Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭JCarey70

4 hero - Burning

http://www.mediafire.com/?5nnddtkhm3a

808 state - cubik.mp3

http://www.mediafire.com/?8zw3iimydww

Orbital - Belfast

http://www.mediafire.com/?bkoqt55mzzn

Exit E - Epidemic (Straight from Heaven mix)

http://www.mediafire.com/?difzi2i30mn

N-joy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

stephen_n wrote:
    Was that the night the generator broke down half way through can't really remember who was playing that night was a wee bit the worse for wear. Just remember laying on the hill while they carried the new generator passed me and wondering where they were going with the coffin :D
    Nice1 Stephen, Yip.. thats the night ok. Remember the smoke machine?... well it wasn't a machine as such, just one giant bonfire :) - Two 'Moonflower' light-rigs also in the top windows,... well again, there was no windows, just two holes in the wall. :) - There was only two 'tents' in the whole field... ours was the orange one shaped like a bell.
    The gardai came (5 cars if I remember right ) and took one look at us all, then left us to it. I recall waking up the in the morning to the sound of a solo TB-303 just playing on a constant loop for about a half hour, Boing - Dwerwing - awsome stuff. We all did a bit and cleaned the place up the next morning, bagged all the rubbish and debris from the bonfire, we left the place cleaner than when we found it. Then the following Sunday it was on the front page of the sunday world, - Some 'youngbuck' reporter decided to make a story from it, He through the rubbish back all over the shop, took some photos and gave the whole night a bad write-up. Sh*t like that gets on my goat.

FAO - Yo! Jayc - D.A.Ts Great Stuff. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭turks

IceBox wrote:
    MAD OR WHA!!??:D

asylum.jpg
    :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Kaos23

Trying to upload a mix for the first time ever and man it takes a long time!!!I'll be back when it's done.

Gen:FX wrote:
    FAO - Yo! Jayc - D.A.Ts Great Stuff. :)

Good stuff, glad you're happy with it. Any joy with "Anxiety" :confused:

Relatively new kids on the block, but be warned, this is not for the weak hearted happy clubber, rather this is for the kind of people who come home broken from a night (or a few nights if you're 'Steve N') on the tiles and all you want to do is GOOF OUT and chill with a mega spl*ff.

Read what Boomcat says about them first:

http://www.boomkat.com/item.cfm?id=17096

Then if you like the review download the EP here:

http://www.mediafire.com/?2ju2hxjm2d4

Well worth having in your arsenal of chill out vibes :D

JCarey70 wrote:
    No worries Caff. I'll be up later with said items. Yes my ears are well and trully scrubbed :D I love goofin off to a good book in the bath :)

Yo Kaos, would love one or two of those Spiral mixes if you can u/l them.

Will post more "tunage" for the massive later :)

Finally I have managed to upload something. It's IXI from teknival in Czech republic in August 94. This is the B side I'll get the A side up tomorrow. It takes forever is there any way to make it faster??
    http://www.mediafire.com/?1kmw1wma0za

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 djsk

Kaos23 wrote:
    LOL I missed out an n in the first thanks I'll bet if it was an E I would have got it in there!! anyone know the name of the tune on Mick Walsh gravity hooked on classics at 18.50 minutes with the "thin line between genius and insanity" sample and if anyone knows it where can I get a good clean version of it. It was the tune to send me over the edge in sides!

GOOD TUNE, HAS ANYONE GOT TIME TO PUT UP ANY MICK WALSH TAPES FOR ME??
    SPECTRUM, GRAVITY TAPES PREFERABLY!

Kaos23 wrote:
    Finally I have managed to upload something. It's IXI from teknival in Czech republic in August 94. This is the B side I'll get the A side up tomorrow. It takes forever is there any way to make it faster??

That's some size file you go there. The only explanantion I can think of as to why its so big is because its absolutley jam packed with beats and noise. No let up at all. I don't think you can compress it any more than it is in it's current format. Unless they come up with somthing better than MP3.

djsk wrote:
    GOOD TUNE, HAS ANYONE GOT TIME TO PUT UP ANY MICK WALSH TAPES FOR ME??
    SPECTRUM, GRAVITY TAPES PREFERABLY!

If you browse back through this thread alone you'll find loads posted up.

DUB1 wrote:
    STARTED CONVERTING ALL MY TAPES LAST YR,HAV LOADS OF MY OWEN ED CASE,WARREN K,THYME,DILLY,PRESSURE,MICK WALSH,CASPER,COLIN DALY & MORE HAV A LOAD LIVE @ ASYLUMA FEW @ SIDES I RIPPED A LOAD OF MINE OWEN BUT ALSO GOT LOADS OF SENAN,ACEBERG,STEPEN N & OTHER PPL,I ALSO HAV PRESSURE BREAKBEAT/UK HARDCORE MIX'S FROM 92ISH I HAV 2 RIP THEM AGAIN THERE LIK DAT WARREN BREAKBEAT MIX U POSTED ANYWAY HERES
    IGNORANCE 2 SIDEA
    http://www.mediafire.com/?azjijlxniil
    SIDE B
    http://www.mediafire.com/?bdymzvdj5mo

HI MATE. IM LOOKIN FOR MICK WALSH TAPES CUD U HELP ME OUT?

stephen_n wrote:
    Cheers for that Gen am downloading it now will have a listen and let you know. :D

heres a list of most of tapes i have on mp3 if there are any you's are lookin 4

HI STE IM LOOKIN FOR
    Keep Your Eyes open (Mick Walsh)
    Gravity 17 (Mick Walsh)
    Gravity 2 (Mick Walsh)

IF IT NO HASSLE!!
    please mate..

Kaos23 wrote:
    The file you upped kaos is encoded @320kbps thats why it's a whopper and took so long. The file itself is a Stereo (2 channels left & right) recording, but the actual music that is recorded on it is in MONO (1 single channel spread out over 2 channels L&R) so it's really taking up unnecessary space. If you re-encoded the file to a single mono channel @128kbps / 44.1khz / 16 bit, it would only be 28Megabytes in size and would sound exactly the same (trust me ;). For reference an average u/l is Stereo / 128kbps / 44.1khz / 16bit - (I like my 256k though, it's worth it in the long run if the original file is crisp and clear) 320Kbps is for Hi Quality / crisp clean sound, but as you can hear IXI file it's not close to that (no offence intended 2u buddy at all)

I did a quick clean-up of the file earlier, filtered some bits, added a tiny bit of spatial expansion, edited the blank bits, tagged and bagged it. The file at the minute is 43MB in size, psuedo Stereo / 128kbps / 44.1Khz / 16bit. - I'll u/l it 2moro so you can review it. It's not an awsome cleaning job, as re-working an existing 'mono' MP3 is never a good bet. Having said all that, it's a good set, thanks for the U/L. - IXIinDAmix - Spiral Bits on de'Tube http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Spiral+Tribe&search=Search

Click my sig below, jump to the site and get your self the 100% FREE Super Encoder from the software link (25MB) and have a little play about with it for the SIDE A of IXI, it will come in very useful and its ultra-easy to use, kind'a silly really. - all the best Kaos.

Yo! DJSK, Welcome to the crib, you'll discover you know a few of the lads around here, (and thanks for the plastic, Im playing some tunes from it as I type. :p ) - cool stuff.

Yo! JayC - I doubt if I'll get to do the tape till early next week, I have a moxy lot of stuff to do for the weekend. :( - I hope i can remember where the fook I put it... LMAO. ;)

I'm of to La-La Land now... g'nite folks.

I saw these two in Sides DC back in 87.... ROTFL.
    Electronik Supersonik - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91GXpXidNNw

Check this out lads and listen to the words, phooken genius thats all I can say. - ''QUOTE'' All systems gone, prepare for down count ? fasten your belt seats, 5,4,3, ??, 1 Off Blast - holy lampin jayzus, I think he's miming on the keyboard aswell, check the close-up shots of his hands @1:12sec ... it's a classic.

And the A side is now done. You are right JCarey it's prety jam packed with beats alright.Wicked acid tekno hope you like it.
    http://www.mediafire.com/?2mnqmzgomtn

Gen:FX wrote:
    The file you upped kaos is encoded @320kbps thats why it's a whopper and took so long. The file itself is a Stereo (2 channels left & right) recording, but the actual music that is recorded on it is in MONO (1 single channel spread out over 2 channels L&R) so it's really taking up unnecessary space. If you re-encoded the file to a single mono channel @128kbps / 44.1khz / 16 bit, it would only be 28Megabytes in size and would sound exactly the same (trust me ;). For reference an average u/l is Stereo / 128kbps / 44.1khz / 16bit - (I like my 256k though, it's worth it in the long run if the original file is crisp and clear) 320Kbps is for Hi Quality / crisp clean sound, but as you can hear IXI file it's not close to that (no offence intended 2u buddy at all)

I did a quick clean-up of the file earlier, filtered some bits, added a tiny bit of spatial expansion, edited the blank bits, tagged and bagged it. The file at the minute is 43MB in size, psuedo Stereo / 128kbps / 44.1Khz / 16bit. - I'll u/l it 2moro so you can review it. It's not an awsome cleaning job, as re-working an existing 'mono' MP3 is never a good bet. Having said all that, it's a good set, thanks for the U/L. - IXIinDAmix - Spiral Bits on de'Tube http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Spiral+Tribe&search=Search

Click my sig below, jump to the site and get your self the 100% FREE Super Encoder from the software link (25MB) and have a little play about with it for the SIDE A of IXI, it will come in very useful and its ultra-easy to use, kind'a silly really. - all the best Kaos.

Yo! DJSK, Welcome to the crib, you'll discover you know a few of the lads around here, (and thanks for the plastic, Im playing some tunes from it as I type. :p ) - cool stuff.

Yo! JayC - I doubt if I'll get to do the tape till early next week, I have a moxy lot of stuff to do for the weekend. :( - I hope i can remember where the fook I put it... LMAO. ;)

I'm of to La-La Land now... g'nite folks.

Wow Gen it's 8.30am ish and I'm strugglin to take all that in. I recorded that tape yesterday afternoon and uploaded it last night first time for both. There was me thinking I was after making a major technology break through and then you hit me with "tagged","filtered", "edited" and "bagged" I'll have a look at the encoder you reccomended and see if I can create enough "spatial expansion" in my brain to figure it out. No offence taken at all gen I just went to bed all chuffed with myself having managed to give something back and now I gotta ignore what I just figured out how to do and learn again. No worries I'll have a crack and see how I go. Thanks
    Check this myspace site dedicated to the spirals.There is some footage of loads of spiral parties and loads of good videos.
    http://www.myspace.com/spiraltribe

So much for my MP3 explanation. You go Caff :D No worries with the tape, JUST DON'T FOOKIN LOOSE IT :eek:

KAOS you might know this. What is the name of the Spiral Tribe track that has the sample of Nancy in Nightmare on Elm's Street saying: "I'm crazy after all"? I had the 12" but like most of them I can't place the bleedin names :(

Wicked Spiral space you posted, brilliant stuff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭evoblade

JCarey70 wrote:
    Relatively new kids on the block, but be warned, this is not for the weak hearted happy clubber, rather this is for the kind of people who come home broken from a night (or a few nights if you're 'Steve N') on the tiles and all you want to do is GOOF OUT and chill with a mega spl*ff.

Read what Boomcat says about them first:

http://www.boomkat.com/item.cfm?id=17096

Then if you like the review download the EP here:

http://www.mediafire.com/?2ju2hxjm2d4

Well worth having in your arsenal of chill out vibes :D

here's a nice chillout tune,got a savage break in it,a bit on the funky side of things but the break makes this tune for me
    http://www.mediafire.com/?amujmzemoyg
    gen i just saw the pm you left,have been fairly busy myself havnt had a chance to check up on things,whenever you get a chance is fine there is no rush watsoever,thanks man,im in firhouse so we can sort somethin out whenever!! thanks again:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭evoblade

another couple of downtempo tunes for the afterhours!!

Rhythm & Sound
    Never Tell You
    http://www.mediafire.com/?8nzmmnot5xm

Flirt
    The Horn
    http://www.mediafire.com/?fhttqtxm2m0:D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

djsk wrote:
    stephen_n wrote:
    Cheers for that Gen am downloading it now will have a listen and let you know. :D

heres a list of most of tapes i have on mp3 if there are any you's are lookin 4

HI STE IM LOOKIN FOR
    Keep Your Eyes open (Mick Walsh)
    Gravity 17 (Mick Walsh)
    Gravity 2 (Mick Walsh)

IF IT NO HASSLE!!
    please mate..

did you check out my post a few pages back it defo has keep your eyes open and the other gravity tapes I have aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 discostevo

Howya lads. First time posting thought I've been downloading some of the stuff you've put up here for all to enjoy. Fair play to everyone who's posted.

Came across this site when I went looking for info on the Shaft/Kitchen reunion night that happened last year. I used to love Shaft back in the days before sprogs and living in the sticks took over!!

I saw someone say they had a few Casper tapes from back then and I'd love to get my mitts on any of them that I can. I picked up Luvspunge's Sexual Healing off one post (can't remember which) so a big thank you to whoever stuck it up, it's nearly brought a tear to the eye on each of the 50 or so times I've played it since I picked it up.

I don't have a lot to offer in exchange there's a decent Zoom compilation mixed by Billy Nasty with a few mid 90s tracks (secrets of meditation, vinyl blair etc) if anyone's interested. Other than that, I'll have to dig deep to find anything to impress you old heads!!

Many thanks for the uploads anyway.;)

Kaos23 wrote:
    Wow Gen it's 8.30am ish and I'm strugglin to take all that in. I recorded that tape yesterday afternoon and uploaded it last night first time for both. No offence taken at all gen I just went to bed all chuffed with myself having managed to give something back and now I gotta ignore what I just figured out how to do and learn again. No worries I'll have a crack and see how I go. Thanks
    You have indeed made a break through, no doubt about it and a big-up-2-ya Kaos. It was pretty late (4:45am) when i posted my reply to u, (my first attempt went bonky after the boards.ie server when down when i first posted, so had to re-type the lot) - I just wanted to explain your question, how you can 'quicken' your uploading. Remember too that sometimes Mediafire will fail at the last hurdle, so posting a large file can be a dis-hearting experience. Them 'digits' I posted will be something you'll come accross all the time, so it's good to know what they are. - Again, you should be chuffed with yourself, you've got the hard part nailed. Things will get easier from now.
    PS. sometimes I go off on a techie-ramble, but it's all good. ;) - I'll up that file later, just passing through at the minute. c-yiz-all later. :)

YO! JayC... Dont worry, I know where the tape is, I just gott'a wait till Buzz (thats my jack russel) ..eh... passes it. He's due a drop anytime now... lol. :rolleyes:

JCarey70 wrote:
    So much for my MP3 explanation. You go Caff :D No worries with the tape, JUST DON'T FOOKIN LOOSE IT :eek:

KAOS you might know this. What is the name of the Spiral Tribe track that has the sample of Nancy in Nightmare on Elm's Street saying: "I'm crazy after all"? I had the 12" but like most of them I can't place the bleedin names :(

Wicked Spiral space you posted, brilliant stuff...

JC I know the tune but I'm trying to place it is it the one with the "you sniviling little worm" sample at the start?

Gen a quick techie question for ya...Can I change the bit rate on mp3's that I have already recorded and can I use the software off your site to clean them some bit? Also if I record them into my pc as .wav files can I clean them before I rip them into mp3 format?

Kaos23 wrote:
    Gen a quick techie question for ya...Can I change the bit rate on mp3's that I have already recorded and can I use the software off your site to clean them some bit? Also if I record them into my pc as .wav files can I clean them before I rip them into mp3 format?
    Yes, you can change the bitrate of an mp3 (or any other format) using the software link from my site (Super Encoder). The encoder DOES NOT clean files, its simply an encoder. You will need an audio editor to enhance and edit the audio if it needs some work. Here's that example I told you about. It's the exact file you u/ld, I encoded it down to 56kbps (kilo bytes per second) from the original (107MB) 320kbps file. http://www.mediafire.com/?a2ydyjdq0iw - Now the file is only 18MB in size (also includes embedded artwork), and sounds pretty much the same. Have a listen and tell me what you make of it. It's small enough (bitrate wise) to stream from a website aswell. ;) - (Mediafire is on the blink, so try get the file later)

About the *wav.
    You should always record a file to your PC in *wav format and think of this as your Master-Copy (44.1khz / 16 bit / stereo). This keeps the quality high enough to import to your audio editor from where you can run some cleaning tools, edit start and end points and do some other funky stuff. When your happy with the results, save it / overwrite the same *wav file - THEN you can output it to ANY format / bitrate of you choice using the Super Encoder. Trying to work / clean / edit an MP3 directly in an audio editor is not a good idea, as there is simply not enough 'DATA' (frequency range) in the file for the audio editors tools to work there magic.

Encodig an MP3 directly to another bitrate is a shortcut and normally leaves some artifacts (noise) in the file. The best thing to do is to re-format to *wav, import it to your audio editor, clean it if need, THEN encode it to MP3 at whatever bitrate you want. It may seem like an extra step to take, well, ok it is, but better in the long term, as I say, If somethings worth doing - best to do it right first time around.

So we are talkin sound forge are we? and then I need to pull a ten week sickie to get some serious work done!!

Kaos23 wrote:
    So we are talkin sound forge are we? and then I need to pull a ten week sickie to get some serious work done!!
    Yip, thats the puppy - soundforge.. do you us it?
    Naw, no need to pull a sickie, just hand in your notice... hehe.

discostevo wrote:
    Howya lads. First time posting..... I don't have a lot to offer in exchange .... I'll have to dig deep to find anything to impress you old heads!! Many thanks for the uploads anyway.;)
    Welcome discosteve,... the older the tune the better, - no panic with u/l's. Anything pre 97 normally hits the spot. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 eoinaldhino

yo refuzzdabuzz (or genfx)

yeah my first post aswell... i was a member for a while but forgot to activate me acount....

discostevo" (or anyone lookin for classics)
    got to http://www.rhythmfmdublin.com ....
    Go to the rhythm fm fourm and Register yourself
    it is in it early stage's and any everyones welcome...

After a while youll buld up ur tunes
    AND IF YOU LOOKIN FOR DANCE CLASSICS THI IS THE Place 2 go :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 IceBox

NO OFFENCE!!, BUT IS THIS THE STILL THE ASYLUM THREAD?

stephen_n wrote:
    djsk wrote:

did you check out my post a few pages back it defo has keep your eyes open and the other gravity tapes I have aswell

AH YEAH MAN! I GOT Eyes Open BUT CANT SEEM TO GET GRAVITY 2 OR 17!
    NICE ONE