Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

Davys Fits wrote: »

Dublin beat KK in LHC semi final replay in 2013.

I pointed this out last night for some reason but some people seem to want to strike it from the record.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

KevIRL wrote:
    Tickets on sale now for the replay

Got block 124 Ardan o riain which isn't too bad. Good to see prices reduced too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭blueflame

Just got my breath back and having watched the recording last night - some of the scores on both sides were just incredible. Always knew our lads had the quality in them and yesterday just proved it. Hope all the lads on here that said Jake and Paudi can't score from play and don't contribute, will eat their words after yesterday. Both these lads are only 24 years of age, Jake had been turned into a work horse and had his hurling almost knocked out of him,, got two lovely scores yesterday, including the opener that set the tone, and set up Kevin Moran for his goal chance and worked his socks off generally. For a guy whose confidence has been shot he really showed up yesterday, Someone said recently here he couldn't get on a camogie team, shame on them - He has a superb hurling brain and ability t0 match so give him a chance.

Paudi Mahony can't score from play, and its only worth his place for the frees !!!!!!!!!! - unbelievable - go back over his games this year since the returned from a Season long lay off including the Munster Final he has scored at least two points from play each game - he makes difficult look easy and constantly finds space, and brings other players into the game

Yesterday this team came of age, next week they may or may not overcome Kilkenny but one thing is sure the foundations and potential are there for this team to take an All Ireland ( and possibly more than one) in the next few years.

We need to remember just how young the majority of these lads are - Conor Glesson , Shane Bennett, Patrick Curran are all under 21 again next year. Look at what the last 12 months has done for Aussie, my God the man is a monster now and if he can keep his head, he has everything - he has physicality, pace, vision, and unbelievable hand and ability to burn - some of his scores and general play yesterday were stuff that dreams are made of.

Next Saturday night, the second installment takes place - KK are not a team to be "killed off", you must live with them and outfight them to the very end - that is why they are such champions - but we have to have hope - we have to believe that we can live with them to the end - if this team is to go on to achieve their potential they have to become
    the next KK and i do not mean winning three or four All Irelands - I am not getting way ahead of my self. I just believe they have the skill levels and the physicality - but they must now align this to the level headed, savage work rate, never say die attitude that KK have shown over the years - they must aspire to reach those levels If they do , we can all start dreaming.

Full Kudos to the management team, if this was their plan all along, fair dues, if they acknowledged the failings in their plan, fair dues - one small fault i felt was that when Derek and Co were trying to stop the team from falling back , that was the time to dispatch your final two subs, probably Devine and Bennett with instructions to the two of them to push on to the KK full back line and bust a gut to tie them up , but hey it is easy say that from the stand and in the cold light of day.

Special mention to Conor Gleeson, i have heard and read much whinging about he dishing out punishment to Walter Walsh, well I can tell you i was sitting about 30 yards from where they were in the first half and Walsh did everything to physically intimidate Gleeson, he walked on him, elbowed him and God knows what else - Gleeson was half his size but not once did he flinch or pull back. full credit to him - very very impressed with Gleeson - always admired him as a forward on the minor team but what a conversion to a back (so far anyway) - to day that we did not actually miss Darragh Fives yesterday - for me says it all. He is a young lad with a long way to go but between his last two performances for the seniors and for the under 21s this guy has some serious potential

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

Blueflame........I can confirm what you write above re Conor Gleeson and Walter Walshe..........He was dwarfed by Walsh but Gleeson never took a backward step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,614 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Had to get 6 tickets and got 210 row Y

A few Kilkenny supporters I've talked to think they just have to show up next Sat and will win handy. 'Kilkenny don't lose replays'

I imagine there next training session will not be pretty and they will hop off each other but that's none of our concern

I imagine our lads will meet back 2morrow night and Thursday, hardly train the Friday night ??.

The dog on the street knows there's going to be a huge backlash from the cats and we have to be ready for it. They will go for early goals.

Since McGrath took over we have had 2 replays (Cork 2014 and Clare in the league final 2016) and we have suffered defeat in both of these, although we should of beat Clare that day

In reality the hammering that we were suppose to get yesterday could happen Saturday and the cockiness of the cats supporters will be unbearable. The surprise factor from us is gone now and Cody and Co will knw what to expect from us

It was weird coming out of Croke Park yesterday not after been beating. Ahhh there would of been tears of joy if we held on and a carnival atmosphere all over the county. Imagine how distraught it would of been if Murphy's shot went over and they won

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

PTH2009 wrote: »

A few Kilkenny supporters I've talked to think they just have to show up next Sat and will win handy. 'Kilkenny don't lose replays'

I imagine there next training session will not be pretty and they will hop off each other but that's none of our concern

I imagine our lads will meet back 2morrow night and Thursday, hardly train the Friday night ??.

The dog on the street knows there's going to be a huge backlash from the cats and we have to be ready for it. They will go for early goals.

Since McGrath took over we have had 2 replays (Cork 2014 and Clare in the league final 2016) and we have suffered defeat in both of these, although we should of beat Clare that day

In reality the hammering that we were suppose to get yesterday could happen Saturday and the cockiness of the cats supporters will be unbearable. The surprise factor from us is gone now and Cody and Co will knw what to expect from us

It was weird coming out of Croke Park yesterday not after been beating. Ahhh there would of been tears of joy if we held on and a carnival atmosphere all over the county. Imagine how distraught it would of been if Murphy's shot went over and they won

A backlash? They got out of jail.... the backlash should be from our lads who will be kicking themselves at leaving the game behind them

We were the better team yesterday for most of the game, surprise factor or no surprise factor. Its like you are making excuses for kk for some reason. The reason they didnt play up to par is because they simply were not let. A phenomenal effort from our lads showed just how good you need to be to even match KK. Less of your negative crap, the players showed no fear of KK yesterday so why should you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

At 1.hour 15 m 48 seconds on rte player you can see the altercation between Reid and Coughlan.

Looks like Coughlan hit him a shoulder and Reid gave him a dig, nothing major, I didn't actually pick it up watching the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

played 5 forwards and TdB sweeping like a mofo class act

De Burca pretty much mirrored the Waterford performance, excellent for 55 mins, and then faded badly. His delivery and decision making in teh final 10 mins was extremely poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

The lads just need to put yesterday out of their heads regarding letting things slip, they just need to look at the massive positive which is that overall they outplayed KK something i'll admit i didn't think possible this year, Thurles suits us well so that's another positive, If we can match the performance yesterday next Saturday i believe we will win, just knowing you can match them should take away the element of fear they might have had before Yesterday, You'd still have to pick KK to win given their track record but what yesterday showed without doubt imo is that there is an AI in this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

PTH2009 wrote: »

Would you not credit our performance and whist up about the backlash from KK? Goodman PTH, always looking on the bright side of things. Thanks for reminding us that Mcgrath has lost his last 2 replays, surprised you didn't mention Cody's record? You honestly think they're gonna hop off each other in training with another game in 5 days? You'd be some manager boy!

Lads, we can win on Saturday, sure KK had a few bad performers (the 2 Fennelly's, JJ Farell, even TJ was quiet, but that's because they weren't allowed to have an impact. Why can't we play as well again on Saturday? Jamie Barron and Moran were terrific in midfield, Michael Fennelly's legs are gone, I couldn't see how he's going to get through another 70 mins on Saturday, but at the same time I'd be worried and Brick and Moran, they looked knackered at the final whistle yesterday. Bring them off to Clonea or Tramore for the week!
    I feel sorry for Colin because he was great last year but he struggled yesterday, we have Patrick Curran, Maurice, Brian O Halloran, Stephen Bennett to come in...4 lads for one spot, when have we ever had such competition! I'd go for Paddy Curran and leave him on Prendergast. Fair play to Jake Dillon, I wrote him off myself during the year, but he was fantastic and we have a special manager in Mcgrath, there was some bull spoken about him during the last few weeks but he was spot on yesterday, now let's see what he plans for KK on Saturday! Hope everyone who travelled yesterday gets their tickets for Sunday because they're the fans who deserve it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Any word on which is waterford terrace for Saturday night?

Still sickened after it. ...great to still be in it though

I hope they don't fall back into a one man full forward line for next day...but do hope they'll improve/change a small bit tactically and not play into kk hands as kk will surly drop a midfielder back to win puck outs etc

You could see they were somewhat unprepared for long puck outs on Sunday. ...can't see it happening again Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭blue note

blueflame wrote: »
    Always knew our lads had the quality in them and yesterday just proved it. Hope all the lads on here that said Jake and Paudi can't score from play and don't contribute, will eat their words after yesterday. Both these lads are only 24 years of age, Jake had been turned into a work horse and had his hurling almost knocked out of him,, got two lovely scores yesterday, including the opener that set the tone, and set up Kevin Moran for his goal chance and worked his socks off generally. For a guy whose confidence has been shot he really showed up yesterday, Someone said recently here he couldn't get on a camogie team, shame on them - He has a superb hurling brain and ability t0 match so give him a chance.

Paudi Mahony can't score from play, and its only worth his place for the frees !!!!!!!!!! - unbelievable - go back over his games this year since the returned from a Season long lay off including the Munster Final he has scored at least two points from play each game - he makes difficult look easy and constantly finds space, and brings other players into the game

Good post blueflame. And you're right about some of the players showing the posters here, but they shouldn't need to. Some of the comments about our players were shameful. There's nothing wrong with criticism, but there's something very wrong with taking pot shots at players which is what they are.

The players delivered for the fans yesterday, which is more than some of our "fans" deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

danganabu wrote: »
    De Burca pretty much mirrored the Waterford performance, excellent for 55 mins, and then faded badly. His delivery and decision making in teh final 10 mins was extremely poor.

To be fair to him, there was one instance where he won the ball and they pulled the free arm to stop him getting away first time and that meant he was under more pressure and he gave it away resulting in a point. When your that tired something like that has a big impact.

Not complaining about the ref, those things will be missed on both sides over the course of a game but its a hard enough game without it too.

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    A backlash? They got out of jail.... the backlash should be from our lads who will be kicking themselves at leaving the game behind them

We were the better team yesterday for most of the game, surprise factor or no surprise factor. Its like you are making excuses for kk for some reason. The reason they didnt play up to par is because they simply were not let. A phenomenal effort from our lads showed just how good you need to be to even match KK. Less of your negative crap, the players showed no fear of KK yesterday so why should you

You are dead right. But it is an example of the psychological hold successful teams can have over others. It's like the "ten minutes after half-time" thing, you also have the "they'll go for early goals" mantra. It's as if some people think there is something other worldly about them. You could even see it in the match commentary yesterday with Marty Morrissey saying "Kilkenny are incredible" at one stage - what had they done? - scored a point to leave them just 0-9 to 0-8 behind. No more than that. Waterford were leading yet Kilkenny were "incredible". Of course people will dismiss an RTE commentator but that kind of thing seeps in eventually and probably informs opinions like the one you replied to which are full of fear. Must be worth at least a few points in some games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭bullpost

Will the pitch be much of a factor on Saturday? I know we like Thurles and are more familiar with it but its a smaller pitch than Croker and this might be to KK advantage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

According to Google it's bigger

144.5 x 88 versus 145 x 90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭deise man

James McGrath is ref for replay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭bullpost

According to Google it's bigger

144.5 x 88 versus 145 x 90

According to following Semple Stadium in Thurles is actually one metre longer than Croke Park, measuring in at 145 metres, although it is six metres shorter in width.

https://www.livegaelic.com/features/myth-wide-open-spaces-croke-park/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 The Hypnotoad

Pretty sure they're the exact same in terms of playing dimensions. Actual field dimensions in terms of run off are the only difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

The Waterford goalie jumped out of the way of the Kilkenny goal shot with his back turned. Cowardly and may have cost them the game. I saw it straight away on tv but it is confirmed in the photo in indo article
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/walsh-strike-destroys-dises-day-in-sun-34946478.html
    He is also the goalkeeper that stopped the Nash rule let's not forget that one

Ropaire wrote: »
    Ah here! He could have done better for it but calling hom cowardly for it is a bit much.

If you think he's a coward, lets see you charge down a Nash penalty: https://youtu.be/XO_ButCkFkQ
    Off all the things okeefe is cowardly isn't one....remember when he finished the Nash penalties??

I taught myself he came to do Walter Walsh and lucky he didn't as twould surly been red
    O Riain wrote: »
    Like to see you do the same, he came out to block the shot with his body and missed. The same goal keeper ran at Anthony Nash when he was taking a penalty last year and took a sliotar straight to the back.

Can someone please post up a picture of SOK's bruise for this fool.
    Hslaw wrote: »
    He is also the goalkeeper that stopped the Nash rule let's not forget that one

Anyone happen to know who was the keeper that put a stop to the Nash penalties??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

thurles is not their venue, it is ours , lets make it a munster fortress,

Where is this notion that Thurles is advantage Waterford coming from? It is about twice as far from Waterford as it is from Kilkenny. Kilkenny's record in Thurles is very very good, and it's right on our doorstep. The fact that it's in Munster is irrelevant, and I'm not sure what "making it a fortress" actually means to be honest (I suppose people from other counties would be up for Waterford, but I'm not a huge believer in the idea that noisy fans are going to be an issue. Kilkenny play every major match in circumstances where the crowd are overwhelmingly against them (except Tipp 2013)). The size of the pitch is also irrelevant, even if it's bigger or smaller than Croke Park, I have no idea why it would give one or other team an advantage either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

Where is this notion that Thurles is advantage Waterford coming from? It is about twice as far from Waterford as it is from Kilkenny. Kilkenny's record in Thurles is very very good, and it's right on our doorstep. The fact that it's in Munster is irrelevant, and I'm not sure what "making it a fortress" actually means to be honest (I suppose people from other counties would be up for Waterford, but I'm not a huge believer in the idea that noisy fans are going to be an issue. Kilkenny play every major match in circumstances where the crowd are overwhelmingly against them (except Tipp 2013)). The size of the pitch is also irrelevant, even if it's bigger or smaller than Croke Park, I have no idea why it would give one or other team an advantage either way.

This is the same Semple Stadium that they refused to travel to for the Munster Final remember, funny how the narrative changes when it suits your argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Whiplash85 wrote: »

Yeah that's a good point as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

This is the same Semple Stadium that they refused to travel to for the Munster Final remember, funny how the narrative changes when it suits your argument.

:D You couldn't make it up.

Notwithstanding that I think if you were to offer Cody and McGrath a choice of venue they would opt for Croke Park and Semple Stadium respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Why would you give your opponents a home game when you don't have a home and away arrangement with them?

hardybuck wrote: »
    Why would you give your opponents a home game when you don't have a home and away arrangement with them?

For the same reason you gave it them in 2009 and 2015?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Rosita wrote: »
    For the same reason you gave it them in 2009 and 2015?

Do you know the reason?

hardybuck wrote: »

Do you know the reason?

No. The rumours ranged from suiting the fans to having their palms greased but rumours are just that. I don't know the reason but I am presuming the reason does not have a sell-by date.