Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I remember the time I started doing sprints on the treadmill and accidentally qualified for the Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I think there is room for some youtube parody video where a person tries weights once despite their fears and wakes up the next day with rippling muscles. "I never wanted to be this ripped!" they wail in horror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Charizard

Classy behaviour... Not! It's up there with urinating in the swimming pool, peeing on the toilet seat or using disabled parking spaces.

You might've lost your sense of smell, others probably don't know how to break it to you.

The guys don't wanna tell you smell like gick because you're on the edge; you might snap and do something bad.
    Oh yeah its exactly the same as that, get a grip

I have another theory. Your Mrs has withdrawn laundry services because she feels you're not pulling your weight in the domestic duties.

Your smelly gym gear is a dirty protest, you believe your wife will be horrified that you're going around smelling like a hobo, will relent and wash your stuff.

The people who have put up with your foul reek are collateral damage of your domestic conflict.
    You ok hun, cause I think you need a cuddle/friend/teddy bear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,447 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Charizard wrote: »
    I wear a baseball cap in the gym, purely cause I dont trust the bastards not to steal them :mad:

Pokemon gym, or real gym?

endacl wrote: »
    Pokemon gym, or real gym?
    Real gym, I never managed to win a pokemon gym :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Killgore Trout

Charizard wrote: »
    You ok hun, cause I think you need a cuddle/friend/teddy bear

Better not let your wife catch you on the Internet smelly. That's a paddlin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

Chewing gum spat in the drinking fountain of my gym on Saturday morning, knackers!

Saw a guy today who was doing standing bicep curls on the back of a bench and he had, I kid you not, five pair of dumbells around him. Each time he finished a set he would actively throw it on the ground, strut around in that really blatant chest-out cock-walk sort of way, and check himself out in the mirror. When he was done he just walked off leaving the dumbells scattered around him like a bomb went off, and, the cherry on the cake, when I saw him in the changing room he was sitting down having a loud conversation on his phone, handsfree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Zillah wrote: »
    Saw a guy today who was doing standing bicep curls on the back of a bench and he had, I kid you not, five pair of dumbells around him. Each time he finished a set he would actively throw it on the ground, strut around in that really blatant chest-out cock-walk sort of way, and check himself out in the mirror. When he was done he just walked off leaving the dumbells scattered around him like a bomb went off, and, the cherry on the cake, when I saw him in the changing room he was sitting down having a loud conversation on his phone, handsfree.

He Sounds like a legend.

Edit. Sorry I meant dickhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,531 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Everyone complains about people not returning weights, but does anyone tell them to put them back? All these people will continue to do everything listed in this thread unless they are told otherwise.

If the gym was quiet and he happened to walk away while I was standing nearby I might say something, but I'm not going to interrupt my set and chase off after someone half way across the room and make a scene in front of thirty people.

Sometimes assholes just get away with acting like assholes - not a lot to be done about it, especially if the staff in the gym aren't going to make an effort to enforce the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Zillah wrote: »
    Sometimes assholes just get away with acting like assholes - not a lot to be done about it, especially if the staff in the gym aren't going to make an effort to enforce the rules.

Yep, up to the staff in my opinion. Most gyms I've been in the staff are happy enough to sit around and shoot the breeze with each other and the regulars even if the gym is in a mess.

I'm not the gym police and having to hunt for dumbbells/belts/bars is still annoying and that annoyance is caused by annoying gym behaviours! Also it's not like the a$$holes are forgetting to put the weights back or don't know about said rule, they're generally just a$$holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I approach people that leave weights strewn about with the quiet 'sorry buddy, you finished with them?'
    If they say yes I get louder and say 'well put them back then'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

To be fair, you can't pay minimum wage and expect someone to give a **** and be the gym police.

...although that's basically what the gardai do :/

Hanley wrote: »
    To be fair, you can't pay minimum wage and expect someone to give a **** and be the gym police.

...although that's basically what the gardai do :/

Why not? If you're accepting a job, have some pride in your work. Maintaining your workplace is a part of that.

With my plate OCD I don't know what's acceptable to normal people anymore.

But if you don't put the smallest plates on the middle holder and the bigger ones on the top and bottom...I will most likely cut you.

jive wrote: »
    Why not? If you're accepting a job, have some pride in your work. Maintaining your workplace is a part of that.

Go work in a gym for a week and come back with that.

Seriously. It's pretty much impossible to keep it tidy. You would LITERALLY need someone full time, all the time on plate watch, and even at that you'd need 2-3 people to do it during a shift because there's no way you can possibly lift nonstop for 8 hours.

The real problem is htat people are *****, and trying to change that isn't gonna happen.

...plus there's an awful lot of absolute filth in dublin gyms who'd probably respond with violence if told to put plates away.

Hanley wrote: »
    Go work in a gym for a week and come back with that.

Seriously. It's pretty much impossible to keep it tidy. You would LITERALLY need someone full time, all the time on plate watch, and even at that you'd need 2-3 people to do it during a shift because there's no way you can possibly lift nonstop for 8 hours.

The real problem is htat people are *****, and trying to change that isn't gonna happen.

...plus there's an awful lot of absolute filth in dublin gyms who'd probably respond with violence if told to put plates away.

I don't need to work in a gym to see people being lazy morons unfortunately.

It's about enforcing the culture that you have to put the weights back. Generally you see a gym degrade over time the rules are not enforced and it has a snowball effect.... 'oh well they didn't put the weights back so I won't either' and then the place looks like a bomb hit it.

It's not some insurmountable task and can definitely be achieved. I agree people are shít and there'll always be a couple of ass hats but if you can get 95% of people to abide then the gym will be in good order.

People vlogging in the gym písses me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Reps4jesus

With my plate OCD I don't know what's acceptable to normal people anymore.

But if you don't put the smallest plates on the middle holder and the bigger ones on the top and bottom...I will most likely cut you.

Sometimes i like to hide a couple of 2.5 kg plates amongst the 20's just for kicks......

Reps4jesus wrote: »
    Sometimes i like to hide a couple of 2.5 kg plates amongst the 20's just for kicks......

I'm ok with that. It's putting a 20 on the middle holder and blocking the plates above and below that GRINDS MY GEARS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭will56

I don't need to work in a gym to see people being lazy morons unfortunately.

It's about enforcing the culture that you have to put the weights back. Generally you see a gym degrade over time the rules are not enforced and it has a snowball effect.... 'oh well they didn't put the weights back so I won't either' and then the place looks like a bomb hit it.

It's not some insurmountable task and can definitely be achieved. I agree people are shít and there'll always be a couple of ass hats but if you can get 95% of people to abide then the gym will be in good order.

Agreed. I train in a Ben Dunne which has signs all over the place telling people to re-rack the weights.
    Personal Trainers and staff regularly take bars and plates and dumbbells and leave them lying round when done with their clients. :mad:

Sends the message "If the staff can't bothered why should members ?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,531 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Its true. Staff dont need to lift a single weight. They just need to keep an eye on the weights and if the catch one or two people an hour leaving the weights and tell them to put them back and make a bit of a scene about it. Before long everything will be great.

Ive been a member of a few gyms over the past 6 years in London. An expensive Virgin Active gym where people were literally suspended from the gym for repeatedly failing to put weights back. The place was almost always spotless. They have no fear of suspending people because they are under contract and paying for the gym regardless.

Then there is the cheap 24 hour gyms with no actual staff and no contracts, just the trainers who are allowed to train clients there and as part of the deal have to keep a basic eye on the place.
    The trainers dont give two ****s about the weights and the place is a total mess, but its 1/4th the price of virgin active so im staying. haha.

Then there is the cheap 24 hour gyms with no actual staff and no contracts, just the trainers who are allowed to train clients there and as part of the deal have to keep a basic eye on the place.
    The trainers dont give two ****s about the weights and the place is a total mess, but its 1/4th the price of virgin active so im staying. haha.

And thats it in a nutshell.

People pay rock bottom prices but expect rock star service!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Yeah this is true down to a tee unfortunately, I see it first hand every day with the PT in my gym, he doesn't re-rack his clients weights or worse; doesn't encourage them to re-rack themselves. Monkey see, monkey do and all that.

It's not ideal when someone doesn't deload a bar of weights and tbh I don't really even mind if the plates are left on certain equipment like the leg press as I'd be loading it up anyway but leaving plates and dumbells just dumped all over the floor is unforgivable IMO. Somebody on this forum recently mentioned they tidy away plates in between sets (may have been Alf Veedersane) and that's something I've taken to start doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

will56 wrote: »
    Agreed. I train in a Ben Dunne which has signs all over the place telling people to re-rack the weights.
    Personal Trainers and staff regularly take bars and plates and dumbbells and leave them lying round when done with their clients. :mad:

Sends the message "If the staff can't bothered why should members ?"
    If people see staff leaving stuff everywhere they'll do it too. But if they make a obvious effort, the members try harder too.
    And the management can't complain about lazy staff if they aren't setting standard (and paying enough) themselves.
    One of our biggest gyms is the best looked after. Mainly because its new with really good equipment, and they want to keep it that way. And also because a 60 year old PT, who tidies up all the time (in return for free rent) and has no problem scolding monstrous juiceheads for leaving 50kgs lying around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Guys in spandex with balls poking through.

Gyms have mirrors almost impossible not to see cock and balls....

Ogh and shoulder pressing in squat racks. With 5kg plates
    Curls in Squat racks
    Using your phone to facebook
    Saying I don't want to get too muscly to a personal trainer when you have done nothing but talk.
    Functional fitness that looks like a prison search against a wall.
    Personal trainers who don't squat to depth.
    Flirting with me in gym
    Leaving pre-workout poo/pee in Gym toilet
    Leaving protein powder all over the sink
    Flirting with personal trainer instead of exercising
    Personal trainer who is obviously out of shape
    Pyramid Supplement schemes.
    Adds for detox and cleansing products
    Colonic ass hosing services in gyms
    Supplement recommendations from random people who could do with eating a sandwich.
    Random oddball fitness machines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

Flirting with me in gym

^^^^this x1000