If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UFC 200 Jones vs Cormier 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

So, this thing with Lesnar not getting tested. Does this bring the whole USADA regime into disrepute? I mean, there's some shenanigans going on here, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Saipanne wrote: »
    So, this thing with Lesnar not getting tested. Does this bring the whole USADA regime into disrepute? I mean, there's some shenanigans going on here, surely?

Its a loophole for dopers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Saipanne wrote:

He is getting tested. But they wavered the 4 month notification period as he retired pre usada. But he is 100% getting tested. Don't agree with it to be honest but that's the UFC for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,752 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Saipanne wrote: »
    He was tested last week.
    He is getting tested. But they wavered the 4 month notification period as he retired pre usada. But he is 100% getting tested. Don't agree with it to be honest but that's the UFC for you.

He was treated the same as any new signing to the UFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Mellor wrote: »
    He was tested last week.

yeah exactly, look at yer man making his debut on the ottowa card jonathan meunier, hasnt been in the testing pool for 4 months and noone gives a solitary fnck

Mellor wrote:

If that's the case what's the relevance of the 4 month notification period? Is it to stop athletes "retiring" to avoid testing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

He was tested last week.

Fair enough then.

If that's the case what's the relevance of the 4 month notification period? Is it to stop athletes "retiring" to avoid testing?

I dont know what the point of it is really, the whole thing just got blown out of proportion a bit cause brock is a rather large gentleman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Depp wrote: »
    I dont know what the point of it is really, the whole thing just got blown out of proportion a bit cause brock is a rather large gentleman

I thought it was to stop anything illegal being taken while retired, similar way to out of competition testing. Makes sure fighters are not taking anything to assist them while they are training and they have no advantage.

Devastator wrote:
    I thought it was to stop anything illegal being taken while retired, similar way to out of competition testing. Makes sure fighters are not taking anything to assist them while they are training and they have no advantage.

If that's the case then surely Brock fits in that category?

IMO, he's a pro wrestler, he should be double tested! :D

I've no idea why he was made exempt, I don't agree with it. I think its double standards and makes a mockery of the USADA rules. IF this is a real 1 off then its done now but if he makes another 1 off comeback he should must meet the same rules as every other fighter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭jcd5971

Devastator wrote:
    I've no idea why he was made exempt, I don't agree with it. I think its double standards and makes a mockery of the USADA rules. IF this is a real 1 off then its done now but if he makes another 1 off comeback he should must meet the same rules as every other fighter

I think I'm in a minority in that I actually don't get too upset about peds, I mean they should just let them all go Ham pride style,

go nuts eat kangaroo steak dipped in bear juice wrapped in deer meat marinated in a honey flavoured anabolic steroid glaze, with a TRT jous and epo coulis.

(yes I'm watching Masterchef whilst typing this)

jcd5971 wrote: »
    I think I'm in a minority in that I actually don't get too upset about peds

Probably. I find it pretty disgusting, but if your ok with people cheating :eek::confused:

I really hate when a fighter I like(ie Silva) gets busted, it just ruins their legacy IMO and makes me think they've been cheating their whole career while I've been cheering them on like a mug.

I think I'm in a minority in that I actually don't get too upset about peds, I mean they should just let them all go Ham pride style

fair enough in non contact sports like athletics or soccer I dont see a major problem in it but in something like boxing or mma its disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Starting to think DC is going to take this.

Depp wrote: »
    yeah exactly, look at yer man making his debut on the ottowa card jonathan meunier, hasnt been in the testing pool for 4 months and noone gives a solitary fnck
    Or Darrell Horcher that fought Khabib on short notice. Or Damien Brown from the Brisbane card. BJJ champion Augusto Mendes.

It's probably happened 10 times since USADA took control, but it's only been an issue now.
    It's to stop athlete removing themselves from the testing pool by a dummy retirement.
    Brock retired from MMA before rule existed. He was never in the testing pool. So as far as the USADA records are concerned, he's a new signing. And was being treated the same as the new signings listed above.

I think I'm in a minority in that I actually don't get too upset about peds, I mean they should just let them all go Ham pride style,

In sports like weightlifting, athletics, cycling. I don't really care. It's cheating of course but its not hurting anyone. In some sports (weightlifting, powerlifting, etc) it's almost necessity to compete at the top level imo.

But the fighting element of MMA and other sports means its something I'd never excuse there. Look at Bisping, had a detatched retina from a Vitor headkick. If Vitor was cheating at the time, it contributed to the permanent disfigurement for Bisping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Here's a pretty rare Lesnar interview (he really doesn't speak all that much, what you've seen on ESPN lately is a very generous amount of media time by his standards) about his return to the octagon in July, such a straight-shooter, he does everything to suit himself and makes no secret of it.

Of course I've been a fan of his through wrestling as well as MMA for many years and he's just the same guy the whole time, he really doesn't play any characters. Doesn't like people all that much except for his family and close friends (Non-wrestling fans might not know too much about Paul Heyman the guy interviewing him here but he's a huge reason Lesnar became a big name in the first place).

Really looking forward to his fight at 200, doubt it's gonna end well for him but credit to him for coming back to prove to himself more than anyone that diverticulitis held him back massively as a fighter, aside from the obvious financial benefits which is of course the main reason he's doing it, and he'd make no secret of that either.

That's my Lesnar worshipping over for now. :) The Hunt fight is going to be my main event for sure.

Seen this today and thought it was cool, Brock has been training in the Gi, fair play to him.
    Then I realized that if we were at the same comp, I could face him in absolute :eek:

brock.jpg?fit=699%2C371&ssl=1

Derek Brunson out of fight against Gegard Mousasi. He's having vision problems, initially thought it was to do with laser treatment he had done years ago but found out his sight is good but he's got blurred vision, which could be something serious. Also apparently Rumble isn't injured but having family or personal problems and should be back soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭xtal191

Thiago Santos has replaced Brunson

Official card and fight order. Insane card to be fair

EiPUq6P.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭ASOT

Official card and fight order. Insane card to be fair

EiPUq6P.jpg

Amazing from top to bottom, really looking forward to JoeL & Diego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

darced wrote: »
    Hopefully its a grappling match. I cant get excited about Diegos striking anymore, its terrible.

The card is out of this world, can not wait.

His striking just looks like getting hurt as much as possible is the plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Anyone fancy any big upsets over the whole weekend? I think Eddie could beat RDA and I really do think DC will beat Jones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Hope dc wins it i just cant take to jon jones at all. Really looking forward to aldo v frankie though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,482 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I love Jones, maybe not his persona, but you cannot help but admire the mans talent. I am a big admirer of DC too though, think he has improved since their last fight and I would agree with Ariel here, its basically number 1 v 2 pound for pound, cannot wait!

Card is stacked, in a way its better with Conor, the focus is spread about a bit better and it can't come soon enough!

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭jcd5971

I love Jones, maybe not his persona, but you cannot help but admire the mans talent. I am a big admirer of DC too though, think he has improved since their last fight and I would agree with Ariel here, its basically number 1 v 2 pound for pound, cannot wait!

He is talented but I hate his eye poking, it drives me mad, even more mad than the **** he pulls outside cage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

His win over DC is one of the most overated wins I can remember,a lot of people seem to think he won that fight easily,done nothing of the sort and as a fan of Jones I'd be quite worried DC will beat him,100% will if the same JJ that showed up against osp.