Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The best thing you ever found

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

I found a twenty and a packet of my type of cigarettes just lying there on the side of the road right beside each other about 2 weeks ago. I was so happy.
    Only other time I found money was when I was about 7/8, I found a fiver outside our church, but my mother forced me to put it in the church box. Incidently, I'm an atheist now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

My former flatmate shagging our Landlady :eek: we never had any problems from her for being late with the rent after that episode :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

MooseJam wrote: »
    I found rubbing my willy feels great

LOL:D ya bollix i nearly just choked on my beer laughing when i found that post !!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I found a hardcore porn magazine in a gym locker when I was around 12. Happy days :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I found that life is an endless procession of misery and disappointment and the likelihood of descending into depression depends upon how resilient one might be to this ordeal.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

My Girlfriend.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭Keith186

Found a full keg of beer.

Got the tap and gas and invited everyone around, to a ditch, this was when I was about 17 and got the stuff set up.

Couldn't get a proper pint out of the thing at all, it was just all suds n foam and ended up flooding the ditch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Sarge wrote: »
    My Girlfriend.

everybody now! awwwwwwwwwwwwww.....

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Carpenter wrote: »
    Any more
    Infraction given.

Please do not bump old threads without adding something substantial to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Terry wrote: »
    Infraction given.

Thats very hypercritical , I'm not getting into the facts , seen as this is the AFTERHOURS forum.

If you have something to say, then speak up.

There's also a thread up top for you to voice you opinions on how AH is run.

Or are you just pissed off because I locked your thread in the Giving up smoking forum?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Infraction given.

Please do not bump old threads without adding something substantial to them.

Terry do you mind giving me the reason behind the infraction as well? I don't see anything wrong with resurrecting older threads myself, espically since the OP has contributed a fair bit to it. If s/he had started a new thread on the same subject she would have had a load of muppets replying to the thread with links to the original thread.

Myself, I found a €50 note when I was a poor student, I was really broke at the time so it couldn't have come at a better time.

The thread is two years old.

The person given the infraction bumped the thread, which had run its course, with a lame post. Simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

In the early 80's, I was unemployed and receiving something like £26 (old money) a week on the labour and dating a girl. We hadn't a penny between the two of us and would walk around town most nights just killing time.

Walked out of Busaras and found a wallet with £364 pounds in stirling and no address inside. Believe it or not I'd have returned the wallet too.

But fvcking happy days or what :D

Another time, (1988) and just finishing off a tour in Lebanon (UNIFIL) and had drawn my last credits (pay) two weeks previous. Again hadn't a dime to spend, and neither had anyone else. So spent two weeks bumming gargle around the camp.

Coming home and we had to change uniforms at the Israeli/Lebanese border and found us$60 in my pocket, totally useless at this stage :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,182 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Sarge wrote: »
    My Girlfriend.
    Same here. Sarges girlfriend is a minx.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Found €50, found a phone, found €10 while talking about finding money.

Heard tell of a couple that went on holiday somewhere or other, the police found a plastic shopping bag full to the brim with smokeable illegalities hidden on their street, which had apparently been lying there only slightly longer than they had been staying there. Needless to say, they were quite annoyed.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭Poco Loco

Carpenter wrote: »
    Hi
    Just wondering what was the best thing you ever found for me it was a 100 euro note :D:D:D

A wallet with €1200 cash in it...
    I gave it back :(

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

You're all finding wallets full of cash. Never happened to me. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Found 70 euro in the shop right across the street from me here about a month ago. Paid for the messages in said shop.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭Poco Loco

The-Rigger wrote: »

Trust me it's not worth it - the moral dilemma you have to face with it is so horrible. Do you give the money back and stay stone broke and miserable or do you keep it and end up being cursed for ever?!!

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You're just not looking in the right places.
    People usually keep them in their pockets.

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Antigone05

i once found this strange looking DVD on the floor of a bus one day with my girlfriend.

It looked like a student film called ' True Haunting in Montana'

So when we got to my friends house that night we decided to put it on..

It was the worst..yet funniest thing we ever saw.A few American students trying to do a mystery horror.

Ive been considering putting the file up for download, that and ive googled it with no answers to who did it.

So it feels like my own personal B movie and thats why its the best thing ive ever found

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

You're just not looking in the right places.
    People usually keep them in their pockets.

ahhhh, so this is yore mentor?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Found about £10 Pounds in change in the couch when i was about 7 or so, i was delighted, kept me in sweets for about a week.

I checked the couch again after i had run out of money but i only found 20p or so. Still, i got 2 stinger bars out of it though. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

My little brother found an envelope up in the sandyford industrial estate with €20G in it - some shop's takings for the weekend. Handed it in to the gardaí, muppet.

Triton wrote: »
    A week's wages that I'd just lost!

My little brother went into a shop one day on the way home from work. When he came out he saw a brown pay-packet on the ground. When he opened it up he saw that it was his, and he'd dropped it on the way into the shop.
    I found €50 in the space of 5 days. It was really spooky cos the money was lying in really public places so I thought it was cursed.

I gave a tenner to charity so I wouldnt get done by Karma.

I was on Nth. Earl St. one day, on my way back from lunch. My uncle had just given me a tip for a horse, but I'm usually wary of such things. Anyway, was deliberating whether or not to go to the bookies, when i saw a €20 note on the ground outside Boyers. When i picked it up, I had a quick look to see if anyone else had dropped it. Some lady about 5 feet away had her bags of shopping on the ground and was picking up another score. She walked towards me and i held out my hand to say "here ya go", but she just popped the other note into my hand and said "here, ya dropped that one as well" :eek: and was gone before i had the wherewithall (sp?) to say anything.

Long story short, the horse came in at 7/2 and I put the original €40 into the poor box in the Pro. Cathedral, leaving me with a guilt-free* profit of €140.

*If the horse had lost, it would have been a different story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 sodric

A box of blank id cards from UCD in a bush.....when I was only 14, hapy days

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I found Osama, me an hims been chasing the dragon for the last 2 years. It's not easy though, we've had to "find" six cars and countless tvs to to keep up with that Welsh bastard.

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

I found a copy of "mores Top Ten Positions of the Fortnight" and a tube of KY-Gel under my parents bed @ the weekend!!!

Possibly the most disturbing thing I've ever found and not actually the "best"

Best would probably be key to my apartment in Galway that I had lost in a HUGE field in Cork after a festival! Don't know how, but after a prayer to St. Anthony (from the religious few in our group) and a search of about an acre of the field there we saw the little fecker, glimmering up from the muck and grass below!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

I found a copy of "mores Top Ten Positions of the Fortnight" and a tube of KY-Gel under my parents bed @ the weekend!!!

that is disturbing.
    the best iv ever found was £20 back in the day!