Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

lo all, does anybody know the name of this track,or even better,does anybody have this on mp3. i think its from around 1990? and brings back some great flashbacks:D http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fIAS1-_6zEg
    http://www.mediafire.com/?2zenvzngt1m

Eh... Enjoy ! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Gen:FX wrote:

Many thanks gen:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Kaos23

Folks I just happened on this site today while I was feelin all nostalgic for the good old days of sides and the asylum and others. I've spent the day readin nearly all the threads and have been buzzin since I started. It's mental to read other people's memories of some of the best clubs ever. I was a regular in sides and the asylum around 92-94/5. I noticed that some old mick walsh Gravity mixes and loads of pressure stuff were up ages ago but the links have expired. I would give my right arm to get my hands on some of these mixes again cos I have managed to lunch them all out over the years( I'm sure I'm not the only one). If any of you wicked buzzers could put them up somewhere I would be eternally grateful. I listened to a pressure mix off Mrsprings site today and nearly cried cos it was at least 10 years since I had heard that tape. Mental fantastic memories that I thought I would never have again.Nice one.:) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Kaos23 wrote:
    Folks I just happened on this site today while I was feelin all nostalgic for the good old days of sides and the asylum and others. I've spent the day readin nearly all the threads and have been buzzin since I started. It's mental to read other people's memories of some of the best clubs ever. I was a regular in sides and the asylum around 92-94/5. I noticed that some old mick walsh Gravity mixes and loads of pressure stuff were up ages ago but the links have expired. I would give my right arm to get my hands on some of these mixes again cos I have managed to lunch them all out over the years( I'm sure I'm not the only one). If any of you wicked buzzers could put them up somewhere I would be eternally grateful. I listened to a pressure mix off Mrsprings site today and nearly cried cos it was at least 10 years since I had heard that tape. Mental fantastic memories that I thought I would never have again.Nice one.:) :D

hows things m8.i'll throw 1 r 2 up for ya and i'm sure the lads will throw some up for ya aswell.

check out this site too.ya'll get all ya want on it.

http://www.nioldskool.co.uk/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 flametop

aceberg wrote:
    hows things m8.i'll throw 1 r 2 up for ya and i'm sure the lads will throw some up for ya aswell.

check out this site too.ya'll get all ya want on it.

http://www.nioldskool.co.uk/

Ditto ace'r!
    Between here and there you'll be sorted

Nice one lads I'll keep my eyes on this board and check that link. Fair play to ya. Off to work now so I'll check in tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

here's a repost

HEV E & PARSLEY live @ the asylum with MC SMILEY(i know he would say it wasn't him, but it is)

http://www.sendspace.com/file/jgej1q

mixing ****e music good

Welcome to the Party Kaos23.

lol @ senan and the Smiley quip.. ;)

(Yo! JayC.... Where's me D.A.T and the master ???? ) - (No Panic... ;-) )

Cheers gen and nice one senan have to agree on the mixin front but wicked tunes that I havent heard for ages. Had a look at that http://www.nioldskool.co.uk/ and it looks good but do I have to post a million times before I can access the downloads section? Lookin forward to some more serious nostalgia!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 flametop

Kaos23 wrote:
    Had a look at that http://www.nioldskool.co.uk/ ... ....do I have to post a million times before I can access the downloads section?

You should have a look around the forum section. There's single track d/l's, Mixtape d/l's, Video d/l's. There is reposts of stuff there all the time :D

PRESSURE aka DJ ROB LIVE @ ASYLUM Iincandesence

http://www.sendspace.com/file/onl4by

here's another for ya m8.

HERE'S ANOTHER:

PRESSURE aka DJ ROB LIVE @ ASYLUM (TECHNICS)

http://www.sendspace.com/file/lgxo7v

You lot are legends!! Nice one all. Finding this forum is the best find I've made on the net in years. Hearin all these tunes is bringin me right back to the good old days.

Can anyone ID this tune. It's for one of the lads over @ the rhythm forum.
    http://www.mediafire.com/?dj3mfmxlndy
    It's from a DJ Dean Sherry Mix.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

Kaos23 wrote:
    You lot are legends!! Nice one all. Finding this forum is the best find I've made on the net in years. Hearin all these tunes is bringin me right back to the good old days.
    Live in the asylum 93

Hidden Part : http://www.sendspace.com/file/wu7pfd
    side a

Hidden Part : http://www.sendspace.com/file/3sy37s side b

Warren K mix 94
    Hidden Part : http://www.sendspace.com/file/coby8l side a

Hidden Part : http://www.sendspace.com/file/rlvw1a side b
    there is couple more for ya courtesy of DARAGH K from the nioldskool site if ya still have problems accessing the site, first two are warren k as well :D
    or even better go to this
    reactive1.jpg
    scan0003-1.jpg

senan s wrote:
    here's a repost

HEV E & PARSLEY live @ the asylum with MC SMILEY(i know he would say it wasn't him, but it is)

http://www.sendspace.com/file/jgej1q

mixing ****e music good
    good job on that tape senan :D say that was a hard job considering the way it was:D can any of yas possibly to a tracklisting of it , wouldnt mind getting those tracks , not change your location to arkla yet senan !?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

To save you some time here's some of the ones i've posted on NI recently so all links should be active. Just make sure to repost on NI and any other tracks or mix's you have for as they say sharing is caring. Enjoy :D

Edcase Live in the Asylum May 94
    http://www.mediafire.com/?emtzm1vjm01

Dilly 93 (b)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?2nmymymnn3e

Dilly 93 (a)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ehnmzmwywgj

Dilly 1
    http://www.mediafire.com/?1qzm5aiutmm

Dilly 2
    http://www.mediafire.com/?4mjv1immyw4

Gravity 1
    Side (a)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ayewwymjnoy
    Side (b)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?6uuwyjjzjz5

M+M Volume 2
    Side (a)
    Hidden Part : http://www.mediafire.com/?dyhztzttjmz
    Side (b)
    Hidden Part : http://www.mediafire.com/?2tygotogmmm

Thyme the Heaveyweight sessions
    side (a)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?8oymmlgd3dm

Side (b)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?8ex2mtkjmyn

Thyme Powerhouse
    side(a)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ddjtkyimwon
    Side (b)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?dinmenr1qjv

Gravity Hooked on Classics 1
    http://www.mediafire.com/?8ygoilehzzo

Espionage
    http://www.mediafire.com/?cilfmhl2gmo

Keep Your Eyes Open
    http://www.mediafire.com/?cilfmhl2gmo

Mick Walsh and Thyme Live @ Sides
    http://www.mediafire.com/?0mmikmhuwkw

Mick Walsh and Thyme Live @ sides 2
    http://www.mediafire.com/?0404z54gwzd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭JCarey70

(Yo! JayC.... Where's me D.A.T and the master ???? ) - (No Panic... ;-) )

Will txt ya/

Welcome Kaos :)

Folks not too sure how to thank you guys enough for the ammount of pleasure you have given me by putting these mixes up. All day I've been buzzing off tunes that only existed in my head for the last 14 years. It's mental hearing them again after all this time. Derra the gig in Dublin sounds wicked but I'm off to Cork to see IXI from spiral tribe doing a live PA saturday night for a big re-union with the possee. Hope its a good one for everyone though cos the line up looks wicked. Stephen you have no idea how much I wanted to hear the Gravity Hooked on classics, I could remember each track but had not heard the tape since I was a boy. Thaks thanks thanks!!!!

LOL I missed out an n in the first thanks I'll bet if it was an E I would have got it in there!! anyone know the name of the tune on Mick Walsh gravity hooked on classics at 18.50 minutes with the "thin line between genius and insanity" sample and if anyone knows it where can I get a good clean version of it. It was the tune to send me over the edge in sides!

Kaos23 wrote:
    LOL I missed out an n in the first thanks I'll bet if it was an E I would have got it in there!! anyone know the name of the tune on Mick Walsh gravity hooked on classics at 18.50 minutes with the "thin line between genius and insanity" sample and if anyone knows it where can I get a good clean version of it. It was the tune to send me over the edge in sides!
    if ya go to the nioldskool or rythmfm sites and ask for it you will get that track in the mp3 track download sections ,unfortunate your goin to cork on sat. senan off this site and nioldskool is organising it and does be a trip down memory lane big time:D wreck the gaffe:eek:

would love to make the trip to capital city but the oldskool acid tekno spiral tribe stylee callin me bigtime. IXI blew me apart in Czech in 94 and I have to see her in Ireland. She is to me everything I love about illegal acid tekno (mental,up for it and tallented) and she remains the only DJ to ever make me cry with her tunage.... 1st rebirth as the sound system was being broken down after 5 days non stop madness in a field....it was the most beautiful and sad thing i ever heard granted I was totally munted. Anyway go mental in Isaac Butts on saturday and make sure someone records it for the likes of me who wont be there.

Kaos23 wrote:

Formosa OD on the Groove

http://www.fileden.com/files/2006/12/15/513451/12%20O.D.%20On%20Groove%20%28Extended%20Club%20Mix%29.mp3

There's (was) a thin line between genius and insanity in MW's gaff. ;)
    Track Title - O.D on Groove - Artist Name - Formosa.
    http://www.mediafire.com/?2glnjmmmyne - (it's a decent clean copy too)

Your a lucky whoor going to see the 'Tribe' - Last time I saw them was at the hell fire club in the Wicklow mountains back in 93 (i think) .. (Did You go ? ) - I went with warren, snaxer and a few others from the posse. Spiral Tribe in the EIRE.. (as opposed to the AREA :cool: )

We even had a full breakfast the next morning, ( there was a field of free mushies right next to us, :o ) - Anyway, enjoy the tune.

Breech the peace, break the barrier, make some f*ckin' noise. !!
    (PS) any chance you can bring some photos back from the gig your hitting?

YO! JayC - I ran outt'a credit tonight, sorry I didnt get back to ya' - I hope you washed behing your ears... ;-)

Nice one Gen and stephen what a tune! I was at the Hellfire club alright not too sure if it was 92 or 93 there is about 7 years there that all merge into one good time. I have a flyer here somewhere burried in a load of old stuff I'll put it up if I ever find it. I'll do my level best to get some pics at gig but I'm notoriously bad at getting stuff like that together I generally lose camera's and stuff but I might appoint a "photographer" for the evening and I'm trying to get a recording. I have loads of old spiral mixes and live sets if you lot are interested I'll put them up over the next couple of days.

Ooops :)

YO! JayC - I ran outt'a credit tonight, sorry I didnt get back to ya' ]] - I hope you washed behing your ears... ;-)

No worries Caff. I'll be up later with said items. Yes my ears are well and trully scrubbed :D I love goofin off to a good book in the bath :)

Yo Kaos, would love one or two of those Spiral mixes if you can u/l them.

Will post more "tunage" for the massive later :)

There's (was) a thin line between genius and insanity in MW's gaff. ;)
    Your a lucky whoor going to see the 'Tribe' - Last time I saw them was at the hell fire club in the Wicklow mountains back in 93 (i think) .. (Did You go ? ) - I went with warren, snaxer and a few others from the posse. Spiral Tribe in the EIRE.. (as opposed to the AREA :cool: )

Was that the night the generator broke down half way through can't really remember who was playing that night was a wee bit the worse for wear. Just remember laying on the hill while they carried the new generator passed me and wondering where they were going with the coffin :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

HERE YA'S GO DJ THYME @ ASYLUM-PULL THE WIRE

A
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/lfzkmz
    B
    http://www.mediafire.com/?8dz0gtmtoz0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 IceBox

MAD OR WHA!!??:D

asylum.jpg