If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UFC 200 Event Thread - Cormier v Jones 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

It was clearly disappointing and underwhelming, I don't know why some people feel the need to defend the indefensible. A quick Google says all the experts agree it was a big letdown.

Not defending it. If I was underwhelmed I'd say it.i really enjoyed it especially the prelims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,121 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Could be a merry-go-round for the belt for a while.

Could see the same happening with the mens LW belt.

Ferguson, Diaz and Khabib are all nightmare fights for Eddie.

mens MW too

nah, the mw belt looks safe for a long time :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

Be interesting to see how many buys 200 did with Jones removed and if it surpassed the 2m+ predicted.

Frankie was disappointing I thought. Expected much more.

Didn't really see Tate losing tbh but really nice to see someone win which it clearly meant so much to. She wouldn't stop saying to Dana that she told him which was funny.
    theteal wrote: »
    I'm surprised a lot more isn't being made about the illegal knee. That was the start of Tates downfall.

I thought so also at the time but watching it back I'm not sure it really made all that much of a difference to be honest. Was really Nunes' punches that seemed to obliterate Miesha. Here's a gif of it anyway.

reezuaD.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Cormier via Decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

darced wrote:

I thought the same to be honest. In fairness he did well beating a guy like hunt after being out for five years but he looks just as terrified to be hit now as he did five years ago. The top 5 would make absolute mince meat of him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I thought the same to be honest. In fairness he did well beating a guy like hunt after being out for five years but he looks just as terrified to be hit now as he did five years ago. The top 5 would make absolute mince meat of him.

Isn't that what everyone was saying about Hunt though?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 219 ✭✭JinkyJackson

darced wrote:

Hunt was the guy that was going to knock him out in seconds. The hardsest hitter in the sport. I don't think anyone enjoys being punched in the face too so that's a strange criticism of Brock. He's taking plenty big shots before and recovered. It genuinely seems that all the experts on here that were wrong are in denial.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

PMSL firstly I've absolutely no problem with Brock winning quite impressed really how he cud do that after 5 years off without getting panned out,

But people going on defending him like hes never taken steroids lads will ya cop on its on even debatable the wwe guys (like half the mma fighters) are juiced to the gills LOL at wwe ped testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Even Dana was openly underwhelmed, saying it was only 'OK' on FS1 and Thursday was great in comparison. Any word on the buys?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Hunt was the guy that was going to knock him out in seconds. The hardsest hitter in the sport. I don't think anyone enjoys being punched in the face too so that's a strange criticism of Brock. He's taking plenty big shots before and recovered. It genuinely seems that all the experts on here that were wrong are in denial.

Apart from Robbie Lawler of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

1 Why wasn't silva/Cormier a title fight?
    2 bricks fight was co main, so why wasn't it a 5 rounder?

Dtp1979 wrote: »

Simple answer, Brock can't do 5 rounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Brock can't fight five rounds was the reason a different fight wasn't a title fight?

Strange logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Jones via KO/TKO
    A few takeaways from last night.

FP Prelims were superb. Really enjoyed them, great finishes. TJ won easy I know but I didn't think he looked too great to be honest. I think Cody Gabrandt gives him trouble.

Fantastic performance by Gastelum. Hendricks at a cross road know, may have to move up after missing weight again but poor performance from Johnny. Looks a shadow of his former self. Maybe those wars with GSP and Robbie have taken their toll.

Cain looked great, like the Cain of old. Think he has it in him to get the belt back.

DC/Silva was exactly as i expected. Crowd booing DC for not wanting to stand with him was stupid. Thought Silva was about to pull out abit of magic at the end. Fair play to him.

Aldo/Frankie was a great fight. Frankie's output on the feet just not enough for Aldo's counter strikes and movement. Great display from Jose. He is IMPOSSIBLE to take down! Frankie looked out of idea's when he couldn't hit one, looked the worst he has in years.

Brock Lesnar has to be commended for taking a fight, then accepting Mark Hunt and getting the job done. No way is that the last we'll see of him, but he gets ruined by a top 5 Heavyweight.

The main event was so underwhelming. Knowing that we were supposed to get DC/Jones and the big interests of the night already passed. In saying that, I thought Miesha looked like she was about to lose the plot during her walk out. Completely let the moment get to her. Great performance from Nunes though. Have a feeling that title will be passed around a good bit yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Dtp1979 wrote: »

Co main events are only 5 rounds if it's for the title.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 219 ✭✭JinkyJackson

TimRiggins wrote:
    Brock Lesnar has to be commended for taking a fight, then accepting Mark Hunt and getting the job done. No way is that the last we'll see of him, but he gets ruined by a top 5 Heavyweight.

He was suppose to get ruined by Hunt tho.. Brock doesn't like getting punched, Hunt punches hard bla bla bla

Cormier via Decision

Brock can't fight five rounds was the reason a different fight wasn't a title fight?

Strange logic.

Misread the post apologies, thought it was asking why Brock wasn't main.

No need to be so snarky :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,136 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Anderson should just permanently switch to 205.

He was starting to trouble DC on the feet, and with a full camp could beat quite a few people in that division.

Brock did exactly what he needed to do, avoid the big punch and dominate the grappling exchanges.

Thought he should have used more knees when in side control, like he did against Herring.

Brocks jabs were hilarious last night he wasnt even closing his fist looked like he was trying to push Hunt with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Jesus anderson was in no danger with cormier on top.

Not a fan of cormier myself. Would love a full camp anderson rematch

Cormier via Decision

darced wrote: »
    It seemed Cormier didnt know how to deal with the lockdown in half guard, very smart move by Anderson.

Anderson actually had ankle socks or similar to help with the grip. The whole Cormier wasn't doing anything on top idea was ignoring the great job Anderson was doing of keeping him off balance.

I dont mean he wasnt doing anything. I mean anderson negated anything he had, although he couldn't get back up. Anderson looked calm from the bottom. Pity thelat body shot came so late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

darced wrote: »

Agree with this.

Cowers at some punches but is well able to take a shot.

If you can avoid the takedown you have him, if he's on top of you he's hard for anyone to shift though.

His fights are always exciting spectacles though and the heavyweight division could certainly do with more of those.

Joe silva done a good job finding him a top 10 fighter who he could potentially beat style wise,good work from the ufc.

Cormier via Decision

Gamebred wrote: »
    Joe silva done a good job finding him a top 10 fighter who he could potentially beat style wise,good work from the ufc.

"Ok, so we need a short guy who can't wrestle... I'll give Hunty a call".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,974 ✭✭✭JJayoo

All the wwe guys are on TRT. The wwe have their own doctors/medical and can source pharma grade test. The problem wrestling had was that individual wrestlers were sourcing their own gear and with the huge amount of travel they do they didn't have reliable sources so there were taking all kinds of crap, combine that with rec drugs and pain killers and it's no wonder so many have died in their 40s.

Now all their 'needs' are managed by medical professionals. All you need is a blood test which will show low levels of test, this is simply done by staying awake as long as possible, 48 hours, then go get your blood work done and you will have the same test levels as a 10year old girl. Then the doctor can prescribe the 280pound mountain of muscle TRT.

JJayoo wrote: »
    All you need is a blood test which will show low levels of test, this is simply done by staying awake as long as possible, 48 hours, then go get your blood work done and you will have the same test levels as a 10year old girl. Then the doctor can prescribe the 280pound mountain of muscle TRT.

Or have loads of sex and do loads of coke.

Coke and hookers have long been the preferred passtime of touring men with disposable incomes.

My god Sable is still fiiiiiiinnnnneee