Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic Poker Tour: Quick update

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭JustMac

I think the Poker Events tournie starts at 7.30 while Celtic Poker Tour starts at 6pm. I think what I would do is turn up at the celtic poker tour and try to do a head count or somehow figure out how many are playing and if 100 or less then it would be worth playing in it, otherwise Poker Events tournie.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭patmac

Hi there is a tournament in the Shamrock lodge for the next three Thursdays and every second Thursday after that. It s part of the Irish poker championship with 100% of the prizepool paid out to the players.
    It's a 50 plus 15 NL holdem with one rebuy only @ 50 plus 10.
    See pokerevents.ie for full details.
    what time does your tournament start at.

• Registered Users Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

19.30 for registration with cards dealt @ 20.00 sharp.
    100% prizepool payout with trained croupiers @ every table.

Hi
    Played my first tourney in Athlone last night what would you do?
    3 and half hours in. last 25 players,
    Player A 7h 8h
    Player B (chip Leader)
    €5000 in pot
    Flop 4h 5h kh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

patmac wrote:
    Hi
    Played my first tourney in Athlone last night what would you do?
    3 and half hours in. last 25 players,
    Player A 7h 8h
    Player B (chip Leader)
    €5000 in pot
    Flop 4h 5h kh

Jamorama.

chip leader had 9h 10h got busted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

patmac wrote:
    chip leader had 9h 10h got busted

Which game did you play, Pokerevents or Celtic Poker Tour?

You were unlucky in the hand. In tougher games you probably wouldn't be involved with a hand like 78s, but in these sort of games the money is going in, end of story.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Hi Guys

I know what you have all said about how bad Celtic Poker tours is but its in Dundalk tonight and thinking of giving it a go.

From anyone who has played in this and knows the format. Any advice you would like to offer ?

OPR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 WMeathCool

Hey OPR,

Im not sure what company these jizz monkeys work for but they are obviously scared of celtic poker tour. I didnt get to make it to the mullingar event and when i read this thread the next day i was glad. But when i saw they were in Athlone last week, curiosity got the better of me. I went along and had a fantastic night. I didnt win, but, jesus they put on a fantastic night. They did do a chip race and the balancing of tables wasnt that annoying at all. Go along and make up your own mind. These bloody blogs would do your head in. I only joined today cause i felt that strongly about the ****e these guys have been coming out with.

heres a link to another thread here where the posts (except those from theses guys) are all relevant and positive.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=303512&highlight=celtic+poker+tour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

WMeathcool you are a moron. If you think someone like CPT would not care about what posters in this forum think why do poker events and Paddy Power maintain a presence here? CPT were emailed with a link to this thread and obviously reacted, although they did not care to post here in their defence. So now, because they have improved their setup, you have a pleasant experience, probably partly because of the original posters in this thread and you come on here and start shooting your mouth off with an ill thought arguement. I am also an accountant, and there are several other posters who are accountants, and one of those (Jem) also organises tournaments, so please do not tell us of the costs involved, we all have a pretty good idea. I am usually the first to defend these companies setting up tournies outside Dublin, and do not think they can be reasonably expected to compete with the same reg as Dublin casino's but the report on the first tournie was condemning, and it was from a regular poster who I have not met in person, but he has always come across as a fair person on this forum before. I think your attitude has been lousy throughout this thread and you should be showing gratitude for the improvement as oppossed to ill thought scorn!

Which game did you play, Pokerevents or Celtic Poker Tour?

You were unlucky in the hand. In tougher games you probably wouldn't be involved with a hand like 78s, but in these sort of games the money is going in, end of story.

It was a learning curve, I was the big blind, and there was already 5000 in the pot so I tried to get the pot quickly, as it was my first game I was just looking for reassurance that I did the right thing. But overall I thought the tournament was very well run although there was only 57 players, I drove past the Raddisson where the Celtic tour was on and it seemed packed, a very enjoyable night looking forward to next week.

patmac wrote:
    It was a learning curve, I was the big blind, and there was already 5000 in the pot so I tried to get the pot quickly, as it was my first game I was just looking for reassurance that I did the right thing. But overall I thought the tournament was very well run although there was only 57 players, I drove past the Raddisson where the Celtic tour was on and it seemed packed, a very enjoyable night looking forward to next week.

You did absolutely nothing wrong. When I said that you probably wouldn't be involved with 78s in a tougher game, I meant that you would probably be faced with a raise/re-raise, and might have to throw it away. Best of luck in your next game!

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

I`ve played one of these tournaments and ta be honest had not experienced one as being this well run...however i had done my calculations and worked out on average 100 euro per player multiplied by 220..savage profit when they only give back 10k... the prizes are 5k...2k...1k... and then feck all for the next 7 finishers....i got knocked out with 3 tables left with a bad beat on the river (flush v 3 aces(heart breaking lol) and then proceeded in playing a side table of 50 euros a player and 5 euro for the house as they say it... calmly as i liked won the side game and recieved 300 euro for my trouble and the 2nd 150 euro and third 50euro... then i talked to a guy who finished 6th played tournament poker for 5 hours + and recieved the same as myself who only had to beat nine at a side table where as he had already lasted longer that 223 other players and recieved this feale reward...doesnt make sense really does it. These tournaments are only beneficial if ya can win em but because there is so many bad players playin in them that the odds are that they will catch some sort of lucky break and knock a good player(s) out leaving the odds of winning very high. Does anyone have a solution cos i`m from aouth wicklow and travelling long distances for good games like in the big casinos is only a novelty that i can do every little once in a while...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭Washout

do they also charge a fee on top of your buy in as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭anthony112

hi, ive been reading your threads and was wondering if these competitions are worth going to once and for all as they are running two consecutive events in ballina this weekend and next.
    any information will be greatly appreciated
    P.S I play on pokerstars and was wondering if the rumours are true that it is one of the hardest sites to win on.
    thank you. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

Yeah you pay 50+5 and its 25 for 2 buy backs and 25 for a top up....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Washout wrote:
    do they also charge a fee on top of your buy in as well?

There is no breakdown of their fees. The €5 reg fee is irrelevent because they've been paying out out less that 50% of money taken in which includes buyin+reg+rebuys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 blake7

been to mullingar thurles carlow and kilkenny cpt nights. cant believe such bad press on this site. i really enjoyed it. it might not be for the sunglass brigade who think they know it all but its perfect for players trying to improve their game.as regards prize money etc take note that in kilkenny there were less than a hundred players and they gave out over ten grand. fair play.

blake7 wrote:
    been to mullingar thurles carlow and kilkenny cpt nights.

blake7 wrote:
    it might not be for the sunglass brigade who think they know it all

Nobody here claims to know it all, but there are players who have more experience of what makes a good tournament, so they at least know better.
    blake7 wrote:
    but its perfect for players trying to improve their game.

I have to disagree with you here. Firstly, the structure is too tight to allow any real play once the freezeout period begins. It becomes a crapshoot, where skill goes out the window. Secondly, the standard is generally too low for anyone to learn anything of importance. You need to play against better opposition to improve; I think that's something that holds true for any sport.
    blake7 wrote:
    as regards prize money etc take note that in kilkenny there were less than a hundred players and they gave out over ten grand. fair play.

Fair enough, so they're making a loss at some events. That still doesn't make their higher-turnout tournaments good value. It's a lot harder to win a 250-player event than a 100-player event, but the prize money is the same for both in capped prize pools.
    blake7 wrote:
    been to mullingar thurles carlow and kilkenny cpt nights.

Out of curiousity, if you're willing to travel big distances to follow this crowd around, why not play in the casinos in Dublin? You will learn a lot more, and be getting much better value for you money.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Fair play to you Lenny for giving a reasonable response but I'd bet a box of smokes that blake7 is involved in CPT in some way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭jem

lafortezza wrote:
    Fair play to you Lenny for giving a reasonable response but I'd bet a box of smokes that blake7 is involved in CPT in some way.
    And I would raise you three as I am sure of it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

jem wrote:
    And I would raise you three as I am sure of it.

And I will go all in....I have heard nothing good about this crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 blake7

Dub13 wrote:
    And I will go all in....I have heard nothing good about this crowd.

no i am not involved in any way. having said that yourself and lenny seem very tight and defensive. are ye mabey from a rival holdem set up? the plot thickens. anyway five of us heading to waterford from athy tonight so cant be all bad. experience it for yourself and then make your own mind up .

• Registered Users Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

To be honest i think everyone has to make up thier own minds on this one. I do agree that alot of the events do represent bad value for money.

But i was at the one in Dundalk and was near enough to registration time seem to be just over a hundred so decided it was worth a shot. By the time we started i think thier was 140 so not too bad.

Had a great time and was really well run that night.

What did spoil my night was doing really well got a chance to almost double my 85k with an all in call from another person for a about 56k and i call with AK.

Had AK vs AQ before the flop ............. needless to say i lost and tilted big time after that :(

Opr

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

Blake you have just proved to me what i have been hearing, I was told that 30-40 guys are following this thing around, you are more than likely all from the same place as the Celtic crowd. The guy played in athlone and was very angry about the way the regular guys were playing, ie working together!
    Its not 25's partners you are playing!!
    And of course the story of Mullingar with 250 playing and only 10k paid out. I have not played in any of the tournaments and i doubt i will, so i will admit i am going only on what others have told me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

blake7 wrote:
    no i am not involved in any way. having said that yourself and lenny seem very tight and defensive. are ye mabey from a rival holdem set up? the plot thickens. anyway five of us heading to waterford from athy tonight so cant be all bad. experience it for yourself and then make your own mind up .

Lenny and Dub 13 are long time posters here, and we are all aware that neither of them have a rival to CPT on the go. In fact Lenny has been calling for people to bring poker to the midlands for some time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭lolkelly

I think from what I have read that many people who have said that CPT is well run etc. are novices when it comes to playing poker live. As a result they have no experience to go off or anything to compare it to. Also since its probably one of their first live events the whole idea of playing live poker against strangers, winnings pots for the first time etc. goes to thier heads and they dont really think about how they are being ripped off . The blind structure seems crazy to me especially towards the end but people who play in this probably dont care if they make the last couple of tables. They are just happy to have a story to tell to thier friends etc. These people see events like this just as fun really with little expectations. A weekend in the fitz or merrion or heading to a PokerEvents tourney would surely seem them change their ways

just my 2cents

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

I remember the first event I went to was in the merrion (irish winter tourney 2003).we were thrilled they had real tables and when we found out there was dealers as well we couldn’t believe it. Uncontrollable shaking when I hit my first big hand against Noel furlong.neadless to say he didnt pay me off.

blake7 wrote:

I'm not involved with any other set-up.

I haven't much more to offer to this thread; I'm just repeating myself at this stage. It's very possible that the tournaments are much better run at this stage, but the first one definately wasn't. And if it is better run, I'm sure this forum has had a lot to do with it, as was pointed out in another post. But as far as I can see, the structure hasn't changed, and the prizepool is still capped, so it's just not a good tournament for anybody who's serious about the game.

Blake7, please answer one question for me: Apart from CPT, what other live tournaments have you attended? The people who are defending CPT are either affiliated with them, or have no experience of any other live tournament.