If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Fun With Flags! DCC Edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭scottser

deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,435 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

When you say “their” flags you’re wrong.

It’s the Ireland flag which belongs to every citizen of Ireland regardless of skin colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,960 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Love McGregor's Important Message on that 😂

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,902 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

When I said their flags I meant their cheap Chinese imported flags they go around attaching to lamp posts with the sole intention of intimidating immigrants in a copycat action from similar low IQ racists they follow on Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭nachouser

The really funny bit is that the lads organising the flying of these flags are the same lads who don't care about the law and are likely walking around with a bunch of convictions. The same lads that, on other threads, you'd be banging on about them not being in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭CardF

Back to normality.

Bailey had a “borderline personality” based on “narcissism, psycho-rigidity, violence, impulsiveness, egocentricity with an intolerance to frustration and a great need for recognition”.

Psychiatrist Jean Michel Masson and psychologist Katy Lorenzo-Regreny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,269 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

There was zero discussion in media about the countless Ukraine, Palestine flags being flung up around the place. Yet the Irish flag is intimidating, funny that. There is nothing racist about being a nationalist and flying your own flag in your own country. Here's a thought maybe if you don't like seeing the Irish flag don't live in Ireland. It's actually not our job to make you feel included but for you to fit in with us.

I doubt anyone would get offended seeing Mexican flags in Mexico or Indian flags in India.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭BandyMandy

I'm replying to a post that quoted mine a couple of days ago, can't find it.. But it's regarding what sets us apart...

It's our culture, history, and laws that set us apart, and people from developing countries live very differently from us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Cordell

Who exactly is supposed to be offended by it?

Found one:

Unlike your african man this one looks like he's wearing the pole, not the flag, somewhere where is not visible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭CardF

I think due to global circumstances and the nature of how things arise and run their course, that political correctness is now on the decline. and as such the pre-pc norm is re-emerging. this may help bring about political change.

in the uk (where the flag thing started) hopefully this change in the public consensus will lead to an end to mass immigration and small boat immigration. there is a mass public fatigue there with the changes being foisted on the average person and their communities, as they watch mystery people just rock up on the beach and run into the country, laughing, celebrating and calling home before being put up in a hotel. an utter shambles of a situation which at one time would have been considered impossible yet has continued for decades. It was the era of political correctness which helped this to continue.

and the govt will have to account for this change in attitude or be replaced (probably by reform). people have had enough and they are displaying their discontent with immigration and political correctness by reasserting their preference for the country they once knew.

im hoping that uk and ireland can get back to a time when immigrant and gender and political correctness were marginal issues.

Bailey had a “borderline personality” based on “narcissism, psycho-rigidity, violence, impulsiveness, egocentricity with an intolerance to frustration and a great need for recognition”.

Psychiatrist Jean Michel Masson and psychologist Katy Lorenzo-Regreny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,269 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I didn’t get past your first paragraph, you think the flags will stop the immigrants?

Get your head out of the sand. The immigrants are leaving behind countries in chaos, where lives are pretty much worthless, where you or your kids could be killed for being out of your house on election day. You think they’re going to give a **** about a few flags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Where are there lots of Ukraine and palestine flags flying? Whole areas are covered in Ireland flags now and it's illegal to hang things from lampposts. No one is consulting the people in the areas either. I was never asked and I think they look tacky and sh*t. Next they'll be painting the kerbs ffs.

‘My family have been here for four generations!’

Before Aldi/Lidl moved in, East Wall was a **** hole. I wonder out of those four generations, how many of his relatives said ‘Feck it, there has to be a better life elsewhere’ up sticks and went abroad. If there was one then he has no argument.

They can’t see it though. They just can’t see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

What would be best for the kerbs,gloss or masonry paint?

Maybe try not being insecure you need to be doing that kind of thing in the first place

My dear monk it appears that it is you who is having the crisis,you appear to find the tricolour offensive.Was that u on the bike in the above post.

Personally speaking me back wouldn't allow me to do da kerbs,what if the de disability crowd saw me ,I'd be feiced.

Maybe we should ask for a community employment scheme to do the kerbs in rainbow colours or Palestinian colours,it might stop the other lads.

Btw just saw an area covered in tricolours in the past few days,seems the controversy is encouraging people to put out flags,lovely mix now of tricolours and odd Palestinian flag.

Post edited by kabakuyu on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Nermal

I had a little chuckle at this quote from Jim O'Callaghan:

"I’m concerned about what is clearly lying beneath it, which is a desire to use the flag for completely inappropriate reasons, to suggest that this is exclusively an areas that belongs to indigenous Irish people. That’s not what the Irish flag was ever about."

I'm pretty sure Jim, that if we hopped in a time machine and asked the people raising the flag above the GPO what their intention was, that they would indeed tell you that by doing so they were sending a message that this area belongs to indigenous Irish people.

They might even show you the document in which you could say they 'proclaimed' it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,960 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

No such thing as "indigenous Irish " though .That's a recent construct by a minority .

Sure there were Americans and English people among some of those real patriots .

We even had one as Taoiseach and President for many years .

The world is not a fair place, Gloomtastic, nor is it our responsibility to make it so. That Irish people now and in the past have emigrated doesn't create a legal or moral responsibility for us to allow other people to return the favour to us.

I'm sure the people who erected the flags would point out that many of them were never consulted about who is entitled to reside in Ireland or become an Irish citizen, Thelonious.

The last time they were was more than two decades ago, when despite a torrent of propaganda the globalists were trounced by a ratio of 4:1. Unsurprisingly, we haven't been asked again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,351 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm seeing more homes now hang Ireland flags, it is backfiring as more flags are going up

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

That was a constitutional referendum I think you are referring to there .

You don't have a referendum unless there is a constitutional change required.

There is nothing in our constitution that requires changing in order to restrict migration

That would be done by changing legislation and policies enacted by the government of the day

We have GEs every 4 to 5 years ..same people elected more or less …

If people wanted major change in this way as you say why was there not a landslide against traditional gov parties like FF and FG in the last election just less than a year ago ?

It happened after the crash , FF were decimated .

That is democracy in one of the most representative voting systems of countries in the western world .

So am afraid your argument is incorrect , your premise that everyone who puts up those flags needs to be consulted about policies on immigration is a tad over egged.

The majority of people voted for the present government who are enacting policies they were elected to enact .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Stupid move by Simon and Co to criticise the flying of Irish flags. How dumb are our politicians?

I won't be flying one but each to their own.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

It was bound to happen,I'm not one for flags myself,and having all types of flags hung around is annoying,we probably need to curtail their use to certain locations and private property and I include all flags in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,378 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Plenty of our revolutionaries while having somewhat of an Irish background weren't actually born in Ireland. You even had Constance Markievicz who was born in the UK and her father was a British landlord in Ireland. So pretty clearly they were more open minded than plenty of posters in the thread. 😂

So by your logic we can break any rules because there are lots of foreigners here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,865 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Good to see you didn't get many likes for that. I'm sure you were expecting a flurry of them.

Have to sit down,I'm not well,we agree on something. 😀