Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Team has been named and it's the same starting lineup as last Sunday. No major surprise as none of the subs who came in the last day made a strong case for inclusion from the start, and none of the starting 15 played so badly as to be dropped.

I'd hope to see a better impact from substitutions the next day though, it's become an increasingly important part of the game especially since they upped it from 3 subs to 5. It's not just a cliche to say that it's a 20 man game nowadays and you have to have lads who can come on and make a difference. Whether we have or not remains to be seen.

Would it be right in thinking that Galway will play one of Kildare/Mayo/Clare/Sligo in a potential qualifier?... And that with Mayo winning it'll be the winner or Clare/Sligo.

That wouldn't be bad if that's the case regardless of Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Would it be right in thinking that Galway will play one of Kildare/Mayo/Clare/Sligo in a potential qualifier?... And that with Mayo winning it'll be the winner or Clare/Sligo.

That wouldn't be bad if that's the case regardless of Sunday.

If ye lose tomorrow ye will have to play winners of Derry/Cavan or Sligo/Clare I think. If ye win its still open to few permutations but winner of Derry/Cavan would probably be toughest opponent but I'm open to correction.

A Rossie here so hopefully ye are in the hat Monday morning!
    Best of luck, hopefully we get a better day and better game than last Sunday, shouldn't be hard on both counts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭degzs

What's traffic like getting into and out of McHale park? Is best to come in on breaffy road or N84 for Galway city?

degzs wrote: »
    What's traffic like getting into and out of McHale park? Is best to come in on breaffy road or N84 for Galway city?

I've lived in Claremorris so can't say bar a hunch but id say the Ballinrobe road would be better.
    It only has Headford and City traffic whereas the N17 has Tuam, city etc.

Cant speak about the Roscommon routes but I can't see the Ballinrobe road being a big one for them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭orl

traffic always bad going in and out of MacHale park. It's meant to be a fine day so park a good way out and face for home. be there early I agree with @gilberto_eire about going the Ballinrobe way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

reap-a-rat wrote: »

Anyone know if it will be streamed on the Sky Q RTE player. I don't see any live feed there or facility for one right now.

Please god we come out today and at least make Roscommon kick it long from their restarts.

We heard in the build up that midfield was a possible weak point and we yet again conceded the contest.

It seems pointless to let a team get it to your 45 unopposed as a win from a long kick out isn't that dangerous an event in itself.

Also want to see Power with a ball at the side of his net and the ball restarted before the replay even ends and not this 45 second crap that sees no option but to kick it long.

He also wasn't great for the goal either, didn't really think much at the time but watching it back on the Sunday Game he was really poor for the goal.

But the kick out strategy isn't his doing and that's my main concern at that end for now.

Hopefully KW tapes the Dublin game and sees how important it is to their success as you stop a team building momentum if you can get an attack off each of their dead balls.

I've few concerns about our general play, we're defending well and some of the transition play is quick, precise and well worked, we just need to force the opposition to kick out long(and build momentum of any midfield turnovers) and get restarts going quicker so we get more possessions and attacks and cut down on the oppositions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Nice weather but gloomy clouds now.

anyone know what's the story with the live stream it's not working for me on rte website or on the player?

live stream of Donegal v Tyrone works fine.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    anyone know what's the story with the live stream it's not working for me on rte website or on the player?

live stream of Donegal v Tyrone works fine.

Same here for me. It appears to be running (theres a timer going) but no sound or vision.

It worked for me from the 15th minute to about 27 mins. Then went down again and is still down. Useless RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

Working fine for me on IPad, won't work at all on my android TV Boxes.

RTe Android App is pure muck.

Fix it RTE you Swine!!!

Go on Galway, good display so far, Goal keeper makes me nervous though..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

RTE Player is back, press Ctrl + f5 to clear cache and it should work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Well done chaps, Galway should have won last week, and at least they played football today. Best of Luck in the quarters. (Rossie man, me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Congratulations guys.

Worthy champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭SeanJ09

Congrats Galway, great chance of making the semis.

Why can't your man just shut up and present the Nestor trophy.

EDIT: he has, thank f*ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭O.A.P

I stayed at home today and was looking forward to watching it on rte player
    mad.png
    Connacht champions after an 8 year drought biggrin.png at long last .
    I hope we can build from here and become contenders for SAM again sooner rather than later. but I'm very happy with a Nestor cup very very happy.
    Gailliamh abu .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Terrific performance. Playing as a team for each other. Forwards are really clicking - midfield too. Conroy is in great form.

Hands up - I really didn't see this coming at start of year. Fair play to them. They have been wonderful this year and now we are into bonus territory and I can't wait for the QF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Galway will play one of Tipperary, Clare or Derry in the quarter-finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Unbelievable stuff. Always knew they had talent, just a matter of getting it to click. Delighted for maligned lads in the past like Gary O'D and Danny. Sice is one of the most underrated players in the country. Unreal, and a serious chance to get to an Semi and have a crack of whoevers there (Tyrone probably). Great to have something to look forward to at the end of race week also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Kyne is the real deal. That is all.

Terrific performance. Playing as a team for each other. Forwards are really clicking - midfield too. Conroy is in great form.

Hands up - I really didn't see this coming at start of year. Fair play to them. They have been wonderful this year and now we are into bonus territory and I can't wait for the QF!

Same here, honestly thought we were going nowhere. The FBD proved useful this year, we unearthed a few players and won it with a battling display but then the league was hit and miss and faded in the 2nd half. We'd players leaving the panel and things didn't look healthy before Mayo.

After Mayo I was more inclined to see it as Mayo underperforming badly as much as anything but I thought we did a lot of things right last week and today we got the right balance between being a solid defensive unit and providing a threat in attack with runners on the shoulder. We were well on top in midfield.

Connacht title is great but given the likely opposition we need to win the Quarter Final and register a win in Croke Park and then to me we'll be in bonus territory.

Roscommon were again a massive disappointment. I've had my criticisms of Kevin Walsh but we have a system that works for the players we have. Roscommon were again clueless in attack, non-existent at midfield and defensively they were a shambles there always looked to be the threat of more goals. With a more strict referee they could have had another couple of black cards. They have a huge task to lift themselves for next weekend.

Special word of praise for Declan Kyne, has had a lot of doubters and may well be exploited in Croke Park but he's filled the void at full back about as well as anyone could hope for. He was excellent again today.

No sign of the match on the RTE player on Sky so far. Presume it won't be put up there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

No sign of the match on the RTE player on Sky so far. Presume it won't be put up there...

Don't think so. Danny gets it by all consensus but Kyne unlucky to miss out for the 3rd game in a row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Don't think so. Danny gets it by all consensus but Kyne unlucky to miss out for the 3rd game in a row

Geez thought comer was guaranteed to get it! It is hard to overlook the 2 goals though

Was probably only a year ago he had people wanting him dropped(Cummins)

My opinion was that I'd rather a player who's main fault is missing and accuracy than someone who cant get the ball.

Nice to see things fall into place for him, I marked him in a soccer game a few months ago and he seems like a nice lad.

Another who deserves great praise is GOD, a much maligned player.
    I'll admit on him I wasn't convinced but I never had him on my critical radar like some had.

He deserves credit for sticking at it when walking away would have been easier.

I don't think we're in bonus territory now as someone alluded to.
    A lot of these players had their pass in 14 and 15, Id call improvement getting to a semi.
    Winning Connacht is something we shouldn't have taken that long to achieve.

We haven't been in a semi in far longer so Id drop the bonus territory mark at that juncture... Not that losing to Tyrone is acceptable, they're no great shakes tbh, there's a final at play here and if history counts for our hurlers then our footballers are certainly capable of winning an AI out of the blue.

Coincidentally we could even end up meeting Derry again in the semi final.

Special thanks to RTE for ruining the day, got the stream up with 4mins remaining.
    Certainly won't chance an online only game again in future.

Another who deserves great praise is GOD

Wise words.

praise-god-colorful-letters.jpg?w=300&h=269

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

That is disappointing,I did'nt get a chance to watch the game.I would be very eager to watch it back on the RTE player.