Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

I'm 100% sure if Clare and Derry win it's a draw. It's only provincial finals they stop repeating in quarter finals.

I'm not 100% so I can't say for sure, but I've searched quite a bit online and different sources say different things. You wouldn't have a link to the rules or something?

Taken from the football thread:
    All-Ireland Quarter-Finals
    The All Ireland Quarter Finals shall be on an
    arranged basis. Subject to the respective Provincial
    Champions not meeting the defeated finalists from
    their own Province in this Round and to the avoidance
    of repeat pairings where possible, two nominated
    Provincial Champions* shall be paired against the
    Winners of Round 4A and two nominated Provincial
    Champions shall be paired against the Winners of
    Round 4B

Galway definitely won't face Derry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

I can't post a link yet sorry. But I copy and pasted this from the Irish independent

However, as counties that have already clashed in a provincial final cannot meet again in the quarter final, the pairings in the last eight could be predetermined depending on the results of the two qualifier matches next Saturday night.

Essentially if either of the beaten provincial finalists (Roscommon or Tipperary) wins, the draw will be pre-determined as Tipp cannot play Kerry again and Roscommon cant face Galway in the quarter-finals. However, if Clare and Derry win then a draw will be required.

Search "All Ireland Quarter final draw" you'll see the independent article half way down.

I can't post a link yet sorry. But I copy and pasted this from the Irish independent

However, as counties that have already clashed in a provincial final cannot meet again in the quarter final, the pairings in the last eight could be predetermined depending on the results of the two qualifier matches next Saturday night.

Essentially if either of the beaten provincial finalists (Roscommon or Tipperary) wins, the draw will be pre-determined as Tipp cannot play Kerry again and Roscommon cant face Galway in the quarter-finals. However, if Clare and Derry win then a draw will be required.

Search "All Ireland Quarter final draw" you'll see the independent article half way down.

I've read that same article, but that's written by a jounalist going by his own interpretation. It's possible for him to be wrong, and I think it's probable. Unless something is found from an official GAA source we probably should assume anything.

This link; is about hurling, but it backs up what I'm saying anyway, and is from the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

THFC wrote: »
    I've read that same article, but that's written by a jounalist going by his own interpretation. It's possible for him to be wrong, and I think it's probable. Unless something is found from an official GAA source we probably should assume anything.

This link; is about hurling, but it backs up what I'm saying anyway, and is from the GAA.

It's an open draw if Derry win. That's from a member of the Galway panel. Doesn't look like it's going to happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

THFC wrote:

THFC wrote:
    ; is about hurling, but it backs up what I'm saying anyway, and is from the GAA.

Fair enough. He could be wrong. I know no journalists word is gospel. Galway Footballers Facebook page is where I got originally that if Clare Derry won it would be a draw. But again they could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

h2005 wrote: »
    They were refusing non-guests for the Connacht final

I parked there that day and there wasn't an issue. I have seen them stop people parking there before when they've a wedding on the same day.

It's an open draw if Derry win. That's from a member of the Galway panel. Doesn't look like it's going to happen!
    Fair enough. He could be wrong. I know no journalists word is gospel. Galway Footballers Facebook page is where I got originally that if Clare Derry won it would be a draw. But again they could be wrong.

Last comment I'll make on the matter as it doesn't matter too much anyway. We'll find out on Monday who we play.

This is a link to a word document found on the GAA website. It's 100% official, Galway will not play Derry should Derry win.

It states;
    (iii) All-Ireland Quarter-Finals
    Each of the four Provincial Champions shall play against one of the winners from Round 3,
    Subject to the respective Provincial Champions not meeting the defeated finalists from their own Province and to the avoidance of Repeat Pairings were feasible,
    a Draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Derry are looking the more likely now...3 points up,early days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

seligehgit wrote: »
    Derry are looking the more likely now...3 points up,early days.

Guess we'll find out if they do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Martin567

I'm 100% sure if Clare and Derry win it's a draw. It's only provincial finals they stop repeating in quarter finals.

(iii) All-Ireland Quarter-Finals
    Each of the four Provincial Champions shall play against one of the winners from Round 3,
    Subject to the respective Provincial Champions not meeting the defeated finalists from their own Province and to the avoidance of Repeat Pairings were feasible,
    a Draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

It's amazing how many people don't know the rules, even players and mentors directly involved. The above surely ends any argument.

There will be no draw required for this section. If Derry beat Tipp, they will play Kerry and Clare play Galway. If Tipp beat Derry, Tipp play Galway and Clare play Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Gonna be some craic in Croker next week from all sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

So it's Galway v Tipp.

Gas that one of the two sides from that goal bonanza of a qualifier in Tullamore would be semi-finalists in 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,888 ✭✭✭threeball

So it's Galway v Tipp.

Glad it's Tipp rather than Clare. I believe they present a sterner test than Clare which we need after the Roscommon game and would need if we were to progress into the semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Megager

Gas that one of the two sides from that goal bonanza of a qualifier in Tullamore would be semi-finalists in 2016

Twas great fun that day. Hope we prevail again but tipp will fairly put it up to us. Decent team that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Have to say I'm very surprised that Jason Flynn isn't starting for Galway. He was in great form last year but maybe he isn't performing too well in training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    Have to say I'm very surprised that Jason Flynn isn't starting for Galway. He was in great form last year but maybe he isn't performing too well in training

There may be something we don't know, like as you said maybe he hasn't been going that well lately. But on his day he's one of our best forwards so it seems strange.

Based on today's game Tipp will be a test next Sunday. They're a good team but if Galway can reproduce last Sunday's level of performance I think it will be enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭mjp

I would take the team named in the media with a huge warning sign from both sides. Micheal Donoghue isn't going to show his hand too much to Davy &co so wouldn't expect him to name and changes he plans to public until just before throw in.

Looks like it could be a wet day in thurles. Hopefully suit our more physical side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

What date is the semi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,075 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

So playing Tipp in the football and hurling
    Redo91 wrote: »
    What date is the semi?

14th August

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Galway are well capable of beating Tipp imo. We did it last year and we can do it again! In the past, dying out in the second half has been a Galway trait but that didn't happen to the team today - they held their own very well and were ruthless. I honestly think we can get to the final. Whether we can finally win it again or not is another question that probably won't be answered until the second half of the final in September

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

Got the win today. I thought backs were mighty. Forwards tackling was very good. Callanan had 2 good saves.

Overall, not bad at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Well done today, ye were fully deserving of the win. I think a 6 point defeat flattered us in the end because we seemed to be outplayed across the pitch.

It's hard to put into words the relief that the Thurles fear might be dead and buried. Similar to last year against Cork, Tipp will be much more difficult and won't limit their FF-line to 2 men.

That said Harte, Daithi, Cathal Mannion and in particular Johnny Coen were very impressive. Coen in midfield is a different player altogether. Happy he proved me wrong.

Great 7 days for Galway GAA. Long may it continue! And **** Thurles traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

It's hard to put into words the relief that the Thurles fear might be dead and buried. Similar to last year against Cork, Tipp will be much more difficult and won't limit their FF-line to 2 men.

That said Harte, Daithi, Cathal Mannion and in particular Johnny Coen were very impressive. Coen in midfield is a different player altogether. Happy he proved me wrong.

Great 7 days for Galway GAA. Long may it continue! And **** Thurles traffic.

really hate going to thurles - a real miserable drive!!

very gutsy performance today and real character building! all the criticism appears to have galvanized them and they will be quietly confident of beating tipp. the form of some of the forwards is a worry but still have plenty of time to sort that out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

well done today lads ,wasnt just a great team performance it was a great squad performance

knew driving up to the football in salthill yesterday what the mood in south galway was giving the amount of flags out , today there was real hunger in the galway performance , most breaking ball situations and rucks were won by galway men it was a fantastic performance especially the first half

we take little notice of the likes of ger loughnans comments ,he is always criticizing someone in his star column or on the sunday game more often then not it is either clare or tipp . but you could see in michael o'donoghues interview after the game that it had touched a nerve in the galway camp, watching the great interview canning did afterwards i hope he wins an all ireland , if not this year then next year .....whenever , its a young team and plenty of time , ye have every chance against tipp the next day too i would'nt begrudge ye after today to win it out

Strong performance. Wasn't without its flaws but by far and away the better team. From the off we were in control. The backline functioned well and we kept Clare's forward under wraps quite comfortably in the first half apart from a couple of direct runs where we had to foul. My worry about the 2nd half was we faded badly and it was scary to see Clare move within 4/5 with 10 minutes left. The game should have been dead and buried at that stage but we looked heavy legged at that stage which is a worry. We re-gathered ourselves but 6 points was no reflection of our dominance which is good but also a worry.

Daithi Burke turned in a superb performance, Aidan Harte swept up a world of ball. Some of his deliveries in the 2nd half were aimless and contributed to us letting Clare back into it but overall he had a fine game. Thought Gearoid McInerney did quite well but as we step up another level not too sure about him. Tuohy was a mixed bag, not convinced of him ahead of bigger challenges. Johnny Coen's switch to the middle sector paid immediate dividends as was flagged by everyone. Up front there has to be more to come from everyone really if we hope to beat Tipp. Joseph Cooney had a good game I thought, still not sold on him but he's improving each game. The lack of impact we have to bring off the bench worries me slightly as we move forward.

It's a great feeling leaving Thurles after another win after so many years of disappointments, collapses and heartaches (especially after losing the All-Ireland the year before) but the real stuff starts from here. We have now established ourselves as a nailed on Top 4 side which for years we struggled to do. Today we saw clearly how far back the likes of Clare, Limerick, Cork, Dublin, Wexford etc. have fallen. You'd expect those teams to bounce back. All are likely to have new management but hopefully we'll get two great semi-finals to rescue what's been a drab hurling year.

Lot of question marks over us heading into the Tipp game. We were far the better team against Tipp last year but relied on Colm Callanan's heroics to get us through, Tipp look a far more cohesive and battle hardened side this year. We probably aren't going into the semi-final in great form but it's great to be there and it should be a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

well done today lads ,wasnt just a great team performance it was a great squad performance

knew driving up to the football in salthill yesterday what the mood in south galway was giving the amount of flags out , today there was real hunger in the galway performance , most breaking ball situations and rucks were won by galway men it was a fantastic performance especially the first half

we take little notice of the likes of ger loughnans comments ,he is always criticizing someone in his star column or on the sunday game more often then not it is either clare or tipp . but you could see in michael o'donoghues interview after the game that it had touched a nerve in the galway camp, watching the great interview canning did afterwards i hope he wins an all ireland , if not this year then next year .....whenever , its a young team and plenty of time , ye have every chance against tipp the next day too i would'nt begrudge ye after today to win it out

Yes,Joe Canning did a wonderful interview afterwards,he went up an even higher notch in my estimation.Hope you win the hurling and leave the football to your close neighbours.:)Great times for Galway GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

seligehgit wrote: »
    Yes,Joe Canning did a wonderful interview afterwards,he went up an even higher notch in my estimation.Hope you win the hurling and leave the football to your close neighbours.:)Great times for Galway GAA.

Agreed. Have always liked Joe and have always rooted for the Galway hurlers, but I'd so love to see them, and especially him, get an All-Ireland this year. Loughnane's comments after the Kilkenny match were way over the top too, so I'm glad they shut his bull**** down.