Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic Poker Tour: Quick update

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

blake7 wrote:
    no i am not involved in any way. having said that yourself and lenny seem very tight and defensive. are ye mabey from a rival holdem set up? the plot thickens. anyway five of us heading to waterford from athy tonight so cant be all bad. experience it for yourself and then make your own mind up .

I have no link whatsoever to any tournament's been run,I am just a player who like most here on boards wants to see the good and well run tournament's prosper.

So because you and 4 of your mates are playing it means its "not that bad",thats fine for you and your mates but me and lenny are just pointing out some home truths.If you or anybody reading this choose to turn a blind eye,thats fine its a free country.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭patmac

There was a nice pokerevents game in the Shamrock Lodge, Athlone every Thursday 50-60 players but I don't see it advertised for next week does anyone know if it is finished as I don't want to have to play the CPT.

• Registered Users Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

Tournament every Thursday night in the Shamrock Lodge. There is also a festival coming up in the same venue Nov 4th,5th and 6th.
    Friday 4th 150plus20 freezeout, Saturday 350plus 35 with final table on Sunday.
    Will post full details here on boards or see pokerevents.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bigun

well i was staying in Waterford for a few days this week and just happened to be in the hotel that CPT ran there tournie.

and yes they are ripping people off, simple as that.
    it does not matter if you had a good night and that you thought it was ran well or not you are being ripped off.

First of all no dealers just 14 guys walking around making sure everyone felt welcome, handing out rebuys and in my opinion that is what they were there for. they were more than happy to give you more chips and were on the ball with taking your money but if an issue arose they had to go and get someone because "they didn't know what to do" wtf!!

as far as chip races go there were some people who posted that they did do races but all they did was collect smaller chips but left any odd chips with you, so everyone still had a couple of 25 chips when the blinds where in the hundreds. This is not a chip race.

200ish people turned up and the prize pool was 10 grand, with an average spend of 100 euro per player, and they had the balls to charge 5 euro reg fee aswell, a total ripoff if you ask me. i was speaking to a lot of the guys there and most of them were all saying that this was there first or second time playing in a tournie and that they liked the CTP and there setup but in the same conversation they were talking about the fact that CPt make 10 - 15 thousand euro per night!!!!
    are these players stupid or somthing?

i asked one of the guys floating around shelling out rebuys what was the point of a reg fee when they take half the pot for themselfs?
    he said that the reg fee covered costs and that he didn't know how much of the pot they took but that it was profit.
    oh and the spot prizes are sponsored so they dont even pay for them.

so just to finish on a point.

DON'T GIVE THESE COWBOYS YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY

14 staff and no dealers....I think that says it all,why do they need 14 staff to just give out rebuys and top ups.

And these 14 people have to be paid out of the Prize pool.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,955 ✭✭✭Degag

I went into the event in Killarney on friday night, i found the event enjoyable and well run.... i can't say that i found any real delays with the staff collecting chips etc either, although i wasn't around long enough to see the rearrangement of people.... i found pocket kings and simply called the big blind, i found another king on the flop and went all in and was called by an ace eight.... great apart fom the fact that there was an ace and an eight on the flop aswell, a four came on a turn which meant that that he needed an ace which he dually hit.... i was devastated.... i had hit a house of kings and aces and still lost.... oh well thats poker..... the lad i went in with came second though.....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Another 1st time poster heralding a celtic poker tournament....maybe I'm just getting cynical.

And yet another "forum veteran" discriminating against the forum newcomer:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Tackle69 wrote:
    And yet another "forum veteran" discriminating against the forum newcomer:D

You don't think its rather odd that someone posting for the first time goes back about 7 pages to find the original CPT thread rather than creating a new thread instead. Seems quite odd to me. Look! the "new thread" button is right there. rightt ****ing there!!!

How many entrants were there? What were the payouts? Why do you think it was "well run"?

NickyOD wrote:
    You don't think its rather odd that someone posting for the first time goes back about 7 pages to find the original CPT thread rather than creating a new thread instead. Seems quite odd to me. Look! the "new thread" button is right there. rightt ****ing there!!!

How many entrants were there? What were the payouts? Why do you think it was "well run"?

Actually, i didn't go back "7 pages". i simply did an internet search for "celtic poker tour" and this was the top match, i clicked and read the comments, and formulated my reply.

Why do i think it was well run? Well having only played in pub games before, they always started late, blinds didn't go up on time etc.... At least with this, it started on time, and the everyone knew when the blinds were going up.... i can't speak for other peoples experiences, but from what i read there have been huge improvements since..... there were no delays replacing chips and my friend who came second didn't mention any delays replacing players either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

But would your friend who came second be as happy if he realised that he should have been paid out another 2k or so?

It's like being mugged and buying the mugger a pint afterwards for doing such a good job of mugging you.

Fatboydim wrote:
    But would your friend who came second be as happy if he realised that he should have been paid out another 2k or so?

It's like being mugged and buying the mugger a pint afterwards for doing such a good job of mugging you.

Hey, i've nothing against the fact that the payouts weren't great, i'm simply stating that the event was well run, anyhow there were about 200 players the last night each paying an average of €100, thats €20000, with a payout on the night of €12000..... that therefore leaves €8000 for the company of which a rough estimate for wages must be in the region of €2000, there is also transport, spot prizes (including a poker table worth a cool €700) and possible rent of the venue etc etc. Lets not forget that this is a profit making organisation.... they also probably have to raise funds for the grand final worth €10000.... Maybe the prize fund could have been greater, but not that much....

Tackle69 wrote:
    Hey, i've nothing against the fact that the payouts weren't great, i'm simply stating that the event was well run, anyhow there were about 200 players the last night each paying an average of €100, thats €20000, with a payout on the night of €12000..... that therefore leaves €8000 for the company of which a rough estimate for wages must be in the region of €2000, there is also transport, spot prizes (including a poker table worth a cool €700) and possible rent of the venue etc etc. Lets not forget that this is a profit making organisation.... they also probably have to raise funds for the grand final worth €10000.... Maybe the prize fund could have been greater, but not that much....

LOL, a 40% rake, and you are happy.

Good Luck :v:

Culchie wrote:
    LOL, a 40% rake, and you are happy.

Good Luck :v:

And what gross profit do other businesses make? You don't think that they make 40%?

Tackle69 wrote:
    And what gross profit do other businesses make? You don't think that they make 40%?

It doesn't matter what other businesses make, it's comparing apples with oranges.

It's what your competitiors in your industry that are charging that's important.

Check out Poker Events or Green Joker Events if you want to see how tournaments should be run to allow profit for organisors and value for punters.

40% has got MUGS written all over it, if you can't see that, you can't see the wood for the trees....for whatever reasons they may be.

And if you can't see that, you can't be much of a poker player either, as it's most obvious case -EV you'll ever see.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

Tackle69 wrote:
    I went into the event in Killarney on friday night, i found the event enjoyable and well run.... .

So well run in fact that on a board of 77AAx the TD awarded the hand to AQ over A9 because of kicker!!! Excellent I say! Also, if you are happy paying 40% rake to these thieves then that is absolutely your right and they are right to keep taking it!

Tackle69 wrote:
    Hey, i've nothing against the fact that the payouts weren't great,.

You should
    Tackle69 wrote:
    i'm simply stating that the event was well run,....

No delays and proper table balancing is the least you expect. I've yet to read any evidence that they run tournaments "well" and plenty of evidence suggesting they are completely clueless. [/QUOTE]
    Tackle69 wrote:
    anyhow there were about 200 players the last night each paying an average of €100, thats €20000, with a payout on the night of €12000..... that therefore leaves €8000 for the company of which a rough estimate for wages must be in the region of €2000,

Maybe if they had dealers, but they don't, and you certainly don't need hoards of people running around giving out chips. For a self deal tournament they appear to be grossly overstaffed. Any tournament that takes 20% of the prizepool and has no dealers is a ripoff.
    Tackle69 wrote:
    there is also transport, spot prizes (including a poker table worth a cool €700)

Nope the spot prizes are sponsored.
    Tackle69 wrote:
    and possible rent of the venue etc etc. Lets not forget that this is a profit making organisation....
    they also probably have to raise funds for the grand final worth €10000....

Why do they have to raise money for this? Is it a freeroll? Aren't they giving out tickets for it as part of the prizepool.
    Tackle69 wrote:
    Maybe the prize fund could have been greater, but not that much....

If should be bigger by about €6,000. If you finish high in the money that's a serious dent in your winnings. First probably got atleast 50 buy-ins lesss that what he should have been paid.

Lplate wrote:
    So well run in fact that on a board of 77AAx the TD awarded the hand to AQ over A9 because of kicker!!!

LOL! What's wrong with that? :rolleyes:

Tackle69 wrote:
    I went into the event in Killarney on friday night, i found the event enjoyable and well run.... i can't say that i found any real delays with the staff collecting chips etc either,

Of course there were no delays in taken money off you....they are good at that.And if you read the thread in full you will see that they have/had 14 staff and no dealers,so I would hope there was no delay in taken your money.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

Lplate wrote:
    So well run in fact that on a board of 77AAx the TD awarded the hand to AQ over A9 because of kicker!!! Excellent I say! Also, if you are happy paying 40% rake to these thieves then that is absolutely your right and they are right to keep taking it!

No, seriously. You are takin' the p!ss here, aren't you?

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭tacker

i went to the one in naas a few weeks ago.after an hour it was clear it was being run by cowboys.blinds go up every twenty mins till the break.no rebuys after the break and the blinds go up every 15 mins.then they bring in antes.seems to me that they just wanted to take all the money and then finish it as quick as possible.surely the blinds should stay at regular intervals.i know they wont be getting my money again

Culchie wrote:

And if you can't see that, you can't be much of a poker player either, as it's most obvious case -EV you'll ever see.

On what basis do you make the assumption that i'm not much of a poker player? On the fact that i disagree with you and you don't like it?
    Maybe if they had dealers, but they don't

They only had dealers for the last few tables.... i agree though, they should have had them throughout....
    i went to the one in naas a few weeks ago.after an hour it was clear it was being run by cowboys.blinds go up every twenty mins till the break.no rebuys after the break and the blinds go up every 15 mins.then they bring in antes.seems to me that they just wanted to take all the money and then finish it as quick as possible.surely the blinds should stay at regular intervals.i know they wont be getting my money again

Its a simple fact that blinds have to go up and antes brought in if needed, or it would never end.... i was there until 4 o clock the last night as it was......

whoops.....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Tackle69 wrote:
    On what basis do you make the assumption that i'm not much of a poker player? On the fact that i disagree with you and you don't like it?
    QUOTE]

As he explained he makes the assumption based on the fact that no poker player would play in this event as it has a negative expected value (-EV)
    By that he means that you will not be able to beat the tournament often enough to beat the excessive rake

Below is taken from Daniel Negreanu's blog. It could be somehting like this that made the TD at Celtic Poker made such a bad decision - unless I am missing something really stupid - in which case I am sorry and please delete this reply!

Ted called the turn and the river brought another 6, for a final board 6-6-4-A-6. I checked and made it rather obvious (at least to me) that I didn’t like that card. I figured that my A-Q was probably in the lead, unless of course Ted had A-K.

A-Q against A-K on this board is a............anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bmc

azzeretti wrote:
    A-Q against A-K on this board is a............anyone?

...tie!

Which means AQ is not in the lead.

Tackle69 wrote:

No, on the basis that you obviously can't work out what is good value, and what is bad value.
    If your calculations are so far flawed that you can't work out that a 40% rake is bad value a few days later, and after receiving a few hints on this thread (unanimous, I might add) .... what chance have you got to make a decision on how many outs you have to draw to the nuts within a few seconds?

bmc wrote:
    ...tie!

Which means AQ is not in the lead.
    Yeah, i know. But if Daniel can get something as stupid as this wrong maybe we are going a little hard on the Celtic Poker tour?

........or maybe not?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Tackle69, compared to tha vast majority of other non-casino tournaments being run around the country the CPT tournament is very bad value. It might seem reasonably well run but compared to others it's nothing special.

Therefore one of the reasons CPT are open for criticism is they aren't trying to compete with their rivals.
    So while it might seem like a good night out for you with the chance to win some cash at the end of it, after playing some cards and having a laugh, it's financially not worth it compared to other tournaments.

Everyone keep their opinions nice and polite please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bmc

azzeretti wrote:
    Yeah, i know. But if Daniel can get something as stupid as this wrong maybe we are going a little hard on the Celtic Poker tour?

........or maybe not?:D

But according to your quote, he didn't get it wrong. His AQ wouldn't be in the lead if Ted had AK.

Sorry I'm a facetious one. :)