Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

So bought a foam roller this week, now I need some sort of GPS watch as the phone only worked for 2 runs. I can't justify spending 300+ on one so any cheaper alternatives let me know

Tues - 4.08m @ 9:27
    Weds - 6.01m @ 8:52
    Thurs - 4.85m @ 8:51
    Sat - 14.2m @ 9:46
    Sun - 3.5m @ 9:46

Total miles 32.5

Thursday was the first day it wasn't working and hence ran too fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

RasTa wrote: »
    I can't justify spending 300+ on one so any cheaper alternatives let me know

Perfect entry level watch

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Garmin-Forerunner-GPS-Running-Watch/dp/B0090C7A5M/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1469972491&sr=8-1&keywords=garmin+forerunner+10
    long_b wrote: »
    Have to give up on DCM 2016.
    Very disappointed but am having a recurrence of a non-running related medical issue.

Best of luck with the diagnosis hopefully it is nothing too serious. As many have said there are plenty more marathons. My first attempt to tackle a marathon ended when had to make the decision to pull the plug half way into training. Since then I have learned alot and had a more sensible training block to prepare me for this time round. Just because you are not able to run it doesn't mean you should continue to stay active in the thread and learn and contribute. Objective eyes can be a godsend to many here.

When you do get a chance you will be well prepared and will nail it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

nop98 wrote: »
    To fit in with real-life, it will have to be early (9am start, or thereabouts). Let me know if there's any interest... HHN1 has a 12M LSR, and Boards a 14M LSR.

"I start all my LSRs at 9am", I hear you say, because the real thing starts at ~9am, too!

The good news for Maximus (and fans of displays of pointless pedantry on Internet forums) is that the clock goes back on October 30th, merely hours before DCM starts - so the race does begin at 9AM, but you'll think it's 10AM.

Don't worry though, Dublin Bus usually run the nightlinks as if there was no change on the night that the clocks go back, so you'll still be able to get the 3AM nightlink home the night before the marathon, even if your smartphone says it's 4AM :cool:

Pointless humour aside, I almost always eat my lunch at 12.30, so coming up to last year's marathon I pushed that out later so my tummy wouldn't be rumbling in the middle of the race, and as my body clock doesn't respect daylight savings time I tried to eat lunch well after 1 for a couple of weeks (not that I ate much after the marathon anyway, but that's another story).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I dont think that on does heartrate . The forerunner 15 does and would not be that more expensive . Nice to have the facility to run by hr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

long_b wrote: »
    Have to give up on DCM 2016.
    Very disappointed but am having a recurrence of a non-running related medical issue.

Awaiting diagnosis but told not to run in the meantime.

Best of luck to ye all - will be thinking of ye on the day !!

Sorry to see this post long_b, very hard for you....hope all will be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭mel.b

So bought a foam roller this week, now I need some sort of GPS watch as the phone only worked for 2 runs. I can't justify spending 300+ on one so any cheaper alternatives let me know

I got one of these earlier in the year. Have been very happy with it so far and Polar replaced mine under warrenty when it started to fog up even thought it was my fault, i had been pressing the buttons on it while swimming...apparently you're not meant to!

http://www.fitnessdigital.ie/polar-m400-black-heart-rate-monitor-h7-heart-rate-sensor/p/10005693/?ct=106

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Week 5 Update:

Total miles for week 33.3

Tuesday: 7.4 miles @ 8:04 per mile....first run since the holidays went out with one of the lads from work straight out and back route from Swords to just past the Malahide Grand hotel...bit quicker than planned but felt good to be back out again.

Wednesday: 3.9 miles @ 9:13 per mile....loop of the Swords Estuary took it nice and easy.

Friday: Same loop as Wednesday @ 8:49

Saturday: 15 mile LSR @ 9:23 per mile went out with a friend and a few of the lads he runs with in Fingalians. Felt good and was happy with how the run went.....still surviving on water and Wine Gums on my runs....bit wary of trying the gels etc....willing to take advise on if it is ok to continue on without the gels.

Sunday: 3 miles @ 9:09 per mile, nice to get the legs moving.

Expect next week to be more difficult as my legs were well rested going into this week; also looks like I will be taking on the 16 mile LSR on my own.

Lots of good efforts this week by the looks of things. Well done all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Singer wrote: »
    The good news for Maximus (and fans of displays of pointless pedantry on Internet forums) is that the clock goes back on October 30th, merely hours before DCM starts - so the race does begin at 9AM, but you'll think it's 10AM.

This is legitimately great news. Any weapon in the battle against my fecked up circadian rhythm is a boon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

Good News:

I registered yesterday for the marathon, got my number and all! Exciting times.

Bad News:

Due to having to study for something very important this weekend I'm having to miss my long run. Damn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Singer wrote: »

Don't worry though, Dublin Bus usually run the nightlinks as if there was no change on the night that the clocks go back, so you'll still be able to get the 3AM nightlink home the night before the marathon, even if your smartphone says it's 4AM :cool:

Pointless humour aside, I almost always eat my lunch at 12.30, so coming up to last year's marathon I pushed that out later so my tummy wouldn't be rumbling in the middle of the race, and as my body clock doesn't respect daylight savings time I tried to eat lunch well after 1 for a couple of weeks (not that I ate much after the marathon anyway, but that's another story).

Ha Ha.. I love info like that. That extra hour will be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

The Muppet wrote: »
    A decent week for me, tired leg's on Thursday , but they were grand on the LSR on saturday.

Day|miles|pace|Heart Rate|Time Minutes
    Monday Recovery|3.2| 11:12 |-|35:58
    Tuesday Easy|4.2|10:58|131|46:10|
    Wednesday Easy|6:13|10:31|133|64:27
    Thursday Easy + pilates|4:18|10:55|134|45:36|
    Friday Rest|-|-|-|-
    Saturday LSR|15.22|10:57|127|166:46 mins
    Sunday Recovery|3.03|11:59|-|36:36
    Totals|||35:96 Miles|06:35:33 Hours

TM.. You've the pace well mastered and the HR matches. Can't get my runs to that pace and thus the HR is a little high. That said I replaced the battery in my HR monitor and getting far more accurate readings.. Think I should have replaced some time back as it was getting erratic and was distracting me occasionally thinking the strap needed repositioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

TM.. You've the pace well mastered and the HR matches. Can't get my runs to that pace and thus the HR is a little high. That said I replaced the battery in my HR monitor and getting far more accurate readings.. Think I should have replaced some time back as it was getting erratic and was distracting me occasionally thinking the strap needed repositioning.

Not sure about mastered H but I am happy enough with how its going except i think I may have lost some of the little pace I had before.

I have been running my easy runs by heart rate for quite a few months now . Running by HR can be frustrtaing at first as you feel your barely running at all but once you get over that it's actually enjoyable and I tend to be fresher for the harder stuff, lsrs and pace runs.

It takes time for the results to become noticable, when I started HR training my recommended pace of 132BPM for easy runs was around 11:30 Minute miles, Now its nearer 10:30 on a good day, I'm hoping that will continue to drop .

Your going well, You are much quicker than I am and I noticed you have a lot of inclines on your runs , They will stand to you on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

24th July - 30th July
    Sunday - Rest
    Monday - 6 miles w/ 6 x 1/2 miles @ HMP
    Tuesday - 5 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 9 miles w/ 6 @ MP
    Friday - 3 miles easy
    Saturday - 14 miles easy

Woke up with a niggle in my right hip last Sunday. It was sore all day, but then more or less disappeared overnight, and there hasn't been a peep from it since. Weird. I'm not even sure it was running related.

Monday's session went very well - I struggled with this one a couple of weeks ago, but it went fine this week. Nice, consistent splits, and I felt pretty strong.

Tuesday's recovery run was a bit of a slog. I probably ran it a bit quick in hindsight - will have to watch that.

I was in no mood for Thursday's MP session, for no other reason than running 9 miles after a long day in work is no craic. The effort was a little harder than usual I thought, but that might have been because of all the internal moaning and whinging I was doing. You'd swear I was the only person in the world training for a marathon...

Kept Friday's recovery run extra slow. Legs felt good by the end.

A small step-back in mileage for Saturday's long run, and it turned out to be one of my better ones, despite a slight hangover. Kept it nice and easy and finished strong.

Good week overall. Both sessions and the long run went well, and I got all the planned runs done in the correct order for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Sports Direct have a 12 hour sale on Garmin watches; just got an email about it....might be worth a look.

Total miles 32.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

Total miles 32.5

Sports direct actually have a 24 hour sale on Garmins from today......

http://ie.sportsdirect.com/SearchResults?DescriptionFilter=Garmin%20Watches#dcp=1&dppp=100&OrderBy=discountvalue_desc

My week...week 5 HHN2 Plan

Mon - Rest
    Tue - 5k @ 6.00p
    Wed - 10k @ 5.56p (on grass)
    Thu - 5k @ 5.57p
    Fri - Rest
    Sat - 19.6k @ 6.10p (took 1 IsoGel with caffeine) felt really good on this run - caffeine I'm sure helped!! No ill effects :)
    Sun - 5k @ 6.33p and 5k mountain walk

Took a few days to recover from previous week's LSR, felt stiff and sore in the early days of the week.
    Feel good today after yesterdays LSR, did more stretching, foam rolled and had a bath with Epsom Salts :)

Good luck to all in week 6 - step back week on the LSR for me - only 9 miles (14.5k)!!!! :D

The week in review:

Mon - Rest.
    Tue - 6.6k easy.
    Wed - 10k, did this as a commute. Forgot the strides but ran the whole thing a little quick.
    Thu - Rest.
    Fri - 6.4k easy.
    Sat - LSR, 24.2km. I found the last mile or so quite tough, legs had completely run out of steam.
    Sun - 5k recovery. Unscathed so it's all good.

I ate like a horse after that LSR! Here's hoping the legs adapt quickly ahead of the 16 miler next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Szilvike

Fbjm wrote: »
    Good News:

I registered yesterday for the marathon, got my number and all! Exciting times.

Hi Fbjm, how did you register? When I entered I only got an e-ticket, saying that "Race numbers (race pack) will be available for collection at the SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon EXPO in the Main Hall of the R.D.S on Friday 28th October from 12pm-7pm or Saturday 29th October from 9am-7pm."
    ...and to sign and bring this ticket with me for the registration. I took it that registration happens when I go to collect my race pack... did I misunderstand something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Week 5 update (Boards plan)

Tue: 4m @ 9:41
    Wed: 6m @ 10:00 with 5 x strides
    Thu: 4m @ 9:42
    Sat: 15m @ 10:23
    Sun: 3.5m @ 9:56

32.5m for the week.
    I don't know what happened for my recovery run tonight as 1st 2 miles were at around 9:30. I was trying to slow down, checked cadence, but just felt kind of bouncy, like I had an extra spring in my step. Weird, hard to explain especially as it was 29 degrees.

Well done everyone, really enjoying reading all the updates.

Szilvike wrote: »
    Hi Fbjm, how did you register? When I entered I only got an e-ticket, saying that "Race numbers (race pack) will be available for collection at the SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon EXPO in the Main Hall of the R.D.S on Friday 28th October from 12pm-7pm or Saturday 29th October from 9am-7pm."
    ...and to sign and bring this ticket with me for the registration. I took it that registration happens when I go to collect my race pack... did I misunderstand something?

That's all I got too Szilvike:)....sorry just checked again and the email does state a number which presumably is my race number :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Cheers for the responses. Spammed all the watch sellers on adverts and ended with a Garmin Forerunner 305 for 50 quid which includes a heart monitor so happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Szilvike

FITZA wrote: »
    That's all I got too Szilvike:)....sorry just checked again and the email does state a number which presumably is my race number :)

Hm true thanks, mine has a number too, I wasn't reading carefully :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

I've snipped some bits and pieces from all your weekly updates... and have a look at what you guys and gals have managed to achieve this weekend..

Excellent progress, and exactly what is needed at this point in time. Buckling down and getting the miles in. Regardless of how your week went, just take a moment to feel good about how far you've come!

(I really hope I haven't missed anyone's update)
    jameshayes wrote: »
    Ran without looking at my watch because it was playing up so I had to run by feeling and did HM distance in 1:58
    kin9pin wrote: »
    ... and completing my 15m LSR in 2:36 with a massive smile on my face and feeling I had a few more miles in me :)
    kabuxa wrote: »
    Went to the park this morning to do 12 miles LSR... ...
    spaceylou wrote: »
    I just ran the longest I have ever run, in my entire life and it felt pretty okay!!..
    Got my 15 mile LSR done and dusted by 1015 this morning; great way to start the day..
    Put the route into map my run and wasn't too far off 14.2m @ 9:46.
    sort of LSR - 7 miles as I need to build up the distances over the few next weeks) and felt great both during and since..
    tipping wrote: »
    Weekly update

... Sunday:
    16@ 7:51 including 4 warm-up,10@MP,2 cooldown.
    MP splits were 7:27,7:26,7:28,7:24,7:25,7:21,7:30,7:28,7:34,7:16.
    The Muppet wrote: »
    A decent week for me, tired leg's on Thursday , but they were grand on the LSR on saturday.

Day|miles|pace|Heart Rate|Time Minutes
    Saturday LSR|15.22|10:57|127|166:46 mins
    crogerso wrote: »
    Ran the furthest I have ever run yday completing the 15 miles. Absolutely delighted with that but I REALLY found it tough..
    sibeen99 wrote: »
    Finished off the week with a nice even total of 40 miles. Very happy with this, legs.

tailgunner wrote: »
    24th July - 30th July
    Saturday - 14 miles easy
    My week...week 5 HHN2 Plan
    Sat - 19.6k @ 6.10p (took 1 IsoGel with caffeine) felt really good on this run - caffeine I'm sure helped!! No ill effects :)
    The week in review:
    Fri - 6.4k easy.
    Sat - LSR, 24.2km. I found the last mile or so quite tough, legs had completely run out of steam.
    Sun - 5k recovery. Unscathed so it's all good..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Price change at midnight.
    Last few hours at €70.

kittyclaws wrote: »
    I need advice :(
    I've been complaining the last week of being tired - I'm literally fighting to stay awake at my desk in work. Today I woke up with a massive abscess on my gum. This evening I went out for my 8 miles, I could only manage 3, my right quad went dead and even a slow jog wouldn't fix it. I'm definitely getting run down.
    I'm thinking of taking the rest of the week off and waiting until Monday to do my 14 mile LSR, then a very easy week of training to give myself time to adapt.
    Is this ok or can someone in the know offer better advice?
    I might pay my Physio a visit too if she can fit me in..
    kittyclaws wrote: »
    Sleep is an issue - usually between 6 and 7 hours, less if I'm running before work.
    I'll try go to bed a bit earlier and book in for bloods during the week - my local chemist does them and can advise if I should see a doctor.
    Would be no harm to cook a few meals from scratch and add more veggies, I've fallen into the habit of getting breakfast and lunch in the canteen at work - I'd say nutrition wise the meals can be hit or miss.

Thanks all for your advice :)xx

How are you feeling now, Kittyclaws? I hope your energy levels are coming back up after taking it a little easier this week.
    Just want to say thanks to a few of you on here for the motivation during the week about my knee injury advising me to go to the physio I went in today in fear of bad news and after alot of work on it and alot of pain he has giving me some great exercises to strengthen up specific muscles that strengthens the knee area. I'm back on track hopefully and plan to get out tommorrow for 15miles lsr .. by the way just a little advice I done this injury on my hill sprints having previously been a footballer I was used to full out sprinting in which my form must have been all over the place my physio said to just go above your marathon pace in a stride keeping your form good and high knees. I'm afraid to tackle them again after this ...

Glad to hear you've not completely given up, Antodoran. I am delighted you went and got professional advice, but also please listen to Myles (he actually knows what he's talking about - and he's not a bad runner himself). By all means, keep trying your easy runs as long as you stay pain free, but by the slightest sign of trouble, I'd call it a day. No need to do long-term damage, there are always other races to train for.
    GOOSEPAUL wrote: »
    My right knee is very sore all week. Knee did not feel right on my Tuesday 3 mile. Have not run all week. I have R&R Half Marathon next weekend so hopefully the Physio on Tuesday tells me I'm OK to run. Just hope the knee is OK as I don't want to drop out again.

Some great reading and milestones so well done all.

Sorry to hear long_b and I wish you a speedy recovery. There are plenty of other races.

GOOSEPAUL - glad you're seeing a physio and mind that knee. There's no point running through pain, you'll just do more and more damage. You may need to re-consider the R&R. Keep us posted on how you got on on Tuesday.
    crogerso wrote: »
    Been slacking in my running updates lately but have been keeping up with all the posts in the thread; feeling the tiredness as well the past week and a half, nice to see I'm not the only one!
    Trying to make sure I eat well and get enough sleep but every day life tends to get in the way sometimes. Saying that, I got all runs in as outlined in the boards plan so really delighted with that. Ran the furthest I have ever run yday completing the 15 miles. Absolutely delighted with that but I REALLY found it tough. Putting it mainly down to poor preparation. Couldn't do it in the morning as I had to work and didn't get home until 3 but had eaten very little and after mile 8 I started to feel hungry and fatigued. Took a gel around mile 9 and it did help. Had no issues taking it but from mile 11 I felt like everything ached.
    Luckily I had my OH with me to keep me going till the end but I didn't enjoy it all. I guess I should be happy that I finished it but a bit worried about how I'm going to run another 11 miles on DCM day. Putting it behind me now, I figure there's no point dwelling on a bad day. Got my 3 miles recovery in this morning, legs are fine which is a relief. 5 weeks down so well on the way now.
    Really find this thread helpful so thanks to everyone for posting their experiences.

Hi Crogerso - well done on your 15M run. Really well done. It seems you found your LSR harder than most this weekend, but I actually think you'll have gotten more out of it. We're all going to have good and bad days. On race-day itself, you'll have good miles and bad miles. What matters is how you work through the bad ones, not the good ones :)

Running out of fuel on a long run is a real challenge - and it takes planning to avoid. This is why it's recommend to try and run your long runs early in the morning, as it will be what you'll do on race-day. I totally understand that sometimes, real-life demands otherwise. But it's a good illustration that by being a few hours later and on a slightly different phase of your daily clock, you can suddenly have too little on board and struggle really badly. This popped up on last year's thread a few times as well. Gels may be a "magic potion" but they don't last forever, so I am not surprised that you only got a 20-25 minutes boost.

So, it may have felt like a bad day but I think you've learned a lot and I am delighted you've come this far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Classic21

Three runs this week
    Wed - 9 miles, speed session during this run.
    Thurs - 7.5 miles, tempo run, enjoyed this 7:30/mile pace
    Sat - 17 miles. Long run. Pace dropped as the distance/hills increased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Szilvike wrote: »

Hi, that's just a reference number....you get allocated your race number in the expo when they scan your barcode off the booking email and allocate a shiny new number for you.

Antwerp wrote: »
    Apologies as I messed up the LSR table

Eh, yep - but that's fixed now. I've also added FITZA's update pace and A Neurotic back in, and a note for scotindublin who might join us. Any other takes are more than welcome.

It looks like we'll have a group at around 10 min/mi and one at 11. I'm thinking we'll have a ~7-8M loop (cover part of the new HM route?) and those who want to drop out after one loop can do so, while the others can continue for a second lap. Unless someone else has a better plan!

Name|Planned Pace|Distance required
    nop98|9:30 - 10|8ish
    aceygray|9.30 - 10 min/mile|14 miles
    kin9pin|10:00-11:00|14 miles
    FITZA|10.05+|14m
    Pomplamousse|10:30-10:45min/mile-ish|14 miles
    A Neurotic|10:30 - 11|12 - 14
    Firedance|10:30 to 11:30|6-8
    The Muppet|11 to 12 |any
    Antwerp (tentative)|11:00-12:00|14miles
    The Black Oil|11|12 miles
    scotindublin (tentative)||

In before the lock. Holy sh*t... It's real now.

393168.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

In before the lock. Holy sh*t... It's real now.

393168.PNG

Same Max, just booked it :pac:

I have had a pretty crappy week due to this flu, still wasn't feeling right today and 0 miles in the bag this week but at about 8.30 this evening, I said feck that and out I went just to see what I could manage to do. I arrived home at 10.40 tonight with my 12 mile LSR in the bag :D

I am feeling drained after it but delighted not to have missed the long run. I had built up a surplus of about 13 miles over the last 4 weeks so technically the 12 miles I missed during the mid week are still there in my overall mileage in the plan so I am still pretty happy.