Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

SFC Final - Dublin v Mayo - *Read Mod Note in post #1 & #1393*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,500 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

And Mayo will bring what to tell table to beat this overrated team?

Hunger?

Believe?

Determination?

Hope

more hope

Desperation

Panic

Wides

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Kauto wrote: »
    Speaking as a neutral .......

There's enough of your posts lying around to refute that .. may I suggest "speaking as someone from neither county"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Hunger?

Believe?

Determination?

In order of importance:

Hunger

Hurt

Due a good performance/Will peak at the right time/Whatever you're having yourself

Its their time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I always enjoy reading the neutrals' unbiased comments in this forum.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

This Dublin team will go down as one of the greatest football teams in GAA history they will be compared to the great Kerry team under Micko the only team who is comparable.

:D:D:D:D:D:D Post of the year so far!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Hunger?

Believe?

Determination?

Mayo lost by a point in a replay against Dublin in last year's semi final. Keep giving us no chance, suits us perfectly :)

You haven't a clue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Mayo lost by a point in a replay against Dublin in last year's semi final. Keep giving us no chance, suits us perfectly :)

We won that replay by seven in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Actually they lost by 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Hope

more hope

Desperation

Panic

Wides

Dodgy goals, conceded at the worst time.

A lovely new hair do on Aidan O'Shea. No doubt he'll tweet a picture of it between now and D Day.

More dodgy goals.

Keegan actin' the bawlocks

Whinging about the ref

And yet another dodgy goal, for the craic like

Fixed that for you mate !

(PS I'm a neutral too. ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Hope

more hope

Desperation

Panic

Wides

Keep it coming lads. It will only make it sweeter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,107 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ProudDUB wrote: »
    God, no. We had to live thru a month of Kerry's hunger being rammed down our throats by the meeja. I'm not in any hurry to have to listen to the same broken record on Mayo. :rolleyes:
    Fixed that for you mate !

(PS I'm a neutral too. ;) )

No point complaining about the broken record if you're the one helping play the thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Ah shure lookit Des, I suppose, shure lookit...what else do we have to be talking about for next 2 weeks?

You could get another week out of the Kerry thread?

Menoetius wrote: »
    We won that replay by seven in the end.

Sorry i had a complete brainfart there with the replay score.

In any event, i wouldnt write off a team that lost to their opponent in a replay the previous year. Especially when the Dubs have shown no signs of being better, in my opinion they have regressed slightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

In reality for Mayo to win this All Ireland, they need everything to go right for them. Each player needs to have the game of the lives, they need Dublin to have an off day and to help them along the way, i.e. Cluxton repeating his Kerry brainfart or a sending off. Mayo will need goals to keep their noses in front, their forwards are not good enough to out shoot Dublins. In reality if Kerry had not got that blitz just before half time, Dublin would have won easily bz more than 10 points

If Dublin play to their potential then we could see the last 10 minutes being a procession of Dublin playing keep ball as they would be out of sight by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

kilns wrote: »
    In reality for Mayo to win this All Ireland, they need everything to go right for them. Each player needs to have the game of the lives, they need Dublin to have an off day and to help them along the way, i.e. Cluxton repeating his Kerry brainfart or a sending off. Mayo will need goals to keep their noses in front, their forwards are not good enough to out shoot Dublins. In reality if Kerry had not got that blitz just before half time, Dublin would have won easily bz more than 10 points

If Dublin play to their potential then we could see the last 10 minutes being a procession of Dublin playing keep ball as they would be out of sight by then.

Fair enough comment .

kilns wrote: »

Agree with most of that apart from the fact that Dublin have a tendency to let teams in for 10 min spells, while the Kerry onslaught was extreme, it wasn't unusual. And they've also failed to put lesser teams away early.
    That's not a big slight on them, it's impossible to go full out and be excellent for 70 and sometimes you just play, albeit a little better, to your opponents standard.

I can see us being under pressure more so than not but we'll get chances and we need goals when they arise. As uninspiring as we have been at times this year, the patches of good football that we've played has probably been more incisive than what has gone before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

In any event, i wouldnt write off a team that lost to their opponent in a replay the previous year. Especially when the Dubs have shown no signs of being better, in my opinion they have regressed slightly.

Totally agree, I'd be more conscious of the first game rather than the replay anyway.

I've seen Mayo take Dublin to the wire (and beat them) enough over the years to write them off.

That said I don't think Dublin have regressed. We are missing two key players from last year, true, but the squad itself is improving in my opinion.

For every Paul Flynn not playing as well as he has before we have a Kevin Mac, Ciaran Kilkenny and Dean Rock, all having their best years yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

If Dublin have regressed slightly (i refute that btw) where does that leave Mayo? Are you choosing to ignore the fact they've shown nothing to make anyone believe they'll get near last years performance level?

Mayo have fallen off a cliff if Dublin have regressed slightly.

corny wrote: »
    If Dublin have regressed slightly (i refute that btw) where does that leave Mayo? Are you choosing to ignore the fact they've shown nothing to make anyone believe they'll get near last years performance level?

Mayo have fallen off a cliff if Dublin have regressed slightly.

I would take Mayo's run to the final this year above any they have had in the past. My comments on Dublin regressing has more to do with the hyperbole emanating out of the semi win over Kerry. It wasnt the game for the ages that people have been banging on about. In fact, if Kerry were any good Dublin would have been in massive trouble in that game. Who knows what would have transpired if Darren O'Sullivan didnt have to hobble off in the 38th minute. He was asking questions at that point that the Dubs were not answering. The Kerry team of 2006 would have won that game with something to spare.

Mayo are a superior team than the ageing Kerry side we saw last week. I see definite overconfidence from the Dubs fans on this one and it reminds me of their semi against Donegal in 2014 where the team got completely suckered amid pre-match talk of the best Dublin team ever etc. Perfect. Hoping that continues and the "Mayo are there only to make up the numbers" talk also continues as it sets us up very nicely. Very nicely indeed ;)

Menoetius wrote: »
    Totally agree, I'd be more conscious of the first game rather than the replay anyway.

I've seen Mayo take Dublin to the wire (and beat them) enough over the years to write them off.

That said I don't think Dublin have regressed. We are missing two key players from last year, true, but the squad itself is improving in my opinion.

For every Paul Flynn not playing as well as he has before we have a Kevin Mac, Ciaran Kilkenny and Dean Rock, all having their best years yet.

The Dub defence is not where it once was. Susceptible to long ball inside. Cooper is too small at full back. Don't rate Small - not as good as McCaffrey. I hope Kevin Mac starts the final as he is a nightmare to deal with when brought on late. Rock is a good player and good freetaker but i would doubt his bottle when it comes to it. Kilkenny is a very good footballer but no mad pace and can be managed.

There will be nothing in this game. Dubs bench may well swing it and the Dubs have been over the line here and Mayo have not which will be a factor. So, i would have the Dubs as definite favourites but it will be a war and not the procession i have seen predicted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

I would take Mayo's run to the final this year above any they have had in the past. My comments on Dublin regressing has more to do with the hyperbole emanating out of the semi win over Kerry. It wasnt the game for the ages that people have been banging on about. In fact, if Kerry were any good Dublin would have been in massive trouble in that game. Who knows what would have transpired if Darren O'Sullivan didnt have to hobble off in the 38th minute. He was asking questions at that point that the Dubs were not answering. The Kerry team of 2006 would have won that game with something to spare.

Mayo are a superior team than the ageing Kerry side we saw last week. I see definite overconfidence from the Dubs fans on this one and it reminds me of their semi against Donegal in 2014 where the team got completely suckered amid pre-match talk of the best Dublin team ever etc. Perfect. Hoping that continues and the "Mayo are there only to make up the numbers" talk also continues as it sets us up very nicely. Very nicely indeed ;)

Congrats. I literally take issue with everything you've said there.:D

So you're admitting you're talking bollox - fair play.

The rest of your post adds further emphasis to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Past30Now

I see definite overconfidence from the Dubs fans on this one

The Dubs fans over confidence or lack of, will have no bearing on the result. The big question is whether Mayo can perform on the biggest stage, and whether ten of their squad can hit 8/9 out of ten on the day. If they can perform to the level they are capable of, then we'll have a game. If not, then it'll be tight for 30/40 minutes, and Dublin will pull away.

To get a result, Mayo will have to play exceptionally well for 20 mins plus, and very well for the rest of the game. They haven't done that against decent opposition this year. Maybe they have it in them, we'll find out in 13 days time.

corny wrote: »
    Congrats. I literally take issue with everything you've said there.:D

No problem. Wanna run through them?

Slattsy wrote: »
    So you're admitting you're talking bollox - fair play.

Not sure why your reading told you that i was talking about myself there. The English used wasn't that taxing.

Very easy to just insult and offer nothing in return too. The mark of a man without an argument ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 Two and one

I predict Dublin to win this by 7 points. It'll be tight enough in the first half but there'll always be a feeling that Dublin will push away at any time. The fitness levels and the bench is the insurance policy. How can Mayo win? Something extraordinary has to happen, like some Dublin players getting sent off. If nothing like that happens then they have no chance. Who exactly is going to score enough for them to win? Another final defeat awaits but of course there's no shame in losing to this Dublin team who are professional in all but name.

Not sure why your reading told you that i was talking about myself there. The English used wasn't that taxing.

Very easy to just insult and offer nothing in return too. The mark of a man without an argument ;)

You're basing your own opinion, on, as quoted "hyberbole" ;).

I dont think anymore needs to said if that's how you form your opinions :rolleyes:

Past30Now wrote: »
    The Dubs fans over confidence or lack of, will have no bearing on the result. The big question is whether Mayo can perform on the biggest stage, and whether ten of their squad can hit 8/9 out of ten on the day. If they can perform to the level they are capable of, then we'll have a game. If not, then it'll be tight for 30/40 minutes, and Dublin will pull away.

To get a result, Mayo will have to play exceptionally well for 20 mins plus, and very well for the rest of the game. They haven't done that against decent opposition this year. Maybe they have it in them, we'll find out in 13 days time.

Overconfidence amongst supporters does lead to bad performances. It has happened numerous times. Even Mayo's semi final v Tipp was evidence of that when the team looked completely asleep and going through the motions for the first 25 mins of the match.

8 or 9 out of 10 according to who? You? Keep the talk coming :D

My point about Mayo getting to a final not playing well stands up to scrutiny given i have attended 7 or 8 finals where Mayo fans like me were excited based on a brilliant semi-final or quarter final performance. And won zero.

The Dubs are very beatable. It can most certainly be done and does not require otherwordly performances to make it happen. Another sign of overconfidence.