Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WWE Raw (on Netflix) Superthread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,158 ✭✭✭SteM

There's a WWE section under Categories, it's there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,233 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

The lad from Baby Reindeer couldn't have looked more awkward if he tried. I doubt many in the crowd even knew who he was.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

search raw it’s there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,946 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

I haven't watched WWE consistently apart from the Rumbles and Mania and the odd Raw here or there.

The product is abysmal. It's unwatchable.

It's completely over produced to a point where everything is sterile. Nothing feels natural. Nothing feels real. It's the fakest wrestling has ever been.

Every match would be better without a WWE lens. The commentary is insufferable no matter who is behind the desk. It's all lines for the sake of it.

The canned crowd noise is so obvious and off-putting. And it's completely over used where it's at odds with what we are seeing in screen.

Adverts after adverts after adverts.

Horrible entrance music for 95 percent of the talent doesn't help.

Every back stage segment is a kin to a badly scripted promo and the show has far too many of them.

It's a pity as they have a talented roster but they have no idea how to get the best out of them.

Everytime I watch it i feel like I wasted my time.

Wrestle Kingdom was such a better watch than the Rock getting cheers for openly price gauging their fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭ThePott

That was an incredible letdown tbh as most have said.

Some positives. The matches were okay but often felt rushed. Punk/Rollins was decent but felt like they held back for future bouts. Production wise it looked amazing, I thought. I didn't watch live, I saw someone say there was audio issues, my understanding is that it isn't an error, Netflix are cutting out advertising from commentary (still shows up in subtitles apparently). Macaulay Culkin got a massive pop (played his reveal well), liked the Cena promo.

Negatives, boy was there a lot. I know WWE have a lot of filler, it usually doesn't bother me as there's enough stuff in between it. This was endless spamming of celebrities, you don't care about, wrestlers that have no place anymore. Undertaker segment was pointless and bizarre, Hogan segment was worth it just to hear him booed to oblivion, hope he falls off a literall cliff. So all that bollocks filler stuff. Some of the stuff they actually did was worse.

Not only did the Rock cut a boring pointless promo (emphasis on the PR), he undid a possible interesting story thread for future matches. If he won't be at Mania, that's fine, just don't have him there. He's a big star, I get it but this can't possibly have made anyone interested in WWE. I totally agree with what others have said in that, this did little to get over today's stars, didn't do much to entice new viewers and if it did keep new people interested, they didn't manage to set up anything that captivating for the future. Shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,853 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I know it's still 3.5 months away but my excitement for my WrestleMania holiday hit a block after that shambles of the opening by The Rock.

Suppose there's no 'one person as big as WrestleMania' but a big big match like Roman vs Rock is made for a place like Vegas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,886 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

I've generally found the weekly shows pretty decent over the past 12 months, and found the PLE's predictable and boring. Long matches, and not enough happening. This was like a PLE, with extra shite on top. Who cares about the celebrities in attendance? And that Rock promo was nonsense... Cody standing in the audience grinning like a goof? Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,248 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I don't think this was the RAW on Netflix to show how it will go. It was a gala extravaganza and maybe a paint by numbers for new people who may now be watching. Hogan will not be on much promoting stuff I feel after last night. I wonder what are they doing with the Rock are they dropping the angle or will there be a swerve at some point

This was never to be the RAW to base RAW on Netflix. Of course they are looking for new viewers its entertainment and the first show was the perfect time to show it. The only match I think they got wrong was Uso winning I feel it should have gone the other way.

I did not realise this until it was mentioned on a youtube video but where was Gunther was he physically unable to be there he is the RAW champion or will Cody be moving to RAW for Netflix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,917 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The show is cleaning at awards, I would say he is known, talked about worldwide show and I think he signed a deal with Netflix

Anyways it was all about Macauley #Culkenmania running wild

Did Rey and his mystery partner match get cancelled?

Yep because of timings instead 'The Mystery Partner' will debut nice week vs Chad Gable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Ridley

The finish of the match was Punk scraping a win through fortuitous circumstances more than skill. It was a clean win but it wasn't a decisive one. Almost certainly setting up a rematch further down the… road.

I wonder how people who paid to go to that Raw felt seeing a three hour promo for Netflix.

Apparently Hogan is looking at revisiting 1996 Bash at the beach after the reception he got on Raw

It was a 3 hour quarterly conference call in a ring , man did Dwayne kiss ass.

Kieran Culkin after his Golden Globe win also there, a fan of CM Punk

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Yea they weren't booing the character they were booing terry himself, trying to play it of as a heel character will fall flat on its arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I'd love to see them do a fingers in ears lalalalala Hollywood Hogan appearance it just to see how carny it would be.

Do you think it was the racist stuff that Hogan was being booed for or something else? "Blue lives matter" Taker has been giving a wide berth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 TonySniff

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 TonySniff

Taker wasn't endorsing Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Ah yeah I forgot about the Trump stuff.

He literally had Trump on his podcast and said why choose Batista (anti-Trump) when you could choose Undertaker and Kane (pro-Trump). Politics are politics at the end of the day and if every wrestler who was a Trumper or right wing got booed, more would probably be booed than aren't.

As for why Hogan got booed. There's no shortage of reasons tbh. Some people are saying it was in a blue state. Then again he got booed at Wrestlemania in Florida too. They guy said horribly racist things and never really atoned or seemed apologetic for it. He is seen as consistently burying people for his own benefit, stopped wrestlers from getting a union. The list goes on and that might all seem trivial but in the age of so many fans being smart fans, they know enough about the guy to boo him for a multitude of reasons and his shoddy attempt to placate to fans only made them madder.

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,797 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

All those reason plus he is an utter pathological liar. I’m sure you can find lists of utter lies he’s said. And I don’t meant the kind of stuff where a wrestler can’t remember things from the territory days, I means he makes up stuff that is clearly disprovable. One is he claims to have wrestled in the main event of summer slam 1992 in Wembley.

I love Hogans lies. They are so off the wall I can't help but laugh. That side is hilarious.

This is true but like @beakerjoe I also find his lies pathetically hilarious.

Like when he says Elvis was a big Hulkamaniac, even though he was dead two years before he even debuted. How he wrestled like 400 days a year cause he gained extra days because of all his flights back and forth to Japan or how Andre seems to keep getting heavier everytime he talks about slamming him.

At least they're entertaining and so stupid nobody could feasibly believe him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,137 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

he claims to have wrestled in the main event of summer slam 1992 in Wembley.

Are you implying that Hulkster in Heaven is based on a lie?????

Hogan in the grand scheme of things isn't totally bad. He's a selfish selfish man who did a lot of things to keep himself on top for as long as possible. His racist comments are probably his worst crime and now his association with Trump is doing him no favors. Id say Taker and Austin are worse than him in my view.

But in general many people within wretsling are horrible people, and it was a dirty business from around 2010 back to its inception. WWE is still a company with horrible values, it's just a helluva a lot more corporate now than it was back then. WWE is still full of bad characters in the office and it's a highly hypocritical company when it suits itself. (Firing people for domestic violence yet Stone Cold Steve Austin is still championed / firing Bob Holly and Perry Saturn for roughing up jobbers while Taker took liberties with Chris Kaynon because he was gay).

They only got rid of Vince as a last resort and let's be honest, he may still wiggle out of justice and back into WWE soon enough that Trump is back in power.

Loads of wrestlers are Trump fans and many of the greats are Republicans too. Hunter was just visiting Trump recently, his mother in law is in his cabinet as well. No one boos him despite being the right hand man to his father in law who has huge rap sheet for doing many many unsavory things over the years. He treated people bad over the years too and is in bed with the KSA too.

My point is, if we are booing Hogan, many others deserve far worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Me_Grapes

To be quite honest, I for one don't really want to be trawling through wrestlers, or any public figures political views or opinions to find out whether I should be offended by them or not, I'd rather just watch them on their chosen medium and enjoy them, or not as the case may be based on their work. Vince is one thing, his rap sheet is horrific and rightfully should be shamed, but as long as they haven't committed any serious crime or anything, why would I seriously care if a wrestler prefers the Republican party over the Democraric party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭corkie

I use to enjoy watching the week delayed broadcasts on Virgin Media to see Raw/Smackdown & NXT! But with the netflix deal looks like they have lost the rights to the broadcast of the shows!?

corkiejp's Social World | eXudos/Bluesky Boards Thread | My Main account: - corkiejp.bsky.social ~ Alt: - corkiejp.github.io | corkiejp-notes-on-awesome-bluesky by Fishttp
    NOT in receipt of finical rewards or other incentives for posting about Bluesky.
    See disclaimer at end of this linked post.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Yes all rights for Ireland/UK have gone to Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,540 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Which is your right.

No one should force to to research people or dislike them for things you are unaware of.

But for myself when someone uses their fame and platform to push opinions I find offensive, It's also perfectly reasonable to find them offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭corkie

Thanks for that, I use to enjoying watching it as some background show to watch at the weekends.

Suppose I have to rely on the bleacherreport and youtube clips to get the highlights from it!

After the match, The Rock emerged from the locker room and placed the ula fala around the neck of the undisputed Tribal Chief.

^^ Good to know about the 'ula fala' and the OTC/UTC now!

The Rock acknowledges Cody Rhodes and sets stage for Tribal Combat: Raw highlights, Jan. 6, 2025

corkiejp's Social World | eXudos/Bluesky Boards Thread | My Main account: - corkiejp.bsky.social ~ Alt: - corkiejp.github.io | corkiejp-notes-on-awesome-bluesky by Fishttp
    NOT in receipt of finical rewards or other incentives for posting about Bluesky.
    See disclaimer at end of this linked post.

WWE have ruined there own suprise with them advertising 'Penta' merch

More over 'Rey' there's a new mask seller in town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,062 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Going to the U.S. for the first time in March and Raw just happens to be on in Madison Square Garden the week I'm there! Can't wait! Haven't seen a show in 20 years and that was in the Point.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 55,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

the mask and shirt are absolutely clean. Going to make bank on them.

https://shop.wwe.com/en/?_ref=p-TLP%3Am-SEARCH&query=penta

Thought that was just to advertise that Rey is still part of wwe and is going to be going 'dark'

I kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,137 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I would love to know just how much money the lucha bros missed out on over the 5 years in AEW by them not selling masks, has to be 6 figures.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Their shop site just posted his full look, lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Same thing happened to me.

I emailed support and they are refunding me.

AEW and TNA couldn't legally sell the masks due to AAA owning the IP.

It would appear these masks are either distinctly different or WWE made a deal.

As good as it is/was Drew vs Punk vs Rollins seems to be going around in circles and now they will all be in the rumble match together

already Penta masks=$$$

10 minutes into his debut and Penta has nearly killed himself twice already

That destroyer was a thing of beauty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Ridley

Won't happen as it'll be Jey losing to Gunther or whatever but was thinking the main event of this coming SNME could have been a match where winner is #30 in the Rumble and loser is #1.

Is Nia after both champs, Rhea and Tiffany?

I was kinda hoping Finn would win, hopefully the end of Finn/TJD/Damien feuding, wonder is the end of TJD in sight, Dom on his own or forming another faction

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 55,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I haven't watched Raw but I caught this on Twitter, the sell from Gable was what made it too he sold it like he was dead