way and lads in

Fenton was the classiest midfielder today, although one of Moran's passes out from defence to O'Brien was fantastic.
    MDMA was very effective, Bastic saw none of it.
    What's the opinion on Mannion?
    Andrews was ok when he came on
    Fitzsimmons had one super interception

Cluxton, over all very good , yet nearly cost us the game.
    Needs a new mantra, when in doubt go long .

Johnny Cooper was fantastic.

I thought Brogan did well overall, bit isolated, he set up two goal chances, set up a couple of points and scored two. Missed two easy and one hard effort though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Stoner wrote: »
    Great win today.

But

But

We lacked speed down D Byrnes side didn't think Small was great after the first 30 minutes.
    Super tackle by Byrne in the first half but overall be honest, ROC and Jack Flashes departures were noticeable today, but it was great to get it out of the way and lads in

Fenton was the classiest midfielder today, although one of Moran's passes out from defence to O'Brien was fantastic.
    MDMA was very effective, Bastic saw none of it.
    What's the opinion on Mannion?
    Andrews was ok when he came on
    Fitzsimmons had one super interception

Cluxton, over all very good , yet nearly cost us the game.
    Needs a new mantra, when in doubt go long .

Johnny Cooper was fantastic.

I thought Brogan did well overall, bit isolated, he set up two goal chances, set up a couple of points and scored two. Missed two easy and one hard effort though.

i would be amazed if you could pin point too many mistakes or bad performances ,yer half back line was immense (without jack mcaffery) and to be fair davey byrne is second choice , paul geaney is an animal of a footballer to mark , watch the game back and look at some of the tracking back himself and o'brien done it was serious

i know people in dublin will get excited over this win and heads need to e kept on shoulders for the next few weeks ,but its hard to see where mayo will offer a bigger challenge the next day, my opinion is the all ireland final was won today which i imagine will offend a lot of people from mayo

i would be amazed if you could pin point too many mistakes or bad performances ,yer half back line was immense (without jack mcaffery) and to be fair davey byrne is second choice , paul geaney is an animal of a footballer to mark , watch the game back and look at some of the tracking back himself and o'brien done it was serious

Yeah Geaney was great, there's usually someone on form, and kerry walked some ball right into him, very difficult to defend against.
    I'm taking about the space out in front of Byrne, the was s gap there from 20 minutes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Stoner wrote: »
    Yeah Geaney was great, there's usually someone on form, and kerry walked some ball right into him, very difficult to defend against.
    I'm taking about the space out in front of Byrne, the was s gap there from 20 minutes on.

yeah darren o'sullivan was having a fine game causing havoc before injury ending his game , james mccarthey is the culprit for all the space in front of byrne though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Why cant Dublin games be on a Saturday all the time :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Reading the reports some Kerry supporters lost the rag with the ref as he was walking off. Thought he had a great game myself. Thats two high pressure games (Mayo/Tyrone) he's been excellent in for me. Hope he gets the final.

Ref was a joke to be fair, yes he let the game flow but rules are rules. Black card is a joke but its not up to him to decide to ignore it, Robbie Kiely must have been sick watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

Great win yesterday. Tough game. I thought we performed better than Kerry for 60 of the 75 minutes, but the 15 minutes they were on top was hard going. Cluxton had a brain fart before half time. The mistake for the first goal was easily forgivable considering he was under a fair bit of pressure, and was still going for a pinpoint diagonal ball, instead of hoofing it into the middle of the park. The next few minutes were disappointing as the calmness we have come to expect deserted him. The second goal was a function of that lack of calmness.

Great work in the second half to overcome the 5 point lead. Didn't panic, stuck to the script, clipped on score after score.

Macker deserved all the plaudits. Defence played very well, including David Byrne, who had a tough first half against Geaney. I thought Dean Rock was brilliant yesterday. Four points from play, one missed free. Slowly but surely becoming one of our main men in attack.

DC was very good too. A good disciplined performance. Delighted.

The abuse the ref got at the end from both some of the Kerry fans and some of the Kerry back room team was unwarranted. In hindsight, the challenge on Crowley was a free, but as a Dub I was thrilled with the hit at the time. Overall he had a good game. The umpire who gave the goal did a great job too.

Any thoughts on Brogan not starting for the final? Put in lots of work but was kept very quiet the last two games. Andrews and Rock both motoring at the minute.

Bambi wrote:
    Any thoughts on Brogan not starting for the final? Put in lots of work but was kept very quiet the last two games. Andrews and Rock both motoring at the minute.

He scored two from play. Missed two easy ones nice layoff to McMahon for a goal chance and for McMahons point
    part of two goal opportunities laid off two points . Won two or three frees we scored from.

Did well overall imo. Deceptively quiet was isolated and took a lot of wstching

Bambi wrote: »

In my mind Connolly, Kilkenny and Rock are bullet proof for a starting slot in the front 6. Both Flynn and Brogan have had a couple of quiet games, but barring injury can't see them not starting against Mayo.

How Macker could be dropped after his contribution yesterday is beyond me. They are my front six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,831 ✭✭✭corny

yeah darren o'sullivan was having a fine game causing havoc before injury ending his game , james mccarthey is the culprit for all the space in front of byrne though

Spot on. McCarthy was poor defensively all game. Players were brushing passed him with ease. Obviously lacks a bit fitness at the minute. Great testament to him that all his work going the other way was so telling. Picks his runs brilliantly. Timing always perfect.

Byrne had a good game overall. Didn't match Cooper or McMahon in effecting the game but not exposed by Geaney either.