Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Chat Thread (PLEASE READ POST #1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭ChampagnePop

ahayes84 wrote: »
    Let's not forget the bride who didn't plan on feeding her guests and wanted the bridesmaid to pay for her own outfit and dinner. Legendary

They paid for the meal by opening the wedding gifts at the table if I remember correctly

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

They paid for the meal by opening the wedding gifts at the table if I remember correctly

Nope, they only paid for their own food whilst flaunting the money in front of the rest of the guests, and those were only the guests lucky enough to be brought out for food!

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,992 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Let's not forget the bride who didn't plan on feeding her guests and wanted the bridesmaid to pay for her own outfit and dinner. Legendary

I will never forget that thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

Toots wrote: »
    I will never forget that thread!

Some fun modding that thread :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,302 ✭✭✭Gatica

and the bridesmaids got stranded at the photo location and had to get their own transport sorted out from there to the dinner. It was over very quickly I believe. Bride was gonna "chip in" for her bridesmaid's dinner, but wanted to do it on the QT so as not to upset the other guests who all had to pay up for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭hotmatottie10

wow id love to read that thread, anyone got the link, amusing and shocking at the same time i imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Sapphire

wow id love to read that thread, anyone got the link, amusing and shocking at the same time i imagine

It was deleted for privacy I think. A shame because it was absolute gold, but mods had to do the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Plenty to feast your eyes on here; http://www.etiquettehell.com/archive_index.shtml

Someone linked to it in another thread and it's always good for a browse.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,992 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Sapphire wrote: »
    It was deleted for privacy I think. A shame because it was absolute gold, but mods had to do the right thing.

The first one was deleted but the follow up thread is still around, although locked. I can't link cos I'm on my phone but if you search "cheapskategate" it should come up.

Rhyme wrote: »
    Plenty to feast your eyes on here; http://www.etiquettehell.com/archive_index.shtml

Someone linked to it in another thread and it's always good for a browse.

That site is amazing - although some of the "outers" are divas themselves, reminds me of starting secondary school - all the dramz

Looking at wedding insurance - what company would you recommend? I'm looking at irishweddinginsurance.ie at the moment and it seems reasonable!

That's the one we picked as well. Thought it was good value and covered all the important stuff for us.

Gatica wrote: »
    That's the one we picked as well. Thought it was good value and covered all the important stuff for us.

Price seems reasonable! Hard to know if there would be issues with them if it's time to pay out.

UPDATE: I tried to email them at info@irishweddinginsurance.ie and it wouldn't deliver- which seems very strange. Has anyone else used this company (irishweddinginsurance.ie)?

That's the email I used with them too, but that was in 2011.

Gatica wrote: »
    That's the email I used with them too, but that was in 2011.

I did some digging, they're registered with the regulator as a broker, so safe to use, but I think I'll go with a company with a working email address!!

Probably wise. The last thing you want is trouble trying to contact them in an emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,196 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Going to have a rant here! My 3 bridemaids are my daugher (23) and my 2 future step daughters (23 and 20). Now we all get along great - kids get along like a house on fire. However the 2 steps can be difficult in general with everyone! They have been no problems with choosing dresses etc so all going along.

Now I have been told that the younger one wants to sit with her BF or have him sit at the top table. No way the top table so she can sit with him - he's bloddy 21 and perfectly capable of making a conversation. We had him at a table with the same age group - anyway go along with that.

I did a facebook event for my hens drinks and invited everyone through that. I have now been advised that I need to personally invite the 2 steps rather than through FB!! Like WTF! My own daughter got a FB invite. The 2 girls have been horrible to their Dad the past couple of weeks and have said some awful things to him. So they can feck right off!! I dont need to pander to their sensitivities!!!

Dovies wrote: »
    Going to have a rant here! My 3 bridemaids are my daugher (23) and my 2 future step daughters (23 and 20). Now we all get along great - kids get along like a house on fire. However the 2 steps can be difficult in general with everyone! They have been no problems with choosing dresses etc so all going along.

Now I have been told that the younger one wants to sit with her BF or have him sit at the top table. No way the top table so she can sit with him - he's bloddy 21 and perfectly capable of making a conversation. We had him at a table with the same age group - anyway go along with that.

I did a facebook event for my hens drinks and invited everyone through that. I have now been advised that I need to personally invite the 2 steps rather than through FB!! Like WTF! My own daughter got a FB invite. The 2 girls have been horrible to their Dad the past couple of weeks and have said some awful things to him. So they can feck right off!! I dont need to pander to their sensitivities!!!

Your completely right about the boyfriend, it will probably be an awkward day for him until the dancing but he's a grown man, if he wants to attend he can sit at a regular table like everyone else.

Is there any harm in dropping the two a text saying that you hope they're coming? Maybe they feel they should be more involved as they're BMs? How do you get on with their mum? If she's not happy about the wedding they could be put in a very hard place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,196 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Is there any harm in dropping the two a text saying that you hope they're coming? Maybe they feel they should be more involved as they're BMs? How do you get on with their mum? If she's not happy about the wedding they could be put in a very hard place.

Oh I probably will - just gets on my nerves the little princesses!! Never met their mother but she is perfectly happy with the wedding - sent himself a lovely message when we got engaged so there is no problem there.

I can't imagine they like being called princesses

Maybe they're upset that you didn't trust them to organise the Hens. After all, isn't that one of the BMs duties?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057262110

Maybe they're upset that you didn't trust them to organise the Hens. After all, isn't that one of the BMs duties?

Ye I was thinking that - could be a misunderstanding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 treelights

Has anyone here come across this before? I was invited to a wedding at dinnertime (6 pm), but there's no dinner being served, just drinks and canapes. I totally understand not wanting to or being able to afford the typical wedding meal, but I think if you're just serving canapes, then 6 pm is very early. The wedding is in a very rural location and is not in a hotel (ie, no kitchen), so I'm planning on packing some sandwiches, etc., just so I won't be starving later. My OH thinks I'm being silly, but I dunno. I think the setup is a bit strange. Or maybe not?

Thoughts??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭Addle

Can you not just have your main meal earlier in the day?

Addle wrote: »
    Can you not just have your main meal earlier in the day?

Yes, of course I can. I was just wondering if this is a usual setup for a wedding. May be it is and I am out of the loop.

treelights wrote: »
    Yes, of course I can. I was just wondering if this is a usual setup for a wedding. May be it is and I am out of the loop.

Well obviously not, but it's becoming more common, have a very small early meal and then a large evening event.
    I went to one (full invite) and the finger food and wine reception was very generous, all the guests enjoyed the night!

EDIT: Just to add, the bride really didn't want too much attention so that's why they chose this format, it wasn't about penny pinching, she just wanted to be able to enjoy her wedding day and this format worked for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

It is a bit strange, I have been invited to evening weddings (and my sister actually had one) but they usually start a bit later more like 7:30 -8 and don't clash with a traditional meal time.

Usually if you are invited to an event taking place during a traditional meal time then a meal would be provided.

It is a bit strange, I have been invited to evening weddings (and my sister actually had one) but they usually start a bit later more like 7:30 -8 and don't clash with a traditional meal time.

Usually if you are invited to an event taking place during a traditional meal time then a meal would be provided.

Yes, that's what I thought was strange about it, the fact that it's at dinnertime but no dinner. No big deal, just wanted to see what others thought. I would have thought that a canape reception would normally start around 8 pm, but having said that, I've never actually been to one, so perhaps not.