Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

Luke G wrote: »
    Love that mix, i always loved the magic roundabout one, ed case was always class , funny thing is, see him nearly every day, he lives around the corner, don't know him from adam tho...

he's one of the soundest lads, he only recently got married to jenny after 40 years!!!!!

so luke are ye gonna venture as far a bray some night??

have another ed case on the uplaod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

senan s wrote: »
    he's one of the soundest lads, he only recently got married to jenny after 40 years!!!!!

so luke are ye gonna venture as far a bray some night??

have another ed case on the uplaod

Yep:pac::pac::pac:

Mysef and brian were sayin we deffo have to man, so you can hold us to that senan... deffo...;)

DJ ED CASE asylum '93 friday night MC SMILEY at his finest

http://www.mediafire.com/?7ycvgtoioam

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

senan s wrote: »

yeah top top tune senan.expensive enough on discogs from what 1 can remember.

aceberg wrote: »
    yeah top top tune senan.expensive enough on discogs from what 1 can remember.

billy in abbey disc had a copy 2 weeks ago, i'd say its well gone too, and would have cost ye €10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Right lads for my old skool buddys out there you want some quality mixes..look no further, more to follow, check out these bad boys :D:D:D

UNIVERSE TRIBAL GATHERING 1993

3y4ba06.jpg

CARL COX http://www.mediafire.com/?8l65xc2jmlo
    GROOVERIDER http://www.mediafire.com/?9h1lmuocxza
    JUMPING JACK FROST http://www.mediafire.com/?3mwobmx1uxc
    KENNY KEN http://www.mediafire.com/?c08l3fbztma
    PILGRIM http://www.mediafire.com/?bykn95yzvzh
    RATTY http://www.mediafire.com/?8eeiotwxczm
    SLIPMATT http://www.mediafire.com/?1jtujcoc3oe
    TOP BUZZ http://www.mediafire.com/?6vrylzfdd42

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Glad ya all liked the trip down memory lane with The Nightwriters. Started to wonder if I had imagined hearing it in the Olympic cos nobody had mentioned it and it was such a big tune, a real anthem. Although I mainly went to the Olympic around 92 and some of the other tunes people have mentioned I didn't recognise.

Another few tunes that were huge when I was going ...

Huge tune back in the day and strangely enough DJ Bubbles used to play it for his last tune of the night in Wax. Strasnge considering he's a house DJ and this was condsidered a rave classic. Still quite housey though I suppose.

And again, this one is one of my favourites. Many a night listening to this tune up on the balcony with my eyes trying to look at the inside of my brain.

I suppose that's what I initially loved about the Olympic, the music policy was quite eclectic but then again that's what the original premise of dance music was.

While we're all doing trips down memory lane. Does anybody remember the party after the Olympic one night in a community centre just off Charlemount Street (up past Camden Street)?

Some guys that lived in the flats had the keys to the place and decided to have a party. It was mental, about 200 people inside a community centre off their nut at 5 in the morning. Eventually got a stereo hooked up to the PA system but then the police arrived and we were all barricaded into the place. Think the guys that organised got into a whooooole heap of sh1t because of it!!!

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Glad ya all liked the trip down memory lane with The Nightwriters. Started to wonder if I had imagined hearing it in the Olympic cos nobody had mentioned it and it was such a big tune, a real anthem. Although I mainly went to the Olympic around 92 and some of the other tunes people have mentioned I didn't recognise.

Another few tunes that were huge when I was going ...

Huge tune back in the day and strangely enough DJ Bubbles used to play it for his last tune of the night in Wax. Strasnge considering he's a house DJ and this was condsidered a rave classic. Still quite housey though I suppose.

And again, this one is one of my favourites. Many a night listening to this tune up on the balcony with my eyes trying to look at the inside of my brain.

I suppose that's what I initially loved about the Olympic, the music policy was quite eclectic but then again that's what the original premise of dance music was.

While we're all doing trips down memory lane. Does anybody remember the party after the Olympic one night in a community centre just off Charlemount Street (up past Camden Street)?

Some guys that lived in the flats had the keys to the place and decided to have a party. It was mental, about 200 people inside a community centre off their nut at 5 in the morning. Eventually got a stereo hooked up to the PA system but then the police arrived and we were all barricaded into the place. Think the guys that organised got into a whooooole heap of sh1t because of it!!!

Ya think that's bad?

One of my mates from rialto ran through fatima mansions in his runners, nothin else on, after the olympic one night....

few more olympic tunes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IahDo3OCQDA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEwHkyd6sKs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjXPkTG0uyk

and this tune, love this one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ndVgWuf1ZYg

Did anybody go to the olympic there around 96 when it re - opened, they put a bar and that in, and a load of seats, and let every scumbag and his brother in,

pressure was the resident for a while, But I reckon the building would still be there today if they hadn't have re opened it with the bar and that as their used to be murder outside it every saturday night for the few brief months that it was re-opened.

I know that one of the owners of the proper time 1990-1994 was an ex copper, not gonna name any names or nothin, AND PLEASE DON'T ANYONE ELSE....anyways i heard ages ago that he was prosecuted the first time they raided the olympic when it lost it's license, can anyone else verify that?? or was it just a load of bollocks???

Defo remember hearing that, but i thought it couldn't be true as they re-opened n a few years later with a bar that never existed in the first place??? The guards hated the olympic for the reason that they could do **** all because it had an entertainment license and never sold drink, but sure like anywhere, the ***** will always find a way to wreck the buzz......

jonny68 wrote: »
    Right lads for my old skool buddys out there you want some quality mixes..look no further, more to follow, check out these bad boys :D:D:D

UNIVERSE TRIBAL GATHERING 1993

3y4ba06.jpg

CARL COX http://www.mediafire.com/?8l65xc2jmlo
    GROOVERIDER http://www.mediafire.com/?9h1lmuocxza
    JUMPING JACK FROST http://www.mediafire.com/?3mwobmx1uxc
    KENNY KEN http://www.mediafire.com/?c08l3fbztma
    PILGRIM http://www.mediafire.com/?bykn95yzvzh
    RATTY http://www.mediafire.com/?8eeiotwxczm
    SLIPMATT http://www.mediafire.com/?1jtujcoc3oe
    TOP BUZZ http://www.mediafire.com/?6vrylzfdd42

quality stuff man.just listening to cox now.top class stuff.

ever check out this site.

http://www.hardcorewillneverdie.com/mp3.html

was looking for a tracklist for the cox tribal gathering.can't find it.still a good site mind u.

Ya think that's bad?

One of my mates from rialto ran through fatima mansions in his runners, nothin else on, after the olympic one night....

few more olympic tunes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IahDo3OCQDA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEwHkyd6sKs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjXPkTG0uyk

and this tune, love this one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ndVgWuf1ZYg

Did anybody go to the olympic there around 96 when it re - opened, they put a bar and that in, and a load of seats, and let every scumbag and his brother in,

pressure was the resident for a while, But I reckon the building would still be there today if they hadn't have re opened it with the bar and that as their used to be murder outside it every saturday night for the few brief months that it was re-opened.

I know that one of the owners of the proper time 1990-1994 was an ex copper, not gonna name any names or nothin, AND PLEASE DON'T ANYONE ELSE....anyways i heard ages ago that he was prosecuted the first time they raided the olympic when it lost it's license, can anyone else verify that?? or was it just a load of bollocks???

Defo remember hearing that, but i thought it couldn't be true as they re-opened n a few years later with a bar that never existed in the first place??? The guards hated the olympic for the reason that they could do **** all because it had an entertainment license and never sold drink, but sure like anywhere, the ***** will always find a way to wreck the buzz......

that ttf track reminds me of the other ttf track real love.another real energy bursting track.

anyways an old m8 of mine dropped 2 dd strawberries 1 nite in the olympic flipped out when that track came on ttf - real love.he ended up in a straight jacket that nite.took 5/6 bouncers to hold him down.scary ****e indeed.and this was while we were still attending school.remember him telling us on the monday morning in school.:pac::pac::pac:

that ttf track reminds me of the other ttf track real love.another real energy bursting track.

anyways an old m8 of mine dropped 2 dd strawberries 1 nite in the olympic flipped out when that track came on ttf - real love.he ended up in a straight jacket that nite.took 5/6 bouncers to hold him down.scary ****e indeed.and this was while we were still attending school.remember him telling us on the monday morning in school.:pac::pac::pac:

Most of ttf's stuff sounded the same man, the had some good tunes tho....

yeah remember readin that before man, scary stuff indeed, what happened like did they just **** him out????

Most of ttf's stuff sounded the same man, the had some good tunes tho....

yeah remember readin that before man, scary stuff indeed, what happened like did they just **** him out????

yeah have a tape of ttf and your right luke alot of the stuff sounds the same.

not too sure luke if they ****ed him out or if they called the gaurds or ambulance or what.:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

Your dead right LUKE , about the ex copper who use to own the Oylmpic, back be for it reopened, I used to know his name,
    From what I can remember, he use to hang about at the main door alot,
    He was a grey haired c**t, from what I can remember.
    He would walk about alot in the Oylmpic Ballroom,

A friend who used to live only up the street from the Oylmpic, told me that
    He could here the music kicken from his bedroom,

When the Oylimpic reopened, It wasen't the same as years ago,
    I remember that new bar they put in , and seats all the way along the side's of the dance floor, and up on the baloneys,

Don't remember the bar serving alcohol,
    Was it not just soft drinks and cool pops.
    They used to turn off the tap's in the jacks, so you would buy the drinks.

It closed down not to long after that,
    Used to be better back in the early 90's

Your right The Time Frequency Stuff did sound the same,
    They released a new album this year with all the old stuff on it , and some new stuff.

( new Album )
    http://timefrequency.co.uk/

( Myspace )
    http://www.myspace.com/timefrequency

:pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac:

Does anyone remember the dance band "Shaft" ?

Shaft - Monkey (this mix is a bit different from the original)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v3lp0wHX4Rc

Shaft - Rhubarb and Custard (this mix is a bit different from the original)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4Rpqnx9A8c

Shaft - Rhubarb and Custard (LIVE)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-R7ijBPjnA&feature=related

I think it was later than 1996 when the Olympic Reopened,more like 1998/1999 i cant actually remember my brain by that time was fairly frazzled by drugs (too many yokes and speed), i do remember going there once though and the buzz just wasn't the same, there was a few fights and the atmospher ein general wasn't anythingn like the glory days of the early 1990's so i fcuked off to the Ormond Multimedia Centre which by then was the club i went to the most as Sides was closed and this place was the best of them all at that time and had been for quite sometime.

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

I went to the Olympic alright Luke when it reopened with great expectations only to be very dissapointed, although Johnny68 is correct it was deffo later than 96. As I said to u the other day, there was no lasers, no speakers at the 4 balcony corners (due to an earlier restriction on noise levels from local residents) and no access to the balconys, half the dance floor taken up with cheapo tables.
    After a few weeks they did start letting people up on the balconys and took the tables off the back of the dance floor because of the sheer volume of people who came in the door. Still though even with the large crowds the fact there was alcohol being served spoiled what ever it meant to me in the first place as there was a lot of drunk fools in the place. The old legendary atmosphere never returned.
    Aparently the people who ran the Ormond were not impressed as there was tumbleweed in the place due to their regulars going up to the Olympic. Still though it could have worked but I don't know exactly the ins and outs of why it shut again.

It was great when this was played around 93, everyone just stood still for the start of this track, great intro.
    Ultracynic - Nothing Lasts Forever
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0c2OB5-JEb0

:confused:Cannot sus how to put the YOUTUBE box in posts - Little help!

I think it was later than 1996 when the Olympic Reopened,more like 1998/1999 i cant actually remember my brain by that time was fairly frazzled by drugs (too many yokes and speed), i do remember going there once though and the buzz just wasn't the same, there was a few fights and the atmospher ein general wasn't anythingn like the glory days of the early 1990's so i fcuked off to the Ormond Multimedia Centre which by then was the club i went to the most as Sides was closed and this place was the best of them all at that time and had been for quite sometime.

I know this sounds dead pedantic-- but apologies in advance lads as it aint intended to, when the place re opened, the ormond multi media was empty for a while, and the ormond closed down in june 1997 so some time around then???

I loved the Multimedia Centre i cant ever recall having a bad nite there, that last ever nite there was unreal,packed to the gills and thousands packed outside clambering to get in, i was there with my ex mot and decided it was a good idea to drop 3 1/2 of those I Love U E's (anyone remember them) i was cabbaged for about an hour but after that i danced all nite, i have to say Ken O Flanagan and DJ Orbit played a stormer that nite,but jaysus i could write a book about the Multimedia Centre alone never mind Sides or the rest of the clubs.:D

Some memorable nites off the top of my head from The Ormond Multimedia Centre as follows.

Carl Cox
    Ultrasonic
    MTV Dance Live (jaysus i was absolutely muntered that nite and on bleedin TV too:o:D)
    Q-Sound Live PA's
    Jon The Dentist
    Jeff Mills
    Magic Roundabout Nites
    Creme Of Dublin Nites
    NR-Gex PA's

Loads more i cant think of right now.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

Some memorable nites off the top of my head from The Ormond Multimedia Centre as follows.

Carl Cox
    Ultrasonic
    MTV Dance Live (jaysus i was absolutely muntered that nite and on bleedin TV too:o:D)
    Q-Sound Live PA's
    Jon The Dentist
    Jeff Mills
    Magic Roundabout Nites
    Creme Of Dublin Nites
    NR-Gex PA's

Loads more i cant think of right now.:)

The Dublin dance band, Liquid Wheel , played there once aswell,
    It was a good night that night...

I loved the Multimedia Centre i cant ever recall having a bad nite there, that last ever nite there was unreal,packed to the gills and thousands packed outside clambering to get in, i was there with my ex mot and decided it was a good idea to drop 3 1/2 of those I Love U E's (anyone remember them) i was cabbaged for about an hour but after that i danced all nite, i have to say Ken O Flanagan and DJ Orbit played a stormer that nite,but jaysus i could write a book about the Multimedia Centre alone never mind Sides or the rest of the clubs.:D

Mark Kavanaghs set from that night was the best for me,

Used to have it on tape, i miss it .....does anyone have it???? Will ya throw it up if ya do???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Johnnyd1977

Was anyone at the old school night in zanzibar on sunday? just curious to see if it was any use....
    Bumped into a mate of mine from years gone by who was an 'asylum baby', he reckons at one stage the asylum was that mental that anytime it got raided there was ppl running up to the garda asking them if they were looking for E!!!! One memorable story of his was watching a guard chasing someone up the stairs to the second floor and whoever it was just stopped half way up, turned around and kicked him straight back down them! Any truth to that story?
    He reckons at one stage there was a robot on one of the dance floors but he was that fcuked he doesn't know whether he was tripping or not:pac::pac::pac:

Ah the auld Ormond was a great spot. Seen the Sound Crowd for their first live gig in The Ormond Multimedia Centre and it was animal. Still stands out as one of my best night out of all time. I had to be scrapped of the ceiling that night White Dove and sneacta:pac::pac: I
    It was a real party vibe with face painting and Smart Drinks.
    The Ormond was full of Olympic heads that night which made it all the better because it had only shut not long before this gig.
    They had a big screen behind the stage which projected mad stuff all night.
    At the start of the night it projected L then O then V then E with a voice over saying the letters over and over then when the crowd just got wound up with impatience they went into Dream Lover, fcukin brilliant. http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=yR9mSPEn-bk

Sound Crowd Live at the Ormond April 30th 1994
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mxtm2mnmgdn

SoundCrowdGig.jpg

remember that 1 meself actually.i think liam dollard played that nite aswell.as far as i can remember the power went on the stage for a couple of mins during his set.it did'nt go down well tho.:eek:

Do you remember a big gap between each Sound Crowd track aceberg, that didn't go down too well either. Kavanagh done a blinding set after the SC stuff was over. They done another gig in the SFX a few months later which was poison. Kavanaghs big head thought he could get away with about 3/4 of an hour of a set and made a killing on the door as the place was packed!

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Do you remember a big gap between each Sound Crowd track aceberg, that didn't go down too well either. Kavanagh done a blinding set after the SC stuff was over. They done another gig in the SFX a few months later which was poison. Kavanaghs big head thought he could get away with about 3/4 of an hour of a set and made a killing on the door as the place was packed!

One of the stations used to oplay that, i know for a fact the SFX gig was recorded, i think their newest tune at that stage was their remix of shining path's - change it, think that was in their set , a mate of mine had it recorded on a tape a good while ago,

does anyone have that SFX gig???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 mrpenrose

~~That carl cox gig in the ormonde was one of the best nights of my younger days. went in on my own that night because i was such a fan, especially his fact album, but met loads of like minded people that were up 4 it. got totally mashed, as ya do , but he really wrecked the place that night. i remember dancing right up beside the stage and he was fanning us with a record sleve trying to cool us down coz it was so hot. not sure if that set was recorded but if i could get my hands on a copy of that night, id be a happy man.

Joe t vanelli was supposed to play there aswel one night but never turned up,

and grace when she played she came out and sang not over yet and that was it...

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »

Their money got robbed in the ormond that night aswel, all the nights taking got stroked backstage....