If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UFC 200 Jones vs Cormier 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

froog wrote: »
    was brock's health problems affecting him for his last two fights?

seemingly so! diverticulitis is a beast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭ASOT

froog wrote: »
    was brock's health problems affecting him for his last two fights?

If i had diverticulitis the last person in the world id want kneeing me into the stomach was Overeem, id say the pain was unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭newbbieb

In fairness diverticulitis had little to do with his losses,the Overeem one you could argue but his losses are down to the fact he doesn't like to be punched and turns into a panicked childlike beast when he gets cracked on the skull.

But fair play to him for taking this fight on,because he isn't half facing his fears taking on Hunt,he won't get out of Round 1 but props to him for taking on such a challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,307 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

newbbieb wrote: »
    In fairness diverticulitis had little to do with his losses,the Overeem one you could argue but his losses are down to the fact he doesn't like to be punched and turns into a panicked childlike beast when he gets cracked on the skull.

But fair play to him for taking this fight on,because he isn't half facing his fears taking on Hunt,he won't get out of Round 1 but props to him for taking on such a challenge.

That's such bull****.
    Of course it contributed to his losses.

The doesn't like to be punched crap is annoying as well.

Hope Brock destroys him to shut up the haters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,877 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Wasn't there stories of him not wanting to be punched in the face during sparring in training camps? I remember Pat Barry saying something to that effect, and his whole team went skitz when he did hit him in sparring

I'm a big fan of the beast, but he doesn't like to be hit and he had to cope with diverticulitus, they're not mutually exclusive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

darced wrote: »

who does react well to it though? even robbie lawler has said he doesnt spar anymore to avoid getting punched in the head, brocks chin was solid look at the carwin fight, don't know if a literal granite chin could save you if hunt catches you though! brock can definitely pull off a win but it wont be easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭ASOT

Depp wrote: »
    who does react well to it though? even robbie lawler has said he doesnt spar anymore to avoid getting punched in the head, brocks chin was solid look at the carwin fight, don't know if a literal granite chin could save you if hunt catches you though! brock can definitely pull off a win but it wont be easy!

GGG loves getting punched in the face in boxing, but the mans a freak of nature haha

ASOT wrote: »
    GGG loves getting punched in the face in boxing, but the mans a freak of nature haha

yeah hes not a normal human being atal atal :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Omackeral wrote: »
    If a pretend fighter can win the top prize in your sport then it doesn't say much for your sport at all.
    Devastator wrote: »
    3298 posts in pro wrestling forum
    2 posts in MMA forum

having some trouble adjusting to critism of 'your' sport there? You obviously don't know who Mark Hunt is :D thats ok, I don't think Brock knows either if he accepted the fight :pac:

Wasn't adjusting to 'my sport' being critiscised at all, whatever that means. It's not a sport btw. What I was saying is, if you slate someone for being a 'fake fighter' and lose you look like a loser and if you beat him it doesn't really mean anything cos you just beat a fake fighter. That was my point.

Also, so what if I've 2 posts in the MMA forum? Don't you think it shows that this type of cross promotion could bring new fans to the sport. And FYI, I've watched many a UFC PPV and Fight Night over the years starting back with GSP vs Serra. I enjoy the sport very much, just amn't a superfan.

Mellor wrote: »
    Ah bless your wee cotton socks

Fantastic input.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Wasn't adjusting to 'my sport' being critiscised at all, whatever that means. It's not a sport btw. What I was saying is, if you slate someone for being a 'fake fighter' and lose you look like a loser and if you beat him it doesn't really mean anything cos you just beat a fake fighter. That was my point.

Also, so what if I've 2 posts in the MMA forum? Don't you think it shows that this type of cross promotion could bring new fans to the sport. And FYI, I've watched many a UFC PPV and Fight Night over the years starting back with GSP vs Serra. I enjoy the sport very much, just amn't a superfan.

Brock is the only person in the WWE who would have any hope in hell of surviving in an MMA fight, and it has nothing to do with being a professional wrestler, it's because he was an NCAA Division 1 champion, 2 time NCAA All American , NJCAA Champion, two time NJCAA All American and one of the best heavyweight collegiate wrestlers of the last 20 years.

And he'll still get the Mark Hunt shoulder shrug after a first round walkoff knock out.

AbwaYCw.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Brock is the only person in the WWE who would have any hope in hell of surviving in an MMA fight, and it has nothing to do with being a professional wrestler, it's because he was an NCAA Division 1 champion, 2 time NCAA All American , NJCAA Champion, two time NJCAA All American and one of the best heavyweight collegiate wrestlers of the last 20 years.

And he'll still get the Mark Hunt shoulder shrug after a first round walkoff knock out.

AbwaYCw.gif

All fun and games till Brock choke slams him through the canvas.

Gamebred wrote: »
    All fun and games till Brock choke slams him through the canvas.

12 suplexes and then lock up a kimura either :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,768 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Fantastic input.
    It was all the post deserved tnh. Brock has an extensive folkstyle wrestling background. You know that, we all know that. Acting all he has is the pretend fighting is disingenuous and stupid. He's bloody huge, has to cut to make 265 and spent at least some time in the past on a steroid cycle.

There's a vast difference between Brock and CM punk. I'd give Brock a chance against every HW on the roster.
    I don't give Punk a chance against any WW or MW on the roster.

Mark Hunt was referring to the fact he's being doing this continuously for years, Brock is jumping back into the UFC for a part time event. He also has a fight book vrs him, so he'll talking about the fight with a particualr mind set publicly. Don't be so foolish to think Mark isn't fully aware of what he is facing in Brock.

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/mma-cagewriter/brock-lesnar-granted-waiver-from-four-month-drug-testing-requirement-003253522.html?soc_src=mediacontentstory&soc_trk=tw

An absolute joke hes not subject of usada testing,given a by from them usually you need 4 months of testing before you can compete,money talks.

A picture tells a thousand words (and a gif even more ;))
    newbbieb wrote: »

Except in the Overeem loss he wasn't cracked in the skull. Overeem went after the mid-section

lesnarovereem1.gif

giphy.gif
    Depp wrote: »
    who does react well to it though? even robbie lawler has said he doesnt spar anymore to avoid getting punched in the head
    I don't think he minds too much :D
    1.gif

Gamebred wrote: »
    An absolute joke hes not subject of usada testing,given a by from them usually you need 4 months of testing before you can compete,money talks.
    Brock was never active during the USADA era so he never had to give them notice of withdrawl from the testing pool. His retirement is different than a current fighter stepping out and back in later.

A new signing to the UFC doesn't need 4 months notice once he enters the roster. It's happen a few times over the last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Just on the Robbie Lawlor not sparring thing, hasn't he basically said whats the point? I know hoiw to fight and getting punched x amount of times in the face every week shortens his career and isn't worth it? Or something similar

He makes up for it in his fights anyways thats for sure thank god for his own sake he's had a nice break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Off the point slightly, but just looking again at the gif of Overeem's finish over Lesnar, that was a late stoppage. When someone goes over in a heap from a body shot like that, they aren't getting back up and any damage following that is unnecessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭meepins

martyos121 wrote: »
    Off the point slightly, but just looking again at the gif of Overeem's finish over Lesnar, that was a late stoppage. When someone goes over in a heap from a body shot like that, they aren't getting back up and any damage following that is unnecessary.

He is covering up which is defending himself. I have seen many fighters get stunned by a body shot like that, ride it out and make a comeback.

meepins wrote: »
    He is covering up which is defending himself. I have seen many fighters get stunned by a body shot like that, ride it out and make a comeback.

There's a difference between getting stunned/dropped with a body shot and that kind of delayed reaction, curling into the fetal position. Curling up with no attempt to move out of the position is not intelligently defending yourself. As soon as Overeem is on him, it's over from the first shot* imo.

*He needs to rush in an land one to rule out the possibility of this;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

meepins wrote: »

He wasn't stunned though, he was absolutely finished by it. One or two punches from Reem to make sure, fair enough, but the rest could've been avoided by a prompt stoppage. Lesnar with his history of diverticulitis, was not going to ride that one out.

Even if the pain of it wasn't so apparent (it probably was excruciating though), it would've been made even worse psychologically. I've seen a lad nearly break down in tears from taking one mild shot to the appendix area after he had his removed years beforehand. Not the exact same case but that sh1t seemingly stays with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,487 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Love Brock, he always gives me a giggle with them little chicken legs of his (compared to his monstrous upper body) :)

The underdog for sure with so many questions surrounding him, but for me anyway his chin has never been in doubt, though when it comes to Mark Hunt I am not sure it matters if your chin is granite or not.

This will be decided by whether he can get his hands on Hunt or not, if he can get it to a grapple he will prevail I think, striking he will be knocked out at some point.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭newbbieb

martyos121 wrote: »

History has shown that Brock makes a decent punchbag,if you just ignore his cries for help and force him to ride it out to the bell he can still turn it around in the next round,so i can understand the ref giving him a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Is there any word if Brock has been training at all ? or where will he train ,
    Fair play to him for having the balls to get in with Hunt after 5 years but how do they get away with making fights like this, like who sanctions a guy who hasn't fought in 5 years to fight a guy in the world top 10 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Fair play to him for having the balls to get in with Hunt after 5 years but how do they get away with making fights like this, like who sanctions a guy who hasn't fought in 5 years to fight a guy in the world top 10 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,307 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

He said he's been training since WrestleMania I think.

He's a former UFC champion, of course getting sanctioned isn't an issue.

Would you expect GSP to have that issue if he returns, of course not.