Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Hopefully as we do have the natural facilities for it.

I remember a few years ago that they were kinda gonna do the centres of excellence thing focusing on sports we should be good at in a get a good few medals for our population size.

Great that sports campus was built. Great to see a diversity of sports getting serious funding and attitude

The way a lot of sports seem to work, especially the less popular ones, is funding is dependent on results. It makes sense, I suppose, but there's always the argument that you need to invest first. I think the UK did well with their cycling and rowing programs, they targeted individuals with the sole intention of making them Olympians, and it worked. We should be much better at the cycling sports too. There is talk of a velodrome being built in the Sports Campus too, but there's no sign of it yet.

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    What did you do?

Yesterday I was watching the swimming on RTE. Their commentary was pretty poor. The "expert" they had as co commentator was some guy who swam in Atlanta in '96. Nick O'Hare. I wasn't the only person complaining about it mind, a fair few on twitter weren't impressed. I suggested the last time O'Hare watched any swimming was when he was in Atlanta. I didn't @ him or RTE or anyone. Today I get a tweet from the main commentator saying "go *blank* yourself", suggesting I fill in the blank myself. :eek:

A little while later one of the RTE producers "liked" the tweet :D

I'm tempted to alert Balls.ie or Joe about it. Just to see what happens. Pretty poor behaviour from RTE employees. I pay my TV license and therefore their wages... that's how that works, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

I'm tempted to alert Balls.ie or Joe about it. Just to see what happens. Pretty poor behaviour from RTE employees. I pay my TV license and therefore their wages... that's how that works, right?

Go on. Start a social media war with RTE.
    Make sure you keep us updated on here as I'm not on Twitter. This will keep me entertained each day till the Olympics coverage starts.

I know Swiwi will be interested as well :D

Go on. Start a social media war with RTE.
    Make sure you keep us updated on here as I'm not on Twitter. This will keep me entertained each day till the Olympics coverage starts.

I know Swiwi will be interested as well :D

Nah, I thought it was quite funny.

I've had an interesting day on twitter, I've had China and Russia attack me for talking about their doped up swimmers and then RTE came at me too :D

The Aussie swimmer who called Sun Yang a drug cheat after their final, has been getting death threats on social media. I hope you got a few death threats. If you didn't then you needs to lift your game.

No death threats. I did get called a "retarded regressive leftist" by a Russian though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I did get called a "retarded regressive leftist" by a Russian though. :D

So.....a communist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

They've been winding McIlroy up all week, he's taken it well though.

What was the thinking behind not having the male boxers wear headgear anymore?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

What was the thinking behind not having the male boxers wear headgear anymore?

Some studies saying it didn't make it any safer and potentially less safe to the perception of being more protected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Shame for Barnes but can't really argue with the decision too much, fair play to the young Spaniard.

Barnes said after that he probably shouldn't have been fighting at that weight as it took too much out of him to maintain it. Was his normal weight group not in the Olympics this year or are there better fighters in it? Wonder what the thinking was.

Update from the Dutch cyclist who crashed in the Rio Road Race on Sunday.

https://twitter.com/AvVleuten/status/762992458288488448

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Paddy Barnes is awesome on Twitter.

I think those tweets are an example of why clubs do social media training. Some people may find them funny but a lot wouldn't and I'm sure Rory McIllroy wasn't too happy to see them either.

Whatever about the tweet of the bed in the mosquito net going to Rory's ex and then one of Rory's competitors to goad him is a bit of a dick move tbh.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I think those tweets are an example of why clubs do social media training. Some people may find them funny but a lot wouldn't and I'm sure Rory McIllroy wasn't too happy to see them either.

Whatever about the tweet of the bed in the mosquito net going to Rory's ex and then one of Rory's competitors to goad him is a bit of a dick move tbh.

Rory responded quite well to them, to be fair. He's hardly going to call them out on twitter though. He could have ignored them, I suppose.

I did think the Wozniacki one was a step too far.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Rory had no other option to respond well to them.

He's already the bad guy so him telling the lads to Feck Off, which he would have been fully entitled to do if you ask me, makes him an even worse bad guy.

Rory should respond with -Bad luck Paddy. Too much tweets, not enough speed work?

Note, I don't think his tweets had anything to do with him losing. I think he deserves to get some **** though.

Rory could do that, and would be fairly entitled to, but it would be PR suicide if he did.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Rory had no other option to respond well to them.

He's already the bad guy so him telling the lads to Feck Off, which he would have been fully entitled to do if you ask me, makes him an even worse bad guy.

He could have ignored them, he was under no obligation to respond in any way.

Michael Phelps, eh?

Fair play to Dundalk, only €12 into the Aviva for their UCL qualifier.

I'm on the bandwagen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Fair play to Dundalk, only €12 into the Aviva for their UCL qualifier.

I'm on the bandwagen.

That must be one of the corners?

http://www.the42.ie/dundalk-legia-warsaw-champions-league-first-leg-tickets-2919515-Aug2016/

Synode wrote: »

Yes, one of the corners! That will do me tbh.

Michael Phelps, eh?

He's pretty good. The Richie McCaw of swimming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

I saw an amazing headline the other day:

If Michael Phelps were a country he would 39th on the all-time Olympic gold medal table.

How amazing is that?

Bazzo wrote: »
    I saw an amazing headline the other day:

If Michael Phelps were a country he would 39th on the all-time Olympic gold medal table.

How amazing is that?

It is pretty amazing.

I keep seeing people trying to dismiss it by saying oh, we could all have that many medals if we were allowed compete in 100 events every Olympics.

He's not just swimming the same event over and over, there's different distances and different strokes. What he does would be like Usain Bolt competing in the 100m, 400m, 100m hurdles, 400 hurdles, 4x100 and 4x200 relays. Any track athlete could compete in all those events if they ran the qualifying times in trials, point is none of them do, none of them even try.

Yeah if it was so easy to be brilliant at so many different swimming events then why hasn't it happened before. He's a freak and deserves the accolades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Yeah if it was so easy to be brilliant at so many different swimming events then why hasn't it happened before. He's a freak and deserves the accolades.

Ian Thorpe?

It's obviously easier to be competitive in multiple swimming events than it is in any other sport. It's not really in question.