Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DoctaDee wrote:
    I think EOGs size gives the false impression that he's the type of player that's suited to lingering around the square, where as in reality imo he's more of an out in front player that links well with runners - the fact that Rock has now shown that he's able to fulfill that role has marginalised O'Gara to a certain extent.

That's a fair point it's kind of what I mean about Mannion too, he's now stronger added to his linkup play and running so he too might marginalise EOG opportunity, he starting to look like EOG in build.
    Mannion was very physical in the league, turning lads upside down and coming out with the ball,

Rock was definitely used in EOGs position last year when the half-forward line of Kilkenny, Flynn and Connelly became almost a formality and he stopped playing at 10 or 12 and moved in from April when EOG got injured.

Rock was very influential yesterday.

What EOG does very well imo is stretch the opposition, he goes right up into the square.

From here a nice space can open up. He can rush into this space better than any other Dublin player. He then off-loads the ball very well from here. He can turn and shoot too if it's on.
    It has its uses and of course it's exciting to watch. It's not a tactic for Donegal alright but Kerry don't like it and he'd use up one of Mayo's seemingly dwindling list of big men. Tyrone would be switched on to it too. Andrews Brogan KMcM are better options for the northern teams. Tyrone on star last year being a good example. I know star did well against Donegal the year before but Durkin made a bags of things more than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Yeah there's certainly merit in what EOG brings in a number of different ways - for other than JG withdrawing Lowndes yesterday and pushing 7 into attcak, the alternative for me was to bring O'Gara in. I don't think we've seen the best of Mannion yet, he's the most unselfish player (I think at times to his own detriment). I was just thinking the real imponderable in the forwards is Costellos lack of game time, whatever about his relative quality when compared to the starting forwards, it must be a bit frustrating seeing O'Callaghan making 2 appearances in the championship to date.

I'd once again have serious concerns on MDMA ability to last 50 mins and Lowndes doesn't inspire me as an alternative wing back - I'd much prefer to see Daly take his place should the need arise or play David Byrne in a more advanced role with Mick Fitz coming in the back line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I have to also mention Fenton who was brilliant yesterday. His high fielding was superb and some of his link up foot passing was a joy to watch. Chap has a serious engine on him and excellent positional sense for someone so young.

His stepping up really does help out the half backs massively, especially missing those key players.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Yeah Fenton has gone from third to first choice quickly.
    MAMA might be best used as an impact sub this season.
    I think Gavin will push on with EL he seems to like him. Would Byrne have the speed for halfback ? He's doing a good job on the corner
    Has Kevin O'Brien been injured ? i thought at this stage he'd have a spot nailed down.
    The options for defenders are not there this year it's really only Daly as a proven operator and I'd trust him to start too.
    I could see Gavin move cooper to halfback and fitz to no three before Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Rocks come on a lot. I used to think he was only good for dead balls and offloading to for a quick point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,830 ✭✭✭corny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭Gael85

Stoner wrote: »
    Yeah Fenton has gone from third to first choice quickly.
    MAMA might be best used as an impact sub this season.
    I think Gavin will push on with EL he seems to like him. Would Byrne have the speed for halfback ? He's doing a good job on the corner
    Has Kevin O'Brien been injured ? i thought at this stage he'd have a spot nailed down.
    The options for defenders are not there this year it's really only Daly as a proven operator and I'd trust him to start too.
    I could see Gavin move cooper to halfback and fitz to no three before Byrne.

Kevin O'Brien playing ball over in the States for the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

STB. wrote: »
    Do you even know what you are talking about.

Where did you pull that 50%+ from. Your imagination thats were!

Did you ever ask yourself the question. Where does the majority of the gate receipts come from ?

Last year there were 339 Senior intercounty games. 48 were profitable. Which ones were they ?

Dublin get over 50% of the money the gaa give out. That is common knowledge, go look it up if you like. They get something like 5 times per capita the amount that meath get, and that is before you count any other investment etc.

So let's consider that in the greater scheme of things.
    Is 50% of the population of the island in Dublin? No. It is something like 20%. It doesn't take a genius to work it out that 20% of the people don't come up with over 50% of the money... So in short, yes, yes I know what Im talking about.

As for the 48 games being profitable - did Dublin play in 24 of those? Because they would need to for your point to work.

Hence you ask what am I dong here - Im here to see how my investment is going.

stonecutters.jpeg.size.xxlarge.letterbox.jpeg

Just in from DCB finance comittee meeting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Is that Charlie Redmond beside the green fella?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

JRant wrote: »
    I have to also mention Fenton who was brilliant yesterday. His high fielding was superb and some of his link up foot passing was a joy to watch. Chap has a serious engine on him and excellent positional sense for someone so young.

His stepping up really does help out the half backs massively, especially missing those key players.

He's brilliant.

Dublin get over 50% of the money the gaa give out. That is common knowledge, go look it up if you like. They get something like 5 times per capita the amount that meath get, and that is before you count any other investment etc.

So let's consider that in the greater scheme of things.
    Is 50% of the population of the island in Dublin? No. It is something like 20%. It doesn't take a genius to work it out that 20% of the people don't come up with over 50% of the money... So in short, yes, yes I know what Im talking about.

As for the 48 games being profitable - did Dublin play in 24 of those? Because they would need to for your point to work.

Hence you ask what am I dong here - Im here to see how my investment is going.

I'm calling nonsense on that to be honest. Dublin don't get anything near that from the GAA.

Here's an article from last year giving a breakdown of where the funds go:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/dublin-claiming-the-bulk-of-gaa-s-development-funds-1.2091641

and here are last years accounts
    http://www.gaa.ie/mm/Document/TheGAA/Administration/12/47/63/GAA012_Annual_Report_2015_Financials_for_WEB(1)_English.pdf

Now where are you getting thiscommon knowledge 50% figure from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I'm calling nonsense on that to be honest. Dublin don't get anything near that from the GAA.

Here's an article from last year giving a breakdown of where the funds go:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/dublin-claiming-the-bulk-of-gaa-s-development-funds-1.2091641

and here are last years accounts
    http://www.gaa.ie/mm/Document/TheGAA/Administration/12/47/63/GAA012_Annual_Report_2015_Financials_for_WEB(1)_English.pdf

Now where are you getting thiscommon knowledge 50% figure from?

TBF that's exactly what the first article says. They got more development money than the other 31 counties combined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,885 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Dublin get over 50% of the money the gaa give out. That is common knowledge, go look it up if you like.

Common knowledge alright, yet its also incorrect.

Jayop wrote: »
    TBF that's exactly what the first article says. They got more development money than the other 31 counties combined.

The article states that Dublin recieved €1.46 out of €9.5 million in development funds, which a long way off "all the other counties combined" nonsense in the headline.

Nowhere in that article or on the GAA financial reports does it state that Dublin receive 50% of all GAA monies, as was claimed. So no, the article does not say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

The year is 2017, July, Dublin have won another Leinster title.

I foresee all of the above comments again.

corny wrote: »

Have heard it's not his quad but medial ligament injury .. dunno whether that's a tear or a sprain ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,712 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

FFS this again, someone needs to show what each county gets and what it is for because some counties don't bother with a second code even if they do get a team out in it, how many clubs schools and players the counties have in both codes and indeed if it is filtered into camogie and women's football, showing how far the money has to go. Also what expenses the counties have as I believe and I am open to being corrected on this, that Dublin pay for some staff that other counties get paid by their province (secretary I think). Beyond that how many counties waste money on centers of excellence that would have been better served on coaching kids rather than on something that the county chairman can bring his grandkids to and say I built this.
    People reading some bottom line figures and shouting on the internet are just being foolish.
    Ive said before around here that Dublin do have a population advantage and I do think that its probable that we get a disproportionate amount of money currently but thats because the County Board got its act together years ago and came up with a plan and implemented it.
    Its up to other county boards and the GAA to help other counties reach for Dublin not to bring Dublin back.

On the Leinster championship being a joke, did Kerry not just win their 86th Munster or something like that?

On the splitting Dublin nonsense do people honestly think that people in Dublin should be stopped from representing their county? because thats what it would mean. It also doesn't mean that suddenly Laois might win an AI just that Kerry or Donegal and a couple of others have a better chance.

Nowhere in that article or on the GAA financial reports does it state that Dublin receive 50% of all GAA monies, as was claimed. So no, the article does not say that.

Why don't we? :mad::mad:

Somewhat related - this was the GAA's blurb on the 1 million euro investment in hurling in 4 weaker Leinster counties

Then this is what actually happened

Just throwing money at the problem doesn't improve the situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

salmocab wrote: »

On the Leinster championship being a joke, did Kerry not just win their 86th Munster or something like that?

But they had to go through Clare and Tipp to get it.
    Tough going as always in Mumha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,815 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

More teams from Munster left in the Championship than any of the other provinces FYI.

But they had to go through Clare and Tipp to get it.
    Tough going as always in Mumha.

How'd ya get on in Clones .. are the eyes still stinging ya ? .. yer apology message was played to the crowd at half time in Croker .. there was some booing I won't lie to ya, but I think yer ok to resume yer seat for the quarters ...

keane2097 wrote: »
    More teams from Munster left in the Championship than any of the other provinces FYI.

Well that proves that Munster is clearly the strongest province. :rolleyes:

You only have Round 3 and 4 of the qualifiers to play in cos there's so few games to play in Munster.

When the QFs roll 'round there'll be only probably be one left and I think that's a true test of the province's quality don't you?

Either way, Munster is and always has been a pox. And will continue to be.

---

3 Connacht, 3 Ulster and 1 each from Leinster and Munster in the AIQF's...

That seems about right for me.

DoctaDee wrote: »
    How'd ya get on in Clones .. are the eyes still stinging ya ? .. yer apology message was played to the crowd at half time in Croker .. there was some booing I won't lie to ya, but I think yer ok to resume yer seat for the quarters ...

I would wager it was a more fascinating game in Tiernach's than it was on the telly tbh. Reminded me a lot of the 2011 SF in that regard.

Ah sure, great day out as always and then into Creighton's there for the afters. Had the evening in Scotstown and then up to Moy before settling in for the Sunday Game and dinner in Fungannon.

The oul lad kept my seat warm so I should be fine for getting in for the double header now the next day. Handy that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,815 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Well that proves that Munster is clearly the strongest province. :rolleyes:

You only have Round 3 and 4 of the qualifiers to play in cos there's so few games to play in Munster.

When the QFs roll 'round there'll be only probably be one left and I think that's a true test of the province's quality don't you?

Either way, Munster is and always has been a pox. And will continue to be.

---

3 Connacht, 3 Ulster and 1 each from Leinster and Munster in the AIQF's...

That seems about right for me.

Not really, just while you're deriding Tipp and Clare it's probably worth mentioning that 4/6 Munster teams have made the last twelve while Leinster managed 2/11.

It's just a fact, that's all.

I would wager it was a more fascinating game in Tiernach's than it was on the telly tbh. Reminded me a lot of the 2011 SF in that regard.................

I have to say I struggle with fascinating or intriguing games :o I was coming home from CP and I had the "Marty Squad" was on RTE 1, caught the tail end of the post match interviews then it was back to the studio for a review on Ulster Final.

I think it was Dick Clerkin and some other Ulster player in studio (apologies can't think) .. the opening gambit from Clerkin was something along the lines of a less than enthusiastic .. well as Ulster Finals go it wasn't great .. and at that distinct moment I was happy herself had fecked off to the beach while forgetting to record the games ....

keane2097 wrote: »
    Not really, just while you're deriding Tipp and Clare it's probably worth mentioning that 4/6 Munster teams have made the last twelve while Leinster managed 2/11.

It's just a fact, that's all.

It's a fact that you brought up for me deriding Kerry's success in yet another Munster title and the fact that they almost by default have a spot in the AIQF and the AISF in the past.

I said what I said in response to a previous poster's comments about Kerry which followed on from the nauseating discussion about the Leinster Championship. So yes, you can throw out these statistics alright but they fail to take from the fact that Munster is a joke and always has been.

I never said anything to say Leinster was better (which seems to be something that might have gotten your back up) nor was that implied anywhere.

So thanks for the facts. Munster is a still a pile of shoite. There has been no change in that FACT.

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I have to say I struggle with fascinating or intriguing games :o I was coming home from CP and I had the "Marty Squad" was on RTE 1, caught the tail end of the post match interviews then it was back to the studio for a review on Ulster Final.

I think it was Dick Clerkin and some other Ulster player in studio (apologies can't think) .. the opening gambit from Clerkin was something along the lines of a less than enthusiastic .. well as Ulster Finals go it wasn't great .. and at that distinct moment I was happy herself and fecked off to the beach while forgetting to record the games ....

Whereas I do enjoy fascinating games. :P
    It was a tough watch at times and David didn't cover himself in glory with some of his decisions, and I've praised him in the past.

Peter Harte got a score at the start of the second half which looked to me at the time the sort of frustrated score you sometimes see from players where they go "let's just f***ing win this already". Great score. And I thought the game would lift from there. I was wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Oh, Mayo, if there is a God!

Will AOS be available or has he been booked into "Swan Lake on Ice" for rest of season?

At least he doesn't sound like an idiot on national radio. Ye might have to put a gaggingorder on Connelly if he comes out with anymore clangers like today